Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maritim Hotel Köln This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Heumarkt 20, Altstadt-Sued, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#98 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2267 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot and uncomfortable Ac didn’t work and it was hot even when windows were open no fans or anything to help.

    It was Super close to EVERYTHING, all stores and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Elevators were extremely slow at times.

    The hotel is close to the river and has unique architecture. For conference attendees it's ideal, combining business and pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We called the hotel to reserve a room on sunday 13-5 they said there is no room , We booked the room on booking.com for the same night!! There is nothing to drink after 00:00 o'clock No room service at late night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like to have no coffee urn to make instant coffee in the room. I wouldn't recommend to get there by car as the parking cost extra and is very expensive.

    To have a swimming-pool and the location. It is perfect in the center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in room 517 was not working well. Too hot to sleep well. Shower worked great but then flooded the whole bathroom when used so we had to use the shower in our adjoining room. Glad we had that option. I don’t know if the shower drain is plugged or poor design.

    Location, pretty facility, breakfast buffet was good, pool was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small for the price I paid.

    Last night I had a strong headache and I went to the reception asking them if they had something because the nearest pharmacy was at 15 minuts walk and my migraine was killing me. The girl working there gave me 5 pills without asking anything. I found that to be super kind :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was not as expected. You couldn’t even call it a gym so don’t book here if you like to workout otherwise the place is great

    The place was really nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room but provided when asked.

    Great location, near shops amd the Rhien and short walk to the cathedral and chocolate museum. Amazing shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really out dated and need an update. The curtains had water stains on them for example. Also, as the hotel has a floor with restaurants the whole of the first floor including the room we stayed in on the first floor smelled like food and oil which was really off putting. Luckily we could open our window to let's some air in.

    The location is just great, central to both the river side and old town and a five minute walk to the shops which is ace. The room itself is really clean and the bathroom has been updated and looks modern. The shower is also really powerful and hot!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only hotel i saw in my life where they charge 10£ for each hour for the late check out

    Great location and the main thing the hotel is considered for me on of the best in cologne , value for money and suitable for family

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a large double bed...I was hoping for a single large mattress but instead I got 2 single beds pushed together.....very uncomfortable for COUPLES. the beds were not even hooked together so they kept moving apart.....NOT GOOD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is much too expensive for the small single room they provided. Breakfast is also very expensive.

    The location is very good. The hotel is clean and kept in good shape.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow per person though I’m sure we could have phoned and asked for more.

    Quick check-in, particularly as we arrived from the airport at 11am and got straight into our room. Spacious, clean room. Modern bathroom. Friendly staff. Excellent location. Great piano bar, though a tad pricey.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have done with kettle in room but that maybe a continental thing..??

    Staff very polite friendly efficient and keen to help.Bed was comfy, en-suite excellent. Just two tram stops to exhibition centre. Pool and fitness was v good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small and the aircon was either to hot or to cold. I had no dressing gown or slippers in the room . The sauna door in the sport centre has been broken for the last two years ! surely someone must fix this door !! little things need to be fixed or repaired and lets down the overall experience . The Hotel has all the things required to make it a great place but falls short .

    The location was very good and the facility's were good .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid over 300 EU for the room on the first floor. Smell of kitchen was horrible and temperature in room was to warm. Window could be opened, but traffic was outside, whole night.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work very well and when we asked the staff about information, they didn't help much.

    The pool was fantastic, the hotel in general was very well and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows in the hotel are terrible, far too thin to sleep on. There is only shampoo and body wash, no sign of any cream, conditioner, spare toothpaste etc. The internet in our room which was far from reception is effectively non-existent. It disappears more often than it's there. My husband ordered food from room service which was expensive, took an hour to arrive and had little taste. We didn't have the breakfast because it's far too expensive and there are just so many cafes nearby.

    The position of this hotel is excellent. Right be the river Rhine with lovely big windows which is important to me. It is also in the centre of town with easy access to anywhere. We went at the beginning of January so were also right next to a Christmas market. I also really liked the pool which is big enough to swim in. People at reception are really helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed the email from flights direct about checking in on Ryanair flight before arrival and had to pay an additional £100 at the airport. Never used Ryanair before and will look for alternative carriers in furure.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent, perhaps a little expensive if you just want some toast and a coffee. Staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was ideal for the Christmas markets, literally opposite. Large modern hotel, spotlessly clean- excellent all round- will be going again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything! This is a proper scam and huge dissapointment. A 4 Star Hotel and misleading their clients. I booked doble bed for me and my partner. I was given a old room with 2 single beds. Then challenged the receptionist. She gave a second room this time with 2 single beds combined. This was suuposed to be the duble bed. Then challenged again thatr this was't a proper double bed. She then gave another room for which we had to wait 4 more hours. What pissed us off was the 3rd room had 2 single beds combined. What a big lie! This hotel seems no to have double beds. They fool their clients and lie to them. Very old hotel and interior. This Hotel CANNOT BE A 4 STAR HOTEL! Max. 2 Star for it's location. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else. I want my money back!!!!

    Swiming pool but very cold water. Very old facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, should be updated. Bed and pillow to be renewed. For this price it would have been nice to have a free bottle of water in the room

    Location. Parking lot and bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underground car park was not included in the room fee and was pretty expensive! Parking is a general problem in the whole city center so it seems like they get a big advantage from that.

    The room was typically hotel style. The bathroom was fantastic (make sure to press the “light” button in the shower 😊 ) and the location of the hotel is fabulous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room clean with all the comfort elements. Internet in the room available but slow. Pillows are very thin though so had to add more to sleep well. However thick pillows is a must for us and existing ones may be comfortable to others. Staff friendly and helpful. Did not have a chance to use the gym and swimming pool so can’t comment. A short walk around the area though did not reveal anything unusual. Location of the hotel is excellent and close to all touristic areas downtown. The biggest Christmas market is near by. The room rate is slightly on the high side though but not excessive. Overall I give it a good rating and recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like about the property, is that despite the fact that I precised while booking that I wanted a queen size bed. They still put double beds small ones.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Indoor pool was a bit cool - this trip was in winter time and would have liked a warmer swim!

    Excellent location, beside transport links and city centre. As we were there for the Christmas markets, all were in walking distance. Lovely pool and fitness centre here also. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - bad wifi - slow lifts - card key not working well - swimming pool not available - limited restaurant choice in the hotel

    - good breakfast - good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well better pillow , the pillow you guys use are very bad and you really need toget better ones. The room needs a upgrade , furniture looks like from the 1900 and so does the curtains. Big hotel and you can do better then that , By the restaurant on the glass sides spiderwebs and dusty is like its never been cleaned before ever. Look into this things and the hotel will be great.

    The location was great and will book it next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. Room had windows which opened into the central hotel lobby. As a solo traveller, this made me feel more connected with people. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very, very poor WiFi which made working from the room each evening impossible. No facility for Tea and Coffee in the room. 2 single beds when I had booked a double.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not as helpful as other hotels I’ve stayed at in Western Germany. Bed and specifically pillow were not that comfy. Room was pretty standard compared to price.

    The hotel had a lot of features and restaurants. A very cool lobby. Room was clean, but standard. The shower was very nice and temperature controlled. Location was along the river and near some good restaurants. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi. Extremely slow and need to reconnect each time (reboot telephones / pc). Breakfast too expensive. Swimming pool not available. Sauna mixed (sorry thusvpoing may be cultural but they should know that not all int'l clients are comfortable with this). Elevators not smart (long wait time). Card key only worked 50% of the time and I had to ask to redo the key 3 times during stay. Huge hotel so going down to reception with slow elevators to redo the key after having tried 3 minutes is a pain.

    Good bed. Helpful staff. A view of the cathedral from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was unstable in parts of the hotel. The layout was confusing and made it difficult to figure out the way to the conference hall.

    Clean hotel, with good faciilites for work. My room was roomy with a desk and a sitting group, perfect for work. One of the nicest bathrooms i have encountered during my travels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We have stayed at the Maritim many times before and as always the first strikingly unpleasant thing is the strong smell of stale smoke. in the lobby, bars and some of the rooms, air fresheners are required to mask the smell as I know that it can never be effectively eradicated. There were no steak options to order in your flagship restaurant. Internal shops either closed down or poorly stocked. I am sorry but the Maritim Hotel needs to be fixed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor amenities, evthg looking quite oldfashioned and no more up to date.poor price value ratio for breakfast (in addition to superior room price), poor inhouse room view - no rhine view directly at walking way and elevators for price. had to pull curtains all the time which amde us not see daylights... poor spa for this hotel category and reach through lobby, no direct access via floors and elevator.poor inhouse restaurants and bars, staff within entire area not servie orientedand not friendly, except reception desk. did expect way more for price payed...

    central location, reach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is starting to get a bit tired. Some graffiti on the lift. Holes in the curtains in the room. The fridge in my room did not work and was not repared during the 3 night stay despite reporting this to the front desk twice.

    Very clean and comfortable room and bed in a central location near to restaurants and bars. Close enough to the Expo centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff were not warm and helpful. We arrived the hotel at 11 o'clock. Although, we had an early check in request during booking process. They kept us waiting for many hour (until 14:15), despite asking multiple times.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts need to be renovated. The breakfast was far too expensive at 24 euros. We only had breakfast on the last day for that reason. They should propose a cheaper formula e.g. A simple continental breakfast for 10 euros.

    The architecture of the Maritim is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows had nothing to them so it felt like your head was against the mattress with no headrest. I must admit i woke up a few times because of this. The breakfast looked an tasted very nice but the price was sky high at £22 euros!!.

    Very clean and tidy hotel in a perfect location to all the local shops. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The staff always had smiles on their faces so it made you feel welcome. I felt having a choice of restaurants in the hotel is a good idea so certain areas do not get crowded. They also offered room service which is a nice touch if you didn't want to leave the room. All in all lovely hotel and i would stay there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was not helpful at all and couldn't help with the simplest of the requests. The room had no internet and after repeatedly complaining about the same we received an internet card from an internet provider that didn't have signal in the hotel room. We made the booking for a room with a queen size bed, but the hotel only had rooms with twin beds available. We asked the hotel staff to change the room and we were sent to a smoking room with the same twin beds and an unbearable smell of tobacco. We then return to the initial non-smoking room. We requested for the room to be cleaned and towels to be replaced and the only change in the room once we returned was that the bar was refilled with drinks. The hotel has an old smell with old furniture. The breakfast was expensive compared to other city restaurant offers. The spa facility had no personnel at any time of the day. The pool has a small height and feels really hot inside.

    Location was good, near to the City Center. Good room size with a great view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    INTERNET: Very poor and slow internet WIFI And didn't cover some rooms. ROOM SERVICE: Limited choices for the room service

    Amazing Staff Perfect location Good rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee making facilities in the room but kettle provided on request

    Good room size and view out to the river through trees in the foreground. Right in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another option for breakfast at the hotel as we hadn't really wanted to pay a lot of money for an elaborate buffet. Great food, though!

    We stayed only one night as we were on our way from Brussels to Hamburg. Yours was the nicest hotel that we had stayed in during our trip to that point. Great location and a fascinating and entertaining shower . . . and what a treat to actually have a bathtub!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the sun is shining, it is very hot at the restaurant under the glassy roof Too much salt in the "welcoming crackers" !

    The lights in the shower ! The comfort of the room The location in city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shoe spoon. No body lotion. First day minibar was half empty. In a deepest jungles of Combodia wi-fi connection is better than in this hotel.

    Very fast check-in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at your hotel room 411. Visually room looks good but in reality furniture and decor is old. Pillows on the beds are really flat and uncomfortable. I have reserved room with one large sofa bed but I was given room with twin joined beds. I reserved room with street view but my room was with insight lobby. Over all I was not happy with my stay at your hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like old carpet.. and strange ventilarions from ceiling sounds woke us up 2 of our 4 night stay. Staff did not respond with follow up for price we paid about noise. Instead offered to move us on last night after 2nd complaint should of done so earlier or discount , something? Prices for food a little high for quality in hotel eating establishments. Front desk personal some were great others not so great as far as feeling welcomed. Porters at front of inside hotel look like doom and gloom not very customer service oriented, not smiling or not giving greetings either while approached or leaving their general area same with some at front desk.

    housekeeper was nice and cleaned room very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say, the toiletries are never complete unless I ask for it. Such as the shower cap, sewing kit, etc. I know this is common in Europe, but it will certainly be better if they can be handy to use anytime, in such a nice hotel.

    Very nice and efficient staffs ! They have everything I requested for : kettle, adaptor, extra bed, different pillows, and even a wheelchair ! They brought everything to our door within a few mins after hanging up the phone (which many other 5 stars hotels cannot be this fast). We borrowed the wheelchair a few days through out our stay and it really helped us a lot since grandpa got sudden health problem and could not walk at all. For this I really appreciate as it saved my life ! Moreover, it was free of charge ! We rented 3 rooms in 3 different categories (a suite, superior and a double) and they all look nice and with comfortable beds. Excellent location right in front of the train stop. Supermarket, shopping street and many restaurants within 1 or 2 blocks. Highly recommended to any first timer in Cologne or anyone attends the Fair in Kolnmesse.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont advertise something you dont have double beds

    Booked a non smoking double room first room smelt of smoke & twin beds second room 2x single beds pushed together but nice room hotels own web site stated double bed rooms available not the case and breakfast over rated @ €23 my advice use 1 of the little cafes in the building it only cost me €11 this morning for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't comfortable at all - die Matracce sehr weich - and also the 6th floor with glass roof in front of the window ( not clean btw ) doesn't look very nice. Simply room 683 I wouldn't take next time in any case .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection was disaster - all stay no internet at night - during the day the internet is tooo slow - Nobody has an answer how to fix it. Why it is expensive, I don't know!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wifi was not good at all i had to pay to telecom and is very important when you go for a business trip.Also the pillows they must changed them .

    Very good location for the imm cologne that was my purpose of the trip also close to centre. Nice bathroom and clean and big room.You can walk to everything from the hotel and hard rock cafe is opposite .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for exploring the Christmas Markets and lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Also the shower in our room was amazing - a great 'experience!'

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be tea and coffee in the rooms for this standard of hotel.Only news in English on the TV. We booked superior room which should of had bathrobes, but none provided.

    Position of hotel, next to the river and in the city centre. Design of first floor where the restaurant was situated.Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Cleaning staff is not efficient, hardly speaks even simple English. Couple of times they just enterd the room without warning. Room was not properly clean. - When i asked for toilet paper from clearning girl, no reaction followed, so we had to go to reception for that. -hotel tel in our room was broken: it was ringing couple of times, but no answer. It was provding spontanius ringing even at evening. Reception promiced to call maintianing team, but nothing happend. -breakfast in Maritim is rather poor for 4**** star hotel. We went there at around 9.40 a.m. and lots of buffet was already empty.. Took quite some time till we found proper staff who spoke basic English at the breakfast restaurant. -stayed several years ago in Maritim and regretfully the service and friendly staff clearly degradted.. Not any more Maritim - which is used to be one of the best hotel in Koen...

    +Excellent location of Martim and special view from Suite to Christmas Markets!! +Some of the Reception staff is quite friendly, but not always efficient. +Christmas Decorations and the big Christmas tree, inside of 1st floor of the Maritim - might be the Best In Cologne! Thanks for this Christmas Fairy tale!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in rooms Lifts option only no stairs for busy times Breakfast expensive

    Spacious, plenty of places to eat Spa/pool nice and clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned hotel with somewhat dated furnishings. For the room price, I'd have expected e.g. coffee/tea facilities and luxury toiletries.

    Location great for Christmas market. Large room with sitting area. Super soft beds. Disco lights in shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    W-LAN is very, very, very bad. They offer you to pay more for better internet access but you only can have it via LAN with a cable and not W-LAN. So what am I going to do with my mobile... We haven`t been informed in advance that there was a huge party with thousands of people in the lobby.... And it was very loud. At the reception we only got the answer that it`s normal that they have a party on the date of 11.11.16. No sorry from their side, no compensation - take it or leave it. Not very nice... Our curtain in the room was corroded from moths. A change is highly recommended. Waitress in the bar was not friendly. Mojito was very, very sweet. You can be watched by people standing near the reception when sitting in the Spa.

    We liked the shower in the bathroom and size of the bed room. Very nice! :-) We asked for a twin bed and got one. Thank you for it. Location is directly at the Heumarkt in the Old town. Near Shopping Street. Taxis are in front of the hotel. Very good pillows. is clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was poor, ( I know I could have bought additional bandwith). It worked just about with Windows 7, but poorly with the brand new Windows 10 business tablet. 0.5 Mbit is well below my expectations for a business hotel. The interior was outdated, tired look, a bit worn.

    The service was exceptionally friendly and competent, and fast as well. . They went the extra mile to help me with various issues. The bathroom was brand new, shiny & clean. Location excellent, very good connection to the Koeln Messe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quite run down hotel. dirty towels on first day. Towels in general out dated. Bathroom out dated. Fridge of minibar very rusty. Overall- this hotel had its great time a while ago....Pool was nice and clean with salty water. Air con very loud. Breakfast not included.

    location pool was very clean and nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really except that maybe the rooms were a little dated. Also tea and coffee making facilities would be nice in to have in the room.

    Fab hotel in a brilliant location. Close to Rhine and a host of restaurants and bars.. Only about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the DOM and HBF. Rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. All Staff were polite and helpful and very friendly. this is our third trip to Cologne and have previously stayed at other hotels Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whilst there is a good choice of food at breakfast, the traditional English breakfast is limited despite there being many English guests during the period of my stay. Obtaining extras such as an iron is also harder than it should be. Maybe they should be available in the room.

    The hotel is very well situated in the centre of Cologne and has good tram links around the city. There was never very much of a queue at reception and the rooms are well appointed and clean. There is a wide choice of food at breakfast and checking in and out was straightforward.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea and coffee making facility, air con did not cope with hot conditions. Pillows and towels very worn.

    Bathroom nicely renovated. Location perfect. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit disjointed being blended with what seems like a shut shopping arcade lacking vibrancy

    Beautiful pool with the best maintained water I have experienced in a long time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated particularly after staying at the maritim dusseldorf the night before. The swimming pool also needed cleaning.

    Staff were friendly and spoke better English than I do

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning on the hottest weekend in Germany was terrible and there was a bad smell emanating from the toilet e.g. drains. Also being charged 10 Euros per hour on late check out, particularly when the aircon wasn't functioning properly and there was a smell coming from the toilet, I'd have thought they would have waived the extra charge.

    Location was perfect and swimming pool nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is great, but a bit dated. More renovation is needed.

    The beds are great, the breakfast is excellent. The staff very friendly. The new shower is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow of an non-existent thickness, ridiculous. The single bed against the wall - Banging head during the night Some stuff had insufficient knowledge of English for such a good hotel

    The hall with all those small shops and the bar where to hang around with colleagues

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small things: No iron or tea-kettle in the room, and very few power outlets. Internet is GARBAGE. Assume you won't have any during your stay.

    SUPER quiet rooms, great staff, amazing location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location of hotel is vary good & seating in lobby is nice

    There is in this hotel bad first passive Internet is very, very weak and that while there is free Wi-Fi fee and the second thing is the negative of vegetables and fruits at the restaurant is clean and noted that most of the time .. While the rest of the things are very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the double bed are 2 beds placed together leaves a big gap in the middle 2 extra layer on the bed would be very comfortable

    wonderfull room, beautifull bathroom

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi

    Great location and fab disco light showers!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Priced fluctuation per night.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the thing, location, view!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not working well for multiple devices. Ethernet connection not working

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no Alternative breakfast to the buffet. A cup of coffee and one or two croissants would be enough for me and my wife!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maritim Hotel Köln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: