Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Uhlandstraße 49, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10719 Berlin, Germany

#82 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1281 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    It was quirky with record player and vinels and basketball...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tiny and couldn’t move without knocking curtain that flooded the bathroom floor.

    It was quirky with record player and vinels and basketball hoop with foam ball

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, welcoming and very helpful staff! Clean and tidy rooms, lovely taste in furnishing and decoration, great and central location! We would definitely love to go back there!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Suberb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn’t be more helpful, including printing our concert tickets Superb service, excellent instruction on how to use underground and buses Really comfortable bed, great shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    This is a hidden jam - very stylish and cosy hotel with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hidden jam - very stylish and cosy hotel with extremely friendly and relaxed staff. High recommended to people who like boutique hotels - everything in this hotel can be an attractive instagram post. I will come back again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice modern hotel, good location near to the city centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, bathroom and bed. No closet in the room which we didn't mind during our short stay but when you have more stuff it can be uncomfortable. There is no space for your luggage. No air condition in the room so it was really hot. There is no possibility to book a breakfast in advance so you have to wait for table in the Benedict restaurant which is really overpriced. Average quality for above average price.

    Nice modern hotel, good location near to the city centre and a several U-bahn stations. Room was clean, communication with hotel staff was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Love it and will come back!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two small things: our room is at 1st floor facing the street and we can hear people talking and laughing from the restaurant, sometimes until 10pm-ish. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the staff all look very cool; I wish they’re a bit more friendly and welcoming. Overall there’s no big issues.

    The bed was amazingly comfy. I’ve stayed in many 5-stars hotels and this is even more comfortable than The Ritz. Hotel front desk staff is super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff where amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where amazing! The style and decor of the Venue was excellent, with added touches in the room like record player and basket ball. The restaurant and cocktail bar where superb with Amazing food and wonderful cocktails. I can not rate this hotel enough

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Fab, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, the room was nice and the bathroom very clean with ample hot water and fluffy towels. Also the coffee shop is very handy with a great selection of pastries

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Victor, who checked us in was very kind and immediately made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Victor, who checked us in was very kind and immediately made us feel at home. Amazing service, not only with Berlin standards! The design of the hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Our first trip to Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot in this current temperature even with a fan and windows open.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel and interior design. Easy transport links. Lovely cafe with freshly baked goods for a quick bite to eat in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have a mini fridge in the room to keep drinks cold! It was really hot

    Amazing decor Vintage record player in the room Very comfy bed Friendly staff Benedict for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    The style, decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, check in experience was strange- I was looking for my booking reservation on my mobile to show it, I was told that this young generation is just all about their phones

    The style, decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The gentlemen who helped us check in (8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentlemen who helped us check in (8.30pm on Thursday 12th July) was so friendly and helpful, we were given information about the hotel and local area. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a lovely 3 day stay overall!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    A place for a cool stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was not working on one of the morning and evening - which I thought is too long - repairs should be done quickly. Also, I would have liked air-conditioning.

    Quirky , retro and cute place. Love the details and the concept, with nice little touches. The 24-hour breakfast is a bonus and also the nice bakery. The bed was super comfortable and I loved the pillows. Staff are also cool and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    This place was born to be instagrammed: cozy, stylish,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing was a bit disappointing: the bathroom curtain didn't protect the floor from water, so everytime after taking a shower, we tried not to slip and fall.

    This place was born to be instagrammed: cozy, stylish, elegant and absolutely amazing! We spent there just 3 nights, but it was wonderful! The bed and mattress were so comfortable especially after a sleepless night in the club lol:))) I couldn’t leave this bed before the lunch really! And our special thanks to the coffee shop with 20% discount for the home guests, and to Benedict cafe located on the first floor. I must say their eggs benedict are the best I've ever eaten. The staff was very friendly and let me leave my medicine in the fridge (there is no fridge in rooms btw).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    It's an okay hotel for a holiday, although expensive,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an okay hotel for a holiday, although expensive, but I wouldn't recommend it for business travellers. The rooms are newly renovated, and although it's nice with a large bed, it fills most of the room, so the only possible place to work is in the bed, which is not the best place. There's nowhere else to sit and work at the hotel, since a fancy, public - and very popular - breakfast-restaurant takes all the place in the lobby. If you want to eat breakfast in peace and quiet, while working, it's possible to go to Weyer's across the street. They serve excellent breakfast, and it's always quiet in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great stay..with a baby!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated and finished, clean and comfortable.

    Aesthetically, the boutique hotel is very pleasing to the eye! The decor is vibrant, but very cool and tasteful. There is a constant stream of customers who are visiting either the Benedict bakery or restaurant. Beautiful food at both places, but impeccably tasty baked goods at the little bakery! This is all inside the hotel lobby. Our double room was a little bit small, but it was lovely and clean, a comfortable double bed, great shower and again, beautifully decorated. We were with our 11 month old baby and were accommodated perfectly! The staff were engaging, helpful and relaxed (but of course) were wonderfully attentive to detail. As you can tell, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at Max Brown again :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    The location, staff and the breakfast are terrific!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was VERY noisy! It was quite warm outside, so we had no other choice but leaving at least one window open during the night as it was too hot in the room in spite of a fan on the ceiling. This meant that we kept waking up during the night and early morning as the room was facing the busy main road.Aan AC in such rooms like this would be a plus!

    The room size and decor are great, but the obvious highlight is the breakfast down in the Benedict restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Most comfortable bed ever!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition, only ceiling fan...It didn't bother me but it may get a bit uncomfortable during the summer heat

    The best bed I ever slept in!!! So comfortable! I wish I could buy this bed! Perfectly clean and lovely vintage decoration

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Stay here for the beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot order room service from the restaurant, lift wasn't working due to renovations.

    The beds and pillows are divine, so much I had to find out the brand! Staff are very helpful and cheerful, 24hr reception, 24hr food attached to the hotel. Overall a great experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Very nice alternative to a mainstream hotel chain.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee or milk in the room, and awquard to find a socket to plug in the kettle. Slow bar service at times. Lifts broken and no carpet on the stairs.

    Boutique feel. Lovely bakery attached which gave excellent options for breakfast in the hotel if you preferred a change from the restaurant breakfast or something lighter. Helpful and friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Cool and quirky place in Berlin - brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a real find this place was and for the price we got a bargain. The hotel is located close to all the lovely brands you'd expect to see and close to the underground so it's easy to get to. The hotel over exceeded our expectations. Its a brilliantly quirky/cool place and the restaurant and bar is lush. They do 24 hour breakfasts from around the world with cocktails! The food is quite pricey but its worth it for a treat. The room, though small was perfect for what we needed with the most clean and comfortable bed. All round highly recommended...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful, comfortable stay in very hip, fun & friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism - main bedroom to corridor door is lightweight. You can hear other doors close & slam easily. Without earplugs can be distrurbing if you want to sleep in.

    Staff warm & friendly especially Alberto who was very helpful & welcoming. Very comfortable bed and pillows - stunning decor and especially loved the record player and basketball hoop. Wonderful black out shutters in the room. Highly recommend the restaurant for brunch/breakfast/drinks - such a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Come for the breakfast, stay for the comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot to dislike. Not a lot of the powerpoints worked, couldnt get the plug in.

    We primarily came here for breakfast at Benedicts downstairs, it's a 24 hour breakfast and has delicious pancake options as well as eggs benedict and great cocktails. The room was cute, the bed comfortable, it was a little small in the Double Room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Great staff. Loved our funky room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working so had to take newborn baby up and down the stairs to 3rd floor throughout stay. Not great as they had not made arrangements to a lower floor.

    The bed was amazing and I loved the bathroom!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Hipster mid centrury style is bang on trend but it's a case of style over substance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It does not really feel like a hotel unfortunately. The 24/7 hipster breakfast restaurant 'Benedict' take more pride than any hotel feature. Whenever you come out the doors that lead to the rooms, you enter straight into the restaurant, and vice versa, when you want to go to the rooms you enter through the restaurant. Because there is no preferential treatment for hotel guests - such as getting a table before the public, or a token discount - as a guest you feel very secondary. It is NOT a hotel bar and restaurant as you would think from the description, rather two seperate entities. As a guest of 'Max Brown' you don't feel like 'Benedict' is yours. The door to our room was also paper thin, and housekeeping in the morning very loud. Old style door key and big heavy metal fob was style over stubstance - carrying that thing around with you all day in your pocket was a nuisance.

    Stunningly designed, and definately hard to find this quality of interior design for the price in Berlin. In fact qutie hard to find interior design like this in Berlin full stop! Most places feel quite outdated but this place is bang 'on trend'. Super comfy bed, clean bathroom with lovely smelling products. Tea/coffee/kettle always a welcome facility, as are bedisde plugs! Had a look at the large room in case we might be interested, but felt the small would suit us fine for our needs - I'd try to go for a medium which should be perfect for 2 with luggage - they were sold out unfortunately for us. Reception staff were all unbelievably polite and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much. Havng 24/7 breakfast on your doorstep was more tempting than we thought. Being a 'small room' we thought the room was well laid out and designed - the tv pulled out from the wall, and they have even fitted in a safe, writing table, chair and stool. Great little interior design touches in the room, and it all makes you feel instantly comfortable. We had a lovely check-in, and the little goody bag with tips was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were all lovely but had a few issues with the member of staff checking us out as we had some concerns that he couldn't understand or answer due to the language barrier.

    The small room was much bigger than we expected it to be which was a pleasant surprise and was very comfortable. The bar and all day breakfast restaurant at the hotel was open 24hrs a day which was amazing when we didn't arrive at the hotel until 11.30pm and the food was incredible. We worried the hotel may be a little out of the centre but it was round the corner from an underground stop (and only a 45 minute walk if you didn't use public transport).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Nice stay with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor of the hotel and the friendlness of the staff.

    Comfortable stay, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Reastruant was good with quality food served, which stayed open all night which was useful. The room was ideal with tea and coffee making faclities, bathroom clean with a powerful shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended for romantics, youngsters, or some bored of lifе
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is definitely small for two persons. Absence of drawers – back side of the chick design - is not convenient. In our particular case, there was unpleasant smell in the bathroom, which leaked into the room and spoiled otherwise positive impression

    This hotel somewhat deviates from conventional hotel standards. First, this is not a hotel with a restaurant but rather restaurant, more exactly bakery, with sleeping rooms. This bakery pursues a weird idea of providing only breakfast but 24/7, which creates a special atmosphere of a public space full of people all day around. This space is not well isolated from the rooms, nevertheless, the room part maintains privacy. Such a hotel might be uncomfortable for senior people expecting traditional service, but it is excellent for younger travelers. Second, the rooms are decorated more like a scene for some performance rather than conventional sleeping room. With a bit of tolerance this creates optimistic view on life. The room and bed linen are very clean, bed is comfortable. Finally, personnel is extremely service minded, polite and helpful. These are mostly young people seemingly enthusiastic about their work. Last not least, very good WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent boutique room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not clearly stated, I think, in the website, but the room does NOT include breakfast. There is a bakery where guests have 20% of discount, and there is a breakfast restaurant, Benedict, which I have not tried but seems like a great place, but guests have no priority there, is like going to any other place to have breakfast, and is ALWAYS full of people, you even have to wait.

    Best bed I ever tried, seriously comfortable. The rooms were very nicely decorated, small but enough. I liked the bronze in the furniture and the LP player, which I used. In general it was a very nice room, and the bakery downstairs was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Location was good with many restaurants and cafes around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows, so big and fluffy but not good for your spine and neck

    Location was good with many restaurants and cafes around the place. The decor is fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Wunderbar hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is that, during our stay, because of renovation works, the elevator was not working (our room was at 4th floor). But you get help with your luggage and everything so this is just a minor detail, soon to be settled.

    Everything: perfect location, great all day breakfast, comfy bed, lovely room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast was amazing - Rooms were quirky and well equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was amazing - Rooms were quirky and well equipped - Staff were helpful and friendly. Make sure you try some pastries from the hotel - they are delish!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Charming boutique Hotel but overrated NY-style breakfast with cliche attitude hostess ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The morning wait for breakfast table was "ridiculous" (we literally waited over 30 minutes to get our breakfast). I realize that their NY-style brunch/breakfast (pancakes, eggs benedict) seems very rare and trendy with young(er) people nearby (I know as I grew up in the area ...) but the Hotel should really consider to block off small part for Hotel guests. The whole "velvet-rope" waiting list with pouty, emaciated hostess is not cool, and very 1980s ....

    Creative room design, individualized style, fun ideas (basket), classic boutique style "charme". Very friendly staff !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Loved this hotel, such amazing value! Lengthy Breakfast queues though (so try "The Butcher" instead)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel breakfast is rated as the favourite in the city, its open to the public as well as hotel residents and this becomes evident as it's a struggle to get in for it. We couldn't get in on the weekend days as there was a waiting list of between 6-10 tables before us both days. We did manage to get in on the Monday morning (when assumably more locals were back at work) and it was very tasty. However....*TOP Tip* if the waiting list is long - try "The Butcher" it's an amazing restaurant (only 5 minutes walk from the hotel) and the Eggs Benedict there is to die for. In our opinion, 'The Butcher' squeezed ahead of 'Benedict's' at Max Brown in the battle of the Berlin breakfasts.

    This is possibly my favourite hotel I've ever stayed in! Such good value for money, the rooms are lovely, the hotel has it's own quirky style, the staff can't do enough to help and the location is fantastic - just off the "Champs Elysee" of Berlin. Surrounded by shops, restaurants, attractions and most importantly Christmas Markets! We loved it here and couldn't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely return here if we return to Berlin. Also unbelievably lower cost than most other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    We had a great stay in the cosy Max Brown Hotel with the lovely employees and advices of Martin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were small but clean and cosy too.

    We really liked the athmospere in the hotel. The employees were friendly and helpful. Every day Martin gave us advice to visit nice bars and see cool areas of Berlin. We really appreciated that! Furthermore we were surprised to get a card and chocolate bar on my birthday. The breakfast in Benedict is great too and the rooms look cosy and warm with cool furniture. In summary: a great place to stay when you are in Berlin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    stay at a real hotel, come here for breakfast if you want
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dont stay in any rooms above restaurant, there is a door that slams downstairs and it shakes the hanging lights its so loud. This keeps going all day, never stops. Dont bother trying to use breakfast coupon in the 24 hour restaurant because they only serve hotel guests from 7-10 (this isnt written anywhere), so we left and had breakfast down the street. Good luck with security, the rooms are accessible by any restaurant guest at any time. This is our third time in Berlin previous stayed at Hyatt and Kempinski. wouldn't bother staying here again, come for breakfast but stay somewhere with a focus on hotels. Staff are all 19-25 years old, friendly but severely lacking in any hotel experience.

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice place to return to, friendly, interesting, active, accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows too large and too firm.

    Breakfasts were very good. All staff were excellent. Decor and style are stimulating. Good location for access to whole city. In general, a relaxed, comfortable and cheerful place to be.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Would stay just for the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is so unique and cute. My wife loved all of the decorations! Our room had a basketball hoop in it, which was super cool, and the bed was so unbelievably comfortable. The hotel is in a good location, a 5/10 minute walk from all the train and bus lines. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was amazing! Their restaurant has great food and cocktails. People living in the neighborhood come to the hotel just for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel with personality close to Ku'damm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 2 sleeping pillows were very large and uncomfortable. The Hotel couldn't offer you one that was "normal" size. The bathroom was not designede for small people. The mirror was placed too high up and so was the shower head. The interior decoration was a strange mixture of styles - beach hotel combined with "wannabe" urban retro, where something looking like a toy record player and 2 LP's were part of the decoration. No private parking places for the hotel guests.

    A hotel with personality at a reasonable price. Good location close to Ku' damm. Friendly staff and a very nice a la carte breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant place, services were well beyond all expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would return to Berlin just to stay there again. The hotel has all of the right things right. Check-in is fun & very efficient. I was given a guide of key places to go, dine, etc. I tried one of their recommendations & it was brilliant. The whole place was very creatively decorated, bed & pillows were super comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is brilliant. I was sad I didn't have time to try out dinner there too. Service was above & beyond brilliant. I was in Berlin to run the marathon, returned cold, tired & dirty. However I had already checked out as I had to run for a flight...but they set aside a room so that a few of us could shower. That was huge!! I almost cried I was so happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic . Loved everything about the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a short stay in Berlin the hotel is quite a journey on public transport . Easier once you have done it a few times .

    Fantastic staff a beautiful hotel with excellent food and beverage choices .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Ahhhhmazing😍😍😍😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bike for rent was expensive of 15 euro/day??!!

    For the price of the vintage inspired elegantly designed hotel was a winner!! And that with a very delicious breakfast that even if your checked in, you have to queue in the morning. So better start early as 8 as Viktor said(the very accommodating waiter). The place is located just behind the 'Champs Elysees of Berlin.' Very accessible even with hop on and off buses!! Transpo:If youre coming from Tegel youll take bus 109 stop at uhlanstraße or ask the driver, LACOSTE SHOP should be at at the corner of the main street then walk to your right corner and straigt and u'll see it further 3rd corner will be the hotel. Leaving the hotel to Schönefeld take 249 zoo garten something stop and then the R7-R14 direct to this airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    This was a fun experience, the hotel and the room have their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    This was a fun experience, the hotel and the room have their special look . If you do not have breakfast included, do it- definitely worth it, it is not your typical hotel breakfast bar, but you order from a menu - omelletes, pancakes etc...the vegan option was great as well, this was our highlight. It is within short walking distance to the subway, and we also liked the surroundings, where you have a lot of restaurants, groceries etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, we were able to store our luggage there after checkout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    loved the hotel for being a bit different
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. Being charged for a orange juice with breakfast.

    The decor in the room was lovely, bed was so comfy, the bedding and pillows were great. Breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really cannot think of anything.

    1: From when we first walked in, during our stay and until we left, the staff we met were all outstanding. Extremely cheerful, helpful and friendly. 2: Our room was very comfortable, neat design and had everything we needed. 3: We had three meals (one dinner and two breakfasts) and all three were outstanding. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel. Would definitely stay again but in a larger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we had was small so I will try one of those next time. Not a bad space for a few days or for one person but for two it was a little tight. The restaurant downstairs is a popular place for locals and sometimes there was a waiting time for a table at breakfast so get down there early.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The cosmetic products on offer for shower and shampoo were of a high standard. The breakfast was one of the best I have had from a hotel - extremely delicious food here - not a typical hotel buffet so seconds come at an extra cost but we were never hungry after eating what was on offer. There menu was great and the kitchen staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Downside was that the room had no air-con, which is needed on a hot summer's night.

    Breakfast was superb and available 24/7. Staff were first class and versatile in most languages. Would definitely recommend and would return again for another visit to this buzzing city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommendd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What to say, this was one of the most amazing hotels we have stayed in. The staff were wonderful and welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is beautiful and every bit of decor considered. The reception also has a small shop with sweets and treats. There's a bakery with coffee and freshly baked goods and the restaurant - Benedict - was the highlight of staying there. We had the most amazing breakfast every morning (included in our cost) - probably the best we have ever had at any hotel - you won't need lunch after as well, it's huge! We would definitely be back to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Immer wieder gerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a little 'Welcome bag' at check in that had a city map and other info material inside. The rooms as well as the Hotel is well designed and has some nice details along the journey. The breakfast at Benedicts is amazing although it is crowded. The staff is super friendly and helpful when you have a question or a special request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    Nice looking, but rather basic and quite uncomfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General observations: the hotel looked really nice on the website and also when we first walked in. However, the room we had, while looking nice at first encounter, was very basic, stuffy, smelly (though relatively clean), and uncomfortable. The nice-looking wooden shutters can not be fully opened which means you cannot walk straight when you get out of bed on one side; the springs of the mattress are felt through the bedding (ouch...); the bathroom fittings are clumsy and the shower (when it works, see below) floods part of the bathroom. There is a threshold when coming up the stairs to the floor where our room was, which due to low lighting and dark carpeting is not visible and which I stumbled and fell over twice during our stay. So it looks really nice, but is not designed with comfort in mind and cheaply done (which is a shame, because for the days we booked this hotel, it was definitely NOT one of the cheaper options in Berlin). Specific problem the time we stayed: we had to be in Berlin for an event which started at 09:30; we decided to travel up the following evening to avoid having to get up early and to be sure we would be rested and well-dressed. However, when we wanted to get ready at 07:30 there was no water in the hotel for about an hour, which caused us a lot of stress, meant we could not enjoy a breakfast, and forced us to rush to our appointment by taxi. For a hotel to not have water in the morning when the guests need to get ready for their days is, frankly, unacceptable. (Also, the friendly receptionist could at least have warned us when we checked in the previous evening.) We will never stay in a Max Brown hotel again, although would consider having breakfast there again.

    The staff is friendly. The breakfast is good, made with good ingredients (though the "home made bread rolls" are not very special), good coffee; although the breakfast room was very busy, the wait time for taking our orders and bringing the breakfasts was reasonable (though watch out for silly restrictions on what is included and not in the breakfast that is included with the room rate).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Very clean and convenient but some improvements are needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but there wasn't much choice if someone didn't want to have a full meal. Juices and milk were not included in the breakfast price. There was a bad smell in the room and corridor. The fan had only one level which was too high.

    Nice and original decoration, convenient location, very clean, friendly staff, the bakery was nice and convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Really urban cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room can get very hot! There is just a fan and not an airco in the room.

    The breakfast was wonderful! The urban experience was very nice! I would book definitely again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Cool, eye-pleasing boutique feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fun though I had poached eggs on the first day there and my eggs were bordering on raw. We found the room to be extremely warm - there is no AC and it is difficult to leave the windows open due to traffic noise below, walls are also a bit thin. All in all great for a short break but that could get annoying if you are staying longer.

    Cool, eye-pleasing boutique feel. Bed was extremely comfy. Good value for money, helpful staff and enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was amazing here. The rooms are cozy, the breakfast was the best I had, everyone is relaxed. Perfect for visiting Berlin, in a charming area. The only regret I have is that since Berlin has so much to offer we didn't get to spend even more time at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Very cosy hotel but i din't like the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like AT ALL the breakfast since there was a long wait to be setated and an other wait for the meal to be cocked. Although the food was freshly cooked I don't see the purpose of spending one hour and a half to have breakfast. If you are a tourist or you are travelling for work I don't think you want to wait so long to have your first meal. I would have preferred a buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    overprices, not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has a popular breakfast place on the ground floor. It is both for their guests and the walk-in customers. Their breakfasts are good and I give them credit for that. But the place is so crowded in the morning, that you can spend 1,5 hour to get your meals. No priority for hotel guests whatsoever. So if you want to have a quick snack and go out to enjoy the Berlin sights, think twice. You will either leave hungry or spend 2 hours for your breakfast. Plus the hotel is still in renovation. So you will hear construction sounds. If you have the windows overlooking the inner yard - special condolences. The cafe employees go out there for their breaks and do some storage or garbage utilization work all day long (the cafe works 24/7). Since the back yard is basically a stone sack (in a form of a well) you will hear every sound magnified like in a tube. If your windows are open you can hear people talking and can smell their cigarettes. So either lock the window and suffer (no air conditioning) or keep hearing all sounds, garbage bin lid clapping, bottle glass rattling all night.

    The rooms were freshly renovated, but the design sometimes harms the comfort and ergonomics. For example the windows have shutters facing into the room (not outside), which makes the small rooms even smaller. If you want to wide open them to let the fresh air in, you need to move the chair. and in this position the window shutter blocks half of the TV screen. So you need to deside if you want fresh air in or to watch TV. The beds have many pillows and no place to put them on, when you want to go to the bed. The

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Really nice except for the organisation of the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is served in the cafe in the hotel, that is very popular, so it's completely packed in the morning and you as a hotel guest might have to wait pretty long. And there's no buffet, so you have to choose only one drink and one dish. But the quality of food is really good.

    Very nice stylish rooms and bathrooms. Comfortable bed and really good bedsheets. Very clean. Very friendly reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Hidden treasures
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room has so many details. I actually spent an hour looking around for all the "hidden treasures". The breakfast was magnificent and the restaurant downstairs is very good. Staff was also very professional and supportive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Good but waiting for 90 minutes for your breakfast is ridiculous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place if famous for its breakfast. It’s very good indeed. Cooked with care, very tasty etc. But on a Saturday morning, we were waiting for over one hour just to be seated and then about twenty minutes extra to be served. So if you mind waiting 90 minutes for your breakfast, which I do, avoid. I think this hotel should have booked tables for their guests and open only few tables for people coming for brunch from the outside. Waiting for 90 minutes for a hotel breakfast is ridiculous. Our room was small, which was to be expected and therefore ok. But it was decorated with way too much hipstery paraphernalia. Once we settled in and unpacked our very few things, it was very hard to move in it.

    Frienldy personel and very tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable Berlin city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was only there for 3 nights and didn't have a lot of luggage but I guess a couple staying for a week would have trouble finding room for storing their clothes.

    This "urban residence" as they like to be called has some great design features and all with high quality. The in house restaurant is not owned by the hotel and is an all-day breakfast place with a great menu. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Lots of bars and restos in the vicinity. The U-bahn station is about 250 meters walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel however need to know that the customer is always right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a lot of Germany it takes time to get served and breakfast is good but very busy with the local people so can take time to get a table. Rules in Germany are there for a reason and can not be broken so if the restaurant closes at 11pm it closed at 11pm even if you come in at 10.45 and wait 15 mins to get served.

    Hotel is great for a short break and location is also good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    More than value for money and the BEST breakfast ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that building work was going on on the roof that we were not warned about prior to arrival or at check in, and they liked to start early hammering on girders.

    Excellent location. Cool and trendy decor! Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Best bed in Berlin, and good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was almost too small to get in, and a mini bar wouldn't go amiss. The staff in the restaurant seemed surprised I wanted a drink in my room. No aircon but fan ok

    Best bed in Berlin, and good sized room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Really good choice, if only for the breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms on the third floor were quite warm (end of May), although there was a fan. We were told there was no need to reserve bikes, that there were always plenty available, however on the day we needed them there weren't enough.

    Not really close to the main attractions, but close to a metro station and at walking distance from the Kurfürstendamm. I loved the decoration of the hotel, staff was friendly and the breakfast was amazing. More of a breakfast and lunch combined.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Our room on the corner opposite to the stairs was very...
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't find anything to complain about.

    Our room on the corner opposite to the stairs was very spacious, generous and comfortable. Perfect for a family. There are a lot of charming and wacky little details which give this place a unique and personal touch - somethimg totally different from all these international 4 star hotels that look all the same. We were also very happy with the breakfast and the staff was incredibly nice. I would hire any of these guys on the spot. Max Brown is very well located, in a quiet neighbourhood clouse to Ku'damm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Extraordinary hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing interior, practical well designed rooms with lot of details like lambs, basketball, LP's with retro designed gramophone, the bath , the comfortable bed... everything made our Berlin hotel experience unforgettable. The breakfast was delicious and the stuff positive and polite. Also the bikes that we rent from the hotel ware excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    A boutique hotel at b&b prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little way out of the main city but this meant is was nice and quiet. If staying on a weekend make sure you get down to breakfast early as it's busy!

    Absolutely beautiful hotel, like stepping into an interiors photoshoot! We were really surprised at the quality for the price. Really helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a nice lounge area by the bar/restaurant and we asked if we could have drinks there and were told no. Didn't want to sit in the restaurant for a quick relaxing drink every evening- especially when busy. Small complaint though.

    Breakfast was lovely although make sure to get down before 9am as it gets very very busy. Bed was really comfy and our room was large and comfortable. Decor was lovely and individual.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Definitely one of the best hotels I have ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely one of the best hotels I have ever been to. One cannot notice the perfect design of every corner starting from the reception, coffee bar, restaurant, lobby, stairs and finally the room. It is just pure perfection of design, nice details and coziness one feels there. Bed is one of the most confortable I have ever slept in. Bathroom ammenities superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.2
    Really overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hot water for the shower This property is overpriced. Probably because they are clearly overstaffed. The was alway a bunch of hotel personnel wandering around, just too confused to be helpful. When I told a recepcionist that the water was cold on the shower, she just shrug. The breakfast was good, but god help you if you were on a hurrry. They were really slow in the breakfast service (you can not just grab the breakfast from a bar, you need to sit and wait). Also, we tried to buy a sandwich on the evening, but you can only buy the whole breakfast deal, they have no flexibility. Our room was super tiny, it was not like the one on the pictures when we booked. It was so small you could not fit your luggage anywhere except under the bed. The bathroom was really unconfortable to use and the shower water was cold. However, the bed was comfortable.

    There was no hot water for the shower This property is overpriced. Probably because they are clearly overstaffed. The was alway a bunch of hotel personnel wandering around, just too confused to be helpful. When I told a recepcionist that the water was cold on the shower, she just shrug. The breakfast was good, but god help you if you were on a hurrry. They were really slow in the breakfast service (you can not just grab the breakfast from a bar, you need to sit and wait). Also, we tried to buy a sandwich on the evening, but you can only buy the whole breakfast deal, they have no flexibility. Our room was super tiny, it was not like the one on the pictures when we booked. It was so small you could not fit your luggage anywhere except under the bed. The bathroom was really unconfortable to use and the shower water was cold. However, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Comfortable enjoyable and one I would gladly repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Beds we're fabulous staff very helpful food was great coffee the best I've had. Overall our stay was brilliant even though we were delayed by 2 days .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Cute and pretty but bathroom design is not practical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is very new and cute but badly designed once you try it out. The shower is too small so you are either kissing the shower curtain or accidentally bumping on the water temperature control. There are no horizontal surface to put my own toiletries, the hair dryer they provide doesn't have a place to be stored once you plugged them in. Room keys are old fashion and noisy to operate. Room temperature control is just a fan, difficult to feel right. No desk in the room to do any work, only a coffee table that is too low.

    The staff is nice and the atmosphere in the lobby is good. The rooms are nicely furnished and the retro look is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Delightful design, delicious breakfast, ideal for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The strong emphasis on design seems to favor form over function. The rooms are small in size and due to all the design props and stuff inside the room lacks functionality. With no wardrobe, no place for luggage and very small table; the room is not a space to spend time other than for sleeping. Would be too hard for a longer stay.

    The hotel is very neatly designed. You feel like staying in an instagram post. The breakfast is perfect. Location is very good, close to Ku'damm and various U-Bahn stations. Ideal for discovering west Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Breakfast and staff amazing, decor beautiful and interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy all day and night, go down to breakfast early to prevent a wait

    Breakfast and staff amazing, decor beautiful and interesting, room smaller than expected but still lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: