Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel Darmstadt

Am Kavalleriesand 6, 64295 Darmstadt, Germany

#18 of 33 hotels in Darmstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing. We paid a lot of money for very little.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was poor. Connection to the Internet was intermittent for some devices and limited to some sites and was never achieved for other devices. I understand this is a known problem for Best Western (it was also the case in Aachen) but it was very annoying. There was no air-conditioning. It was explained to us that, because of a fault, the hotel could either have heating or air-conditioning but not both. We were advised to open our windows. We did this but it meant that during the night we couldn't sleep because of the street and railway noise. With the windows shut the room was like a sauna. The office chair in our room broke when I sat on it. A maintenance man came and took it away but it wasn't replaced.

    The reception staff were efficient, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, even though on the 7th floor, faced the railway line, so had to keep the window closed and the noisy air conditioning on. Even the air conditioning was set to it’s lowest the room was still to warm.

    Very spacious and extremely clean room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Expensive nights in Darmstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was extremely high on the first two nights (380 €/night), maybe just because of some fair in the nearby Frankfurt, but I've found even the third nice rate too high (180 €) as well, because the hotel is not a 5* one:

    Restaurant was correct, I'd eaten one of the best Wiener Schnitzel of my life (3 consecutive dinners :-)). Breakfast is rich, even a little too continental. The bed is very confortable. Both the exterieur and the interieur (incl. the room itself) is very attractive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    We came very late at night but were well received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restroom of our room was smelling very badly of smoke. We could barely use it. In a minute inside it and we would also stink of smoke. There was wifi but no internet connection in the room. Weird!

    We came very late at night but were well received. Well located. Nice room. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall recoommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool is in construction. Flys around the coffee machine in the restaurant for consecutive 3 days I stay.

    Walking distance to the main station. Room is more spacious than otner hotels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Business Stay in Darmstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the train was irritating, since it is very low frequency noise. Also I was surprised to find the pool/fitness area still being in construction. There was contradicting information on the web site and even in the hotel. It said it will reopen in May 2018. I didn't like the relatively high prizing because of the actual fair. I expected in Frankfurt that the prices are raised, but in Darmstadt I was surprised.

    Location and staff was perfect. Although it was really busy, it was a smooth stay. The hotel is in good shape and the rooms are very modern. Breakfast was delicious and check-in and check-out was super fast. The staff recommended to check-out the night before, since he expected a busy morning. That was a great recommendation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    I stayed in an renovated room - otherwise hotel is very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 26 nights

    I stayed in an renovated room - otherwise hotel is very dated. Gym is under renovation. Restaurant and In-Room Service not great Location 600m from main station at main road towards highway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Really nice place only let down by the air conditioning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice place but the air conditioning in my room was not effective enough for me which given the heatwave at the time made for a sticky night.....

    Breakfast was about the best I've had, there was a very extensive range of foods available. Also, liked the fact that taxis were readily available outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far to walk to the city centre especially in the middle of summer. Hotel staff couldnt really help with tracking down a place to hire bicycles but we did find a place at the information place in the city centre, mind you it was expensive, full day at 20 euro from 10am to 6pm. Rip off!

    Staff were very friendly. Room was very clean. It appeared that most people staying there were a bit older or people there on business.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and easy accessible from the highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you book a room for 4 you expect to get at least 4 towels. We only got 2 (Maybe missed by the service when making the room)

    This is a very nice hotel and we were lucky to get an upgrade for a 4 person room to a suite. Very nice rooms and clean. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything was amazing, but for the WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was amazing, but for the WiFi. There was nearly no signal within the room. Once again, apart from this everything was amazing.

    Everything was amazing, but for the WiFi. There was nearly no signal within the room. Once again, apart from this everything was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    The Hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhoods of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my room, wi-fi connection was weak and discontinuous. My room was close to the railway, which is a "side effect" of the fact that the hotel is close to the station.

    The Hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhoods of the main station, which is good if you have to take the train, but cannot be essential if one travels by other means. The room was spacious, clean and properly furnished. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Large room and bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI connection terrible almost impossible Television with almost all german channels Breackfast price exagerate Noise from the train station Many trubles both check-in and check-out for breackfast payment among other issues Quality/price ratio very high via booking.com. Better directly with hotel staff

    Large room and bathroom wide-screen televivion Clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Decent business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Despite booking a comfort room (supposedly more quiet than standard rooms), the room was facing a loud street as well as a large construction site, i.e. while I had no trouble sleeping even with an open window, this might be too much for less noise-resilient travellers; however, as long as you keep the window closed, no problem at all - While the room's overall cleanliness was adequate, the floor was not well cleaned - dust and small particles of dirt everywhere, most of all in the corners and edges - Sports and wellness facilities announced on the website, but currently under construction and not usable; reception staff provides you with a voucher for a gym close-by

    + Friendly staff at the reception and quick handling of check in and check out + Nice bathroom with rain shower + Comfortable bed, chaise longue-like sofa, and good desktop chair + Huge TV with standard selection of channels + No waiting time or need to explicitly call for taxis in the morning o Conveniently located close to Darmstadt main station o Breakfast unremarkable, mediocre value-for-money: assortment of cheeses and cold cuts, scrambled and fried eggs, beans, mushrooms, pre-baked croissants and buns, modest variety of cereals, good selection of cakes, nice touch to have a small selection of local meats and sausages

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Outstanding breakfast, beautiful restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard beds, room too small for 4 people (only one chair, only space for sleeping, not enough shelves for our clothes - had to place it everywhere - looked very chaotic. I have seen far better lounges. This one was clean and comfortable but had no flair at all. Quite sterile.

    Outstanding breakfast, beautiful restaurant. Clean rooms and bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice large room, clean, quiet and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ridiculously expensive breakfast (18 EUR), so we did not take it. Wifi worked OK, but a bit slow.

    Nice large room, clean, quiet and comfortable. Tea kettle in the room. Good hotel bar serving food until 10pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Will avoid returning if possible, because of the noise from the trains.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the trains was awful - bad location. If window open, trouble to talk on the phone. TV channels limited or not working. Room rate was near my business limit.

    Breakfast was one of the best. Good equipment in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    We were sleeping at the back side of the hotel.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sleeping at the back side of the hotel. you can hear the train passing by sometimes. When you close the window it's ok, but when you open it, that's kind of disturbing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location close to main train station, big towels, comfy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure in the shower, leaking toilet, expencive breakfast, noisy room of room is on the side of the rail tracks, far from city center

    Good location close to main train station, big towels, comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting a fitness centre (or small gym) inside the hotel (I know there is one just outside of the hotel). I suggest non to get a room on the railway side.

    Proximity to ESA. Laminat (parquet) on the room floor. Very good breakfast. Good price for 3 adults for this type of hotel (120€ including breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    stay this time was less then other times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stay this time was less then other times. When I came into the room, one of the free bottles of water was opened, and half drunken, Internet did not work well. On request they put new bottles of water, but the second day I did not get any. Kind of thrifty if you do get one for the first day, not the second. Overall mediocre. Also if you are at the back of the hotel and have an issue with loud trains, this is not your place. Otherwise the room is quite nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Got brand new room - great value for money, despite boring surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They want 18 EUR for breakfast, which I find really extreme. That's not "expensive" that's downright outrageous, come on! The location is not that great. There's literally nothing around the hotel other than Telekom offices, so you need to take taxi/tram to the city to have a dinner. The hotel restaurant was not working for some reason. As mentioned, the building is ugly from the outside.

    The room I got was brand new, not a single scratch anywhere, quite a big one, nice bathroom, all meticulously clean. The hotel building looks horrible from the outside, so the room was a great surprise and great value for money. I asked for the "road side" as I heard the "rail side" of the hotel is noisy. The road side is also a tiny bit noisy with the morning traffic, but no big deal. I was on 7th floor though. The Piano bar downstairs is quite nice, and they have a huge burger or club sandwich if you need an emergency dinner and the restaurant is closed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great business hotel if you have meetings in the vicinity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No drawers for clothing, only closet shelves. Only a small selection of places to eat nearby. The restaurant was closed on Sunday night, and the bar had a very limited selection of food.

    Spacious room with a comfortable queen bed. Quiet location, convenient to the train station and bus/tram stops. Bathroom was clean (shower only, no tub). Electrical outlets were sufficient. Desk was roomy enough for working. Included a small refrigerator. Breakfast buffet had a large selection, and the dinner menu was quite good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Fair place for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not too bad, but also not reaching the 'Sehr Gut' level. The parking is expensive: 18 Euros/day. Considering I live there, this price is not friendly.

    The facility is very good. The hotel staffs are very friendly. The parking place is the hotel owned one, underground, many spaces. The wifi quality is quite good, I didn't meet any network failure. The environment is quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Good bedding, good shower, large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough choice for breakfast, only one coffee machine Not enough choice for room service No Gym

    Good bedding, good shower, large room Nice personnel at check in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Adequete, Noisy, take slippers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the railway lines at the back of the hotel, solid flooring throughout the rooms without the supply of room slippers.

    Since the property has been refurbished the rooms are good and the bathrooms are clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable hotel near the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is located directly beside train tracks. My room was facing the tracks and I woke up once or twice during the night because of rumbling trains passing by. There are also rooms facing the other side, towards the road, which might be preferred.

    The hotel has recently been taken over, was a Martim before. Prices are now lower (Maritim was too expensive) and reasonable for newly renovated guest room. Breakfast is OK (but does not reach the standard of Maritim). Guest room doors now according to modern safety standard (was rubbish when still Maritim). Located in walking distance to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Cost to quality ratio not right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time here and same problems with the front desk. Seems inexperienced. So ease of check in is not pleasant. If you dont get a comfort room that is extra money, you get the side with the trains right behind. Very over priced for what you get. Then parking is nice, but again, over priced. Food okay, but over priced. Becomes quite pricey for an okay hotel.

    Location. Nice Lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Business Trip
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all, everything was fine.

    Recently refurbished and very similar to its former sister hotel across the road. A little cheaper but as good, but no bath towel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    The reason they have free earplugs in the bathroom (one set...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reason they have free earplugs in the bathroom (one set for a two person bedroom) is because you can hear the train if you are a light sleeper. I heard it, but did not bother me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    One word: superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, no complaints.

    This was an excellent hotel! Far exceeded our expectations, and it was even hard to leave, to be honest. Great design, awesome service and super clean. One of the best hotels I have stayed in, even with more stars...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is located near railways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located near railways. Not the best of best western I had ever see) it’s a pity you ask 18 euro for parking, it was free at my previous best western. Buy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Clean room, beds, towels, good location - very close to the...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception was very unfriendly and arrogant. I had to pay 100EUR as a deposit "if I forget to pay the bill at the restaurant"! It wasn't written anywhere in the special conditions! It was my very first time to pay a deposit at a hotel in Europe. At the check out on the next morning the man on reception was surprised, that I paid deposit on check in. The bathroom was not very clean.

    Clean room, beds, towels, good location - very close to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location, near the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel for this size should have a gym.

    Good location, near the station. Room service available until 10:00. Staff were helpful. Large comfortable room (standard double).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Piano bar in the lobby and staff in ties
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    18€ per day for the parking garage, with no other options (on street parking)

    This place is FANCY! Definitely not like a Best Western in the states. I would’ve preferred something a little less extravagant for a business trip but I would stay again for vacation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Air conditioning didn't work - even though the light...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning didn't work - even though the light came on. Asked reception 3 times, but nothing was done. My colleague in another room also had the same issue. Opening a window is not an option at night - the hotel is next to a very busy train line!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Really like Darmstadt, the history and the people, made to feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right next to rail tracks but I am not a light sleeper and they do provide earplugs so fine for me :-D

    Refurbished rooms - spacious and bright, comfy new beds, close to station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent for business and to relax during the evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not sure if it was the correct hotel when I arrived, they don't even have the name of the hotel in the main entrance.

    The Piano Bar is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    Good food at restarant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access is terrible in some rooms. Had to change rooms to help. Also the side of the hotel is very noisy if u want to crack a window--rooms were to hot otherwise. Hard to sleep w freight trains all night. Suggest better room temperature control and wifi to support business customers

    Good food at restarant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Will avoid if I can
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is abysmal (green eggs, no choice, no bread when i was there, only one coffee machine), Staff fighting in the corridor, screaming their lungs out, Staff at the restaurant not polite, rooms are dark, lighting is very impersonal

    Rooms are big

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    It's just Okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovated rooms aren't being kept clean already. They have these beautiful rooms they are half cleaning. The mirror in my bathroom is already filthy. Also you can tell they're not cleaning things like the shower knobs, which are also brand new but getting crusty already. Gnarly. Also the thermostat the first three nights I stayed was fine. Then mysteriously on the last night did absolutely nothing. It was quite warm in the room as a result.

    Renovated rooms look good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with great location and value. Need to fix the WiFi and think about the air conditioning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel-wide heat had been turned on and it couldn't be controlled from my room, so I had to keep the windows open, and the street noise was horrible, made it very hard to sleep. WiFi was slow and intermittent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Railway-side rooms are noisy. Breakfast way too expensive

    Nice room. Acceptable WI-Fi. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to T-Systems and Eumetsat sites

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    We expected more ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room to the back 2nd floor. Very noisy: trains coming all night long. The room smelled badly (stench from the toilet ) ... problem reported - the answer: "we shall see to it tomorrow" ... our stay was for one night!

    Breakfast buffet well assorted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for business travel but certainly not recommended for recreational purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train is passing right next to the hotel, pretty much all night. Aweful location. Expensive parking.

    Newly decorated hotel, tasteful and modern Friendly staff Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Staff still learning?????
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked in advance to stay on the side opposite the railway as I know it was loud. I also requested away from the elevator. I get to the room with a lot of bags and it was right by the elevator and the side of the railways. I went down and they said that only upgraded rooms were not on the rail side. - They did not say this. Now I get another employee. They said I would have to pay extra for a room on the other side. I did so and asked away from the elevator. Again, I got a room facing the railways! I had to go down again for a third time to get the room changed again. This process took an hour and all I wanted was to rest. I come to the city a lot. They are new and have a lot to learn. I wish I could say I would return on my many trips to the city.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Generally my accommodation was OK ( comfort room with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No refrigerator ( mini bar ) it was supposed to be in my reservation. I asked for it but no response. Unusual high price with NO breakfast included. WiFi connection WAS TERRIBLY SLOW.

    Generally my accommodation was OK ( comfort room with quietness AND NO unpleasant smells from cigarette )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Rooms newly renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Newly renovated rooms, but issues with central AC as the rooms were extremely warm. The only way to cool the room down was to open the windows to a very busy and noisy street.

    Rooms newly renovated. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    Noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. The hotel is next to the train road. The renovation is not over yet. The minibar is not installed. Fitness room is not working. The room is humid and hot, AC is not working. I paid penalty charge to check out a day early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Best in Darmstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need be improved.

    Last time I stayed here was Maritim, big room with old things. Best Western made the room big change, big TV, good bathroom and Best experience. It would be my first choice in Darmstadt. Room is bigger than Intercity, equipments are mordern than Maritim.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room window.

    Nice and comfortable rooms, very silent despite the train station nearby. Loved the croissant at breakfast. Really appreciated the welcome drink. Perfect for work, lots of power sockets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    it was expensive nothing really to remember if this stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I checked in bathroom was not exactly clean (there were some leftovers from the previous tenant). I complained and they have of course cleaned it. At the second pillow there were some hair leftovers from the previous tenant. Normal type of room, not something really exciting and pricey (the rate I got). Also hotel offers very expensive breakfast, just walk around the corner and you can find really good stuff at below 10 euros.

    Ok hotel at okay location. Good WiFi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Book this hotel in 6 months, but not now!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Sign on the whole hotel, no direction signs or anything. The parking garage has no sign about the height, so it was difficult to park with a VW Bus. The hotel is in preopening phase and there was no information at time of booking. The staff was overworked and sweaty at the reception desk and my room was facing the train track. Really loud even with windows closed. Could hardly sleep. Would not book again.

    Room was modern and brand new, due to the preopening phase. A lot of constructions and noise going on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Location - close to the rail station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -I was on a business trip staying here and asked for an iron 2-3 times. Always getting the promise they would check and bring me one It just never arrived

    Location - close to the rail station /with direct connection to frankfurt airport Bar is nice with a nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Sleeping in the middle of constructions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed was not clean due to the rework that is currently being done and you feel the dust in the room and on the bed . Had to change twice of room and nothing.No snack or food available not even in the bar. The price payed isn't acc to the services

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Modern hotel that was clean and had nice facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite warm and the fan / air conditioning was not working. One could open the window, but if the room faced the railroad tracks then it was too loud.

    Modern hotel that was clean and had nice facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    below expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no mini bar, no safe, a/c did not work, expensive parking, tv screen fixed to the wall, could not be adjustednto watch tv from the side, no choice of pillows, just a very soft one

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Wait a few months for renovations to finish.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Odd location. Hotel did not even have a sign. It looked closed/abandoned as I walked up, with scaffolding and construction and an empty drained fountain. I almost kept walking. There were only a handful of travelers in the hotel. It could/should be discounted in price, with ongoing construction. The staff in the Piano Bar was the saving grace. I had a good meal and great conversation there.

    Friendly staff in the Piano Bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    My wife and I were very disappointed with the hotel and would not recommend it.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was apparently only very recently reopened and the renovations were continuing. The name of the hotel was not even displayed. The room was very noisy with a road carrying heavy traffic outside. (the rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook a railway line). The restaurant was terrible with only 3 items on the menu and food under cooked.

    The bedroom was clean with appropriate facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Waiting staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Only one English channel on the tv Took 500 Euro out of my account on arrival and took full payment when checking out. I am still awaiting reimbursement

    Waiting staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    I had a great last minute deal so can’t really complain but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems to be in the middle of a renovation, like it only opened due to a short peak in demand. There was no branding on the outside at all, just scaffolding and building materials. The swimming pool is closed due to the renovation. My room wasn’t 100% finished, painting tape, a space for a minibar but no fridge no safe.

    I had a great last minute deal so can’t really complain but if I would have had to pay full price I would have been unhappy. I did get a 65” TV

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, bit tricky to find in the dark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too expensive for us that were going to drive a lot that day (€19 pp). The main problem was FINDING the hotel as the facade was getting renovated so was completely covered, a sign on the road would have helped. Hopefully something that was getting fixed.

    Really a fantastic hotel, very comfortable, lots of space in the room. A welcome relief after a day on the road. A bit pricey, but worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    3.3
    One of the worse places I have ever been to!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are old and smell bad No amenities No place the eat dinner No room service Aweful smell in the room Basic shower Renovations are underway which generates noise and pool closure - which was not mentioned during booking

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Location is perfect for us, since we work for Telekom.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect for us, since we work for Telekom. Stayed in BW Darmstadt for the second time, and we enjoyed our stay very much,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Good Business Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food menu choice is poor , though food is good.

    Clean, good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    The steward was really cool and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was really bad!!!!

    The steward was really cool and nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Service room every time you call he wan 8 €
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service room every time you call he wan 8 €

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is close to the train station and the trains stopping was noisy.

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had many options to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.0
    Central lage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train laut

    Central lage

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lights switch too far from the bed

    the room was very large and the bathroom as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    3nights august
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfasts and distance from centre

    Room was nice. Bed amd pillows comfy. Good to have a fridge in the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    excellent breakfast - bed and aircon fine.
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a 3 persons room - but towels, pilows etc were consequently prepared for 1 or 2 person.

    excellent breakfast - bed and aircon fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Really friendly staff, excellent clean rooms, value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff, excellent clean rooms, value for money including breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Swimming Pool was under repair which was a shame, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    --

    Swimming Pool was under repair which was a shame, but everything else was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: