Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arte Luise Kunsthotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Luisenstr. 19, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#272 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1615 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Bad night due to noise levels. Far too expensive for value. Not recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot I did not like. Starting with the railway. A train going past about every minute starting around 5 AM does not provide a good night sleep. When people walking outside the room, the movement is reflected in the bed (vibration). And the price, for a 12 sqm single room, no breakfast, I payed 183 Euro for one night. No toiletries in the bathroom, just a bit of soap. No lift, which would be fine, but no-one offering to help with luggage up the stairs is not fine. Overall not a great impression and I shall not recommend to use this hotel to my company.

    Location is good for sightseeing, close to Charite Hospital. Friendly staff at check-in. Birds in the courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the room a little high because bathroom shared!!😐😐😐

    I liked the cleanliness, convenient, close to Centrsl Station and amenities. The customer service was very good, helpful info given.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right next to rail. Should be noise, if windows are open.

    Great location (5 minutes walk to Reichstag) , nice personal, clean appartment, concept of the hotel is interesting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, within a walking distance from Hauptbanhof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, within a walking distance from Hauptbanhof and main tourist attractions , you can also easily get from the hotel to other parts of the city by public transportation. Nice, friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    It's very artistic and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the train tracks are right beside the hotel, so you hear the trains pass by. They have noise cancelling windows, however, in the bathroom they don't and the sound leaked into the room.

    It's very artistic and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is super convenient to be so close to Friedrichstraße!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    The rooms are certainly individual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members was grumpy/rude to us. The room hadn't been cleaned properly either. There were stains on the carpet etc. It was more like an expensive hostel than an actual hotel.

    The rooms are certainly individual. It's located well within walking distance of some of Berlin'sain attractions and the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, not comfy, to loud to sleep (curving train tracks)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not comfy at all, way to expensive for what you get, located next to a curve of a train line - keeps you up all night, even with the window closed

    -

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The hostel has an outstanding design - many paintings,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers got clogged up easily

    The hostel has an outstanding design - many paintings, posters and sculptures. The backyard was very pleasant with its cute tables and green all around. Our room was much fun - hidden behind a mirror, looked like an escape room with mystery clues on the wall. Plus there were many bathrooms - if one was taken, you could find a free one instead of waiting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very comfy bed and an exquisite fan made sleeping much easier in Berlin's hot summer nights! Stylish & spotless rooms Amazing location! You can get to the German parliament by foot! The train and metro station are also just at a walking distance from the property. Many cute coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Pro tip: don't miss stepping by the Kartoffelkeller, they serve heavenly Berlin special potato-based dishes, and they're only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean but a bit too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is very close to the city train, and because of this it was very noisy in the room even with the windows shut. We found ear plugs in the room but they didn't help a lot, so it was a bit difficult to sleep well.

    Location is great. Very close to all attractions and museums, specially museum of natural history with one of the best T-rex skeletons in the world and a lot of other cool things . Room was OK, nothing special, but it had all that we need(bed, chairs, wardrobe). Bathrooms were very nice and super clean. There is a very beautiful terrace on the first floor where you can enjoy your morning coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Sehr Kuenstlich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms near the railway, the windows can't be open, and after the new decoration, the smell of paintings are unbearable. So I have to switch room once. Also people who are afraid of the noise should pay some attention, to keep your room far from the railway. The rooms in the third floor are good, with or without a personal bathroom and toilet.

    The location is good, super close to bus TXL; close to bus 147, S-bahn, some restaurants and Lidl. The art decoration is different in different rooms, very interesting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    A unique and artsy place to stay in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the train is quite loud, shared bathroom isn’t cleaned regularly.

    A unique and artsy place to stay in Berlin. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Walking distance to Reichstag Building and the Brandenburg Gate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    A very nice hotel - but trains are in the neighborhood!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is making photocopies of your passport. When I stated that this is forbidden by law (an identity theft on the internet is very easily made whith this kind of information) the employee told me that his chief wanted it that way. I forbid to take this information though. Another negative point ist, that trains drive at about 20 meters from your room. Earstoppers are provided and if these are sufficient for you, you will have sleep well.

    It is a very nice concept. Art everywhere in the hotel and every room has its own theme. Some weeks ago I slept in the sleeping room of Vincent van Gogh surrounded by his paintings. The bed was ok and the bathroom also - considering the price of the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The hall was really beautiful and artistic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s noisy because of the train passing by at night. However, for me it´s totally fine. Because the hotel prepared ear plugs in the wardrobe. I also wear them at home. So absolutely no problem. Recommending this hotel a lot.

    The hall was really beautiful and artistic. Top location in Berlin. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location - would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air-con in the room and with the heatwave summer we had to leave the windows open but it was a little noisy. No worries though if you have a couple of beers before, you'll be fast asleep!

    Great location, friendly staff, cheap and cheerful! They also had lockers for you to leave your bags or cases if you were checking out in the morning but not leaving the city until later that day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator, so perhaps the higher floors in the hotel are less suitable for guests unable to climb stairs.

    The room was comfortable and a fan, to give some relief from the summer heat, was provided in the room. Shared facilities were clean and adequate for the number of guests sharing (no waiting times for showers etc.). The art in the lobby, corridors and rooms were a nice touch. Free luggage storage available after check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel if you like something a bit different!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel if you like something a bit different! Particularly liked relaxing in the enclosef court yard full of plants after a hard day's walking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is very cute and the service is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two downsides: no AC (this is a general problem in Berlin in the hotels, restaurants, transport) and noisy train passing by even at night - with closed windows it’s not that bad thou

    The hotel is very cute and the service is perfect. Its clean and very well located. Adorable inner patio

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad soundproof and so close to the railway station

    I am really excited about our room. It is clean, good-looking and nice. There are a lot of space there. There are hot water, 3 towels, shampoo. Good, kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double and a single room. When we arrived, we were given a twin room instead of a double and when we asked the reception they told us that all rooms were twin - then they shouldn't have advertised double and twin separately online and we walked past some of the other rooms the following day, they were some double rooms. My friend wasn't keen on the single room given as he found some of the art work a little bit scary. Very close to the train tracks so very noisy.

    The location is perfect - nicely situated by centre of Berlin!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place, would definitely stop there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little steep.

    The staff were extremely friendly and spoke good English. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The room had everything I needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train gets a bit noisy with the windows open but there is a fan in the room so it does not get unpleasantly warm even with the windows closed. The shower is a bit small so be careful not to accidentally change the water temperature mid shower.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was tremendously central. Bike rental available through the hotel. Train is close. The bed was very comfy. Snack and drink bar available 24/7.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Location close to Brandenburg gate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not overly clean. We had a cane bed surround that was very dirty not suitable for this type of use. Shower in bathroom didn’t drain properly.

    Location close to Brandenburg gate. And start point for walking tours. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay, recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was a tiny bit scruffy, but then again all 3 star hotels outside the Nordics are. I guess it's just too warm for everything to look like an Ikea booklet.

    Staff was great, lobby open 24/7, charming old building, simple but nice room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Noisy hotel in an old building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy rooms with no sound proofing as this is an old building. Train passes very close every couple of minutes. It is impossible to sleep in the rooms facing the railway. I had to change rooms due to this. I also had to pay for an upgrade.

    Breakfast at the restaurant next door was good. Location is ok. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is on the TXL bus line (Marschallbrücke), although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was facing the rail tracks (1 floor up), you can still hear it a bit when the trains run past even with double-glazing. The internet was also quite slow and drops in and out. I often had difficulty connecting. There's probably only 1 router per floor, and my room was at the far end.

    The hotel is on the TXL bus line (Marschallbrücke), although when I took it it was rediverted to Friedrichstraße bahnhof because of road works, but it was only a short walk away. It's a relatively convenient location, short walks to main sites like the Reichstag and also U- & S-bahns, including a 10-minute walk along the river to the Hauptbahnhof. The buidling's hof is very green, and the lobby is very spacious. My window did have a view of the Reichstag dome which is now unfortunately partially obscured by the new government building being built, but still very close to walk to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Very central, 5 minutes walking distance to Reichstag and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the train rails, so you could constantly hear them passing by. Sleeping with an open window was not possible at all.

    Very central, 5 minutes walking distance to Reichstag and Brandenburger Tor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant place with an interesting history in a fascinating city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only inconvenience could have been train noise but this was nullified by clever sound proofing and you really did not notice it We found no problems. You had to practice the door key opening a little

    Location very convenient. Food fine. We liked the incorporation of the artist’s design concept. Atmosphere very relaxed I would recommend it to friends as a moderately priced place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Book elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says it's airconditioned. Room only has a fan. Not a lot of restaurants/bars in the vicinity. Room shook every time the train passed. Very noisy. No elevator. Have to carry luggage through several flights of stairs. Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. Tiny tv. Too expensive. There are better hotels for the same price. Deppresing area. The art was overrated. Nothing spectacular about it. Shouldn't really be a selling point. Weak wifi.

    Airport bus just across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.5
    It was comfortable and clean and a convenient location for walking to all that is central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sorry, the rooms are oppressive with artists' fantasies. I was initially given a room totally covered in dark red velvet with velvet swags draping every window and door, with 2 life-size mannequins in black lace sitting atop cabinets. Are you KIDDING?! It was dark and scary and I asked for a room change immediately. Then I was given another room, lighter and brighter but with the most horrible art, junk hanging all over the place. Perhaps some guests would find it colorful and amusing but I didn't. Sorry! The lobby and public areas are all quite nice and the staff super.

    The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They were wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    An over rated and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not very clean - dust on the tables and at the ventilation fan. There's a smell of dumpiness in the room.

    Location is not bad. I needed to stay somewhere close to the central station, and this hotel is only 15 minutes walk from there. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Very nice place which is close to suitable transport hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice place which is close to suitable transport hub. Worth seeing, worth making photos, worth staying at. Lots of pleasant locations to have meal around the hotel. There are 2 reasonable "contras" - 24/7 trains noise (but that is reasonable price for transport suitability and not critical for the sleep) and WC/bathroom not in number (on floor) (but also mentioned on booking - thus not a surpise). If you can stand it - that is OK. I do not consider it to be a problem, my stay was very nice & pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    An interesting small central hotel and a train spotters paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no lift and the walk up to my room was a pain at the end of a busy day's sightseeing. The cost of breakfast seemed high but if you obtain the pre-book day before discount, the 11 euros offered good food and a very pleasant breakfast room. It was a fair price.

    The Arthotel was decorated as I expected and the ambiance was good. All the staff spoke good English and were very helpful. My room was artistically as expected and the art and furniture were of good quality. The location is perfect for trains [ 15 minutes walk] and many major attractions. The trains outside the window averaged 50 an hour but were not a problem to me as the double glazing was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was super hot in the room & the hotel is right next to the train track, so could hear the trains.

    It is a lovely hotel with very clean rooms and interesting interior. The location is great with a walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    A stay in an attractive, listed building that did not come up to hotel standards.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was adjacent to the noisiest railway bridge imaginable, and at more or less the same level (2nd floor). Every few seconds a train of some kind (sometimes two simultaneously) roared and screeched past the hotel, making sleep almost impossible. It was extremely hot and the room only had a fan in it, no airconditioning. I could not open the windows at night as the noise of the trains became deafening. The constant background noise of the fan also took some getting used to. The carpet in the room - especially under the bed - had apparently not seen a vacuum cleaner for some considerable time - weeks? months? Near the head of the bed, clearly visible to me as I stood next to the bed, was a plastic wrapper from an iced tea bottle in the layers of dust that had accumulated around the bed leg. I noticed it when I first walked into the room. Interestingly, it was still there when I left two days later. Another and more unpleasant discovery on the day I checked out was a discarded, used contact lens on the floor slightly under the other side of the bed near the window. It wasn't one of mine. Fluff bunnies at the bottom of the heater next to the WC (clearly visible) and a plastic screw-top ring decorating the hand towel holder rounded out the dismal picture of housekeeping disaster.

    At checkout the reception clerk reduced the cost of the 2 breakfasts I'd had to compensate for the fact that I hadn't been told that if I spontaneously decided to have breakfast as opposed to booking in advance, it would cost me €4 more. He courteously listened to my feedback regarding the (lack of) cleanliness of the room, and promised to report the matter back to the manager. The breakfast in a bar/cafe next door was however extremely good value. The best boiled eggs I have had almost anywhere outside my own kitchen. The pillows were comfortable - another plus that other hotels I have stayed in don't seem to understand or care about.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    An unusual hotel with pluses and minuses, depending on which room you end up in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My own room was very well quadruple-glazed and with air-conditioning, so the sound of the trains was minimal and I was at a perfect temperature, but I understand from another guest that her room, on the second floor, was both noisy and hot and that she'd certainly not be staying there again. It seems like luck of the draw!

    Friendly and capable staff and good facilities. Eccentric feel and decoration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was up 7 flights of steps with no elevator and the rooms got extremely warm at night with no ac available only one small fan provided. You share the bathroom with other guests and it was always a mess.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    the sound of railway and trains moving all night was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sound of railway and trains moving all night was unbearable- it’s right next to the hotel and makes it impossible to fall asleep. Staff was nice, the did try to help to the best of their ability

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    well located but super noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located nearby rail tracks and trains are passing all night long. No air con in the rooms, and small double glazing. Hence rooms are really noisy with closed and open windows. We slept awfully. I was hugely disappointed.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but rooms along the train track can be a nightmare.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was directly at the train track. Although the windows were sound insulated, every fe minutes a train would wake me. Make sure that your room faces a different direction.

    Nice and budget conscious Hotel Just five minutes walk from the Brandenburger Tor and close to a lot of bars and cafes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value in good location in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift , so if you have a heavy luggage then you have to up 3 floors of stairs

    Good location only 10 mins from the main station , walking Good value for Berlin which is mostly expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    The art in the room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there were more lighting in the room; even after I had turned on all of the lights it was still fairly dim. The room was also rather warm despite the outside being cooler and the radiators turned off.

    The art in the room was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    A fun place to stay in central Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficient double glazing muted railway noise but prevented windows being opened at all, and air con was not great.

    Welcoming and efficient staff. Uniquely whacky room. Hot drink machine and snacks in reception available 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    It’s an absolutely fantastic place:) the design, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room opened to a train line, literally-but I was told that was the only one left and I believe I paid accordingly.

    It’s an absolutely fantastic place:) the design, the location- everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a mix of emotions when it comes to my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hardly sleep because a train was passing by the hotel several times and the walls were so thin I could hear the person in the next door room snoring loudly. Also, there was no lift, so I had to carry my suitcase 2 floors up some old wooden stairs without any help.

    Comfortable bed, very friendly staff, great location, great restaurants nearby and good breakfast. Also, they had lockers so even after checking out I could leave my suitcase at the hotel for a while before heading to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast was quite expensive and I think it could have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was quite expensive and I think it could have been a little bit better. For example, I expected a variety of organic grain flakes to be provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is ok - not very luxurious but made whit love and there is a restaurant around the corner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The S Bahn is very close and you hear it - If you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. They took a copy of my passport - that is forbidden and I told them so.

    The Room was like the van Gogh painting - and a lot of Paintings of him were on the wall. This was a room that was made with love!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    First time traveller on their own stays in great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of steps to carry your luggage up if on top floor. My lamp didnt work.

    .great location, staff were very helpful and gave suggestions on where to go. Beautiful art designs inside and breakfast next door was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The art exhibits were fab and the hotel is covered in them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tube can be noisy depending on where your room is.

    The art exhibits were fab and the hotel is covered in them. The staff are extremely friendly and there is a wee fridge with drinks to purchase at the reception. Very quiet residential neighbourhood. In walking distance from the main attractions in the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 big Mannequins inside the room. For me they made the room creepy. Hard to sleep at first night. No lift. I have got problem with my knee. So it was quite problem for me to go upstairs.

    Clean. Nice and helpful staff. Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay for the money, ‘quirky’ decor is interesting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay for the money, ‘quirky’ decor is interesting... quiet central area has to make it one of the best cheaper options for a non-party orientated cheap overnight in Berlin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    great value,great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my personal preference is a softer mattress however it was only 1 night so not really a massive concern

    smashing location, really close to central station and close to local attractions and a cracking price would return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location. Interesting concept. Terrible bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed: Seriously, I cannot stress how disappointed I was with my bed. The one I had in my room was simply a stiff sponge mattress... I was really glad when I was back home! Others have said it countless times here: the train tracks run next to the hotel. With windows closed is ok, I had no problems with it personally. But if you require absolute silence to sleep, maybe book somewhere else. Since every room is uniquely decorated, there's no standard of what you can find in each room. For example, mine had only a chair, a night table and the bed. I was disappointed by the lack of a desk in my room, for example, as other rooms seem to have one. The hotel makes a good impression on its decoration when you arrive, but I felt my room a bit plain and cheap.

    The decoration of the Hotel, in general, is nice and unique. The staff is helpful as you would expect, and the installations of the hotel are mostly clean. The location is great, being very close to the main train station, the parliament building and the Brandenburg gate. Some have said that there is no elevator in this hotel; there is one but is somewhat hidden in the back but I cannot say if you can reach all the rooms from there, maybe ask the staff if you can't find it or explore a bit by yourself.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Quirky & comfortable hotel in good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right next to the train tracks & I could hear the trains from my room. This didn't affect my sleep but it might be a problem if you are sensitive to noise.

    I had a great nights stay here! The staff were friendly & very helpful. My bed was super comfortable & the room was large with plenty of light & a great view over the rooftops of Berlin & the Berliner Fernsehturm tower. Good hot shower too :) The location is great too - only a short walk to the station & lots of cafes & restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Great area/location, nice relaxed hotel, good atmosphere , very friendly/helpful staff/room 😔
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above - my room was disappointing as it was so plain/basic,and not what I thought I was booking. Expensive for what I got. Bed not very comfy, would like to have been able to open a window.

    I was really disappointed with my room as it was very plain/basic and I booked the hotel as it was really arty. I felt as if they forgot to do room 344. Expensive for what I got. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Good location. Staff friendly and very helpful, room clean, great coffee, nice breakfast next door. The hotel had a lovely feel to it and I loved the courtyard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Really vibrant place with a fun vibe and an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Just be aware that the rooms lock as soon as the doors are closed. Knowledge of this, and making sure you keep your key on you whenever you leave the room, isn't made clear, so just bear this in mind when popping to the toilets to avoid having to go down to reception to get your room unlocked.

    - The individual design of all the rooms makes opening your door for the first time really exciting, as you have no idea what you'll get! - Really friendly staff! - Excellent location (being really close to the Reichstag, and with a bus to the airport right outside the door) - Optional breakfast for €11 at a quality restaurant next door!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    excellent, just what we needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this wasn't really an issue for us as we live near train stations ourselves but if you are a light sleeper, the hotel is next to train tracks so i'd imagine the noise may be an issue but it wasn't for us!

    the staff were so lovely and understanding of every need we had! considering my partner and i only having basic accommodation needs for the few nights we were staying, i highly recommend to anyone needing a place to stay in central berlin for such good value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable experience and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the spy room which was unique and meant we were immersed in the history of the city, however, I think there should be a choice as to whether you want to stay in there as it initially made me feel quite uncomfortable.

    The hotel is a unique experience. The location is great. It is a walking distance from main attractions, public transport and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was so uncomfortable and the bed wasn't stable. Requested a ground floor room but got 3rd floor.. very steep building! Staff were great though and changed the room for us. Loud outside, especially in the room facing the outside roads. Woke up from 7am with construction work and the cleaners! Tried too hard on the design and didn't think enough about comfort and hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Good staff, central location, interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was right next to the rail track, very noisy. Also the room wasnt cleaned during our stay (although we received a discount for this oversight)

    Good staff, central location, interesting hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too expensive for the room I stayed in. It was actually on the last floor and though it's artistic and confortable. It felt like a small tiny artic

    The staff are wonderful people and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Creative ambience, good value for money, comortable, and well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One morning, without notification, the water was turned off just as I was about to take a shower. I returned to my room and called reception, who assured me it would be back on soon. When I returned to shower later, the water was lukewarm the entire time. The communication could've been better and something should've been done to make sure the water was sufficiently warm.

    Traveling on a budget here doesn't mean sacrificing a unique experience. I really like the artist-designed rooms (mine was S-Bahn themed) and found the room comfortable. The staff was friendly and capable. The shared bathroom was tidy and well-equipped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Berlin style for an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothig bad to say about this place. Easy check in with the very pleasant staff. Single room was small but warm, clean and super comfortable. Shared bathrooms where clean and spacious. Location is 10 mins ealk from Hauptbanhof (central station) so was perfect for me. The reception sold chilled beers and there was lovely areas to sit and drink and chill. I opted for the 11euro breakfast at the attached brasserie which was fantastic. I was only in berlin about 18hrs but this hotel made it fantastic. Thankyou.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel centrally located to the big city sights and the wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wernt very imformative about breakfast menu regarding a vegeterian option, only told it was continental...

    Lovely hotel, rooms are induvidual and quirky, we had a train style room on the top floor with great views. Great for places to eat, especially the potatoe restraunt just round the corner. Would definatly come back and its very close to the big attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A nice and artistic stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved this hotel, it has an artistic design which makes it unique. The room is little but quite confortable, the people working there was so nice and very friendly, and the hotel is located closer to the station as well as restaurants and only 15 minutes by walk to Brandenburg Tor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    An Unwanted Extra Night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to get a clear understanding about cancelling this hotel owing to being able to leave Berlin earlier than planned. I contacted both hotel and booking.com but both kept referring me to the other. I felt totally left alone and unhelped in these triangles.

    The artistic ideas for the bedroom were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    was ok for 1 night but to expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv are very very small and old, toilet wasn't ok in function ( water flushing doesn't work, must take off the front panel to flush the toilet)....... the bath are very very small, dor open to inside so you have a big problem to coming inside the bathroom, an big person will really have a big problem..... to expensive for this kind of standard(140€ with breakfast for 1 night including discount)

    big good bed, big room with many paintings in cold colors....... very good breakfast in the restaurant by the side

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Highly Recommend: Great Hotel. Wonderful Location. Friendly and Professional Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for four nights. The location is amazing - approx 10 minutes from the Brandenburg Gate. We asked for a lovely room to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we checked in the receptionist said we’d been given one of their best rooms but if it was not to our taste we could see if they could give us another room the following day. The room was amazing, but not to our taste. The next day they tried to accommodate us changing room. They offered us a suite which would have incurred an additional charge per night which they were willing to reduce. Despite the reduction we were not able to afford it. We packed and they explained that they would try to find another room and move our bags. We went out for the day sightseeing. When we returned we realised that we had been given the suite at no extra cost. It was amazing. We love drinking tea and there were no tea making facilities in the suite. When we asked for hot water they gave us a travel kettle. That was really handy and made a big difference to our holiday! Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Berlin weekend ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains didn't bother me but might bother others ...they are v close!

    Brilliant location and a truly unique hotel. Lovely art work and a pretty courtyard with birds singing at dusk and dawn!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    I loved my room - it was like entering another world, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved my room - it was like entering another world, but one I felt very at home in. Very simple, but had absolutely everything I needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for what I needed, whether walking in the vicinity or travelling further afield via public transport - lots of easy connections.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Cool hotel. Incredible location. Lovely staff. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't a fan of our double bed consisting of two separate mattresses and duvet covers, even though they were pushed together.

    Very cool hotel! Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very clean. Amazing location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Room had a family room and separate bedroom, as well the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included in reservation.

    Room had a family room and separate bedroom, as well the toilet and shower had their own separate rooms. we had a nice view of the courtyard. It was 2 blocks from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Very clean, but a bit expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find on foot, but this may just be me! Like all things German, hotel is very mean; one has to pay for everything. At e44, facilities little better than those at a hostel!

    Very clean hotel with character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Really good location, short walk from the station and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't bother me but it is right next to a train line which can be heard at night from the room I stayed in - might be worth bringing ear plugs if you need total silence to sleep! Reception staff a tad grumpy but I've had much worse!

    Really good location, short walk from the station and also from the holocaust memorial and Brandenburg Tor. Area felt safe and didn't worry about walking around at night as a solo female traveller. It was really clean and the rooms were quirky and had character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything was perfect really, shared bathrooms were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room was stained and looked abit dusty in places

    Everything was perfect really, shared bathrooms were very clean and the location was excellent (5 minutes walk to Brandenburg gate) our room was a weird design but still cool and very comfortable!! Staff very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Arte Luise Kunsthotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: