Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Village MATAMBA This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Berggeiststraße 31-41, 50321 Brühl, Germany

#2 of 8 hotels in Brühl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great overnight stay before going to Phantasialand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've stayed at several other amusement parc hotels but this one serves very nice breakfast and dinner. Kids had a blast, so in this case also the parents!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic stay as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave

    Great view of the Theme Park from the room we were in. Windows looked over Colorado Adventure. Also got exclusive ride time after park close on Taron. Most staff spoke good English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely loved it, was truly magical and I've already booked (direct with the hotel) to go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the resort. The only issue I had was finding out that my stay would have been considerably cheaper had I booked direct through the hotel, as I purchased a season pass from the park which would have entitled me to a 35% discount with the hotel. As I had booked through booking.com this discount was inapplicable. Next time I won't be using the middleman and instead will deal directly with the resort!

    Everything was superb the staff, the food, the room, the whole lot!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    I loved it and l will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no direct access from Matamba to the park. Saying that it is only a 2/3 min walk to the park enterance. Also the park tickets are not included in the price of the room through booking.com! The park tickets are included direct on Phantaiasland's website. However the room was cheaper on booking.com if you book in advance. I think it's a bit mean that you can't use Ling Bao's pool if your staying at the Matamba hotel. At Alton Towers you can go to Splash Landings regardless of what hotel your staying in. I don't think the buffet dinner was as good as the breakfast. In this day and age I don't know why you can't get wifi in your room.

    The place does have a wow factor, great theming with lots of play area's for kids. The beds are really comfy and the place is really clean. The towels were changed and the room tided everyday. The choice for breakfast is amazing! All the staff were really friendly and really helpful. When you are in the bar area, they have a waitress/ waiter service. It was easy to get to by public transport from the train station. The buses run every 30 mins using the Phantaisaland's buses. The bus stop is a 2/3 mins walk from Matamaba and 10 mins for Ling Bao. I will come back to stay again as I left with a smile on my face and can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    If you booked from booking they said that tickets for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you booked from booking they said that tickets for the park are not in the price. But if you booked direct from the hotel entry tickets for the park is free.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Nice vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children) with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very nice for kids. The rooms, the African dancers, the staff, the kids club .. it has it all. We loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice calm stay close to the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Easy Parking, nice stuff, good restaurant, design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Air condition. No fridge in the room. No super market near

    Easy Parking, nice stuff, good restaurant, design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    The hotel theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system is poor rooms are too cold and there were no activities in the hotel, we came for the park but it was closed

    The hotel theme

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    clean hotel with a qualified staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean hotel with a qualified staff Breakfast - very tasty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    It was a nice and comfortable stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the bed

    Service was nice, breakfast had a good choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.0
    The children loved it, there is a playing area near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no wifi in the rooms which was annoying , we were two adults and 3 kids they gave us a very small room. For the this value of money you would expect good service and better facilities.

    The children loved it, there is a playing area near the reception and they loved the theme ..

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    We love it and the amusement park is right there and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a bad smell in the hall and room this time, no idea why, hopefully it will get addressed quickly.

    We love it and the amusement park is right there and the restaurants in the hotel are very good

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    - nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no direct entry to the park; you have to use the entry for the bus tourists - we got information that the park opens at 9 am but were not informed, that most attraction only start at 10 am

    - nice staff - got a really nice room with terrace and view over the park and the main rollercoaster - great African theming allover the place, also at the breakfast - you shouldn't miss the African dinner buffet

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    6.3
    the scenery was great, especially the landscaping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff was rude,and didn't seem to care whether we knew it or not. the rooms were hot ,small ,and overpriced.

    the scenery was great, especially the landscaping.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    I loved the African theme all throughout the hotel and rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the bedroom.

    I loved the African theme all throughout the hotel and rooms!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Loved the room & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a sewer smell in our hallway

    Loved the room & staff

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.3
    No direct entry at the parc for hotel guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No direct entry at the parc for hotel guests

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    The beds were very comfortable and the staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no direct access to the park from the hotel.

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Very nice welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice welcome. good food. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    Loved the details and decor of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wifi in the room.

    Loved the details and decor of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit overpriced

    Great atmosphere. Delicious cuisine. very stylish

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Hotel Village MATAMBA traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: