Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Malerwinkel Hotel 4 stars

Fischbachstr. 3, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, Germany

#6 of 24 hotels in Bergisch Gladbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has several houses. The one I was in was absolutely fantastic! Everything in the room was neat and clean and modern. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Plenty of breakfast choices from hot to cold. My favourite was the fresh bread they get in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I book 2 comfort double room. I got the room as booked. And than I call my colleague how is his room and they gave him single one bed room. If I will not have confirmation with rooms on my handy, it will be hard to prove them what we have. This has been done totaly deliberately. Than they change him the room but the lady there was very rude.

    Breakfast, location and rooms are very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well.... the room we got (room nr8) was VERY small, about 2,5x3 meters and without windows from where we could look outside (two small windows near the ceiling). The bed took up most of the space. We really felt scammed because it wasn't at all like the standard rooms on booking.com and not like the rooms on their website. Mind you, we had to pay 169 euro's for one night. We felt that we were put somewhere in the basement. The next morning I complained i.e. mentioned that we felt scammed. The receptionist than said that the room was exactly like the room we booked on booking.com (not true)

    Good breakfast, clean room and good bed to sleep on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility to make tea was first rate ! Bed very quirky, had to be careful not to knock my head when i got up in the night ! Even had a gymnastics mat in the room !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything! It rained and the staff gave us umbrellas!

    Great little boutique hotel with apples and expresso machines in the rooms! Lots of special treats and the breakfast buffet is first class!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in the bedroom and very small toilet may be modern but we would have preferred a separate bathroom. Not a big issue but something to be aware of.

    Most of the staff were very friendly however we did experience an "interesting challenge" when trying to take an afternoon coffee at around 3pm on Friday when the cafe/restaurant was closed. There were plenty of cafe's close by but we would have preferred to stay on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was perfect, room nice, personal perfect and super friendly, breakfest just superb, lot of small nice suprices, like free drinks in mimibaar, I will be back in case to be in this region for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small No hair dryer Beds were not comfortable Breakfast was average Staff at breakfast was not diligent (we had to wait for coffee for quite a while). Considering the costs for the room, the value for money was not orptimal...

    Location and historical building near the historical center were nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in 2 suits for 1 week in August. (1) the hotel has a shared garden. the only windows that the suites have, open right into this garden. the suites have no A/C. in hot weather, the only possibility is to sleep with an open window – BUT! – often there are other guests drinking beer in the garden, chatting and having a party. and since the hotel does not have any staff in the afternoon, you are left with trying to police the situation on your own. so every night i had to dress up and go and explain to my neighbours that they should drink their beer and have a party elsewhere. it was exhausting and not what I expect when I pay €250/night/suite. because of this, we will not stay in this hotel again, because unless you can have a decent sleep, everything else does not matter. POSSIBLE SOLUTION: add signs to the tables in the garden saying that after 22:00, quiet policy should be followed. (2) the suite was quite small, and rather quirky. i did not enjoy the bed (too soft) and the heat was killing me, since there is only 1 window so no wind is possible. (3) we were charged for our dogs, every night. and yet the staff did not offer even a drinking bowl. every night the cleaning lady took away the drinking cups we used for the dogs to drink, and this continued for a week without any idea to bring a dog bowl. imho if you charge for dogs, you must provide some service. (4) the hotel offers tea kettle in the corridor. the kettle wasn't refilled, so was rather useless: i had to go to the suite to refill it, then bring it back to set it on, then wait, then go back with the cups. a concept that works when staff is attending the facilities breaks down when it's part-time. Overall, everything is tolerable but due to the noise/problems of use of garden for guests in suites, I cannot recommend this hotel.

    Lovely location, quirky hotel with nice breakfast and plenty of free parking. Depending on the other guests, time and price charged, you may love it or you may not love it at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never had a smaller room. I could hardly get out of bed as a the furniture was in the way of my feet. No bar. Breakfast very moderate. No scrambled eggs and bacon.

    Inclusive minibar

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our upgrade was into a room that had a 1.40 bed, so careful if you are no longer in the honeymoon, and get the Albrecht Dürer room...

    Very nice staff, the girls do a great job at breakfast. The hotel is quirky, but very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit hot during the summer days. A small microwave oven would have been nice.

    Excellent location and training facilities look promising as well. We are considering booking this place for our next seminar. Also, complimentary minibar service was very much appreciated. These many "little" things summed up to a great customer experience. I will be back and will recommend your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was rather small

    the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceilings are very low, not ideal for tall people.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, hotel has a very beautiful and special atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old fashioned baths, Room was a bit dark (room 10)

    Kölsch in the mini bar,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small.

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC, for hot days not suitable for us.

    very good annd friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptional ambiance, great breakfast, very friendly pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A romantic old house hotel , it feels like home!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The setting an lay-out of the hotel is fabulous. No room is the same, but they are all great! Staff is very helpfull and kind!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was a little too warm for me when sleeping.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heat control in the room could be better.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firm beds, quite environment while being in the middle of town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Location, staff, room comfort, hospitality and breakfast all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best hotel ever. Rather big price, but it is reasonable for service, attitude, place, everything. I would put 12 points:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast could have been better

    - Cosy atmosphere - Quiet - Free ice cream - Close to Mediterana Spa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very good quality WIFI. They gave me an upgrade as well. perfect room. enough parking space

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the night a lot of moskitos was entering in the room! Could't sleep!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer Mini
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly Staff, great "little extras" - make you feel welcome!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very beautiful comfortable hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would argue if it really fits the 4-star rating. Room was quite small, the vanity set was very simple. The choice of food for breakfast was quite limited - not a single warm dish! To be fair, the food that was offered was of high quality.

    Very friendly staff, attention to detail, free parking, historic building Good bed

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    From the moment we stepped in the staff made us so welcome - we felt like family within minutes. The room was beautiful and larger than we expected just a shame we couldn't stay longer

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, the breakfast and the sauna! The friendliness of the staff including rescuing us when we came home late without a key. The closeness to Bensberg, Bonn and Koln

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was tiny but worked.

    Price for quality and deal on booking

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    delicious breakfast (good choice of healthy bread, homemade smoothie !) spacious room, very clean and tidy,

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was wonderful - the food was high quality

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My upstair bedroom was analogous to picture The Poor Poet. All facilities were in place, unlike Spitzweg. Cozy, biedermeier upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    time to change the linnen! Mine was a bit old and uncomfortable...

    Great original little hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel , close to Mediterana . Very friendtly staff . The junior Suite is perfect . Everything you need is there . Extensive breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A beautiful place, people and atmosphere. Very well suited all my needs and aspirations. Exceptional in all respects

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were a delight

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant.

    Petite, bijou, stylish, stop over.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airconditioning. Pure breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Low ceilings Keep your head down

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Everything was good :)

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - ambiance - rooms - location - helpful reception

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Malerwinkel Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: