Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maximilian Munich This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hochbrückenstrasse 18, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#16 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 920 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Definitely worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn’t great from our room, we also had a parking garage across the road. We would ask for a garden view room that looked into a little courtyard.

    The location was so close to everything a person visiting Munich could want to do and see. The hotel is a little pricier than a few others but location and comfort totally outweighs a few extra Euro. If I was to visit Munich again I would definitely book Maximilian again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Manuel from Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the garden, beds were comfortable, quite environment, though we spent only 1 night we could realise that the place was central an close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place to stay close to all the major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant menu was very limited. We stayed for three nights but because o fit em=limited menu we only ate in once.

    Location in the Old Town was great. Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and again enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    We did not feel at home in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were only in part helpful. We encountered a rather arrogant male receptionist who was on duty in the morning and who had a knack making us uncomfortable and unwelcome. For the cleaning of our room we had to wait until the afternoon and beds were then only made after twice contacting them.

    Quiet and and very convenient location. Garden is a bonus in a hotel in the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its fine , but i would like more English and arabic channel on tv.

    Perfect location Comfortable rooms Friendly staff Nice room design Good wifi Easy access Car park available very near

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    A green oasis in city center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind😀

    A very quiet and green oasis in an excellent central location. We were still served when we came late for breakfast. All over a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely luxurious hotel in perfect spot for city sightseeing, although this was reflected in the cost
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t working on a very hot night, but staff were very apologetic and deducted the extra fee for dogs.

    Amazing location in this busy city but a real oasis of calm with gorgeous courtyard and balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Could've been better if..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was broken in the whole property, and unfortunately we were informed about this issue after checking in. It was warm all the time in the room, and we did not have a good sleep. I think it was overpriced..

    Check-in was very smooth, reception staff was very helpful. The room was spacious. Location is excellent. Free private parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    Keep Looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think it would be too cruel to list everything that was misrepresented and went wrong. We were going to leave early until we moved to a second room.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    The hotel has rooms and small apartments around a gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has rooms and small apartments around a gorgeous small garden. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms, superior bathrooms, extremely clean. Wonderful location, a block away from Maximilianstrasse, close to the Residenz, shopping district, and Odeonsplatz. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    All in all the location and property were excellent and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. When arriving the staff were nice and afforded to help me to get our luggage’s from the van, however when I requested this later they didn’t as the lady said that she was the only person in the recipient!!! So I did that without any help from them! 2. As our flight was a bit late in the evening I requested an extended checkout time for 3 to 4 hours for at least one of the rooms that I had, and this was refused by the management ( though 1 day earlier when I talked to staff they said it would be fine or I might pay around und 150 euros for half day). The management said that I need to pay for half day to stay for up to 3 pm only or I will pay for the whole night!? I agreed upon that as I needed a place for the my family.

    All in all the location and property were excellent and a private parking was in front of it. The garden in the middle was really nice, if you are lucky to get a room which has a balcony to it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was hot and we contacted the staff to fix it and they said it was fixed but it was still hot. We asked to extend our stay for one day ( we were going to stay for half a day because our flight was at evening) and they refused saying the hotel was fully booked. When we searched in booking we found that the hotel was not fully booked and there was many available rooms!!

    The location of the hotel was great. It was quite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    A week in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My wife had difficulties with finding a suitable mirror for doing her makeup.

    Location is excellent, property well maintained and has a lovely garden. Restaurant was very good we ate there 2 nights. There was plenty to do in Munich for a week,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Well connected, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uneven roof line , very risky as we bumped our heads into the low ceiling at different places in the room especially at night as one of the places was right next to the bed . Very disappointed as the place did not look anything like the pic we saw online . Air con did not work properly . We said 3 adults , they joined 2 sofa chairs and turned it into a bed and for 4 nights my 22 year old had to sleep on it !!it was highly uncomfortable

    Well connected, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    very nice hotel, well located and very good attention. Point black: internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    During my stay (July 19 to 28) the hotel faced difficulties with the Internet and it has to be solved. Once you got connected, the time was only one hour and you have to connect again. That was the only black point. And yes, breakfast was good, well served but the only time I went for breakfast trays were almost empty and there was no refill. That is not good.

    We had a junior suite, well located in the third floor with a very nice view to the gardens. It was a quiet room, and very nice. Whenever we had an issue, people at the reception tried to solve our problems

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Luxury stay away from it all in heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are several rooms only accessed by stairs

    Friendly staff, led by the Manager, Erwin, welcome you to this quiet oasis in the centre of Munich with a refreshing glass of bubbly. Personal attention at reception, up a few steps, in the excellent restaurant, to the cleaning staff is given with a smile. The courtyard garden make you feel you are staying in a beautiful private home. Loved the Nespresso machine and comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Everyone I met across our stay, were kind and friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think off, would definitely return to this hotel.

    Good hotel, staff were super helpful, gave us early check in, which was much appreciated due to early morning flight times, restaurant staff were also really friendly and helpful. Room was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    beatiful luxury hotel studio/apartment hotel exceeds 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beatiful luxury hotel studio/apartment hotel exceeds 5 stars .. excellent city center location few steps for every thing a tourist needs. Highly helpful customer focused management.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great, quiet room with all needed amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor things: There could have been dark curtains in the sleeping room. It was too bright early in the morning.

    Great, quiet room with all needed amenities. Very good location, close to everything, but not too much noise. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful room, but poor breakfast and internet.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor, e.g. plates of fruit that were almost empty not replenished over 40 min. It was very expensive for mediocre quality. I could not get the internet to work and was told this was a common experience of visitors from outside of Europe and that I must keep trying. Indeed it did eventually work and I heard two other people being given the same advice during my brief stay.

    The room was wonderful, well equipped with a delightful view. Comfortable bed and nice shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience "almost dead" in the small elevator without oxygen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good house keeper. 1 very small elevator (very old one). The last day we were going without luggages a d the very extra small elevator has been stopped , the lights were turning off and NO AIR, NO OXYGEN ...Duri g 50 minutes we were crying and the oxygen were going down and down. We have called 12 times, including emerge cyber, police department and to the reception of the hotel... Whitout oxygen... The hotel was crying " we are doing our best"... They could try to open a little space of air for us but they did ANYTHING. A lady answered in a few minute of connection of our phone: " wait(?) Because the assistance of the elevator is far from the city(?)...I Am a doctor and I can say that in a few minutes we could have died. Be careful because there was no assistance in the hotel. The reception was waiting for all the payment after this terrible situation "almost dead" in a elevator with 1.5x1.5 m2. I have a lot of skin damage and pain on my body. No assistance ! I have paid more than 1750 euros. 4 stars HOTEL?? NO, NO, NO. Terrible bar.

    Localization is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable beds, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift to our floor didn’t work after emailing the property the day before to check that lifts are available and they confirmed yes. On check-in was told lift broke down that day and it would be fixed the next day. It was still not fixed 2 days later when we checked out. On reading other reviews it seems the loft hasn’t worked for a while. Would have appreciated an honest response as we could have have compressed our luggage into 2 suitcases instead of the 5 we arrived with. Small windows in the family suite. Cleaners randomly entering our room even after room service was completed.

    Great location, comfortable beds, clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed a pleasant stay and surely will come back to Maxmilian of next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden is small than expected. Not much hot breakfast.

    A quiet accommodation at town center which is easy to go to all sight seeing point, staff are very helpful, their handy phone provide lots of info. The room is much bigger than the photo and fully equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great location and style in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book a room with a family you don’t get the pretty room facing the garden, our room had tiny windows and slopes ceilings 😩

    Loved the courtyard gardens, nice place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a very pleasant stay and visit to Munich but the apartments are so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at 5.00am which woke us up from people shouting, laughing, taking photos and walking through the garden to their apartment building and then subsequently making more noise as they sat out on their balcony

    Very comfortable, well equipped, spotlessly clean and spacious apartment with very nice balcony overlooking the garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    We were surprised and amazed by the quiet location, the layout and furnishings of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee maker in the kitchen along with some spices, etc., for cooking if we had been staying longer. We really liked everything.

    The bed was great. The size of the apartment was wonderful and it was decorated and furnished wonderfully. And thank you for the help with luggage up and down the stairs. Wish we could have stayed much longer. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for what it offers. But I guess you are paying more for the location. The staff could not extend our request for late check out beyond 2pm although we had vacated and handed over one out of the two rooms earlier. The in room tea trays was not refilled on daily basis.

    Location is the key feature of this property. Its a stone throw away from Maximilianstrasse and the main shopping district. Cafes, restaurants, pharmacies, fast food joints are all in walking distance. The veranda of the property nestles a small green garden. Garden view rooms are highly recommended. The in house restaurant has a restricted menu. The staff is helpful and cooperative. This property runs busy, so make sure to request late check outs earlier on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay when in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to hate about but I would have wanted an exhaust in our toilet/bathroom. Also an easier way to control the room temperature would have been nice. Granted that we could have ask the staffs for these, but we were too lazy and tired from roaming around the city.

    Great location - it is close to everything you want to see in Munich. Accommodating staffs - friendly and helpful. You can ask them for just about anything and they are ready to assist. Complete facilities - sauna and gym included. I especially like their toiletry brand of choice (Molton Brown). Also the place is clean and smells like spring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Place to stay in the heart of Munich !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt that the room freshner installed everywhere was too strong !

    Location, location, location !!!! The hotel is one minute walk from Haufbrauhaus, five-seven minute walk from Marienplatz, the Rathaus-tourist information, viktualienmarkt, subway station, many eatieries, coffee shops, dessert & chocolate shops, and even police station !! The rooms are of excellent size, considering the prime location. The room even has a small kitchenette consisting of stove top, microwave, cups, coffee maker, electric kettle etc. the bathroom is of a very good size. The staff is very eager to help-a special mention for Pascal, the hotel manager, who went out all the way to make us comfortable. We weren't comfortable with to "too soft" pillows, so Pascal gave us pillows which weren't so soft. We were required to postpone our arrival at the hotel by one night at a short notice. The hotel was kind enough to give us a discount on the mandatory deduction for one night. Thank you for that! We didint eat at the hotel. Due to easter, the restaurant was open only for breakfast during our stay. The hotel even offers a free phone which you can carry with you during the stay, with which you can make local and international calls and use internet for free !! The phone even has city guide in it. We didnt use the phone though, but I thought this was a unique feature. Only one suggestion, which may apply to all the hotels-please install USB chargers, as international travellers have different sizes of plugs which may not fit into the outlets provided at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will now always be my most favoured place to stay in Munich. I love the mix of the informal but nurturing care they you give. And although I did not try the restaurant the menu looked great. Next time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Good central accommodation - great but very quiet restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a bit pricey for one person, but it is set up for couples/a small family

    Excellent facilities, good location, good shower, excellent restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic - merits a repeat
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Our room was on floor-4 under the roof, with sloping walls, which diminished the size of the room. - The sofa and the TV were not matchingly put together making TV watching only possible from bed - the kitchenette is very handy but some extra light would have bee helpful - the room was tropically hot and AirCo was difficult to handle -we had to open the window to cut the A/C-which in turn gave me the flu ...

    Very nice hotel with its own character- different from the usual hotels . Superb location between Altstadt and Museumsn- in a very quiet street. Beautiful inner garden. Rooms are spacious and well installed and tastefully decorated. The Staff is very friendly and helpful - with perfect English. We will definitely come back come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Best place to stay in Munich center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the garden suite could have been much better with the available space. The temperature of the bedroom is different from the sitting area and you can’t control it. The size of the bathroom is very small but functional. The menu at the restaurant has limited choice but the food is delicious.

    The staff is extremely helpful, the location is excellent, the rooms are spotless and their sizes are very decent. The hotel is quiet considering being at the heart of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Very modest hotel for the high rates you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no ventilation. We had some problem with the heating system that took too long to fix. Transport to the airport must be by taxi which is awfully expensive. 100dollars??!!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, well appointed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air freshener smell in the hallways was intense, very intense.

    Great location 1 blocks from Hofbrauhaus, 2 blocks from Marienplatz. Very well appointed room. In house restaurant looks very nice but we didn't eat there. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. We stayed in a 3 room apartment which was wonderful for a 6 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    V homely & comfortavle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my phone charger in my room but after checkout I enquired they denied any knowledge.

    Wonderful location,friendly staff...spacious/comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First issue was with the bathroom plumbing. Tub would not drain as the tub stopper appeared to malfunction. Advised maintenance not available until following day. In order to use the shower that evening again, I had to wedge a knife under the stopper to disengage so the water would drain. Maintenance did come the following morning and repair. Second issue was that the faucet in the bathroom leaked when the water was turned on which resulted in water on the counter having to be soaked up after every use. Third issue was with the maid service, specifically, the sheets were not changed - bed simply made and the dishes that were dirty and water glasses used were not removed and replaced. An empty coffee canister and cream dispenser from room service was left on the counter as well. Lastly, the thermostats (there were two) were inoperable. Finally, the hotel management said that they would reduce our bill as a result of the tub maintenance issue/inconvenience. We did remind the front desk of this representation when we departed and were advised it was being looked into. I have tried twice since our departure on 30 October to contact the hotel via their website email address to remind them of their commitment as well as the other issues. I did not receive a response to one email and the second email was returned as spam.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again but five star properites we have stayed were less expensive.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We traveled to different areas in Germany and this, by far, was the highest priced.

    Clean, spacious room, mini kitchen, staff was helpful. Centrally located. I thought the room rate was high but the location was the deciding factor to stay there. Nice little garden area to relax in. We are Americans so the breakfast selections were different that we were used to but all of the items seemed to be of very good quality, I believe the breakfast was about $ 25 US Dollars per person. Great location to be able to walk to many restaurants, shopping, and pubs. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    All in all I like to sleep in the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If their were more service to take our cases to our rooms

    The Bed was outstanding you can sleep and really relax. the bath is marvelous. however, no lobby. Their are some rooms who have garden view which are great. Also the smell in the hotel is great too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    3.8
    I can not say anything special !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and uncomfortable breakfast restaurant ! Stairs to restaurant,receptions will make you unhappy especially when you have baby ! Very poor and unqualified breakfast Stressful waitress Small and uncomfortable sweet We spent arount 800 euro for two night . If you have baby or you need some valuable place forget it.

    I can not say anything special !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and large rooms, but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room, closet was cheap/scratched, overpriced breakfast buffet, tiny bathroom with ridiculously small shower stall

    Clean, large rooms, kitchenette/coffee area, beautiful garden, friendly and attentive staff, convenient location with parking garage across street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If your luggage is heavy, you might not like the absence of an elevator.

    The gardens make the property feel like a boutique. Much nicer than a larger, cookie-cutter hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    It was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    guiet and beautiful place, comfortable rooms, availability of kitchen facilities, good location, walking-distance to city center, friendly staff, breakfast as a pleasant option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location near the center and next to parking area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building. The entrance for the room is different from the reception entrance. While checking in, The guy at the reception kept me waiting for long time till he finished his phone call!! No water refill Iron not available at the room. Watch your head as the ceiling is low in some parts of the room!!

    Excellent location near the center and next to parking area. Sound proof and spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    While the location is super, the hotel is a little bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the location is super, the hotel is a little bit rundown and could change the carpet to make it nicer. Breakfast has limited choices and it is just OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    It was a fantastic hotel with very nice room, comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a fantastic hotel with very nice room, comfortable and fully equipped. We enjoyed it very much and will choose again if we visit Munchen next time. It is in the center of the town but not in a noisy environment, so we could have a rest during the day as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Commercial parking just in front of the hotel was handy but costly (21€ per day). Street view from the room was uninspiring. The street was calm, no noise disturbance. So fine in the end.

    Excellent location close to everything such as places & monuments to see, museums, nice restaurants and bars, shopping,... Great room and facilities with small but functional kitchenette. We had breakfast in the room every day. Big room (32m2) which makes a difference for a longer stay. It comes of course with a price too. Efficient & friendly staff. Possibility to have breakfast, lunch & dinner at the hotel. We did not try though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    We would go back to Munich and would not go past the Maximilion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our weather was poor.

    In the roof room , lots of light and great rooftop views . We had a resident hawk in the rear gardens area which was a real bonus. Spacious and well equipped. Staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff with spacious room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning was inadequate to make the room comfortably cool on the hotter days.

    Location was excellent and very close to Marienplatz and Hofbrauhaus. The room was spacious with nice amenities. Concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. They were excellent in helping us get train tickets online with the best deal and timing convenience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice Hotel, Excellent Location, Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not very good. Our room did not have the breakfast included and if that is your case, definitely go out.

    The room was very nice and with more than enough space. The bathroom was very clean with good lighting. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Cosy place in great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a junior suite and it was very clean and proper. I guess the little details that showed a dedication to the visitors is what we liked the most. Nice view to the patio, very quiet and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location but overpriced (as are most structures in the city)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first bedroom gave onto a parking lot so we could hear the cars coming and going. We were also next to a family with a small baby who cried the first night; you could hear it very well in our bedroom. We asked to change and were given another room, quieter but hotter and somewhat less pretty. The staff was helpful. Overall prices for hotels in Munich are way too high and the Maximilian was very expensive indeed.

    Location is great, right in the centre of the city; easy walk from Marienplatz. The garden is very pleasant. Shame the breakfast is so expensive, did not get to try it... There are many much less expensive options nearby. The spa is nice; the sauna is very good. Overall we liked it a lot despite the very high rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Excellent service from the girl who checked us in and gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed expensive for mediocre facilities.

    Excellent service from the girl who checked us in and gave us perfect ideas of what to see in the city to the servers at the restaurant for breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They decided to change the timing for the breakfast without preinforming us. Thus we finished with three hungry children on Monday morning looking for another place to eat. In general, the staff was not interested to help, which is really sad considering all other benefits.

    The suits are excellent - very spacious, comfortable, equipped with everything you might need. There is a nice garden next to the restaurant. The location is the best one you can get in Munich, if you are with a car and want to stay next to Marienplatz.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Uncomfortable in hot weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The weather in Munich had a temperature of 30 degrees centigrade. The room became very warm and uncomfortable There was no air conditioning. We complained and they told us that there is air conditioning. They tried to tell us that it was only our room. They kept lying to us like we are stupid. Bookings stipulated that there is air conditioning at this hotel. I think they have an air conditioning system but refuse to use it.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom and shower were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful oasis!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so people with mobility issues will need to request ground floor.

    Super convenient location, just around corner from Hofbrauhaus and tons of restaurants, 5 minute walk to Marienplatz and other sights. Clean, lovely, quiet, with nice amenities and beautiful grounds. Had coffee every morning on the private balcony looking at the flowers. No hesitation in recommending this property!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Book Maximilian Munich for a comfortable stay in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The two rooms that we were assigned through Booking.com were the fifth floor (walk up from the fourth floor elevator stop) rooms, which are more spacious than lower floor rooms but do not have balconies or windows facing the courtyard. Also, they were carpeted rather than having the wood floors of the lower rooms in the newer wings. The carpets (as well as those in the halls and stairs) were cleaned using a shampoo that left a strong fragrance that I found objectionable. The staff agreed to switch our rooms to fresh smelling, wooden floor, rooms in a newer wing, despite the fact that these rooms cost more than the rooms we obtained through Booking.com. Be careful to book rooms on the elevator served first to fourth floors, and try to get those (rooms 63 and up) in the newer wings that surround and define the courtyard.

    We stayed six nights at this hotel, which is in an excellent location enabling walking to all of Munich's inner area sites, a block from the Hofbrauhaus, but on a quiet street. The street facade is featureless, but the inner courtyard that the rooms encircle and face is like a small park. The outdoor and glass enclosed restaurant sections are on the courtyard, and all but the top floor rooms have balconies or patios opening on the courtyard with seating to enjoy it. The rooms are spacious and modern with kitchenettes, and there is little or no street noise. The English speaking staff is very accommodating and allowed us to switch rooms after the first night from the top floor rooms to balcony rooms on the courtyard. The restaurant is excellent, and the breakfast menu includes a la carte selections costing less than the advertised full buffet. This hotel would appeal to those who prefer an unpretentious but comfortable stay rather than the more formal traditional hotels in the same area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    A great stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but not outstanding.

    Absolutely charming hotel a few minutes walk from the centre. Rooms around a little garden with a fountain mean that you have a nice view and quiet nights. I only stayed two nights so did not use the kitchenette, but for a longer stay it would have been very convenient. I also ate an excellent meal in the restaurant one evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Great apartments centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We spent three nights in a wonderful apartment with everything you could possibly need, including an excellent coffee machine and Molton Brown toiletries. I also had an in-house full body massage, which was wonderful. Would definitely recommend this.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.0
    Hotel and the location are ok
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not friendly when i made check in The room service lady she was angry when she prepare our room Other things was ok

    I like the hotetl itself

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location surroundeded by shops, bars & restaurants! Staff were very friendly & helpful. We were in a suite which was fully equipped for us to cook our own breakfast each morning. We would definitely stay here again for our next visit to Munich

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, close to U Bahn and most major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, close to U Bahn and most major sights. Room doesn't look as new as the pictures but still comfortable and clean. Has kitchenware, can cook in the apartment if you want. Good for a group of four. We got here really early and was still able to check in and even got an upgrade!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We cooked a few meals over the holiday. It would have been nice to have several more pans to cook with.

    We were at the Maximilian over Christmas. Our suite was comfortable and spacious, perfect for our stay. The staff was very responsive to our questions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, near Marienplatz so very central. We had the suite/apartment with a kitchenette which was excellent as we travelled with 2 small kids aged 4 and 2. There's washing machine and dryer facility as well which was handy. We didn't get breakfast as felt it was pricey on the already quite expensive room rates but given the location, we shopped at all the nearby food shop and made our own breakfast and meals. There's a small playground about 300m away too which is a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No central heating. The ac was annoying at night. 2. Price. My personal opinion is that it is too high. I have been to other hotels in Munich which have costed much less and were as good as this one!

    Location The studio was superb Restaurant Stuff A cozy small hotel in the center of Munich

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable place with good traditions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room only by conditioner . And this device is very noisy during sleeping. I had to call to reception to ask to switch off . But It was not cold without heating .

    Nice design of room and kitchen. Very quiet even with street view. Hospitality of management and small present on 5th of December were very nice. reliable place with good tradition.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    A very good option at the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing. May be due to the fact that we arrived late but there was no croissant and it was generally a bit mainstream compared to some other competitors like the Cortiina for instance

    The Hotel is very well located and at the same time pretty quiet. Room are large (our with a small living room / kitchen) and well organized. We liked the free tea bags, nespresso coffees and two bottles of water. Nice toiletries sets and towels etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.9
    just in case
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    5th floor needs climb stairs as it does not have elevator. Breakfast quality low ( old fruit, and little variation, fried eggs to be paid, etc)

    good service, good location. Clean and with necessary services

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    Old Maximilian Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building and parking made unavailable for guests. Tiny elevatirs and slanted walls in the room were cute. Scolding hot water was not.

    If you into rustc charm of old buildings, paying extra for daily parking and breakfast, you would love Maximilian Munich. Then again, it is a walking distance from most downtown attractions.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Exceptional Service! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A strong perfume smell upon entering the front entrance. Just a note - elevator is very small - which is typical of European hotels. No seating in the front lobby when waiting for cab. Not very much for negative at this hotel!

    Absolutely excellent service!! We asked for an early arrival of noon for both of our rooms - which is typically impossible. They had them both ready by 11:30am! We also were upgraded for free for both of our rooms. The staff speak and email communicate with exceptional english. The one bedroom suites are spacious, and well appointed. Cabs arrive within 5 minutes of ordering. Hofbrauhaus is literally 3 minutes walking from door-to-door. Good restaurants around the area. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.1
    Not suitable for a romantic city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking stated there was a "large double bed" when we arrived it was the tiniest double bed I have ever seen in a German hotel. My wife and I asked to change the room to get at least a 1.80 m bed which was done (thank you) but we lost the balcony and were placed on the ground floor in another building next to the front door. OK, at least we could sleep together but then the heating did not work well and there were no extra blankets in the room. We ended up sleeping under towels and coats. Fine for a cheap hotel but not one with prices as high as this. If I had been alone then it would have been OK but I had planned a romantic city break with my wife in a chic hotel and this just about ruined it.

    The tea and coffee in the room was nice and the bathroom was fantastic. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Very convenient hotel for travelling around.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hope the price can include the breakfast

    The location is great very close to the metro and shops.but its quiet to stay.The room is big and cozy.with a kitchen we can cook some meals when we miss our food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.0
    Arrogant!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are spacious but awfully decorated. They can do much better. The personnel is not friendly. Outrageous price for a water bottle: 7.5 Euros. When made a comment on the price to the desk front personnel, their response was so arrogant, as if 7.5 Euros per bottle was a normal price for such an hotel. Ridiculous!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A great find in the Munich Altstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for visiting the Christmas markets, central to transportation and pedestrian zones. Lots of nice places to eat nearby. Hotel itself is excellent, very accommodating staff, studio apartment perfect for a few days as it had a nice sitting area, kitchen and very good beds. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Large room, Clean, Good kitchen, Near shopping street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd building no elevator. (1st building ok) No parking on site. We parked opposite building A little expensive and dark old building.

    Very large room, clean Kitchenware very good functional. Location near Maximillian street 150m for Brandlover eg. Hermes, Dior, Chanel, Valentino etc. Near Munich markplatz 250m

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maximilian Munich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: