Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5 stars

Neuturmstrasse 1, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#26 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but 44 euros per person is a bit too much for it. Ate at Matsuhisa which was very nice although not quite at same level as Nobu

    Staff are exceptional and real credit to MO. Public spaces are really nice and have been recently renovated. Nice restaurants and location is great. Feels like an upmarket boutique hotel rather than a big chain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wellness/spa area with its facilities is rather small and lacking space and equipment to relax.

    Absolute incredible service and friendliness of all staff, truly exceptional! Staff going out of their way to attend to any wish you desire. Lovely, comfortable rooms perfectly and generously serviced. Definitely an outstanding hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Great hotel in renovated old building with a lot of character, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, major sites, etc. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was large, quiet, and clean, with a view over the beer garden (empty since it was the middle of winter). Dinner in the on-site Japanese restaurant was superb! We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, including Japanese restaurant on first floor.

    We had a beautiful suite with views out to 7! Churches, large bathroom, very comfortable. Hotel is next to beer garden and near major sites. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Prices for meals were expensive so I would recommend eating off property as there are so many excellent places to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really...expense on the high end, but I would not say the property was overpriced.

    The room was very large and extremely clean and comfortable. Separate shower and tub were a nice touch. Staff were all attentive, polite and charming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very attentive and well-trained staff, spacious and beautifully appointed rooms and common areas and the location is unbeatable. Top Japanese restaurant on the premises came in very handy on a rainy evening. The hotel is quite expensive but I got an upgrade and the eventual rate was more than competitive relative to the size of the suite and the level of its comfort

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mandarin Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been previously in some Mandarin Oriental, believe this one is absolutely not at the same level of Milan or Tokyo: - first night go to bed and in the king size bed there where no king size linen but two single one side by side (see pics) - used the annex Spa for 90 min average massage, advertised for €195 got to pay €270 cash, no receipt given - I had a superior junior suite, unfortunately close to service lift, very noisy, better I believe small room but away from service doors/lift - Went out at 8:30 in the morning, came back at 14:30 and room was still to be serviced

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned room. We visited another Mandarin Hotels and they were more fashionable and modern. WiFi for 15 euro pro day for an expensive hotel is not good

    Great staff and services

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bedroom was small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is expensive.

    Professional staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and worth visit new restaurant Matsuhisa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are beautiful , staff excellent & Beds to die for !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mandarin Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    Wonderful location, excellent staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unrealistic Pricing, no spa

    Great Location, Fantastic Food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed mattress was too hard . Moreover I had to yell at the staff to get me free wi fi. Location ok though not on Main Street ,

    The refurbished lobby

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is on-going construction that impacts the lobby. And there was constructively noise during the day.

    The staff was amazing. Rooms were lovely. Rooftop bar was special.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is a huge renovation work of the entrance and lobby area going on and I have not noticed that while booking this hotel, so then we came we were surprised in a bad way. Because of this you have to enter the hotel from some side entrance and experience some discomfort because of the noise. Also for some reason the water in the pool was so hot like it's a hot tub. Imagine having more than 30 c outside and not being able to chill in a cool pool. And the pool needs to be cleaned more often since i've seen some staff in the water which shouldn't be there :)) The most funny thing is paid wifi. Really? It is really funny.

    As any Mandarin Oriental hotel this one is great in everything, stuff, facilities, service.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although the booking.com informed us that the hotel was going through some refurbishing, we were very disappointment because we had no idea how this would impact on our stay. All facilities that were appealing to us when choosing the hotel were closed or inadequate, including the spa, gym center, the restaurant and others. This should have been more clear at the hotel's website. As regular Four Season guests, it was our first experience at the Mandarin Oriental chain and unfortunately it was not a good experience.

    The hotel is very well located, everything we did was by foot.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Family with young children

    King bed actually is a two joint beds making it uncomfortable! Internet is way too expensive (€8 for an hour or €18 for a day)

    Room & bathroom was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect in everything simply professional

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place due to construction

    Every thing nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    The breakfast buffet

    The location and services

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    The breakfast buffet

    The location and the staff

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was being renovated. Work started as early as 7.15. When I complained , I was told I should have been notified.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy because of constraction works!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Mandarin Oriental, Munich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: