Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ludwig Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Brandenburger Str. 22 - 24, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#43 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast.

    The Hotel is located in a good place. So easy to reach to everything. Very friendly staff. The designated smoking areas were very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was a real slow motion one :-) from a museum...

    Nice, clean, hotel, with friendly staff, in good location, very close to my meeting place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location for getting to the business meeting. Very comfortable. No traffic noise - or other noises from street. breakfast very good. Only about 100m from train station - so really within walking distance. Cathedral close by as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Laminate flooring in winter without a bedside mat! Very cold to the touch first thing in the morning. While realising that it facilitates the outstandingly high cleanliness of the room, perhaps in winter, a mat would improve comfort levels.

    Friendly, helpful staff who really seemed to enjoy their occupation. Delightful breakfast Very relaxed Excellent shower Homely atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection was up and down. Only one TV channel in english...

    The staff was excellent, very helpful and nice. Location was good and the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small and is not worth value paid. bed sheets, Pillow covers and towels were not changed throughout the stay period. breakfast was very basic and is not worth the money paid.

    location and surrounding

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first there was a smell from sewer, but then we poured some water into sewer and the smell was gone. Most likely because that room was not being used for some time before. But that can happen everywhere.

    Location of the hotel is great. Did not expected more for 3 star hotel. Overall, it was good for 1 night sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives.

    I particularly liked the friendliness of the staff and one could see the hotel was very efficiently run. The breakfast was also excellent; also perfect for the main railway station yet the area was still fairly quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Solid hotel, kinda older / classic style yet still nice. After all the room was pretty comfy wit good space. Surprisingly it had a pretty sizable bathroom, I would say kinda oversized. The location is perfect, 3-4 mins walk from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small....but they have everything you need for a night or two. Of course I asked and paid for a single ,so that is what I got.

    Location near rail station and some important administrative buildings Very clean Excellent breakfast with everything you get in a five star hotel but for half the price! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really.

    We have been staying at this hotel on regular visits to Cologne since 1998 and have never been disappointed. It has become home from home. The hotel is a good starting-point for any tour to Germany.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a bad time with the old lady in the reception, she yelled me on the second day because I did not left my key in the reception (I didn't know I must do it). The second thing was the lack of an Air Conditioning, it was to hot and was hard to get asleep.

    New room, close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    weekends can be a bit noisy in Cologne - but why don´t you just join the hype (you´ll become a better person)

    repeat stay at this very comfy hotel, absolutely central near station, staff exceptionally friendly (my main reason), small rooms but all necessary features, great breakfast (individually cooked if you like) with happy fellow guests, great value for money, Cologne is one of the top destinations in Germany anyway

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi signal was so poor I could not work in my room and had to use the lobby to send emails. For that reason, I will not return.

    Clean comfortable rooms, nice staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for breakfast is too high.

    In the room were no towels, but stuff immediately has provided the fresh set and gave breakfast free of charge, which is really attractive compensation. breakfast was little bit better, than in similar hotels, but not superb. In checkout the hotel provide with small souvenir. Location just in few steps from main rail station. The room was very small, but with very nice and surprisingly big terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    inner shoes should be equipped because floor is cold for bare foot after showering.

    comparing with ordinal german 3 star hotels, bathroom is quite big and room was very clean. staff was very friendly. very close to Cologne central station. opposite side of Cathedral (safe and quiet) good hotel for business stay for short term

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor point - there was no plug for bath.

    Comfortable room. Excellent location - quiet but just a few minutes walk from station, river & cathedral. Staff helpful & welcoming. Will choose this hotel next time we go to Cologne.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the convenience for the station and short walk into Cologne. Staff very friendly. Room compact but comfortable. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold coffee. Milk on the turn. Only would stay if no other options. We stayed at the Eden Hotel frau am dom week earlier and this hotel was far superior.

    Not a great deal. Friendly staff in breakfast room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Tiny rooms - Poorly soundproofed room - Noisy, the hotel is used for transit by Deutsche Bahn personnel - Not helping staff, rude manager. It is unacceptable that a hotel manager to tell a guest that ask for further clarifications: "You should never come back again"

    - Location - Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the heating in the room (radiators) did not heat up properly.

    the breakfast was between 6.30-10.00, but when i left on the last day, at 5.50, the reception clerk asked me if i wanted any breakfast. the rooms for smokers have balconies but are smaller than the rooms for non-smokers, which don't have balconies. even though it says WiFi is 1 EUR/ 24 hours it was actually free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    My wife and myself have stayed regularly over the last 20 years at the Hotel Ludwig which - as with Koeln generally - has become an ideal starting-point for any tour to Germany and the surrounding countries. We have never been disappointed. Friendly staff. Adequate accommodation. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning. It proved to be rather hot, even in spring.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very efficient , helpful and friendly staff. Hotel very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    The hotel was exactly what expected. very nice breakfast. The staff were always very nice. the location is amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather small rooms

    Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all floors directly accessible by the elevator (still some stairs).

    Good position. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi conection in the room was very pour or was not.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better Also a tea maker in all rooms please

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism is about the pillows - they were very flat which made sleeping on them uncomfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly and extremely helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some confusion over payment for the room.

    Hotel was lovely, staff were great and the hotel was in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean. Good breakfast. Close to railway station. Room 402 has a nice balcony with a view of inner yard and piece of Dom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Gave me a secure private parking space for my motorcycle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could be darker at night

    Perfect location, quiet, good place for a decent price, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room, no wifi

    easy to go

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Localization is very good. Hotel's staff are dedicated. Very comfortable. The room for 3 adults is comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs we're too soft

    Good location, friendly staff,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was very good and stuff was very kind.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    extremely friendly, perfect location, comfortable bed, quiet rooms, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive

    Fair hotel at an excellent location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Find close to markets. Close to train station amazing front staff

    Location. Front desk staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so so tiny and the wifi is slow.

    Breakfast was good and the crew is really kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street outside on our first night but it was quiet the next night

    Traditional warm welcome - generous breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smallish bed

    VERY friendly staff, quality of breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too basic for the price One of the two gentlemen (the older one) at the reception was unfriendly.

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid, we could also had the breakfast included.

    Location, is great. The room included a balcony.....was just a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I booked the best room (it was the suite 116) but was dusty, as if it had been closed a long time and not been cleaned thoroughly. Pay over 250 euros per night. I will not repeat despite having been several times before in this hotel without any problem.

    hotel location

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive for a small single room,terrible pillows with no support,more like bags of air,My booking .com print out gave a misleading impression under its price that the both the V.A.T. 7 per cent and the city/cultural tax 5 percent were included in the price I paid.However the manager said thee 5 percent city/cultural tax was not included in the price.Booking.com please clarify!!!!

    Excellent breakfast,comfortable beds,friendly staff at breakfast,great location,very good sound insulation from street noise.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was very clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. We liked the extra Christmas touches of gluhwein and chocolates at check in, and the glass of fizz with breakfast on Sunday morning.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows not very comfortable.

    Although very close to the station it was very quiet. A clean and comfortable boutique style hotel with a modern bathroom with a good shower. Staff very friendly and all spoke English. Breakfast was sufficiently varied and notable for its range of different breads and all items were regularly restocked. Mini bar in reception was very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    out of 5-day stay, there was 1 day hot water was not available at all..... Told the staff in the morning and was fixed by evening.

    very close to Koeln Central Station clean room

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We paid for bed and breakfast yet as we booked a while ago, we forgot about it. Nothing was mentioned on check in therefore we missed out - we were left feeling a bit duped.

    The location was ideal; very close to the city centre, the 3 staff members we saw during our stay were friendly and helpful, the room was basic but very tidy with comfortable beds and a well equipped bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable room. Its often the little things we remember.....After checking out at the end of our stay we left our bags at the hotel so we could spend more time in Cologne before our next transfer. When we returned, about five hours later, we asked where to get a cab and then sat in the lobby to rest before moving on. The desk staff, seeing us sitting there with our bags, asked if he could make us a cup of coffee or get us a drink. We said yes to the coffee; he left for the kitchen and returned with perfect lattes with a chocolate cookie. Thank you Hotel Ludwig!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a knock, just a fact; lots of construction was going on across the street from the hotel so the sidewalks were blocked in places going to the train station. Be mindful. The metal exterior room darkening shades could double as anti-crime shields (or vice versa.) People (guests, taxi drivers, etc.) smoke 1 step away from the front entrance and you can't avoid the smoke.

    David at the front desk was exceptional. All the staffers were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Bathroom was clean, modern, and roomy. Triple room was larger than most. Quick & easy 5-minute walk from the train station. ALL cars stop for pedestrians. Sound-proof windows on the first floor.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Enjoyed the visit and would stay again.

    Well positioned hotel being a short walk to the Dom and the old centre of Cologne. Although it is close to the main rail station it was very quiet in the immediate area and in the hotel room. Staff were very polite, helpful and most spoke English to some degree. Breakfast was continental in type although scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages were also available in addition yogurts, several types of cereals, cold meats, cheese's, breads, jams, coffee, teas and fruit juices were available. The hotel does not serve dinner. Free WiFi was available through out the hotels.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything about this property: Location, comfort and cleanliness, staff, breakfast, and value for money. I'll surely stay here when I'm in Köln again!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very convenient location, a few minutes from the main railway station, the cathedral and the museums and the most important attractions in Cologne. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom looks great but shower design poor, as impossible not to flood the floor!

    The staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The decor is clean and contemporary. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have been nice to have a mini-bar (Not so much for drinks but to be able to keep items cool). Coffe/Tea facilities would also help and a little more space around the sink in the bathroom. For one person it is a good size room but for 2 it may be a little on the crowded side.

    Very clean and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi. Excellent location, just opposite the Marriot hotel where my conference took place.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They should improve on breakfast. Things start finishing after 9.00am. They should improve on breakfast verity, specially on warm serving items. There verity is not much. Most of the items are for guests who prefer cold verity in breakfast, which have preservatives in them.

    Comfort, good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't fault it. I would definately stay again.

    location was great. easy to find and near station. very friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere. room was big and clean, breakfast has good selection. all round good vaue for money.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The service was exceptionally kind and helpful. The room was very peaceful and quiet. The railway station was close so on arrviving in Cologne you could get quickly rid of your luggage and start enjoying your weekend.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything is ok

    Clean, quiet, lovely and comfortable apartment in the centre of Cologne close to the temple. Very friendly staff and the city also.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel Ludwig is nearby, and on walking distance of almost everything in Köln and at the same time verg quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were too soft. Room was rather small.

    The room was clean and met our needs. The hotel was very conveniently located. Bathroom was nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing in Mind.

    Perfect location. Few minutes walk to train station. Nice and welcoming staffs. Clean. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator is old and small.

    Good position walk distance from station and city center walking area!! Clean and very nice Hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very helpful staff and the quality of the food and selection at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frendly place to stay. Quiet hotel in a busy area.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice and helpful staff. Well located hotel. Comfortable though small rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I have No bad opinion

    The location was perfect

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: