Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Markgräfler Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gerberau 22, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#10 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff members are very nice; I had a problem with TV but they provided me with another TV immediately. The location of the hotel is excellent. Rooms are clean but quite narrow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not good at all and the staff at the reception desk is not very friendly. I never saw her smiling

    The location of the hotel is really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady at the reception (the boss I guess) was all but not friendly at all. The lady at the breakfast time was not very friendly either The lady (the boss I guess) was not friendly and nosy. The room was not well isolated, I could hear the above parket

    the street was nice. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the staff speak English, which didn't help when they overcharged us and couldn't explain why. One of the ladies on reception was unpleasant, but the others were ok. The TV is small, but didn't matter because there are no English channels available.

    The building and rooms are nice. Breakfast good. Nice location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I read the old reviews saying the carpet looked dirty, and I thought they would have cleaned or replaced it by now -- but they haven't. That dirty carpet just made the entire hotel seem seedy. I also thought the mattress was too soft.

    Wonderful breakfast, and of course great location. Everything was clean (bathroom, bathroom floors, linens, etc).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no lift.The place was dirty-carpet was worn and stained. The garbage had not been removed from my room. there was dust/dirt on the floor in the bathroom. The shower was very small even by European hotel standards and the shower curtain kept sticking to me. The key and lock system was extremely frustrating and difficult to manage. It never really felt secure.

    The location was great.Easy to walk to just about anywhere you would want to go. Beautiful street with shops and restaurants close.The breakfast was actually decent with a good variety.Some of the best eggs I had on my trip.There was one nice woman with light brown hair on staff. The rest were not helpful or nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was tough, only one pillow to use. noisy especially on a friday with drunk people shouting. internet was so bad i had to go out of the room to get connected the carpets in the room are damned too old and needs to be replaced. front desk made me wait for 15 minutes for check out...

    the location, the character of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the fact the building did not have elevator.

    We like very much the atention given by the station members. The apt was Clean well located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and clean. Just step outside the hotel and you are in the Altstadt with shops and restaurants. The shops are independent and not chain store. Loved looking at antiques, textiles, liquor, toys, science store, jewlery and clothing! Bakery and restaurants are fantastic too! The view of the Canal / Bächle from the balcony is stunning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had problem connecting to the internet and the staff was unwilling to help us. We solved the problem ourselves by locating the router and rebooting it. I don't think that's up to the guest to solve.

    Great location. Simple but nice room with a great balcony. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise from the street and beer garden both nights which went on til about 2 am +. Unique as Germany won big match against a big competitor!

    One could not ask for a better location. The location is iin the near vicinity of the Munster, museums , Schlossberg shops, and eateries. After s long travel it was very comfortable and cozy. The restaurant is notable. After a walk around town to find a meal, most were overflowing (big soccer match) I decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. Yes, for one person it was an expensive tab, but its uniqueness outweighed the price. It was s fixed price and the menu ingredients were all from the Freiburg locale. Salad from local greens with a citrus flavor, Rehrucken ( I think it was deer tenderloin ) with a preselberry sauce with home made spaetzli. Noteable!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I hadn’t expected a damaged toilet seat, worn out carpets.

    Excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing board available at hotel

    Great breakfast and coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise

    The exterior walls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is overpriced.

    Location is the greatest value of this property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift

    I like the street and the shops around. The room was fine and clean, the breakfast was fine too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without parking !!!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, great location. (But have in mind that Freiburg is really very small.) Otherwise, pricey, dingy, old.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too expensive for basic hotel, noisy on the main road

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small size of the room and WC.

    The central location of the hotel was a big advantage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con so with windows open it was very noisy till all night

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very noise. Lot of activity outside on Saturday. One room had a window to a wall and the other one we could not see the outside. The window was too high. Very small TV.

    Nice breakfast included. Location is great

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    During tne reservation procedure, although I had specificly stated the exact age of my child, the booking.com web site had misguided me in a way that I had to pay an extra adult price for the same room that I shared with my daughter(11 years old) when I checked out. The first night we had to sleep in the room without curtain and woke up quite early in the morning sun although I warned the frontdesk to fix the problem at the time of my checking in around 3:30 pm. No courtesy of the Hotel management for these inconviences that I had to bare during my stay. I travel to Freiburg often but never plan to stay in this Hotel ever again.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    +++ room to the street... A bit load, but at least ok +++ thin blanket and pillow +++

    +++room 21 +++free unlimited wifi +++ real shower with more power than the eco shower could offer +++ many storage for clothing +++ Augustinerplatz 2 mins away +++ good guides for Freiburg in the room and outside +++ I would definitively come back and recommend to friends +++

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was really bad.Very poor signal at the rooms. It is not possible in 2015 for a hotel to have for all the building 1 rooter in the middle of 3 floors with 2mbps download speed and almost zero apload speed. I could not speek in viber!!!

    The location

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room next to staircase (sometimes a little noisy). TV didn't work so well (OK with me though ...)

    Great location (central, but quite). Room had a balcony. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Just outside the old city gate but still in the old section. Quiet and cozy, this property feels like we were living inside Freiburg with flowing water on one side and cobblestone brick street on the other. Great restaurant attached (ChezFine).

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small hotel , No lift , No Aircon In case of evening time no one to service as its very old hotel (family run) with old building The break fast was also not great with few option as well as quantity was less

    Some what - Location only

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The carpets on the floors and stairs could use some cleaning / renovation.

    Nice clean room, good bed, good breakfast, friendly staff, great central location.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No ac which is standard I know but not enough fans for each room. Was told people upstairs on third floor had them all. Kind new receptionist found me one. It didn't work. Don't trust the electrics in the room as when plugged things in, was smell of burning. Curtains and nets didn't stretch across so didn't block out light. Room very hot for sleeping. Couldn't sleep for tr noise so opening window wasn't an option. Sheets very thin (slight tears in places), no mattress protector either, so didn't feel very clean thinking of precious occupants in room. Reception not staffed later so when I discovered about 10pm fan didn't work, no one around to help (but already told no extra fans).

    Location fantastic but room facing the street made it too noisy. Bathroom good size and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was always clean, great location right in the city centre. Simple breakfast in the morning was a lovely way to start the way. The location in general was quiet, but only a stone's throw from the busier party areas of the city as well, if that's what you like!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no lift and you may be lodged at the third floor. The wireless did not work for me at the third floor while it worked fine at the reception area.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect to visit the city. The room was clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy street, shouting students until 3AM on ordinary weekdays. Carpet needs thorough cleaning

    Excellent breakfast, good bed, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds could be more comfortable.

    The charm of such an old building and an elegant classy room. Location.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Scenery, in house restaurant excellent!

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed, Wi-Fi

    Location, interior design

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: