Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl 4 stars

Danzweg 25, 58644 Iserlohn, Germany

#1 of 10 hotels in Iserlohn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 224 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed out on a special deal for breakfast and ‘treats’ as they were not in the Booking.com package.

    In a peaceful woodland setting, not too far from the town and was. Ery quiet and peaceful. The staff were very helpful and all spoke very good English. It was a pleasure staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mix up with the booking (we arrived and were told we had no booking), however staff worked extremely hard to rectify the situation quickly!

    We had a superior room which overlooks the valley and we watched the sunset on our little private balcony with a bottle of wine :) Very civilised!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Wonderful hotel that has filled in the literature theme in excellent and imaginative ways: very recent books to be read by the guests can be found in bookcases everywhere - from the librarylike lobby to the guest rooms. Some of these books even have notes by the authors about their own visit to the Literaturhotel. There are also courses and book discussions on offer, and the possibility to get new book recommendations by the former bookseller who now runs the book part of the hotel. In addition to that, the rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Taking one with a garden view is really worth the extra cost: the gardens are beautiful. You can find places to sit and read throughout the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting was perfect for our stop-over - very relaxing with a superb sauna & great views across the wooded landscape. We'll return for a longer stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't want to criticise as it's such a good hotel but a few more English books would have been useful. (but this was Germany I) We would definitely go again, ask for the panorama rooms as the others look straight into the trees, pay a little more!

    We went for a family archive trip and discovered this beautiful and unexpected hotel slap bang in a forest clearing. Up the hill at the semaphore station was an absolute gem of a find also. The restaurant is great with super staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Helpful service. Peace and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Excellent restaurant and quiet surroundings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Delightful Hotel in a beautiful setting. Lovely breakfast, fabulous dinner.Happy engaged staff. Wonderful room with a superb view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit more choice for people that dont do meats and cheeses

    what fabulous comfy beds and a huge shower. the view was amazing from balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Panorama View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and a very Zen experience. If you're looking for quite and relaxation this is the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be better to have more spa facilities in addition to sauna.

    - Beautiful balcon view - Good restaurant - Cleanness, relaxing atmosphere - New building.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room (+ the rest of the hotel) was terribly overheated, obviously there was a problem with the regulation of the temperature! As it is we would NOT advice to stay in this hotel during the winter period. All the rest was just splendid, what a waste!!! But the primary function of a hotel is to guarantee a good night’s sleep, which is impossible at those temperatures!

    The location is superb!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff and a good restaurant. Both for dinner and breakfast. Very peaceful located in the forest. The room big and with a balcony with a good view. Interesting with all books all over which gave a good environment.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet did not work in the room so had to sit in lobby to use it.

    Manager was very friendly and helpful - organised a taxi for our evening out - and generally made us feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were not good at cooking pasta and fish at the restaurant, but when told they were very sorry and compensated with free dessert and coffee.

    The very special atmosphere with books all over. The comfortable bed, the outdoor areas and the view from the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom quite small (although great shower). Further more the kitchen staff had no clue about a gluten free diet. The chef gave me pasta (=gluten)! The people at breakfast were a bit better prepared and after inquiring, they were able to provide us gluten free bread

    Location was great, surrounded by woods and hills and not too far from the city. Lots of walks possible in the surrounding woods. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. View into the woods very lovely. We also enjoyed the sauna and roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wellness

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautifully located on a hill in the woods

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just an overnight stay, but got the feel of the place very quickly. Perfect setting and the room and facilities were first class.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the relaxing ambiance, all the books, the wellness area and the way the hotel was decorated - much attention to detail. and great staff!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: