Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Signature Hotel Marco Polo

Börnestr.14, 22089 Hamburg, Germany

#36 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy that checked us in on the Saturday was so friendly and willing to help us however the weekday day staff was the complete the opposite.. he didn't want to help us at all.

    The location to the metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we booked and paid for a single large room for 6 people and were separated into two rooms. The booking stated Breakfast included and it was not. It was 7 Euro per person and was a crappy bread and spread selection. One of the rooms we were given smelled like cigarette smoke, and when we told the receptionist about it he brushed it off even though we were grossed out and wanted the room that we originally paid for that was not available for some reason. We had a crappy experience. Oh and not to mention we had to drive around for 20 minutes looking for parking on the street because there is absolutley no where to park at this place.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the trains was overwhelming. My attempts to change rooms were met with contradictory information, leaving us frustrated and unable to sleep well. Our room was not thoroughly cleaned when we checked in. We will not be staying there again.

    Except for the extremely loud train noise, the location suited our needs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are unfriendly, the room is very dirty & very small. They're not willing to help you. The announcement and the reality is very different. The value of money isn't deserve for this hotel. The reception isn't working after 21:00 o'clock. The room is full of dust everywhere.

    The location is very close for everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    their system wouldn't accept my credit card even though it accepted it when I made the reservation and I was forced to find an atm to get cash out to pay them. The devil is in the detail...clean the bathroom properly...built up grime on the skirting boards and other mess on the bathroom wall.

    close to subway station

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were dirty, mild in the bathroom, tv remotes were lost,staff did not understand english, their credit card machine does not work.

    This was a cheap place to stay that was all to like about it.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV. Hole in the bathroom that bugs crawled through

    Close to station, comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofesional staff!!! Thay want take me 300 euro becose I lose room key...Unbelievable!!! Cheaters!!!

    Near metro station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor lighting in the room. 3 beds in a small space, when we had book a twin room.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    to be cleaned more

    Staff & location is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open terrace

    Bus, metro , train stations within two minutes. Market, shops are one minute walkable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location close to U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations. Friendly young man at reception. Nice garden, good to eat breakfast there on a nice day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Łącznie of Cleanlines,very outdated barhroom , no kettle, personel not organized and knowing about current affairs

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow wifi. Couldn't pay with credit card.

    Good value for money. Clean and spacious room. Easy acces to metro for central Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good for this price range.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We want to thank particularly the staff for a warm welcome, their availability to answer questions and for providing extra services like allowing us to leave suitcases for the day after checking out in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was not vacuumed or swept and when we asked they just said the maid was sick...not a satisfactory answer for a guest who would like to walk around the room on socks but does not dare to due to the dirt... breakfast is too expensive for what you get, hamburg offers many better possibilities

    Nice spacious room, clean bathroom, hospitable staff, free wifi, great connection to the city!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one parking spot and once that is taken, you're stuck looking for a place on the street.

    Lovely suite for the price of a family room in a hostel. Did not have the breakfast, so can't comment on that. Lots of pubs, restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The receptionisr wants to pay more when we arrive in the hotel. We reserve a trpl room and pay for that but he told us to pay extra for the 3rd person

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Internet was down much of the time.

    The hotel is very close to a large street and train station but the neighborhood is pleasant and quiet. The room (#6) was pleasant as well despite facing the street. The beds and bedding was nicer than I expected. Getting to the metro station could not be easier.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom.

    the terrace is great, especially the room with the balcony. Other rooms are quite big as well. Good value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The poor skills in English of the staff (at least 1 of them) leading to misunderstandings. Payment upon arrival. Wasrooms require better cleaning

    5 min walk to underground: airport+downtown. Very quiet and comfortable enough. The piece of garden next to breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was good

    1. Location (1 min from U/S-Bahn), 10 min from the city centre 2. Price was VEEEEERY nice 3. The room (no. 3) had a very big bed, one sofa. Moreover, there was even one separate extra room (i.e. the room is fully siutable for 4 -5 people / two pairs)

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was very dirty..a lots of dust!!!The same with the badroom!

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is so slow. It didnt work really

    Location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: