Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lühmanns Hotel am Rathaus This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friedrichswall 21, Mitte, 30159 Hannover, Germany

#26 of 119 hotels in Hannover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 479 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    The location had a convenient access to city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Located by the main road, a lot of noise when the windows were open. No cooling so you had to open windows. No recreational facilities. No fridge or safe in the room.

    The location had a convenient access to city center. The rooms were fairy clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel staff and location where spot on for our needs. It was a trip down memory lane for husband.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room .

    The staff were excellent, especially the young lady on reception. We asked a lot of questions regarding where to go and directions, she was amazing we never got lost once,! Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Brief but great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great!

    The breakfast was great! Very relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. The parking on the road next to them was helpful to us. The room had a great view of the old hall. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We had an excellent time at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of our double rooms had two single beds put together and shower curtains, vastly sub par compared to the three others.

    We had an excellent time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included plenty of high quality sweet and savoury options, topped off with brilliant freshly prepared eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is great, you are literally in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a funky smell in the bathroom the whole time, we think it was coming from the shower, a bit similar to the smell of sweage water. Also if you close the windows of the room then there's like no oxygen at all, we couldn't see any ventilation inside the room but if there was any it was for sure not working. During the night we had to open and close the window several times because it was still winter so you could not just leave it open the whole time.

    The location of the hotel is great, you are literally in front of the Rathaus and just walking distance from everything, we never had to use public transport or pay a taxi, you can just walk everywhere from there. Room was super clean, comfortable bed and fresh eggs in the morning for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Highly recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault our stay

    On arrival we were found a free parking slot by two members of staff moving their cars. We were checked in early to a spotless room. Breakfast included eggs cooked to choice as well as a good selection of cold foods location is opposite the Rathaus and ideal to wander around the old town of Hanover

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ten minute walk from the railway station, situated opposite the Rathaus and just a step away from some nice places to walk. The staff at this hotel are super-friendly, nice spacious rooms, very comfortable bed and pillow, quiet and peaceful. Nice little bar, food available, guest computer and printer. I would never think of staying anywhere else in Hannover. Highly recommended. Great value for money. The hotel is lovingly cared for and the guests seem to be the number one priority.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked out 15min late, leaving my partner in the room because he was feeling sick. I explained and apologized to the staff and told them he would be down in a minute. They told me - don’t worry no problem. While I payed and checked out the receptionists offered us the possibility to stay another 30min or so till my partner is feeling better. Eventually, we didn’t need it but I wanted to mention this very friendly and understanding reaction which motivated me to rate my stay as a very excellent and comfortable one. Thank you again :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Was okay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The park house was really far and really expensive. They should have their own parking spaces near by. The room wasn’t clean. Soap was always missing and we didn’t have water in our room. Check out is way too early. Why should you not check in before 2 pm but check out before 11 ? ..

    The staff was very nice! Loved the breakfast every morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Good but also disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room hot and opening window meant lots of traffic noise. Also, no hot drink facilities in room and when went down to bar for coffee just after midnight told there wasn't any available.

    Great location and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    A room with a wiew!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were locked in the hallway after checking out put got good help from the staff.

    We loved the location and the apartment was brand new. So nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in Hannover.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to trains and local restaurants. Picturesque views of the Rathaus across the street, which is the site of many events and festivals. We were attending the Ligna trade show, and this hotel worked out well for us. We will definitely consider it when we return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! This hotel is really great!!

    Staff were super! Friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were very clean and beds were super comfortable. The location was good - 5 min walk to Centre of Hannover and very near the tram/bus/public transport. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Excellant location for sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault.

    Excellant location for sight seeing. Friendly staff, nothing was to much of an effort. Very good choice and variety for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow could have been firmer and duvet provided for single occupancy of double bed too small

    Excellent breakfast and location convenient for visits to the old town. Underground station nearby and walking distance to the main railway station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Not best
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay in This hotel few years ago and was much better than now, maybe because half hotel is renovate i dont know, was very hot no air con, no kettle on room, no cot bed for baby even when i asked, lift very poor count get with pram in, hope get better

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast and good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Modern hotel nearby Altes Rathause with comfortable and big rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a nice location nearby Altes Rathaus and the park. Rooms are big with modern and nice furniture. A breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel provided ticket which could be used for trams and buses. Makes it easy to get around town. Room size is big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a very central location, the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a very central location, the staff was really helpful and friendly and the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stay! Thank you very much for a good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Cleanliness and service at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value in a fine location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and comfortable in a brilliant location. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel for 1 - 2 nights stay in the heart of Hannover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little noise and bath room is very small

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    The location was good, easy to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was good, easy to get around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.4
    No airconditioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Excelent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent location.frindly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff friendliness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow a little soft.

    Staff friendliness. Nice view on Town hall. Close to park and to city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    The breakfast was great, the service was great, the place...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast was great, the service was great, the place was clean. Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location in Hannover, close to the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Good place to overnight in Hannover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good and the bed was also very fine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.8
    Ok room and bathroom. Unconfi bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was old and too soft

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    The room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was small compared to the room size. The shower head holder was broken and the bedside table dirty.

    The room was big.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfasts were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like a firm bed. The bed here was very soft.

    Breakfasts were good. Ideal location between Old Market and the Machsee with the Neues Rathaus just over the road.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    the fresh orange juice for breakfast was really nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the bed was not good. the mattress was fluffy the pillow was flat and the blanket was thin but very warm. Overall bad sleep experience.

    the fresh orange juice for breakfast was really nice! the staff were also very helpful and friendly. the location is very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    My third trip to Hannover but the first time of my team.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    My third trip to Hannover but the first time of my team. I love the hotel location and a view of am Rathaus "The New City Hall". But this time we met Thai staff "Nong Parichat" work at this hotel. She is very nice and very helpful to us. If I come back to Hannover I would like to stay here again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was really good, with a large range of products.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personel at check-in was nice, but check-out very "cold", we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay. Bed was pretty hard + curtains were so thin we both were right awake at 6pm because of the sun. Product in the bathroom is in a dispenser and did not smell that good

    Breakfast was really good, with a large range of products. Also service at breakfast was ok. The location of the hotel is also convenient. Room was ok, basic, but ok.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    Perfect situation, nice hotel with very nice stuff that do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coffe could be better

    Perfect situation, nice hotel with very nice stuff that do for the comfort of the costumers. Comfortable rooms and modern and nice bathrooms. They also have a large time table for breakfast and they take care of a huh variety.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    6.3
    Location not bad, but not the best
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Price was very high based on Hotel quality

    Location not bad, but not the best

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    A fantastic room and wonderfull view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For my taste the bedeutet could have been harder.

    A fantastic room and wonderfull view.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    Location, breakfast, staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, breakfast, staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    Good, comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good, comfortable room. Good location. Good value for money. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    clean, comfortable and well located
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    clean, comfortable and well located

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: