Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Gasthof Löwen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstraße 6, 89079 Ulm, Germany

#3 of 42 hotels in Ulm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for an enjoyable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several miles outside Ulm, so no chance of exploring the town in the evening.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very good local cooking and beer, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stop on the way to Italy - very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful, breakfast and service was great. We stayed as an immediate stop on the way to Italy, and location was perfect for this type of trip (close to the high way, lots of parking places, and still a very quite location). Rooms were spacious and very clean !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A truly wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    This is the finest family run hotel we have ever stayed in. This was our forth visit and up to its usual supreme standard. The excellent restaurant serves traditional local dishes with style and charm. We love this hotel !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Good location and value, disappointing dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing dinner. Other reviews praise this so I was surprised. It was overpriced and very ordinary. I thought the British were the only people who overcook vegetables but sadly not. A pity as the staff were all very nice.

    Excellent hotel, in quiet location, well sited for a one night stay when driving to/from the alps. Good parking, frequent bus into Ulm centre nearby. Well appointed room. Comfortable bed. Shutters on window so no problems with street lights etc (why can't all hotels do this). Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    We were late after a long drive and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    We were late after a long drive and the staff were very welcoming and helpful and had kept the kitchen open for us. Easy to find, good parking and handy to motorways nse&w

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic stop over
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was great and the bed very comfortable. Our dog was made very welcome. The evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location if you're on the way to the Alpes;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location if you're on the way to the Alpes; excellent breakfast. Clean, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Nice up to date hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice up to date hotel, with friendly staff. Wifi worked well in common areas as well as in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Totally recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Comfortable, clean and also great food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.5
    Nice wooden furnuture, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice wooden furnuture, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good stopover. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant. Friendly staff. Good public transport to Ulm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Car parking convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the money, hot and noisy.

    Car parking convenient. Good shower. Staff excellent. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our family room was at street level.

    Nice hotel clean and modern. The restaurant was good and the waiter very kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely come back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the poor wifi signal!

    It was very clean, staff was extremely friendly & nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.0
    lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really small flat pillow

    lovely food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for one night stop; everything you need is there: comfortable bed and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for stop between NL and AT or IT. Great breakfast. Diner in hotel good as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Great stop over on way to Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfy and clean. Friendly helpful staff. Easy parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel to stop off on the way to and from the Dolomites to the UK
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Clean, very friendly staff, good food, accessible from the motorway as on a long journey

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast and a very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast and a very comfortable room. A short bus ride into Ulm.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Really nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice and friendly staff. We arrived late and it was no problem for the manager to arrange chease sandwiches and beer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Super food, room , very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super food, room , very friendly. We got what we asked for at the booking. An address to remember!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the "family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the "family room" which was actually two spacious rooms with a small private hallway between them. We quite enjoyed the extra privacy as well as having two full bathrooms. It was also nice to have queen sized beds in both rooms. There was also plenty of room for the portable crib we needed. We enjoyed the added touch of fresh apples in our room as well as a packet of Gummy Bears on our pillow. We slept well in our very quiet room. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the quick and professional check in at the front desk, and the quick internet access. It was also nice to have free parking and easy access to the autobahn. It was also very easy to find (put Wiblingen rather than Ulm for the city in your GPS). Good choice for an overnight stay before heading on to Neuschwanstein (about an hour away.)

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    Nice quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quiet location. Very clean and well appointed with a very comfy bed. Restaurant is also good. This is our second visit. We find Ulm a good staging post when driving to Austria.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.5
    Really helpful staff in restaurant, despite English not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't thing of anything negative

    Really helpful staff in restaurant, despite English not being first language. Good off road car park, great shower.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    Great hotel, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only problem for us were the pillows, which were very soft. The dinner disappointing, was a bit too oily for my opinion. I would give it 2 stars.

    Great hotel, very clean. Very nice breakfast. Very nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    The hotel was fantastic,the staff were so friendly, giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was fantastic,the staff were so friendly, giving us advice on how to get into Ulm town centre. Although we didn't eat there the food looked delicious. We are hoping to return next year.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Welcoming hotel near Ulm - not easy to find but very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the slight difficulty in finding it.

    Welcoming hotel near Ulm - not easy to find but very good stopover. Staff English was a bit limited but they were willing to try. Restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was excellent and the nearby church and cloister was most interesting

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Ground level Family room arrangement with a for the family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ground level Family room arrangement with a for the family separate secured corridor leading to two separate rooms. Also perfect for the dog. Luggage could be brought into the room through the ground level windows! University park in walking distance....excellent for a dog....

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Absolutely lovely Hotel with delightful owners and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free Wi-fi is great inall public areas but wouldn't work in our bedroom - 201. On this occasion it was not a major issue! We were disturbed by a group of drunk people talking beyond 4am in the car park above our room.Windows were open due to the heat and that was a shame. There was a wedding party in another part of the building - maybe this was related?

    Absolutely lovely Hotel with delightful owners and staff. The restaurant food is excellent - the best we had on our holiday and the breakfast is superb. The rooms were immaculate and all fixtures and fittings excellent quality. I had limited mobility due to a foot operation and the Owner was so helpful in recommending places to visit that were accessible for me and he printed out maps and loads of information -so kind and we enjoyed ourselves.I would have liked to have stayed here for longer. It is in a suburb of Ulm but very easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    What a lovely, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just the road noise.....

    What a lovely, comfortable hotel. It was a delight to arrive here after a long hot drive. All of the staff had a smile and were happy to help. Our room had some nice touches such as USB power point. Great wifi. Excellent shower. Really enjoyed our meal in the bistro. So many choices that we want to go back and work through the menu. Suggest that if you are staying on a Friday or Saturday night that you book in advance or when you arrive. It is very popular with locals. There's some nice walks nearby that reception can point you in the direction of.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and welcoming, and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only criticism was lack of air-con in what was evidently a new hotel.

    Very friendly and welcoming, and nice room. Good car parking alongside hotel. Breakfast good. Near the monastery and only 10 minutes drive from Ulm city centre. The restaurant is exceptional, with a very large selection for evening meals.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Exceptional staff, accommodating and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the best idea to visit a hotel without AC in a heat wave. But we were moved from the top floor to a lovely ground floor room and a fan was kindly found for us. Customer service at it's best !

    Exceptional staff, accommodating and friendly. Marvellous breakfast with a great choice of meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals and hot eggs. Truly scrumptious !

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Great find outside the actual city of Ulm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting staff at dinner were a bit surly.

    Great find outside the actual city of Ulm. Lovely friendly reception and staff. Room very good indeed and breakfast was excellent, including the eggs cooked freshly as you wanted

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    We loved the spacious room and the well thought out design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the spacious room and the well thought out design. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The wifi was excellent. Staff were efficient and friendly. As we were only in Ulm for a night the location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.3
    The staff was wonderful and the rooms were very modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was wonderful and the rooms were very modern and comfortable. We only had a few minor complaints - the wi-fi did not work great in our room at the end of the hall, and the room heat was hard to control and we woke up very warm. Other than that, highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    nice room, good meal in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    little bit far away from the middle of Ulm.

    nice room, good meal in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    The staff are very nice, dinner and breakfast very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The staff are very nice, dinner and breakfast very tasty. Nice room, comfortable environment. We like it here very.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.1
    nice bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location for a walk! nothing to do in the neighbourhood

    nice bed

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    Excellent comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent comfortable bed. Evening meal very good. Breakfast good. Staff attentive.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    having to get around their dog asleep in front of lobby door all the time.

    Food Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.9
    Rooms were clean and modern, especially the shower was large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flies in the restaurant. Tables in dining area were too close together.

    Rooms were clean and modern, especially the shower was large enough.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Very nice personell, fantastic restaurant, quite place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing interesting in surrounding, village like feeling

    Very nice personell, fantastic restaurant, quite place

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Good shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good shower

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.4
    free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi doesn't work in my room a used shaver found in the shower tray

    free parking

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    The room is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is clean and comfortable. It's nice to provide guests in-room slippers. Convenient parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    A fairly large hotel but in no way impersonal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fairly large hotel but in no way impersonal. Good parking and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The staff were very professional yet friendly, obviously...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very professional yet friendly, obviously wanting to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    Brand new spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had wifi issues during our stay, the Internet access was unstable.

    Brand new spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Wonderful business like hotel but stiill people friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Wonderful business like hotel but stiill people friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    we had an excellent dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had an excellent dinner very friendly staff !!!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    Clean well equipped room with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi only worked for about 10 minutes during our stay!

    Clean well equipped room with comfortable bed. Food was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.9
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi could be better

    Very welcoming. Excellent food. Very comfortable rooms

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: