Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maximilian

Korngasse 15, 67346 Speyer, Germany

#5 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Speyer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 547 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange checkin process at the restaurant - google maps sends you to the accommodation but then you need to go to the restaurant to check in

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Off to a bad start trying to find car parking so spoiled our day there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite offering parking no parking available we had to use public car park( difficult to find) Dishonest to offer parking as every place has public parking. No meet and greet or information on arrival. The room was small and hot so a fan would have been good. Very noisy at 6am.

    Clean room and nicely furnished. In a good location but not a nice entrance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location in centre of Speyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clear where the entrance to the hotel was. You had to walk through a busy restaurant, the 'reception' was at the bar. Was asked for payment immediately on arrival which I didn't think was great.

    The room although small was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our two nights stay there and our wander around Speyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little noisy in the evening on the forecourt but we accepted that that goes with the location.

    Clean and comfortable room in a great location. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. It was a pub with a restaurant and we enjoyed the evening meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Booking.com should check that facilities promised, are facilities provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was NO WIFI, (Free WIFE was included in the booking). The apartment was not at the location described at the time of booking. It was an apartment 5 minutes walk away, in a side street. The TV did not work. There was no WIFI.

    There was NO WIFI, (Free WIFE was included in the booking). The apartment was not at the location described at the time of booking. It was an apartment 5 minutes walk away, in a side street. The TV did not work. There was no WIFI.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay in Speyer !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited view from the room. Very few clothes hangers in the wardrobe and no clothes hooks outside to hang up worn coats.

    Very friendly staff at the restaurant/café where you check-in/out. Very nice room / bathroom, well designed . Big choices of breakfast, good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location and friendly staff in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms (double room & apartment) and finally they were far from each other in separated building which was not mentioned . On the top of that in the apartment was not working properly the heating element -was cold inside during the stay - and also no hairdryer and finally the hotel was charging additional 15Eur for cleaning which was also not mentioned before.

    Good location and friendly staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location, spacy room, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely poorly equiped room and with very few vindows, most of the vindows looking at the inner yard.

    Good location, spacy room, clean. Breakfast at the caffe (at extra charge) was tasty and really big. One portion could serve two persons easily.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Stay here only if you are young travelers and easily able to navigate stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling with 5 people and therefore required two rooms. One room located around the back of the main building and the other across the street and two blocks away. The first room was accessible only by stairs and we had to carry our luggage al the way up. Our elderly traveler was not able to easily navigate these three flights of stairs so we put her across the street in the other room which was dusty and very dark with only one window to an alley. The actual experience did not match the photos on the web site. There is no parking at the location and we parked sever blocks away - this was difficult in loading and unloading luggage especially traveling with an elderly person.

    The location was great right in the centre of the city. Staff were friendly but so busy running the Restsurant that they had little time to deal with us. One of our rooms was good the other was terrible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Don't rent a appartment here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dirty and had a bad food smell. Paying 15 euros of cleaning fees is a bit of a shame when you find towels and sheet in drawers that seem to have been used. A matress was ....in the kitchen !!! The table beside the bed was really DIRTY. First time we are disapointed with booking recommendation. By the way getting the keys at the bar is not convenient at all the waiters ignore you ( also when we gave back the keys) and barely speak English. We do not recommend this place.

    The situation in the town center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not housed in main building No WiFi as advertised Poor initial reception verging on obnoxious/rude No soap or shampoo Very poor bike storage although confirmed they had some beforehand

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the lack of daylight in the living/bedroom area. The one window did not provide much natural light although overhead room lighting was good. However we also felt the room rate plus cleaning charge made for an economical stay in a large apartment style accomodation in a brilliant location.

    Loved the space and having separate kitchen and big bathroom. Shower was excellent. Beds were comfortable. Host were helpful and provided storage for our bicycles. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Nice, colourful and beautiful room.
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of elevator and the narrow staircase made it difficult to bring baby buggy upstairs into the room. The room was suppose to have electric kettle but that was not the case until requested but good thing is it was delivered the next morning.

    Nice, colourful and beautiful room. It is very modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    we had one of the small apartments and were there when it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had one of the small apartments and were there when it was over 30° in Speyer - the apartment was wonderfully cool though which we loved ofcourse! Very nice choice of different kinds of breakfasts at the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an apartment sort of thing and it was lovely staff in the pub where nice as well, shower was nice and a really good location right on the high street

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    5.8
    Central but with some hiccups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in staff was not helpful and let us wait for a long time. They were busy serving lunch and we felt like if we are disturbing them. We had the duplex flat and beds were extremly hard!!

    Right in the center of town. Cleaning lady was super nice :) Bathroom was big

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Maximilian hotel helped make our stay in Speyer very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The whole experience at the Maximilian hotel was excellent would stay again if in Speyer again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Outstanding staff in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outstanding staff in the restaurant. Had several meals there with friends, due to great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Room was nice and new, outlets by bedside table
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle. Not the quietest.

    Room was nice and new, outlets by bedside table

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.5
    Lovely downtown area. Easy to find restaurant for the key
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice Appartement, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in a safe area, 2 bicicles got stripped from valuable Equipment during 20 min stay at room in front of entrance.

    Nice Appartement, very central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable, but not a three star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small unit. Television was very old with limited channels. No. Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Simple, clean, close to the Places interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adress mentioned Not Clearly,

    Simple, clean, close to the Places interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is inside a restaurant where the waiters are in charge of the accomodation

    Close to the historic sites

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't fit windows.

    Location. Clean and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Terrible view from the bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible view from the bedroom window. Inner courtyard with huge spider webs etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    the Location in the middle of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Location in the middle of town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.1
    Room looks different than on the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks different than on the photos. No loft. No view from the window. Toilet smells bad. Very old TV doesn't work.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unorganised ,a room is in separate building,no hotel carpark,no early check out

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    No wifi on room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi on room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    3.3
    Speyer
    • Couple

    Avoid We arrived in Speyer full of hope. This was soon shattered. Instead of staying in an olde cafe/restaurant we were led away to a street with a door entry for two flats. Next door were refugees. The street was ill lit at night. The tv did not work we reported this at 7pm. When we arrived back at 10.30 we still had no tv, next morning still no tv and no explanation. We had no internet or phone in the property. The property has a change of floor levels in the kitchen area and this is very dangerous in the dark at night when crossing to use the bathroom. Shower tray is very slippy. Towels did not smell fresh they had grease smell. On arrival no toilet roll. When we booked we were quoted 49 euro on bookings.com When we arrived we had been charged an extra 15 for Service charge ? In my small print I did eventually find this charge but it was not very apparent.We also paid a parking fee of 4 euros. Not the 49 euros overnight we had been expecting. Why put a photo of a property if that is not where you are staying. This surely is gross misrepresentation.The lady we voiced our concerns to was belligerent and very unsympathetic. Unless you really need to stay here find somewhere different. Also the check out was very at 10 am.

    Speyer

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    4.2
    The apartment was not at the main hotel, but some way away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was not at the main hotel, but some way away in a side street. It was recently decorated, but was dark and gloomy because only the kitchen area had an outside window. Wifi was available in the main restaurant/hotel, but there was no wifi in our apartment and it was inconvenient to go to the main hotel. Parking was difficult and expensive as the town centre was disrupted by roadworks. The apartment was spotlessly clean but smelled musty and was furnished in shabby1980s Ikea style. We were very disappointed with our stay and we think that the description on Bookings.com should make clear that some of the apartments are remote from the hotel and lack convenient wifi access. We would not visit again or recommend it to others, but maybe the apartments in the main hotel building are as described by booking.com and more acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    very stylish very big room with sitting corner and another...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    3rd floor... but really comfortable beautiful and large wooden stairs Max very helpful to give a hand as well

    very stylish very big room with sitting corner and another joining small room with breakfast/dining table... super character 😊

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.8
    Great location on the pedestrian mall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Access is difficult as the rooms are up 2 flights of stairs but that is to be expected in old buildings. However checking in in the bistro is rather awkward.

    Great location on the pedestrian mall. Beautiful room very clean. Very good restaurant downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    7.9
    The place was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place was very nice. There is no elevator. if you are traveling with kids and strollers it is difficult. But very nice place.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Very comfortable stay and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problem to carry heavy luggage ap the staircase to the second floor.

    Very comfortable stay and location

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Restaurant is good and personel is very helpfull.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Restaurant is good and personel is very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    Nice room, nice place, very good restaurant and personal.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nice room, nice place, very good restaurant and personal. Thanks Kiki and Fatih.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.6
    no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no elevator

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    location in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a hairdryer

    location in the town. Spacious & clean

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    We had an apartment right in the centre of town, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But it was very dark and smelt of drains.

    We had an apartment right in the centre of town, which was nicely fitted out and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    Lovely room, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely room, very clean

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had the impression that wifi was available, but the apartment had no wifi what so ever. Maybe my mistake...

    Great location and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    8.3
    style of room and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was a kettle but no tea just 3 in one coffee which had sugar in it!!!

    style of room and facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not paying what i agreed to pay and which the paperwork clearly showed

    location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: