Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Luitpold This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schützenstr. 14, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80335 Munich, Germany

#222 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2589 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot room - needs air conditioner! Be wary of slightly threatening groups in surrounding streets - presumably due to closeness of station - made us feel slightly uncomfortable

    Closeness to station Lovely park nearby Nice breakfast Comfortable furniture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is in an excellent location in relation to the Main train station as well as the pedestrian zone. It’s a well managed property and they offer a good breakfast. I have stayed here before and the service is always good. I can recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Munich.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noises from the street late at night. Room on the small side. Small BF area and BF options quite limited.

    Close to the station (easier to walk the subway rather than street level) and shopping streets. We could leave luggage overnight while travelling outside the city for a day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in the top floor and it was extremly hot at first hour of the morning, basically it was my alarm clock during the stay. I went on first June, be careful if you go on summer and your room is located at top floor.

    Superb location, the hotel is close to the metro and downtown. The rooms are with old furniture but the bathroom was completelly new. In my case I like this "old bavarian style"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got really hot at night and because location is so central couldn’t open a window without street noise

    Excellent location, good breakfast included, staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise could be a problem. I was on the top (6th) floor and even with the window closed on the 1st night I was woken by a party or a fight in the street below at about 3am that continued loudly for over an hour making sleep impossible. This was not the hotel's fault and it was only the one (Saturday) night, but the noise from the street did carry up whenever there were people outside on the street below till late in the evening. Suggest if noise is a concern this may not be a good choice.

    Comfortable and clean. And extremely convenient location for tourist. My room was small but adequate as there was only me in it. Location was easy walking distance from the museums and all the sites of the city, restaurants and coffee shops nearby, almost across the road from the main station and the tourist office, and just around the corner from where the tourist buses left for hop on hop off city tours, and for longer day tours to, for example, Salzburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact room, tiny bathroom but modern. We had requested a quiet room but it was very noisy above a busy cafe and street. Did have double glazing which was good but made the room very hot when closed (no air con). I asked at reception if we could get a bigger room but was told “ rooms all the same” grumpily. Curtains in room like rice paper so street lights all night and sun first thing didn’t help our sleep. No fridge.

    Quite a nice breakfast, also nice breakfast room and staff. Excellent location, close to main train station and a short walk to Marienplatz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very small. Feels crowded even there are only 3 people without luggage.

    - Very friendly staff - Good location: just opposite to the main railway station(east exit) - Delicious breakfast (although not plentiful in variety)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel could not be more conveniently located yet, thanks partly to good double glazing, it’s surprisingly quiet. Very comfortable bed, very clean and well laid out bathroom. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception & restaurant could have been a bit more cordial. It would have been a lot better if there was a coffeemaker in the room.

    The room & facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dry air, carpets, overheated - big minus. Typical German mid-range hotel in urgent need of renovating.

    Good location right across the central station. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street with drunken people. .very hot sauna room without air condition or even a fan ..you can not sleep for one minute ..no fridge. .no coffee or kattel. .no safe..no concierge. ....but the most offending is the trickery dishonest behaviour of the reception man (I think the owener) That behaviour is not usual with booking. Com hotels the company I respect.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 3 min. far away from HBF station. The room and bathroom were clean and useful. Breakfast was great. Even pillows were amazing. Definetely recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs some kind of AC, no refrigerator, no safety deposit box, and the breakfast needs some more food options.

    Location is perfect, staff are helpful and friendly,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed is very narrow, even in term for a single bed.

    great location and nice space with the room - I booked a single room but was given a triple room instead. Breakfast included is always a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Luitpold is just a step away from the station, but quietly situated. Cosy traditional hotel, small but comfortable room with a very nice new bathroom. The breakfast is plentiful and the dining room is very efficiently managed, food replenished immediately. This hotel is simple but is excellent value for money in such a big city. I would always choose to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very old the area is very noisy in the morning , the room is very small with an old desk and useless lamp and tv, the breakfast is very poor.. I paid 68 euros per night.

    The location is amazing! Very close to everything. The staff is very friendly and proffesional, helps a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , all the touristic attractions are in walking distance. One of the worst things that I met first time - all the rooms are with double beds and twin matress. It is impossible sleep. That was awful. Staff is amazing. Talking lil bit english ... helpful etc etc. Breakfast is tasty-tea,coffe,natural juice, cheese, boiled eggs, bread and butter. P.s. in the rooms you will feel a smell of oldness. You need to keep the window open but in that case in the room will be so noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on a long layover from Israel when I stayed at the Luitpold. Even arriving late, around 11:00 PM, my reservation was waiting for me! VERY convenient to Central Station for the airport train, just one block away! Convenient to "hop on hop off" bus routes and easy walking to center city. The attendant was great! My room was CLEAN, new carpet and remodeled bath. Comfortable bed. It was April so an open window was enough for a cool night sleeping. (I don't think there was AC so double check that). Breakfast was a typical variety German fair, cereals, cheeses, deli meats, hardboiled eggs, breads etc. Great coffee, service and ambiance! So for the money, as a picky American, I was very pleased with my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I had to turn in my key every time I left the hotel. It was really a pain.

    The atmosphere was so cute! I felt like I was at home instead of in a hotel. I wish I had stayed for a week.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi in the rooms is horrible. A stronger hotspots will be a good addition.

    The location is perfect, the entrance to the Munich subway and the central station is just 50 m from the hotel. Walking distance from the city center (about 10 minutes). The hotel was clean, and we had everything we need in the room, although we didn't enjoy the beds very much (quite old). The hotel needs a makeover. The stuff was really nice and helpful. Generally, we enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything negative!

    Great location, room was comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful both at reception and breakfast! Also, got good night's sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My reservation was a one big bed - queen or king not sure - but what I got was two single beds put side by side. Also, I choose a non smoking room and what I got a non smoking room but with real smoke odor inside. i could barely move inside the room so be careful if you are traveling with your spouse.

    The room was clean Cheese in the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be richer, although it was overall OK.

    Excellent location adjacent to the main train station. New bathroom facilities. Very Clean. Very strong WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bad. limited quantity of breads were available as well as not much options. for vegetarian there was nothing to eat except cornflakes.

    Location. Very near to hauptbahnof as well as to Marienplatz

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television or remote did not work. However did not raise with staff - after all not on holiday to watch television ;).

    Central location, to station and town centre. Able to go in and out easily through out the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor and not enough choices for vegetarians. I requested a quiet room but they put me to a room that faces the main street where many people crossed and made noises during the night. Additionally the payment process was very time-consuming due to very bad internet connection.

    The location was convenient to walk to Munich Hbf.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasant and strange smell in corridors (2nd floor) and the room, I had to open window to air the room

    I would recommend the hotel administration to pay attention to the not very pleasant smell in the corridors and rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near the main train station, but in a quiet road so not noisy. Good Breakfast with eggs available on request. Efficient & freindly check-in. Can easily walk into the old town from here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “waffer thin” walls of the room and the snoring of the guys next door... together made it difficult to fall a sleep

    Truly great for budget travelers. Friendly Staff, specially the educated, sweet and friendly lady in the evennings... guys in the early morning: Learn TO SMILE! The bathroom on my room was neat, new and perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room; only one cup tea or coffee can you get for breakfast (not more); they do not have a safe room for the luggage, you can leave it only at the front door...

    Soft towels, heating was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terribly bad and it made my trip worse. No water in room and desk as well. If you want to find reasonable hotel then pay little more to find another one. No more to say that.

    Easy to find the hotel near the train station and a lot of shops and restaurants surrounded closed by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They can not provide Breakfast before 7:am, small rooms and very basic . If you have heavy build can not sit comfortably on commode

    near railway station and S strains

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel dates back to 1945 and as a result the lift is small, 2 people and suitcases can be a squeeze. More than one ski bag in the foyer could be a problem.

    Because we were travelling with a large ski bag and 2 heavy suitcases we chose this hotel because of it's location to Munich 's Central Station. It's just over the road in a side street. Pulling a ski bag over tram tracks and cobble stones is a hassle. However, so are the 2 escalators in the underpass, but it's safer. The windows in our room were very effective at keeping out the noise from the street below and bed was very comfortable. We managed a good nights sleep. The breakfast had an adequate selection and service was good. We got to breakfast just after opening, not sure how busy it gets later on in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very poor breakfast buffet, bad coffee - very small extremely basic room

    + very nice and friendly staff + perfect location + ok for 1-2 nights stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First day rushing us during breakfast, second cleaning tables 10 min. before end...

    Location is perfect, good room temperature and nice front desk staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people that work in the Kitchen are not friendly. Totally rude and don't speak German fluently.

    Beds are comfy, Localization is excellent, Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy - people walking home middle of the night and street sweeping lorry cleaning the pedestrian area.

    The location was very good - very close to the station and short walk to Marienplatx. Room was smaller than in the photos and had no armchairs. Breakfast was ok. Didn't feel it was value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room a little bit small so 1 morning had to queue for a table

    Good location; Very Clean; Room comfortable; Friendly & Efficient check in/out; $1,000,000 Question: Would I stay here again? YES!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room and bathroom had limited space. The breakfast was average and seating was also limited.

    Good location to the train station and nearby restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is really small. The pillows are uncomfortable.

    Location is great, very close to the main attractions in the city and to the central station. Price/quality is satisfying. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows and bed were not very comfortable. The room we stayed in reeked of stale tobacco smoke. No tea/coffee hospitality tray in the room. The TV was small and so positioned that we could hardly see it from the bed. The breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about.

    The hotel location is great and the hotel rooms and areas inside the hotel are super clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was made of two separate one which is very uncomfortable for a couple. The bathroom was a bit too small and the hair drier not so powerful. It would be optimal to change it. A small fridge in the room would make it just perfect! The breakfast was not very rich and no espresso/cappuccino were available. The staff was kind but not particularly friendly.

    The room was very clean, quiet, and warm despite of the rigid winter weather. The bed were comfortable and the furniture nicely kept. The bathroom was cosy and all toiletries were provided. The breakfast was pretty good even if not so abundant. The location is just perfect as it is close to the railway station and not far from the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is poor, single room is small and not very well lit

    The hotel is right in front of the main train station and the city center is walkable distance. Staff is friendly and room was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, average bed.

    The room was very small, but clean. The bed was just OK. The staff at the desk were kind and helpful. The breakfast was good, but exactly the same items offered each day. The location for train users is perfect.I would stay here again. The room rate is fair value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the room was much smaller compared to pictures on booking.com (we got the room in the end of the corridor) - the facility is older and do not look very nice - wifi was very poor quality

    - the location is very convenient as the hotel is near the main train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception rather rude, at least 1 of the reception guys the area next to the main train station not the best one average breakfast

    clean room, easy to get to hotel you get what you pay for

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossibly small elevator. Only one elevator for whole property Cheap, bad breakfast Long and very narrow room Staff not willing to change room for a more comfortable one accross aisle Seedy area around htel

    Very close to train station Clean bath and room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to all the stations. Super friendly staff we even left our wallet in the drawer when we checked out and they made sure we got that back. Open 24 hrs always someone to receive you. Great place will def go back there. Thank you for a lovely stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is simply bread, juices, fruit, cold meats, very basic.

    good location right beside central station... 2 stops from the marienplatz square on the train... basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the street side and and 5am the trucks from Karstad made a hell of a noice. I had to leave the window open, becouse the room got a bit stuffy.

    The stay was nice and the fact that I could leave my key at reception was great. There was someone the whole night and I could just pick it up when I came back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Person at the desk was rude and would not take mix of cash and credit card to pay bill. Would only take credit card for full payment.

    Room was clean and breakfast ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A couple homeless people around, but it was not so big problem (just few meters from the Ubahn station to the hotel). And a little bit old furniture in the rooms but it was not a problem for me - it was clean and the bathroom was very nice and new.

    Everything was really good and working. Nice stuff, good breakfast, working WiFi, in the city center, near central station, easy public transportation...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like toasts for breakfast but they don't have toaster that is a pity.

    Good location - in front of Main Railway Station and 10 minutes of walk from the city historic center. I liked breakfasts, they serve sausages and good cheese. What I liked most about rooms, they are quiet - you don't hear noise of the street and from neighbor room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast needs an update ;-)

    Great position at the side of Munchen Hbf and just few steps from the main pedestrian/shopping street makes Luitpold a perfect hotel for me when I come to Munchen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It met all our needs.

    The property is very easy access from the main train station. It is family run and they went out of their way to be helpful to us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast left just a bit to be desired; scrambled eggs werent served and it would've been better if sweet bread or ketchup had been served.

    Overall decent qualities. Especially location of the hotel was by far the best; just go downstair in the Munich Hbf building and you've arrived at the hotel upon going out. Clerks were kind too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At Night about 9:00pm the Drunk people start to spread overall and it’s kind of unsafe to be alone.

    The Location was in the Middle of the City beside the Main Train Station, where everything is under your Hand. Coffe Fellow is just under the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are super small (be careful not to hit into all this massive wooden furniture), and so is the reception (it's clever to check out a bit earlier to avoid being crummed with the other guests waiting for their turn, and their luggage). The pillow was so flat it had to be rolled to actually support the head. About 30 minutes after I checked into the room, some guy just opened the door with his own key without even knocking, then he said in casual tone that he was management and left. After taking a shower and using the towel, I found a long dark hair (not mine!) on my shoulder. To top it all, breakfast is a joke and the breakfast area is obviously small too so you end up sharing a table with a total stranger as if you were staying in a hostel and not a 3-star property.

    The only undeniably good thing about this hotel is its location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel furniture and inside decorations was bad, breakfast was very poor.

    location was just amazing, close to the main stations, shopping area and the marienplatz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive for a "standard" hotel due to it being Oktoberfest, some noise from the street during the night but not intrusive, curtain not big enough to cover the window. Hotel felt slightly impersonal but was OK, we only stayed one night on the way to our destination

    Very convenient location for Hauptbahnhof and city centre, very good breakfast in pleasant breakfast room, nice enough room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told a pack of lies at reception they said that my reservation was cancelled as my credit card was not valid .I had contacted Booking.com and they sorted it for me.I was charged much more than the original quote.They were un helpful in every way My friend, who came in from Orlando the following day, had exactly the same problem. What was going on? avoid this hotel.

    Breakfast excellent. Position excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is matchbox small ... there is no parking in front of the hotel and it is not easy to find ... the parking is away 5 min walk .. the hotel is old and not convenient ... the breakfast is poor .. . .. the hotel is good for an overnight sleep for one night ... and it was not cheap .. reception staff are nice but don't speak well English ..

    The location is just in front of the train station ... the staff are somewhat nice... the hotel is clean .. 10 min walk to center and marine platz ... the hotel staff gives you 50% discount to the parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. There was banging noise inside the building every night and the one elevator broke. The Hotel does not provide a list of TV channels so you must search channel by channel. In the end there was one English Channel which was religious based. I was never able to locate a world news source in English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is lukewarm. Basically you have to ask everything and then he answered very briefly. The room is besides street and super noisy. The room is dirty and small. The drunken men on the street shouted until midnight. The breakfast is awful. I booked 4 nights but only stayed 1 night without sleep and ran away to the other hotel on the second day. The hotel charged full 4 nights! Anyway, don't recommend this hotel.

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No air conditioner so I could not sleep well in hot days at night in August. Window net should have been installed because annoying fries came inside a room when a window was open.

    People at the registration are very friendly, and the hotel located in front of Munchen Hbf exit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition in the room hard to get it to cool down even though fully opening the window. A problem in the summer only I guess.

    Perfect location right next to the main railway station. Walking distance to the city centre, did not need any public transport to get around. Good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps not the nicest part of town, never felt threatened though. Some noisy building work nearby (8/2017)

    Comfortable and friendly, decent breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, although a bit on the small side. Was hot out, room became extremely hot and uncomfortable, COULD HAVE USED A FAN IN THE ROOM!!! They are not air conditioned rooms. Too noisy at night from the street. Men arguing and fighting EVERY night.

    Location was great for getting the train and subway, restaurants, etc. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast and servers were great. Nice cozy breakfast room to begin your day in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't count on breakfasts -- better go outside and get a proper one.

    The room was old-school and lovely. The bed was definitely comfy enough for a one-night cleep. The location is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception area gets a bit congested, our bathroom was also quite small. Noise in the street until very late on the Saturday night - our Sunday night was better.

    Close to main station and with easy access to the old town centre and attractions, on foot or by public transport. Staff (owners?) welcoming and helpful. Clean, well-kept city hotel, furnished in traditional style but not old or shabby. Pleasant breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room is very small, even compared to other single rooms. The desk is also small, which makes it hard to work on the desk inside the room. There is no AC, which makes it quite hot at night. I had the room facing the train station, so there was also a lot of noise throughout the day.

    Breakfast was amazing. There was not a lot of selection, but it is just that traditional German breakfast is very basic. Their choices of cheese, bread, sausage, and especially the jam are very delicious regardless. Best of all, perhaps, is the location. Right next to Starbucks (YES!) and the central train station, which makes it easy to go to virtually any other places in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing especially.

    The location was perfect, very close to the central station, the appearance of the building was rather modest, but easy to find anyway even for people unfamiliar with the area , and the surrounding environment was nice as other guests are already writing. The reception staff were friendly. The price including breakfast was rather lower compare to other hotels. The breakfast was honestly good enough to think it's included in the room charge. The single room was small sized but there's nothing insufficient in the room. I really loved the hotel and will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a bit shabby and requires renovation, room for breakfast is small and sometimes you have to wait to get a place. A lady at the reception was not very welcoming at our arrival, as she said there were problems with the registration. Later on they were solved of course, but it left unpleasant aftertaste.

    Very good location, just in front of the Hbf Munich. Cleaned every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The single room was quite small. No toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, skin cream) and no safe box in the room. The clunky alpine furniture was a bit tired but I suppose that is what made it a 'country' hotel. Breakfast food choices were limited, e.g. cereal or muesli, choice of apple juice or one other juice. Liked the jam though, especially the strawberry! No real complaints despite staying 7 nights in room 32.

    Came to Munich by train and this hotel was close by and easy to find. Not in a salubrious area but I can put up with that. Staff were friendly (apart from the unsmiling man who served breakfasts) despite not all having a good command of English.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Luitpold traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: