Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Hotel Marburg 4 stars

Pilgrimstein 29, 35037 Marburg an der Lahn, Germany

#9 of 14 hotels in Marburg an der Lahn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 647 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was not working in the entire Hotel and we were not informed of this at check-in, also we were given a room with 2 single beds that were pushed together instead of a queen/king bed. When confronted About this at check-out our Reception Agent had Nothing to say except "I don't know what to say", no offer of a partial refund or any type of "wieder gut machen", Nothing but a shrug of her shoulders. For 151€ per night I expect a Little more from the Service and the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c wasn’t working , which would have been ok with an open window , but it was very noisy at night given the street and nearby restaurant or club? The mattress also needed to be turned as one side was uncomfortable

    Location & staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too basic for the price, not very good value for money. For example: it's noisy on a weekend night because it overlooks a main street. The bed had only one pillow. Lighting in the bedroom was limited and not easy to figure out. Barely any amenities in the bathroom. All this would have been ok, had it been 30% cheaper. But there are too few hotels in the Marburg city center area so that lack of competition probably affects the quality of service.

    The location is very central, within walking distance from the train station and old city. Also, breakfast was included in the room rate and the buffet had many choices. The room was a comfortable size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the check-out day, the card payment did not work for hours. On a business trip it was caused quite big inconvenience. We had to wait hours until the problem was solved.

    Good location, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm, no working airco.

    Central location right opposite the elevator to the old town and near the river , nice room on the third floor with good beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room planning with coat rack just next to the bed. No bathtube in the bath. No minibar in the room. Cheap and well-used furniture in the room. Heavy smell of some cleaning agent. The door couldn't be locked properly so letting all noises in. It is very unclear how this property could get 4 stars. Comparing to other hotels, I would grade it between 2 and 3 stars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The Welcome Hotel is situated very close to the centre of Marburg. There is an elevator just across the road which takes you up to the very beautiful old town. Well worth a visit. The staff at the hotel were lovely and really helpful. Our German is very limited and they very kindly spoke to us in English. The room was very spacious, with lovely lighting, and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't try the restaurant as it was closed for a few days, but the staff pointed us in the right direction for a range of other lovely restaurants and we found exactly what we wanted very close by. We actually wanted to stay longer as it was such a good experience! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cancelling fees were proposed at 90% even if cancellation was done one week before Room was not ready at my venue at 13:30 instead of 15:00 as stated in the convention For the last night/day room was not cleaned up - I asked for a price reduction, instead I got a beer for that! As far I know It is the most expensive hotel in town, I wonder if other hotels have really less qualitiy?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is too outdated and has nothing to do with 4star hotel. If the management is wondering why there are no clients in the hotel, the answer it is TOO EXPENSIVE for the service they are offering. This hotel shall cost maximum 100 euro per night! It is definitely not worth more than this! And please change your locks of the doors! We couldn't lock our door and we couldn't connect with the reception for 10 minutes! What happens if we are in a hurry for a business meeting???

    Only the location is good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ladies Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from producing noise the aircon in the room didn't cool. The temperatur kept being above 30 degrees despite an open window. Combination of heat and streetnoise made it almost impossible to get some sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ladies Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged £115 on top of my bill, taken from my card, after I left the hotel, for no apparent reason. I've emailed the hotel and had zero response. I also searched and booked via booking.com for 3 rooms, able to sleep 2 adults in each room - meaning 6 adults were accommodated. Typically this would mean a 'twin room'. Your search results showed a 'ladies room' with an extra bed available. Not the twin that the hotel offers. So I booked because your search was based on two adults sharing one room. Upon review of the booking, at arrival, the fee for 3 rooms was for single occupancy in each room, thus leaving myself and the party in confusion. The hotel then charged me €30 for each additional occupant in the 2 rooms we needed it for, for the facility to adapted to take the extra person and moved us from the original rooms. Why they didn't put us in twin rooms is beyond me. The additional fee basically covered breakfast we didn't want and extra bed sheets. It didn't split the beds for twin occupancy and no extra towels. So we effectively slept in the same bed, as grown men, at a cost of €60 for zero benefit. There was zero air conditioning in the rooms and at £127 a night, that's unacceptable considering the hotel website and booking.com stated there was. The room description clearly states 'extra bed available' but we never got one and it doesn't state on the room description that an extra bed is extra cost. All in all, the transition from booming.com to the hotel, the misleading description of the rooms, the extra cost which hasn't been explained and the awful lack of air conditioning resulted in a very very expensive very very poor experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle or tea facilities in the room. Having to pay for bottled water in the light of the last comment.

    Plenty of choice at breakfast. Big comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed much too early, despite of the promises of the staff. The bar is part of the 4-star facility, but if the bar closes too early, there is no bar at all!

    Staff, breakfest, quitness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Ladies Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small lobby.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location for either sightseeing or doing business at the Phillips University. Generous, abundant, and delicious breakfast. A comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big comfortable room great breakfast quiet, one can sleep without noise very close to the center I have not tried the wilan, so I can't tell about it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    Hotel is located in an excellent area. Close to the old town and accessible by just taking a lift up. Near to almost all the wonderful restaurants and sights that one has to see. Rooms are spacious, clean and functional. Breakfast spread was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ladies Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy at night. Due to road works car park not accessible. Not very disabled friendly...steps (even one to lift!) restaurant closed Sunday night.

    Location good. Room pleasant. Breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is very expensive - 15 Euro's a day. The only facility is a sauna .The hotel could do with a gym and small swimming pool - They should buy the underground car park and convert one level of it for this use.Overall the hotel is a bit over-priced.

    The location was excellent being opposite an elevator that went straight up to central Marburg thus avoiding a several hundred step climb. Also breakfast was excellent with a great choice of cooked and cold foods. There are also loads of cafe's and bars locally.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot below the old town and right opposite one of the elevators. Terrific room with separate lounge area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC although advertised Breakfast not 3/4*

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent, albeit loud if you have a room facing the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, rooms on the upper floors have great views and are a good size - very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great location easy access to town. We could walk everywhere. Breakfast buffet was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in Marburg directly across from the elevator to the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel Restaurant is closed on Sunday.

    Prime Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice to offer free car park for the hotel guests...

    Very well located comfortable hotel in Marburg, friendly staff and nice&large rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was of quite good quality.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost no facility

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly sterile decor

    Near to old town

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    convenience of restaurant Breakfast Buffett well done Location to Old Marburg

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and the parking under the hotel should be paid No helpers for luggage AC isnot working The furnature never to be for a family

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ladies Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are horrible, Ventilation System is bad (either too warm or too cold), 100Euro a night is too much for this Hotel.

    Location, breakfast is good (with Frenchtoasts)

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wi-fi took half an hour to come through on to my phone.

    The receptionist was very helpful with my wi-fi. The hotel reserved me the quiet room I asked for.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Checking in and checking out is very slow, independent from time and circumstances. Queues every morning for getting the bill done. Lots of mistakes in names, addresses, at the check out: question why they ask to fill out the details at checking in, if none of information is then entered into the billing system?

    Champagne for breakfast is still served, excellent service level is maintained.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is nothing I would change about this hotel. The only thing I might push as a point for improvement is that the lobby was a bit cold.

    Location was excellent, hotel was clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the staff were very, very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we ordered breakfast - it did not arrive and the hotel tried to charge us anyway! after half an hour of waiting we went downstairs - it was a nice buffet we also booked a comfort room because we had called to check if they all had baths - there was no bath only a shower - we were offered an alternative room but it was small and not as nice

    the room was spacious and had a green space outside loved the breakfast our dog was welcome even in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, there are problems with the wi-fi. We could barely use it in our room. In the future the hotel needs to update or change the routers or their location.

    We really liked the location of the hotel and the excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk was ready for us with check-in info at hand. Hotel is conveniently located in town shopping/entertainment/restaurant area and bus stops. Staff was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking garage was right under the building, but was not explained about having your ticket validated everyday, other wise it was convienent. The shower stall was very small.

    It was right in the center of the city, close to shopping. Free breakfast every morning.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The delicious sounding dishes in the restaurant are advertised everywhere. When we got to the restaurant we were told there was only a buffet, no a la carte service. Buffet was adequate, but then we saw a la carte dishes being taken to other guests. Not impressed.

    A very comfortable room. Hotel has very good access to the lift to the old town. Breakfast was excellent. We got the last parking space in the underground garage as the hotel was full.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fair bit of people walking past and noise from the street, especially late at night, as if there was a nightclub nearby? Traffic started fairly early.

    Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, excellent facilities, the best breakfast buffet I have ever had, very clean, modern and bright room, breakfast included in the price made it excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Group

    No tea making facilities .

    The hotel was central to marburg ...Breakfast was lovely. Very clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    good location, large room

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location was top. Staff was friendly. Hotel rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast buffet was good. We loved it and plan on returning.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not too far from the train station. Great location very close to the center. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's so near to every thing

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Non smoking room smelt of smoke ?

    Location.staff . breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Too little choice in the restaurant. Very tight underground parking spaces.

    Good for business stay

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI - internet very slow. Breakfast average

    location, flexibility staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Function of air conditioning poor

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location very good

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well situated although an a busy street and without airconditioning on hot summer days

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location to downtown Marburg, large comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Couple

    WiFi was not good in our room, no problems once back to the reception area.

    Location was excellent for us to walk to the old part of the town.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No in room tea or coffee making facility. Expensive mini bar especially for bottled water!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all ok, good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing in particular

    everything really

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, just few steps from the old town. Very clean and friendly. Has a parking but costs around 15 Euro per day.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No issues.

    Location is excellent, right across the street from the elevator to the old town. Breakfast was also very good.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: