Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde 4 stars

Trelleborgallee 2, 23570 Travemünde, Germany

#16 of 69 hotels in Travemünde

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1404 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage being re-furbished.

    It’s a regular visit for us (two/three times year) usual good friendly service, good breakfast included, excellent location to beach/town. Upgraded to Suite!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture was dated but adequate, although there were not enough power points, only 4 accessible in the room, 1 low on the wall by the door, 1 in the bathroom and 2 slots in an extension cable on t.v. unit. There were no sockets by the bed, etc.

    The view was lovely from the room. Breakfast was very good with more than ample choice. We ate in the bar twice, both meals were good and very quickly served. The smart tv with apps was really handy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their kitchen is one of the best that I have been served by. The steak at the evening was just delicious and the breakfast like what very few top class hotels do offer. Think of it and it was there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have been visiting here for many years, the location to the beach and the underground parking is excellent and it’s an easy short walk into town, the staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast is the best!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the building noise, due to building opposite our room. 7am-7pm. On Sunday they didn't work, very nice. However, these things happen and I don't complain, we were out most of the time too. Should management inform guests prior to visits? I think they should and I'm sure there are alternative rooms if required.

    Location, interesting watching sailing craft and ships passing. Breakfast wonderful, staff very helpful, perfectly located. A Beetle (cars) Festival was on with live music, over the weekend and it was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is construction right next to the hotel and the noise is tremendous from 7 am. The other side of the building faces an entertainment area and you get noise from parties late at night. Smoking rooms are right next to non-smoking rooms and the smoke comes in through the balcony. Parking is poor and will not accommodate a mini-van, which had to be parked on the public parking place about 500 m from the hotel, where my car was damaged by someone who scratched it. the business center has only a printer and the staff does not know how to use the scanner. Hotel rroms need some urgent renovation.

    hotel allowed us to change to a more quiet room without any issue

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are doing a lot with this old tower block building, but we paid €270 for one night (OK I guess it was the high season) but for that kind of money I was expecting a LOT more and honestly, I do not know how this place has a 9.4 rating. If it had cost €150 then I would say it was excellent value. Also, the Free WiFi was impossible to use to book a train ticket and only worked for simple text emails.

    It is a great location. It is an old property, reminds me of the typical USSR design you see in Cuba, but they extensively renovated the rooms and they were perfectly adequate and clean. We also had a very nice breakfast. The views are very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool would be nice to be larger, maybe an exterior one during some warm summer days. The silent ambiance is great but this is also mainly probably because it is so much preferred by all the German pensioners - maybe some youth oriented programmes would make it feel more alive. It is very clean and nice , but a bit dated in terms of furnishing.

    Massage, sauna , swimming pool , breakfast, cleanliness, silence and location make this hotel my favourite for a weekend runaway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pool was under repair

    The location is of course the best. The hotel is dated and will soon need a complete restoration, but the way it is run is 5star of course. I am looking forward to return again and again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in the Bar hasn't changed in a long long time. The hotel is still tired needing a facelift.

    Location on the seafront, Refurbished room, good bed, comfortable, good breakfast! Also, we detected some service improvements from the New Manager.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price offer for dinner in the main restaurant are just too expensive: 33 euros buffet or 50 euros gala dinner, without drink... So you need to eat at the pub. WIFI connection is quite slow. In the badroom, sieve not working properly.

    A quite nice breakfast buffet. Nice sea view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought I had booked a corner room with views over (1) the bay and (2) either beach or river, but I got one just overlooking the river, which was a big disappointment. The confusion was because the description of a "Superior Double" does not make it clear enough, coupled with the fact that the hotel's image gallery includes photos of corner rooms and suites which are not bookable on Booking.com. "Superior Plus" rooms (corner rooms) are only bookable via the hotel's own web site - as I found out after the event. The hotel were unable to resolve this while I was there. They really need to get the descriptions properly clear, and it would be nice to see all rooms on Booking.com. In the meantime, do not confuse "Superior Double" on this site with "Superior Plus" on their own site, as I did. The free Wifi was not really usuable it was so slow. The fast (paid-for) internet access is via an ethernet cable on your room desk - but my modern laptop does not have an ethernet port, so I barely had web access for my 3 days. The hotel should look to upgrade to full/better Wifi and lose the ethernet.

    The location is excellent for a quiet break by the sea looking at boats - if fact it can barely be bettered in that respect. The room was excellent - nice modern TV and a balcony (9th floor). Breakfast was great and the 'pub' was good too, with a terrace overlooking the sea. An indoor pool too - large by most hotel standards. Other commenters have been unkind about the hotel's age. It does have the atmosphere of an upmarket cruise ship from the 70s - complete with German pensioners - but has a slightly nostalgic feel about it that's reminiscent of that time - think of Roger Moore! I am returning in November.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dripping tap in the bath.

    Great location on estuary and coast. Good beach. Breakfast very good. Room spacious and comfortable with balcony over the estuary and views out to sea. Made us feel young because the clientele were all very old. Plenty of car parking space.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food after 10 pm

    Great view. Excellent breafast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massage at the hotel wasnt so good.

    The view from the room was amazing!Just seaside!Nice swimming pool and close to everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent room very big bathroom with a bath and shower.wonderful view From the Window.big TV and wonderful bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet, not enough plugs in the room

    Great breakfast selection

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long waitings for elevators, hazzle egen you have kids in buggies. Mid age at this hotel +75.

    Only good thing - location. Staff was ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really very, very nice and the view from the balcony was superbe! The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is fresh but the room looks a bit out of date (for exemple has an old fat TV). The bed was a bit hard for me but perfect for my husband.

    The view from the room was spectaculour. It is close to the beach and the boardwalk.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Décor a bit dated and restaurant in hotel very expensive

    Beautiful views from our room. Fantastic breakfast. Lots of space. Lovely pool and spa in hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work on 13th floor. The hotel had a feel that it has seen better days. Though clean, the room was furbished in the 80's and the overall feeling was worn and a bit drab.

    Breakfast and easy parking. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Property is in real urgent need of renovation everything is a slightly outdated , the hotel creates a feeling being stuck in a time capsul between 1970 to 1980 , most of the guest are in there 80 too . All the buffet , restaurant decoration all the drap and linen makes you feel you are in a dustball .Breakfast Buffet is good but should have more action cooking station at least eggs to order as min. standard. Plastic flower as breakfast table decoration !!!!.

    Good location , great view , in general associates of the hotel are very friendly , close to beach, great indoor pool , room with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Please spend some money on this hotel. It's too expensive for the standard of decor being provided. Very well maintained but it must be 30 years since it was fully refurbished.

    Breakfast amazing as was the views from our room (10th Floor). Beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no air conditioning! (but I think this might also be true for other hotels in the area) I had to leave the door to the balcony open to keep the room at anything like a reasonable temperature. I am surprised this is classified as a 4* hotel.

    The staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean. The pool and sauna are nice. Lots of hot water - good shower.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow were not anti allergic & when asked to be replaced only given one for each bed. poor quality which gave no support. overused, you would throw them out at home! In fairness to hotel I do not think on your site that you allowed one to choose one's pillows.

    Outstanding views of the magnificent bay of Lubeck and the beach from the balcony. Minutes walk from hotel to the beach and shops. probably the cleanest beach in Europe.!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very oldfashion and dusty (!) furniture. For this price one expects at least a well cleaned room. One button switch was broken, cracks on the wall in the bathroom and the tv-set controle pannel was fast broken as well. It looks like the last renovation was apprx. 6 years ago.

    The best breakfast I've ever had. Wonderful windowview. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive for a VERY tired hotel, until it upgrades will NOT return.

    Excellent breakfast, mediocre quality of food in the Pub and Main restaurant. Overall, the Staff provided an adequate level of service, nothing outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The property is dated in rooms and most public areas (mainly lobby & main restaurant). While such investment may not necessarily be in the hands of the operational management, they seem to run a well kept ship on maintaining, the ownership is clearly called upon to review some of the truly outdated furniture and equippment. Rarely seen such old TV's , mattresses not really comfortable, carpets reflect heavy resistance to those stepping across them over the past years and overall furniture and design is far from modern expectations.

    The employees have been excellent , whether at the reception or the assistance through Housekeeping/Maintenance ( safe did not work upon arrival) or in the restaurants. Very friendly and efficient. A true asset and congratulations to the team.The restaurants offer good quality food and friendly & attentive service.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in bedroom. Shower over bath had no thermostat.

    Superb location and views. Very professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location with it's views were superb. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Easy walking distance to river boat trip and Travemunde itself, plus many good walks nearby.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    None

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff extremely helpful, e.g. at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience

    Location, room, spa, everything was fine. Very good value for money

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: