Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Köln Hauptbahnhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ursulaplatz 10-12, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#205 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 910 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    road from station to the hotel gets bit deserted at night and smells as people use the parking lot for stuff they should not use it for.

    very close to the main station. near the main cathedral and other places to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to pay for bed sheet, there's no kitchen, and you can't even get any hot water for drink the reception told me I can use the machine to have the hot water for free (which is the coffee machine you need to pay for 1.5euro each) and the other day when I was trying to get hot water from the coffee machine, the other staff stop me in a very unpolite way and told me if I use the hot water I need to pay for 1.5 euro!!!!! what?!?!?!

    bad is comfortable, shower room is big and water is hot, room is big, the staff in the reception is helpful and fast of the process, there's free luggage room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not comfortable so sleep was difficult but the positives definitely outweigh the beds.

    The location was great! The price wasn’t bad and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The security of the hotel is really poor. My bag was stolen during the check in process, and hotel dint take any action for that. The hotel check in process for us take about 30 mins, it is too long.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    paying 3.50 for sheets and needing to make up my own bed. horrible foam mattress. shower ran for a good ten mins with no hot water. no towels provided.

    location close to the hbf station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting extra charges for sheets and taxes should be included at time of booking! Or made 100% clear. Then Having to make your own bed and stuff is pretty poor! obviously budget but really thats just lazyness and poor management! Also not nice people smoking in the room/toilet causing a fusty dirty smell (selfish) not fully the hostel problem 3pm check-in (for not making beds) what are they doing? Ive been in many hostels over euope and Germany and not one for fussing but these simple problems can be sorted easily (shame) but honest

    Perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow were square rather than the rectangle ones we are used to but doubled over we then found them more than adequate.

    The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly. Our room was large and beds very comfortable.Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on top floor and no lift. This hadn’t been made clear. No one even offered to take our bags up the 48 steps. Curtains in the room were too small to cover the windows and one was half off the curtain rail No phone in room to contact reception for help. Also no tea or coffee facilities in the room. They”all you can eat buffet breakfast “ was appalling for the price. Limited selection of a few cereals, a little fruit, a few hard boiled eggs some sorry looking bread, some cold meat and cheese and not much else. Very disappointing.

    Room very clean with plenty of space. Location pretty good. Good to have secure parking available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift in the property, therefore, please be prepare if you have luggage. They provide a luggage store room without charge. You might be able to store your luggage if you reach earlier, but might need to wait until check in time.

    The location is 10 mins walk from Koln HBF.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They save money on everything, especially cleaning. We stayed for 4 days and we had to use the same towels and the same sheets. Also, we booked a family room (4 beds for 3 people) but they only prepared 2 beds!!! When we asked for the additional bed they said that they don't do it... guess why? to save money! Unfortunately they don't give you any discount to you do their job! They also charge you 7 euros for a very poor breakfast and 15 euros for an awful parking space. Wi-Fi is very poor too.

    it is close to the city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First receptionist was grumpy

    It's not scenic but Location awesome, close to Dom right on Ursula and food and drink establishments seconds away Wifi good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed sheets separately priced and breakfast too expensive. Remember this is hostel and people may check at 4:30 and not let you sleep whole night

    Good location, close to the city, Koln Dom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In dormitry you cannot sleep well coz of so many pplz in the room and everyone have their own habbits even when you are on bunkbed and you top bed person is moving the noice disturb you whole night if you are not a hard sleeper.

    Easy to reach from main central station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad experience while taking shower. Hot water is low temperature and small flux.

    Room is clean and quiet. Bed is comfortable. Network is stable. Close to the Cologne Central Station (6 minutes walk to me). It's my second time staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of multiple trains going past the window day and night was not good which was my fault in booking it in the first place I guess. It said 300 m from station but the tracks were about 20 m from our window. All 3 couples had problems finding hot water in the shower. One of the towels had mould on it. There is no lift which was a major for us as we had heavy bags and we 're not exactly spring chickens!

    Rooms were a good size, close to locl activity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area felt sketchy and not much of a welcome on arrival. Staff were very helpful the next morning as we checked out.

    Room was clean, comfortable and bigger than expected. Decent TV

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They told that providing a certified parking service. However, when we got there, they told us there was no place for us to park and they directed us to other paid areas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen not included. No bar. Wifi only available in lobby and you have to give them your email address.

    Near the station and most places easily walkable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel/hostel is quite outdated. 3 floors without lift! Our room was on the 3rd. For a family of four we had quite a heavy suitcase to drag it up on the 3rd floor. I booked a room for 4 and only two bed were ready. I had to ask for further duvet and towels and did the maid's job. I haven't heard a single sorry for the mistake. The room, bathroom and towels looked clean but they were smelly. The car park door is very small, not accessible by big car, also the parking places are small. The hotel entrance is through 3 big steps.

    Great location. Clean rooms. Nice view to the church st Ursula.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know this is a budget hostel, but it would be nice if they could put up a shower curtain so the rest of the bathroom doesn't end up getting soaked. Also, whilst it is nice that the hostel is so close to the station, it does mean that you get a lot of noise from the trains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was decent. Had to put on the bedsheets n pillow covers on the 3rd/4th bed on your own if u have more than 2 pax per room. 5-8 mins walk from train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking advised to park in the street because parking fine only 10€. limited parking in the garage luckily had one space but cost 15€ so no free parking. Had to dig for my reservation took alomost 30 minutes to checkin. This is a hostel not a hotel don't let the ad fool you. Questionable neighborhood very loud. This is a cheap backpack around Europe in the 70's kind of place. Group rooms if you book wrong. I would NOT recommend to anyone to stay on any AO.

    N/A

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very plain chain-hotel without any personal touches. But again, alright for a night and good value.

    Walking distance to the main train station, alright for a night or two.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning staff didn`t notice that I didn`t check out and cleaned my bed so after some time a new guy stayed at my bed..

    Nice place to stay at, very close to the central railway station. Rooom was clean, bright.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the trains running past my window, very very basic. Cleanliness not what you'd expect from a hotel. Rough neighbourhood.

    Location is very good for train links and access to the town center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got lost finding the hotel, because they have 2 locations in the area. There were different people at the front desk every time we went in or out, and not overly friendly. Free wifi did not work after the second day, and they said someone was looking at the problem, but it was not fixed. Seemed like the didn't care.

    The location was good, near the train station, but totally sound proof room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - No lift.

    - The staff is very friendly and helpful! There is no lift in the hotel unfortunately, but the staff helped us carry our luggages. - The breakfast is simple and nice, at only cost €7/person. - Short walking distance from the Central Station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no internet on the second floor, but it was a Sunday and they couldn't call a technician. Apart from this everything was great!

    I stayed there for one night, and it was a good value for the money, really good location and very helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few outlets anywhere. Bedsheets given did not fit. Wifi did not work in room. Bunkbed ladder was in the middle of the bed and could not be moved, making getting in the bottom bunk annoying.

    Soap provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no elevator. breakfast very basic--we chose to eat outside. very close to railway tracks--can be good (location) or bad (noise). hot water not consistent---might be a concern during cold weather.

    about 3-min walk from Cologne Hbf. Restaurants, kiosks/convenience stores nearby. I guess okay for a short no-frills stay. Staff helpful, I borrowed clothes iron and board.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints.

    Breakfast was fine, except that I did not spot an egg - perhaps the was my fault. The place is very quiet and extremely convenient to reach from the Hauptbahnhof

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find in the dark from the Central Station even using GPS was a challenge. Even though Central Station (Hbf) is in the name of the hotel. The TV was missing power cable on the first night. Cables were strung across the wall - not so good. Cologne is clearly an expensive city for hotel rooms.

    Nice neat room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little bit old fashioned, so the floor gets easily wet and dirty. The water to take bath is so hot or so cold.

    The staff is really kind and the location it's great. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably better cleanliness and locked shelf for each guest in the room. It´s also confusing that some beds are provided with towels and sheet and some are not.

    For a single traveler it´s easy to find it and it´s located really close to the Cologne Central Station. You could save the daily transport ticket cause everything that you might want to see are nearby. Everything is closed on Sunday but if you really in urgent to buy something the shops in the Station are open.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    X

    Very friendly and ready to help staff! Location very close to the main train station, just 5 min walk. Cosy beds and bathrooms in the rooms! Easter eggs as a nice present from the hostel )))

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lock on the bathroom door... it was a mixed dorm room. This turned out to not be a problem but I feel like it could easily be solved.

    After backpacking around Europe the mattress in this hostel was far superior to other hostels. Staff were to the point but ultimately helpful and knew what they were talking about. Completely standard hostel. Has everything you need.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My night there was horrible and I am still sick after two days.. I honestly don't know how booking allow this option for me as a frequent booker and a gold member!! Booking should care more I believe There was no lift.. no room light.. no hot water.. A HOSTEL Hotel right beside the railway to central station with thousand trains to pass.. the price I paid was for Five Star Hotel!

    Non !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet bowl was so dirty and looked like that it was not clean since long time..Staff was not cooperative at all with so much rigid policy that I even was not allowed to use their kitchen's microwave for 01 minute although I told them that I am accompanied with my kids and need some hot milk. So disappointing..

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms. Not enough power sockets for everyone in room

    Staff were pretty cool. Always up for a good chat. Was good excuse to use sleeping bag - they charge extra for bed sheets. Was a short walk to hbf and Dom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this as a hotel. It turns out it's a hostel (at hotel prices). Our double room was in fact a twin with bunks too. Breakfast was OK but fresh fruit only some days. The room was never made up or sheets changed in 6 nights, and towels changes once. There was no tea or coffee facilities either in the room or outside and the staff just told us to go outside + get what we wanted from a shop. Hotel (hostel) room was only a few yards from a noisy metal rail bridge around the side of the hostel. We loved Cologne but wouldn't recommend this place.

    Not much!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist sir at night shift got grumpy cuz we can't access their internet to show him our booking reference, having a bad experience for check-in But the morning lady for check-out was lovely, so that kind of goes with people It's a middle range price so you really shouldn't have an attitude on customers

    Not too far from city center, we are 4 ppl staying during festivals, and it's a good layout with big rooms There's a grocery opens till late night near the corner which is convenient for friends to enjoy the night

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Heaters were not working and the room gets really cold in night. - Though they call it a hotel, its more like hostels you have to pay for fresh towel, wifi, etc - There are no elevators and the stairs might be little steep for some.

    - couple of hundred meters from train station - rooms were big, considering the rate paid

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not particularly dirty, but I also can't call them clean. It was obvious they're cleaned after checkout, but our room was in need of a deep clean. Great location to train station means a lot of train noise. Hard to complain, but something to keep in mind. I would happily pay half the price for this room, but €200 for 2 nights is too much. I think köln is a more expensive city for places to stay.

    Location was great and beds comfortable. The staff was nice. Breakfast was typical.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy area, also doors do not offer any acoustic barrier from corridor, place generally worn down, price per night quite high comparing for what you get.Beds very soft , room very basic , bare tiles on the floor , smell from the toilet . Warm water is from electric heater which is very hard to control - so yoou get your healthy cold-warm showers.No amenites offered even when payin 100EUR per night.Prices in vending machines crazy high. No kettle in the room .It is place for one night if you do not have other option. Will not advice to stay there.

    only localisation is good, but it is noisy area just at the railway, staff quite helpful it is really budget place , it is strange they can use "the hotel" in the name

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For starters, didn't realize it was a hostel as well as hotel. The rooms smelled hostel, even though they were clean. The floors were cold tiles and the feeling was a bit dated. This was not a place where I would like to stay again, but neither could I say that it was a horror show. Just keep your expectations in check.

    Decent price, decent location, decent bed - nothing else.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were noisey. Guests in the hallway could be heard even when they were quiet. Furniture in room was shabby. Bed linens were not clean. TV lost its signal frequently. No elevator- which was a problem with multiple pieces of luggage. The worst; no hot water in the mornings and the water pressure was absurdly weak. Cold water dripped from the shower head when on full/hot. Could not shave for 3 days, and that on a business trip. Reception said they never had a complaint about the water problems I experienced....I'm not buying it.

    Location to Köln main train station and WiFi worked as it should.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have been fine for half the cost, more like the hostel it is. Breakfast was not even included.

    This is a hostel with some private rooms. They charge like a decent hotel, which it really isn't. The location was good and the room clean, but the furnishings shabby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of warm water. I had 2 rooms(family and double) for me and my colleague ( single use) , but I had to pay for taxes and breakfast for 6 person !!!. Breakfast was some kind of joke. It was very small and beside this half of plates were empty at 7 am. If you will calculate how much we had to pay for this empty plates its terrible. They have lack of elevator, so walking with bags on 3rd floor is already chellange.

    location , friendly service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms were a bit smelly, needed a good bleaching. Breakfast was below average, adequate and fine but nothing special.

    Beds extremely comfortable, location was excellent and the family room very spacious with a bunk bed in addition to the large double bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold shower. Expensive breakfast considering the quality. 4€ would be ok. No place to lock things away.

    Very good Wifi Quality despite only 2Mbits. very good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold shower, broken cupboard and tiles in the bathroom, very old fashioned building, no elevator. Definitely too expensive (86€per night) for that.

    It is close to the trainstation

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower or pressure. We had to leave without a shower. The room was above the train tracks so sleep was an issue. The beds were not comfortable. The free wifi only worked in a corner or the room.

    Nothing except close too station

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom bunk was a little squeezy to make. The ladder would be better placed at the end of the bunk rather than the middle. I don't think the top bunks had a power point for themselves.

    Staff were awesome and very friendly. Great WiFi and very close to station and city centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift or elevator in this hotel. Also, the breakfast in almost all A&O hotel is boring.

    The location is only 7 minute walk to Köln Hauptbahnhof

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the room on the 3rd floor there was no water in the shower in the morning!!! Luckily we had a second room on the 1st floor where the water was flowing but changing every 2 minutes from warm to freezing cold. After our complain to the staff, they told us that it is normal when so many people take a shower in the morning. When we wanted to make a formal complain they gave a phone number which was impossible to connect with and became quite rude for us. Besides the water, there was no internet for 2 days and no remote control for TV in the room (we got it after 3 days when we asked for it twice a day). Towels in the bathroom were tiny and at first only 1 pc for a person (maybe to discourage from taking a shower and discovering the problem with water). Finally, they charged us double VAT tax as the price was supposed to include the vat and they added it to our price at booking.com and to our bill. The area didn't seam safe as well. No lift so to the first floor you had to climb with all the suitcases. VERY NOISY- very close to the train truck. To sum it all up, we don't recommend staying at this hotel!!!

    it was quite close to the train station and the centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy with windows open as so close to trainline! And they wouldn't let us leave our bags in the morning whilst we looked around. I don't know if this is normal.

    Clean, spacious family room, comfy bed, good breakfast, friendly staff, short walk from train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually it is not a hotel. it works as Hostel. We arrived the location sometime after midnight. Their wifi was no working. The receiption system did not working either. he toilet in room did not flush properly. when we flushed that the dirty water came up tube. i wonder if nobody had check that before us. we had to move to another room in 3 a.m. There was not any air condition, so we had to open windows and lot of noise of trains and other did not asleep at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should have provision of a kettle for making tea or coffee in the room. The bunk beds were not ready . we had to do everything from putting mattress covers on....

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy 5-10 min walk from the Main Hauptbahnhof. Not far from the tourist attractions either and wasn't over priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 5min walk to the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They double charge room !!! Aviod them and do not give them your credit card information. They charge me again 15 days after stay! AVOID!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, place

    Whery nice reception staff :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay extra for sheets. Most hostels don't like you bringing your own sheets. This should be included in the price.

    Nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very convenient , close to train station and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so no heavy or big luggage. And i don’t quite like the location.

    Staff was very nice. Room was nice and simple. Good for short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it's OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of plugs Poor internet connection

    Location Personal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic accommodation, breakfast : I DID NOT ENJOYED IT AT ALL

    good location, close to train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nein

    Very quite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator would have been helpful

    Very straightforward. No surprises.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location, staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free water, coffee or tea. This is a very basic option hostel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is 10 min walk from the train station and there is no lift.

    The room is quite big and the bed is comfy. It is quiet and good for a short stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse a&o Köln Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: