Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lippischer Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Willy-Brandt-Platz 1, 32756 Detmold, Germany

#11 of 20 hotels in Detmold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was 30 degrees Centigrade when we were there and our rooms got very hot at night but couldn't leave windows open as the road was so noisy. We could have done with air conditioning or at least fans.

    Excellent staff, very friendly and welcoming. Great location, very central. The double glazing on the windows was excellent as the hotel was on a noisy main road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, if I must :o) - pillows are a bit too soft and small, but bed itself is very comfortable as is the entire room and bathroom.

    The location couldn't be any better, at the heart of the old town center, yet very easy to access when driving a car. Private parking in the courtyard. Excellent breakfast with wide variety of warm and cold healthy and tasty foods and drinks. Staff is going out of their way to keep everything on offer available and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound insulation wasn't the best in the first room we had (we had to move because our coughing was disturbing our neighbors).

    The staff was very friendly, spoke English, and made us feel at home. They also knew the town well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property, which is a historic building, has been properly modernized without losing its previous charm. I was pleasantly surprised. Strong points are its being located right in the center of the beautiful historic old city and within walking distance to all kinds of very appealing pubs and restaurants. The breakfast is first class and the room rates are very reasonable, indeed. This was my first stay, but I will most certainly be back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, strange smell coming from bathroom.

    Friendly staff, free parking in yard. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to reach due to some works on the road.

    Quiet and comfortable room. Good breakfast. Parking very close to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to get into and out of the parking area.

    Nice room, great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park situation

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only smoking room,no NON SMOKING ROOM

    food,location,staff ,bedroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location!!! And the staff was FANTASTIC!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used more pillows.

    The location was spot on for convenience for the old town a d shopping. E Ellen being able to park free of charge.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The smell of old house and airless place. 1st floor rooms which were used as toilets for customers at the restaurant. We had room in front of toilets. Breakfast saved the whole situation.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no bad experiences.

    The room was lovely and the food excellent, especially the dinners. Breakfast was very nice. The welcome was excellent and very friendly. We had good advice about wines. It was the nicest place we have stayed for a long time, and we travel a lot.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were quite small but with a modern feel. Comfy bed but rubbish pillow. Very small and tight car park. Bar closed Sunday and Monday. Car park entrance and hall stunk of smoke.

    Lovely bathroom. Comfy bed, clean, staff spoke ok English. Breakfast was better than most European attempts.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No a/c means an extremely stuffy room when it is hot (it was when visited) - the windows will open, but then it sounds traffic is running straight through the room. So either/or.. Doors and walls are not very thick - in fact outside traffic is wonderfully blocked out with double windows, but inside noise is not - a pity.

    Great breakfast, warm friendly welcome, good deal with parking garage across the street if own small parking is full, central location, well sign posted.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed for 3 days Staff hogging the small car park No air conditioning Staff were not English speaking as advertised Very poor greeting on arrival

    The breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing at all.

    We had a wonderful large suite with 2 bedrooms in the attic, perfect for a family of 4, for less than we have paid elsewhere for a single cramped room. The service is friendly and efficient and the staff are attentive to everything. A great deal of care is taken even with small details, as can be seen with the lovely, fresh, well laid-out breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing. Except we had to leave a day earlier than anticipated

    Yes, all was well and very much to our liking

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Inadequate parking, with alternative in a public car park designed for nothing longer than a mini.

    Detmold is charming.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Next to the city,..nice stuff...lovlely room and a very good restaurant!! Breakfast is very nice and include speciall food from the region!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cold reception

    nice building with high ceilings

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The traffic noise was extremely loud and parking lot extremely small.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Norhing

    Food our beautiful room clean and lovely toby x

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location ideal.Room was comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful with time taken to make sure we were happy.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotel Lippischer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: