Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maingau Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schifferstrasse 38-40, Sachsenhausen, 60594 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#133 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1077 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfy, nice hot shower with good pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of surrounding area was so loud. honestly from our room you could hear all the noise outside until the early hours, very noisy area!

    Bed was comfy, nice hot shower with good pressure. great location, close to bars/restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot day and the rooms were very hot as there was no air conditioning.

    Central location. Helpful staff. The room was very clean and the bathroom brand new.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel, great location but spoilt because of the en-suite size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The an-suite was VERY small. I could not sit on the toilet. There was only 10.5 inches/27 cms of space between the toilet and the wall. This was a problem which could have easily been rectified by moving the wall 6 inches. There was plenty of room to do this. There was no lounge/seating area of bar area in the hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, a good choice. The location was excellent, we went to watch the iron-man event and the hotel was a perfect location. There was a good choice of bars and restaurants around. The staff were good, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    It was okay, but nothing too special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shampoo and soap dispenser was empty and it was really warm in the room. They had air conditioning but it didn’t really help. The beds were not big enough and the matress was very hard and not so comfortable.

    Staff was very nice! Everything was very clean and it was very close to the center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Visited the hotel with a colleague, rented two single rooms:...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Economic room to avoid. The one I've had was with a tiny bathroom and above bars that are open late and very noisy. We've stayed in for the Fair ACHEMA week, when hotel rate was high above standard rate....but this is very likely for Germany hotels to offer higher rates in Fair time...

    Visited the hotel with a colleague, rented two single rooms: one standard, one economic due to availability. Nice location for our plans: easy to get in from airport via local trains, walking distance from the city center and close to tram station for the Fair. The breakfast service was excellent, good selection of quality products that exceeded our expectations. Staff friendly and gave good recommendations. Would visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the room would be difficult if you had any mobility issues.

    Breakfast was not the best. But for a big city hotel, this was excellent value for money. Easy alking distance to bars and cafe's

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    I had the feeling that the reception had a slight problem to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had the feeling that the reception had a slight problem to cope with the arrival of a tiny group of 7 people at one and the same time. Apart from that, everything was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    great location and nice clean rooms with too much noise and bland breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room looked perfect, it was located to the back of the hotel, a few levels above the entrance to the kitchen. From around six AM, the kitchen received deliveries, and the little carts made a lot of noise since the windows weren't very well insulated. No way to sleep. Same thing with the door. Sometime between six and seven, housekeeping started cleaning the first rooms and rummaging around in the cleaning cabinet/room. Not their fault, but still annoying when you're trying to sleep in on the weekend. Oh, and the person in the room next door snored. I heard it because the walls were quite thin as well. Last thing I didn't like was the breakfast. The buffet was okay regarding the selection, but the rolls were obviously yesterday's (strange since I had just witnessed fresh deliveries an hour prior), coffee very average and the scrambled egg was bland. The serving lady wasn't particularly friendly either that morning. Luckily there are several good breakfast cafes around. The great first impression of the new renovation was completely destroyed because of the noise.

    The room was recently renovated, great shower, great bed and everything you expect from a four star hotel. Staff at reception and cleaners were friendly as well. The location is perfect, right near the river and only short ways away from the center and Alt Sachsenhausen with all the bars. I kind of got a skyline view (see photo).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    We love the quiet location near our daughter's apartment and right across from a park!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no WIFI access in our room on several days. Another guest was having the same problem. But other rooms apparently had access. Very frustrating, as we needed it! Also - it was great that there was a phone in our room, but there need to be instructions on use and cost. We finally got lucky and made 2 local calls - found out how much they cost when we checked out! Finally, we were informed when we arrived there would be an additional "Tourist" charge of 2 euros per person per day (Tourismusbeitrag Frankfurt), payable ONLY in cash when we checked out. Why weren't we informed of this when we booked??

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rooms were very small

    the personal staff was amazing , very helpful . the location is perfect and breakfast was nice. we will come back to this hotel next year also .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    The gentleman at the Front Desk was extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised that although the building had elevator(s), you were still required to use stairs & with a lot of luggage, this was a bit of a problem.

    The gentleman at the Front Desk was extremely friendly and helpful (and also fluent in English).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant and good central location at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff seem to on purpose to wake up guests in order to speed up check out and then their work. Very annoying and it’s not the first time I experienced that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Management do not seem at all interested in the welfare of their guests
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were not just bad but dangerous. The shower head attachment was faulty - it was impossible to fix the shower head into the holder. It seemed secure, and then the heavy shower head fell on my face, cutting my nose. The hotel management inferred it was my own fault - claiming no other guests had had a problem. Luckily I met the handy man in the lift - when I mentioned the problem he fixed the shower head and agreed it was faulty. The hotel management gave me a new room, but I still had to pay the full accommodation bill, and did not receive any apology.

    Location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    Helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet Wi-Fi connection was so poor at my room. Room is very small. They didn't change covers daily. They charged for water bottle.

    Helpful staff. Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous Family run Hotel - Perfect location with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to report

    Fabulous family run hotel, Great location, great park with playground over the road if you have little ones that need to run off some energy. Beautifully clean rooms with modern facilities inclusive of toiletries. Frankfurt is a walkable city and the main riverside is a easy 15 minute walk away. Goegeous Italian restaurant at the end of the street and Schiffer Café two doors down from hotel is beautiful for breakfast or any time of the day. Very Friendly staff , will definitely return to this hotel 5 *****

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location, modern decorated rooms and a peaceful sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say anything here it would be that a kettle and tea/coffee available in the room would make it a perfect 10 from me.

    The location of this hotel is perfect iwith great restaurants, cafes, train station and supermarket all within a short walking distance. The rooms are beautifully decorated with modern facilities and very clean overall. The staff are ever so friendly and happy to assist with directions. A short 20 minute walk to the riverside and into the CBD. Laundromat is conviently located just around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is very clean, the location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing needs to be improved is noise insulation inside the rooms. I could hear any sound from the next room and the corridor. Which was a bit interrupting.

    The hotel is very clean, the location is good. There are many traditional restaurants. The staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    Very expensive for the quality and lack of modernity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality and lack of modernity. The hotel is a warren and we had to walk past the much more luxurious rooms to get to the youth hostel type accommodation. The fact there is no restaurant or bar is very misleading as the website talks a lot about catering and entertainment. The lack of parking is a nightmare with the nearest car park 5 minutes walk away and no stopping places outside the hotel for unloading. This review may not have been as unfavourable if, like other German hotels the owners did not think it acceptable to charge extortionate prices to business travellers needing to attend trade shows. The price we payed was a total rip-off.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    2.5
    The room was small not clean at all have some bad smells in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small not clean at all have some bad smells in the hall it’s really bad hotel doesn’t that good it’s too much to pay 70 or €60 per night and it’s nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a small and simple hotel. For Frankfurt, the price is very reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small. The sink was in the room. But this is alright, because I expected a simple room for the price. My room (#11) was next to the staircase, which was rather noisy despite the thick door. The other rooms do not have this disadvantage.

    The room was small, but ok. I liked the fact that it had a desk where I could do some work. The hotel is not far from the railway station "Frankfurt Süd" and next to the museums' district. All things considered, I was very satisfied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Explore the one of the best region of Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took me a bit time to understand how the open the water valve at the sink (you need to pull it). As usually in small hotels, the internet was a bit slow, but usable.

    Location is very nice and neighborhood is quiet. The shower cabin in a lower end of the room selection was a little bit tiny, but usable. Breakfast was basic but not bad. Staff was very friendly. All in all: a very good choice for a short stay. Much better surroundings than nearby the railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Service at reception was not great and the bathrooms were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at reception was not great and the bathrooms were tiny. Only 20 min after I got the room they had to get back into the room to replace a mirror which should have been done before me moving into the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    An ok place in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible, there for work so important to have good wifi Breakfast is sparse Rooms need modernizing No tea and coffee in rooms

    Location is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel in noisy location distant from business center and expensive taxis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy location too distant from business meetings. No BBC world service on TV. No useful coat hangers in wardrobe. Only one pillow on bed. 1 bottle of water for 2 days. Broken soap dispenser in shower.

    Breakfast good value at €10 per day. Taxi booking service. Free, easy access Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly and efficient reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small. Fairly costly - hotels in Frankfurt have increased in price recently - probably since Brexit. A bit out of the way and not close to functioning train stations.

    Very friendly and efficient reception staff. Room comfortable and clean. Well maintained facilities in a mostly residential part of Frankfurt. Self-help bar at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.2
    hotel facilities horrible, restaurant & breakfast & staff good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms and the hotel were dirty and smelly, and the facilities were nothing like the website photos. The amount of dust on the TV screen was "amazing" and the smell of the room horrible.

    The restaurant and the breakast were good. The staff was polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    perhaps good for one night... if you stay longer, do book a big hotel in Frankfurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is a problem. Sachsenhausen is a living quarter is Frankfurt am Main. the neighbors have used up all available parking places on the street. The hotel did explained me where I could park free of charge, but those places are occupied. The next reliable choice is a Parkhaus, which you need to walk about 5 minutes, not fun with luggages.

    interesting neighborhood in Sachsenhauser. good breakfast, 4-star hotel standard surprise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size is too small compare to other hotel. I would consider the prize is a little bit expensive with this room size.

    Good location. Had good times walking around the park and exploring the view of Main river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more friendlier welcome, and some detailed guidance. No wifi instructions were given or any other helpful information. I was just given my room key and told very quickly where my room was and that was that. The elevators are not clearly obvious. Clearer labeling and signage would be useful in the building.

    Was close to the old town part of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    It was written that there is a free public parking, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was written that there is a free public parking, but unfortunately no parking places was available and after many tries to find a place where to park our car we had to pay extra money for a paid garage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming part of Frankfurt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room although very comfortable and clean is also very small. We stayed only one night and had a small bag, so it was not a problem. The walls are also very thin, the room besides had the tv on in a normal volume and we could hear everything.

    The hotel looks very modern and new, not that easy in Frankfurt. The staff was extremely kind, I even forgot my kindle in there and they were very nice to keep it in the reception. The location is great, in front of a park and surrounded by cafes, restaurants, supermarket and transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Reception are really friendly, location is really good only...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Midnight still noise, and the room is quite old and feel little bit unclean.

    Reception are really friendly, location is really good only under 5 minutes from train station. also the room is comfortable for stay for short days

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommend Maingau Hotel in Frankfurt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in July so it was a bit hot. However, once I mentioned that the room was on the hot side, the hotel staff put portable fans in each of our rooms.

    Very nice hotel in the Sachsenhausen neighborhood. Easy access to Altstadt, Romerberg, etc. and easy access to S and U train service. Great restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great place in Frankfurt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff helped us get coffee for our room in the morning. They were so nice. Located in a great Neighborhood. Fun to walk around in and explore. Also walking distance to great museums.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast okay for 10 Euros
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no air conditioning and was like a sauna. There may have been a possibility to hire a desk fan but wasn't aware or offered one.

    Breakfast okay for 10 Euros

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    A little gem
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room - hot in summer in the room A bit of stairs to carry luggage to room

    10 minutes walk Old Town / City center 10 minutes walk to neighborhood center Sachsenhausen 10 minutes walk to museum rows

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel does NOT have air conditioning in the rooms or restaurant. It was quite warm during our stay and the room was so hot. Our room was SO small. I booked a standard room but this room was just a box. The bathroom was so small that I had to put our toiletries on the floor as there was no bench space! We booked through booking.com and I'm assuming this is why we got such a small room. The room across the hallway from ours looked liked the standard room in the photos and it was bigger than ours. We had 2 large suitcases and 2 cabin bags and we had to keep them closed and upright or else we couldn't walk anywhere in the room. The reception staff were not very welcoming and I had to ring to ask about the free wifi as no information was given to us at check in. Breakfast was minimal. I wouldn't bother with it as there are nice cafes near by with much friendlier staff. The hotel needs to be upgraded. It looks old and tired.

    The location is good, close to restaurants, shops and only a 20 min walk to the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few parking spots and almost all were taken by residents. There is a city park garage 300mt. Away but you have to pay around 7 euros for parking overnight. Room was on the 5th floor and was a bit too warm. No fan or air conditioning. I did not ask a fan because the temperature was still bearable. But I do not know what would be like in July or august.

    Staff was nice and welcoming. Room ok for a night. Price ok for being in Frankfurt. Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and served in a really nice restaurant. My room was well designed, small, quiet and had a great view. The elevator was slow but the stairs were well designed and enjoyable to use. My go-to place in Frankfurt!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Good location, Good front facing areas, Very poor rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The images on the website were miss leading. The rooms we stayed in were very poor and tired. bed was very uncomfortable. The mattress needed to be replaced badly. The accessibility was terrible. To get to the actual lift you needed to go up and then down two flights of stairs.

    The location was good. The breakfast was nice. The room the breakfast was in was also nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    4.6
    The receptionists were friendly and customer centric.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean but shady and need renovation. Internet was broken and signal in the room extremely weak anyway. Restaurant staff was unfriendly and slow. Breakfast choice quite limited for Germans standards. All in all no value for money - I won't be guest here anymore.

    The receptionists were friendly and customer centric.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money. Pleasant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor problem with one lamb flickering. But this was fixed immediately

    Really good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Fixed minor problem right away. Located close to river Main in good residential area with plenty of pubs and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    I nice and quiet find.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was not very good. I don't need much to please me but a good pillow and mattress is essential for a hotel.

    Very quiet neighbourhood. Just what I needed after multiple rays of travel. The lobby was very charming and the staff was very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, with some improvements will be perfect :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator is very small and strange. I asked for the bike and they had no bike for the guests. i suggest to get 2-3 bikes so guests can use them.

    Location was perfect, with the park in front so if you leave window open you can hear birds in the morning and afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    A peaceful hotel in a busy city yet convenient to walk to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A guest sitting room would be nice near reception or a part of breakfast room with a couple of armchairs.

    Room was big and very quiet on top floor. It was a good temperature though it was very cold outside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was higher than we have ever paid for a basic comfort room with no extras. Wifi is on and off and needs to be attended to - many business people stay at this hotel and rooms are at a premium especially during fair time. Little things that are missing which would be expected for the price we paid would be a complimentary coffee machine or kettle in the room, cups and basic cutlery or access to beverage making facilites - especially in the winter.

    The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable. Heating is good. The hotel is well located for the underground and also the trams. There are many little restaurants and easily accessible supermarkets in the area. Breakfast is always fresh and good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.5
    Very accomodating staff, great location and very quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating was hard to regulate. Would be nice to have a kettle in the room.

    Very accomodating staff, great location and very quiet neighbourhood, a lot of good restaurants nearby, city centre is easy to reach. The economy room is rather Spartan but fine for a short stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and convenient hotel stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Maingau sits right in the middle of my old neighbourhood, from when I lived in Sachsenhausen-which makes it especially good for me! I can only recommend staying here...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.3
    -I loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The bed was the worst. I had to ask for extra pillows to put on the bed just so I could sleep. -Adjusting the temperature was also quite difficult so it was either extremely warm or cold (when I would open the window). -I sent an email in english, and they sent me an email back in german. I don't really understand german, and google translate is not always correct. -The female front desk also didn't know english very well so she didn't understand me when I had asked her some questions.

    -I loved the location! Great little spot that was close to the tourist attractions, the underground train, cute little shops and food. -My first impression was really good. The front desk helped me with my bags, since there were a lot of stairs. -I also really liked the cleaners they were super accommodating and very nice. -The room was quaint I liked everything in there but the bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.8
    The hotel won't be an option in the futue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-The staff in the restaurant are not friendly at all , oftenly they are asking about the payment which shows no respect and value. 2- The Food menu is very limited

    Only the location which has been considered while searching for the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.6
    Definitely recommended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The door to the adjoining room could have been better insulated for sound, but the neighbours weren't too noisy so this didn't happen to be a big problem

    Very clean, new facilities; friendly and helpful staff; excellent location within Sachsenhausen with cafes right next door and short walk to public transport. A good value continental breakfast. Blockout shutters a good feature

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was somewhat small.

    High speed internet. Convenient location easy walking distance to the shopping and tourist areas in Frankfurt. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    The position is excellent to walk to the city center, full...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst pillows i have found in a hotel: a nightmare! The breakfast should be also improved. Rooms are pretty small.

    The position is excellent to walk to the city center, full of restourants. The Staff was also nice and kind. Rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel in a nice area, perfect for business trip!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was basic but comfortable.

    Great location, the subway station is only 5 minutes walk and its only 2 metro stops from the Train station (1 change). Good breakfast & friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little sound barrier between rooms. Fortunately my neighbors were very considerate. [ And so was I, keeping the TV to a whisper. ] My single bed was a bit small for me.

    Very new and clean and stylish. Great location. Great price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast truly suggested.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast truly suggested. Position of the hotel very close to downtown. Completely suggested

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, direct trem line No.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, direct trem line No. 16 for the Messe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, easy hotel in a good location in Frankfurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, easy hotel in a good location in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Seen some google reviews and was worried. But the guy who complained about the worn out carpet needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning but there was a fan was in the room which helped

    Clean, stylish and great great value! Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    A hotel located in comfortable area close to town but no aircon and parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon in the room Very small room with small bed No parking at the hotel itself, only public parking

    Good location Inside it was renovated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    The location is perfect, close to the river, but in a residential area. I like the park across the street. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Lovely room overlooking the park. Well equipped and the shower was good. Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    The street is noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The street is noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a domestic residence but the Hotel asked tourists tax 4euo pp.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, perfectly located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No English channels on TV

    Beautiful room, very high standard of finish, very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff was great, breakfast was great but the room was the most basic I have stayed in a long tim
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rally spartan. It felt like a dorm room. My shower was supper small.

    The breakfast was really great. Lots to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok basic hotel, everything worked fine for my one night stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size, furniture. building

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Bed could be more comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, could hear next room occupants well

    Staff were very helpful, nice room, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Shower with curtain
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower with curtain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    The room is very!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very! small

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    the networt\k of WIFI is not strong enough
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the networt\k of WIFI is not strong enough

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: