Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maritim Berghotel Braunlage This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Pfaffenstieg, 38700 Braunlage, Germany

#19 of 23 hotels in Braunlage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    they were out of bathrobes, although everybody else seemed to have gotten one the place looks a bit rundown, especially the parking garage staff was friendly though somewhat unprofessional showers in the changing room to the pool area certainly are not what you would expect nowadays although they did end up having free charging for my electric vehicle, noone except for the facilities manager that was eventually consulted, seemed to know where they were. I found the socket ...

    location was excellent. Free charging of electric vehicle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sauna too small, breakfast room too large, free wifi slow (500kbit/s), not enough free parking space, you can smell the old carpets in the rooms and halls (yet everything looks clean), hotel has the flair of the seventies (not necessarily negative)

    location, comfy beds, view, friendliness of staff, breakfast selection good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't find any controls for the room airconditioning.

    The room was perfect, but could have been a little warmer for me. I enjoyed a few lengths in the indoor pool! Also, a rest in the sauna!! The hotel was well placed for our visits to the Harz narrow gauge railways. We liked the evening meals in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Quilts & pillows a bit grubby underneath the crisp white covers. We're told on arrival that parking was included in our booking by a young dark haired, slightly nervous chap. On checkout a nasty young blonde receptionist implied we were lying & insisted we pay €11 euros a night. There was a totally free car park just down the road. Very upset & would never stay here again. Will lodge formal complaint, ruined our holiday feeling. Receptionists need customer service training. Another allowed a couple German biker clients to walk right in front of my son & myself & 'jump the queue, without saying a word to them! Bad wifi also

    Location next to multiple activities for all who enjoy being outside in the fresh air. Great restaurant & bar staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The climb up to the hotel, very steep. Outdoor pool was not very clean.

    Indoor Swimming pool, adequate parking, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast-buffet, spacious rooms and good facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good and scenic location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area could have been a bit more modern. But it had the facilities needed.

    Close to ski location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was at best unprepared, and not very forthcoming with help, making the customers feel guilty first for asking for help. Here two examples. We could not connect with the wireless, which was crucial for my work, and nobody did anything for almost two days, maintaining it was my fault, and practically turning me into a digital ignorant. Effectively, it was a problem of the hotel's own system. Other customers had the same problem, I have heard, and all of them were treated like that. The same could be said for the staff in the bar: I asked what exactly was in the "antipasti", and the waiter was not prepared to tell me, making me understand I should know myself what that was. Being Italian, I know what antipasti are, and it turned out that she needed to ask in the kitchen, as she was not aware of what kind of antipasti they were serving. This type of defensive strategy which puts the blame on the customer does not fit with the general aspirations of the hotel, and does a lot to destroy any feeling of pleasure in a stay which was otherwise very good.

    In spite of the slightly passé flair, the hotel was very comfortable, clean, of a very good quality. The swimmingpool area is great, and the saunas are not bad, although they could do with some renovation. Very good breakfast buffet and evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi could be improved in different parts of the hotel.

    Very good hotel. Plenty of facilities, with an excellent breakfest (I do not believe this can be beaten anywhere). Excellent view from the top floor. Hotel should make the top floor more accessible as this is one of the best under used parts with fantastic views.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    front porch being renovated and really noisy work happening. Bar not open and other bar overly busy. Place looks tired now. Had to pay €126 more than I paid on Booking.com

    I had been there before and love the location and the 'old' style of the hotel. Breakfast buffet lovely and staff friendly even with English speakers.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has unattractive elevations and internally is now in urgent need of modernisation and refurbishment. The restaurant needs to serve dishes of higher quality and to include local fare of which there is an abundance i.e. venison

    Most of the staff are very good and welcoming. The inside pool is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Waiting staff at breakfast is not very attentive, bordering with being rude, especially if one doesn't speak German. Stayed there a couple of times and experienced the same issue every time. Beds and pillows are not very comfortable.

    Location is good. Facilities are not bad.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was good, but no variation

    Staff was marvellous. Location in walking distance of ski lift was an absolute plus. Nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interieur was outdated. Interior.

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful I have come to braunlage for 15 years and the best food I have tested.pool and sauna a bonus

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold staff Bed not comfort

    Good location Good breakfast Clean Comfort

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the beds are hard and very uncomfortable and the bathrooms are very old and out dated

    The location and the veiw

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: