Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Goetheallee 9-11, Haus 3, Altona-Nord, 22765 Hamburg, Germany

#179 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2710 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not told it was a hostel and it does not state that, my room was dirty, the receptionist insinuated i was gay, i am awaiting a response as to my complaint

    Nothing, It is a Hostel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    No stay, but paid in full. No reply to my email. Not good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the end, I booked in, but because of circumstances, didn't stay one night, however paid for the entire trip (3 nights). My request to reimburse me for two nights, or offer me other compensation has not even been answered. I couldn't reach anyone by phone. The room was like a sauna. It would have been unpleasant and impossible to sleep either way.

    Staff friendly at reception, but that is all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot with no AC and without the possibilty of opening the window. That was an awful experience.

    Very clean. Comfortable bed. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location close to Altona station, and an easy walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is half hotel half hostel, so expect it to be rather crowded and loud at times. We had kids running around the halls at night, and maybe 8-10 school groups staying at the property when we were there.

    Good location close to Altona station, and an easy walk to the fish market area. Clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms didn't look as nice, odd layout with one bunkbed in a separate wardrobe-like room and the other without curtains (unlike on the pictures). There was a distinct smell of cigarette smoke in the toilet. The room was next to the staircase and there were many youth running up and down late at night. The play area (for the kids) was underwhelming.

    The breakfast Separate toilet and shower area, both with sinks The location (close to Altona station)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Second stay in this great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can't do enough for you, good location, easy UBahn ride away from FC St Pauli, comfy beds. Stayed here twice now and will definitely be back next time I'm in Hamburg!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Affordable accomodation, good atmosphere, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being renovated, the corridors on the 5th floor were freshly painted and a strong paint smell was permeating into the rooms.

    Affordable accomodation, good atmosphere, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had maintenance work going on which we were not made aware of before arriving. Would have been good to be told as there was a lot of banging on the last day.

    Very clean. Good staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Helpful friendly staff. VERY noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls seem to be made of paper. We had a family room which was located next to the stairwell - you could hear every step of every person using the stairs. Also large groups of young people were partying very loudly until 2-3 am every night. The staff try to stop it but are powerless really. Not their fault but you should consider this especially if you are staying with young kids

    Location is fantastic - easy for city centre and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great kitchen facilities too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal hotel for 3 night stay with good facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation & nothing said in advance ( not a massive issue though!) Used 2 lockers & printer ink faded on one pay machine. Because we had to reaccess locker & barcode too faded on slip had to move case to another locker & pay again!!

    Friendly, helpful & attentive staff, good bar & gamezone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of rooms on the fifth floor were being refurbished and our rooms were being built when we were being checked in, if they had told us this on our arrival it would have been much easier

    Good location, clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice Friendly Staff
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 6th floor. It was very noisy at night time. There was a loud noise that sounded like a tumble dryer going all night under/beside our room. The shower was terrible in our room. It's like something you would use in a leisure complex for a quick shower before/after entering a swimming pool.

    Stafff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was close to train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Good, comfortable, only (important) negative is the timed button shower.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower!! The timed button!! This is not advertised nor made clear during booking and is very deceiving and definitely made the experience unpleasant. I expect to have a normal shower with a normal tap in a private bathroom.

    The value of money for size of room was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location and can easily save your budget here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration is not quite my taste.

    good location, pool table, football table, and there is the kitchen that you can freely use. There is supermarket and shopping street nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean and spacious rooms in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have a small fridge to store baby food and milk but I guess one could use the guest kitchen downstairs. I hope the lift gets fixed soon!

    Well presented rooms that match the photos. We had a triple room for two adults and two children under 3. We had enough room to set up a portacot for a baby. Simple furnishings but thankfully not overcrowded. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because you are close to so many great food places on offer in Altona!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay for New Years Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not nice. The rooms smells very bad. There is not much choice but it's cheap. If you sleep in the bunk bed on top you have to make sure you don't fall out of the bed. It's not a good construction.

    The staff was very friendly. They helped us a lot. It's easy to find parking in the streets near the hotels. It's nice to cook in the kitchen also. We did this on New Years Eve. There are a lot of shops in the nearby area, also farmacie's. The Altona S-bahn is very nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    It was convenient, clean and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The self service buffet breakfast was plain but nourishing but a little more variety would have been nice.

    The hotel is in Altona, which is not city centre but it is very convenient by public transport. It has a breakfast room, a bar and a kitchen for guests to use. It is not a luxurious hotel but it is clean and comfortable with large rooms for an inexpensive hotel. The shower was small and so it was easy to knock into the temperature control but the water was hot and always available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    A lovely, relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor quibble: the lighting in the room was fine if you had the double bed but dark if you were trying to read in either of the bunks.

    Breakfast was great, with loads of choice and very fresh food. Room and bathroom were large and clean. Liked the style and decor. Having the use of the kitchen was a real bonus. Location excellent. Very near Altona station and large Rewe supermarket but on a quiet road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay for a couple of nights, if on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have tea/coffee facilities in the room. Unfortunately neither of our beds were very comfortable, we found them to be very hard leaving us slightly sore in the morning.

    Lovely and very helpful staff, full of smiles and advice. The room was spacious and clean with a lovely view. Not far from the train station at all, easy to find and close to shops and restaurants which was great. Quick and easy check-in and check-out!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    A very spacious kitchen, very close to a big grocery store.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very spacious kitchen, very close to a big grocery store. Near Altona station. Room was cleaned every day. Shower and bathroom were separate,which was useful for a group of six people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    4.6
    Don’t expect to sleep much here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is noisy. Trucks unloading at 3 am with running cooling system right under your window. Then again at 7 am. Besides this there is also a lot of noise from other guests (many student groups) in the hallways and from them standing and talking outside.

    Big rooms. If you book a room for yourself you can end up with 4 beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually nothing irritating about it. Interior of the room is average but it is more than enough for short stay, especially if you just need a hotel to sleep and go back walking and discovering the city ;)

    Location of the hotel is great, just 5 mins walk to a huge train and subway station - Altona. Neighborhood is calm and quiet. If weather allows you can actually walk whole way to Hamburg city center for about an hour. :) Stuff is really nice! You can leave your luggage after check out in one of security boxes (extra payment required, be attentive!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice big comfortable bed, large room, simple contemporary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would add fresh fruit salad and alternative milks to the breakfast. Maybe add some frills such as water and tea making facilities.

    Nice big comfortable bed, large room, simple contemporary decor. Welcoming lobby and great view. Pretty good breakfast although could be better for vegetarians.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and a very convenient place to stay for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the guest kitchen (which we found helpful to have) there was a shortage of crockery, particularly mugs! I did report it to reception on leaving.

    There were no frills, pictures, carpets, or phones in rooms, however, everywhere was extremely clean and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Basic but perfect for a short stay. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for baggage storage before/after your stay (in case you need it). 8 EUR for 2 large suitcases is a bit pricey. We decided to take our luggage with us.

    Spacious room. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    We would use it again on a next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit to small but very practical

    The breakfast was great,anything you wanted was there. Very close , 6 minute walk to Altona central station,subway and s bahn. Busses are great to and a daypass is worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    There is public kitchen in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no refrigerator and kettle in room. There was no cleaning all 3 days and even there was no toilet paper. Staff is frendly but negligent. When I extended my stay there clerk did not input data in room card and next morning I was not able to open door in room just when I had cup of very hot tea in hands and was forced to go to reception downstair with this hot cup. Clerk said what manager will return me money that I paid for late check out as compensation for all inconviniences, but she refuse me even in this very small and nominal compensation (10 Eur).

    There is public kitchen in hotel. Friendly staff, excluding manager.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room looked a little worn. Not like pictures. No rail on top bunk.

    Clean, large room. Good inexpensive breakfast. Convenient parking in garage. Were moved to a different room after complaining about missing rail on top bunk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No views, quiet noisy as a lot of families and young people stay here, but it was not so load that you cannot sleep and as it is good value for money it's fine.

    This is value for money. A little like an upgrade to a youth hostel but the rooms are super clean and the beds are comfy. Ideal if you do not want to spend an enormous amount of money on accommodation. The location is just around the corner from Bahnhof Latona with fab access to many good restaurant all in walking distance. The area is very secure and you can walk anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Stag do in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very basic and only had a small common area. With one group occupying the common area with pool at all times we couldn't enjoy this facility

    Location was close to several nice food places and within 5 minutes of the S-bahn so we could train to other parts of Hamburg

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located close to Altona metro station in the...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located close to Altona metro station in the nice surrounding. The room was spacious and clean. Wi-fi was excellent. The staff is very nice, informative and helpful. Parking is possible on the street and it is free. Close to the hotel is IKEA and some other shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fixed shower head on the wall which is very high (about 1.8 meter or higher). It's very difficult to take a shower for small kids, not to mention that you have to push the bottom to release water all the time. Bunk bed make noise while you turn around.

    Clean and bright. Close to station and supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    The receptionist was extremely friendly, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first day the cleaning lady just entered our room at 9. No knocking, just opened the door. She came back around 10.30 and told us to go out becuse she needs to clean. The next day I placed "Do not disturb!" sign on the door and at 10 she came in again, a second after an almost silent knock. Check out was at 11. I think that's just rude. I would also like the door to have a lock inside the room - a mechanic one! The shower in the bathroom can also be a bit of a problem - it super strong and you can't regulate it; just a shower head out of the wall. You always get completely wet, even if you don't want to.

    The receptionist was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient, always with a smile on her face! We made two separate bookings and she arranged that we can stay in the same (bigger) room with no problem! The bed was, surprisingly by the look of it, very comfortable - slept like a baby! And the wifi connection is very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    It surfaced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no glass, or anything to drink from on the room. I was offered a paper cup when I asked at reception but did persuade them to give me a glass. Our room was overlooked as we overlooked others. There were no net privacy curtains. This is really a place for young people or young families as there were facilities to do your own food. Everyone was at lease 40 years younger than us! It's a cross between a hotel and hostel.

    It was near the railway station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Simple but very good hotel for young people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor was too cold to walk without slippers - just be prepared in advance.

    I had single room here. Everything was just simple and fine. Wifi was good even for skype video but connection was not available during one night because of some emergency. The breakfast is too simple and i had no luck to catch sausages - thought it is cheap enough ~ 7 euro. Staff was pleasant and helped me to send mail card at the place. There is nice lounge place and bar - convenient for young people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Value for money. Ideal for a no-frills short stay with good transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some building works inside the games room during our stay, so the kids were unable to play pool or table-football. The breakfast was nice, but only cold food was available. However, with the kids eating breakfast for half price and our five year old for free, this was fair enough!

    Although the hotel was quite far from central Hamburg, it was easily reached by train. The Altonaer Balkon is also within walking distance which provides better views than central Hamburg. Altona train station and a good supermarket is located right next to the hotel. The guests in the hotel was a good mix of young people, couples and families. No rowdy stag parties etc!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    A hotel?! I think not, more like an overpriced hostel full of hiked prices..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One lift for the entire building often led to long waits Is this a hotel or a hostel? If the first, why are the rooms not cleaned on a daily basis/towels replaced? If the latter, it's far too expensive! The rooms do not have air con and the windows only open so far, the noise from people chatting on the street can be heard at all hours of the day and the sun on the curtains warms up the room to furnace temperature. On both mornings I couldn't wait to get our for fresh air! Why should I pay a 200 Euro deposit for damage against the rooms when I check in? I've never stayed in a hotel where this is done. It's not even a hold on your card, they have to bill you for it and then refund when you check out!! 3 euro 50 cents for a bottle of water is an absolute joke in the hotel bar.

    The location is great The staff are quick to respond to emails The reception area is welcoming and a good meeting point for groups It's secure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Room and bathroom were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was an issue. Street parking was the only choice and it was extremely difficult to find an empty spot big enough for our VW Vanagon. We arrived when they were in the process of renovating the entrance so there was a bit of back and forth with the front desk.

    Room and bathroom were very clean. Top level had a nice view. Friendly staff. Breakfast offered lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, but improvements are needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't order breakfast during our stay because it was too expensive and the selection was very limited. At the same time, the area offered lots of opportunities on good breakfast (we went to Tad Bakhaus 100 metres away) and only paid half the price charged at the hotel. The staff at reception was not very welcoming when coming and going; they didn't greet us when we passed by the reception during our stay. The staff seemed uninterested in their work, the guests and that everything in general ran smoothly at the hotel - that is NOT ok at all! The hotel was very noisy at night from other guests. It seemed like that the hotel did not have any rules on how guests should behave when staying there, as far as we know - that's NOT ok. The kitchen for guests to use was inadequate and way below average (not very clean, coffee maker was broken, and no utensils to be found anywhere). The kitchen was completely hopeless and unsatisfactory.

    Excellent location and very nice area; lots of opportunities (dining and shopping). The room was clean, spacious and lots of light. In general, a very nice looking hotel. Good choice if all you require is a place to stay for the night and have no other requirements to your stay. Still, it would be worth the effort and your money to search for other accommodation if you insist on staying in Altona. Economy at its best and worst (see above). In conclusion, the hotel seems to live by the hype of its name across Europe which explains why you don't get the full value for your money and the service from staff is only adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think a room fan would be useful. If it's a warm sunny day the room would heat up.

    Great location. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Staff was nice and helpful. Some renovations going on, it'll be even nicer when done. There's a community kitchen which we didn't use but good for people to know.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Great for a group (stag/hen) and simply somewhere to sleep only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive for what is it as it is still a hostel, and there were renovations going on so we couldn't use all the facilities.

    Nice and clean. It's basically a nice hostel, I wouldn't recommend a place you would want to stay with a partner.. but for e.g. a stag / hen party or solo travelers.. this is a good place. Easy check in / check out. Big room with all the basics. Easy location to get to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect choice for an urban traveler who wants great accommodation at a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels. We thought the hotel was very nice but a not sound proof enough to keep out the noise from all the children running in the corridor and going on the elevator from 6 in the morning.

    I liked the bathroom and the location. Nice feel to the room and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    stag weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no real problems didn't realise you had to pay a deposit on arrival but that was dealt with and all sorted out on check out.

    very clean and tidy, we stayed in a room with 5 beds and was very spacious. friendly staff, great location, little walk into the main areas but only 10euros in a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    I wasnt impressed by the price quality value but I guess it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -They had some really bizarre problems that I didnt expect: elevators were not working properly you could find yourself litterally waiting 8 minutes to get back to the ground floor due to people traffic, this is not acceptable -They refused to store my valuables in a safe area (they would store it but not safely) allegedly because of construction problem the day of my check out, I was shocked because for me its such a basic service you would expect from 100 euro night hotel, I wouldnt be shocked if it was just a cheap youth hostel for drunkards -I found the clientele annoying, not specifically noisy but always group of young people going back and forth in group and hanging around in the corridor all the goddamn time -I thought the breakfast looked plain and uninteresting I had a look and I thought I am not going to eat there and pay for that

    I wasnt impressed by the price quality value but I guess it was okay for Hamburg. I thought the room was okay and clean but with old basic furniture. I found the bed comfortable and the wifi was functionning very well. I found that the staff were in general nice and friendly The proximity with Altona bf is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under construction at the moment in the lobby area. Reminded us of the shafts in a coal mine. Breakfast room is extremely loud when well visited.

    Big and clean rooms close to train station, quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Great and fun hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just a minor thing that in the shower you have to push the button all the time to keep the water running for saving water. I get the idea but still it is not fun.

    The room for five people was very large and we were three people that booked it so it worked out very nice. The breakfast is good, nothing fancy but at a very good price. Great location next to the Altona station and plenty of restaurants. Great to have separate room for the toilet and separate room for the shower. Both rooms have sinks so it is good for use when plenty of people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location 2 metro stops away from reiperbahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of rules when we checked in. Made the process a little slow and would have liked to have been able to drink alcohol in the room

    Good location 2 metro stops away from reiperbahn. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive with this quality...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy with thin wall next door. Clean but small shower room. Uncomfortable bed.

    Location is near the train station. There is a big table to put many things.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.2
    Not as advertised..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was a bar with pictures of a big bar and football table. The bar consisted of 2 small tables crammed in the reception room. Half the hotel was under construction and there was no drinking alowed in the room. (unless you was German) from what I saw.

    The room was ok size and as described. One of the reception staff was really nice and helpful. The rest.. Not so much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is now under renovation, so things are little imperfect.

    Most of all, the hotel location is good, it take a short walk to the train and subway station, there are many markets and restaurants around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Perfectly adequate. No more, no less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was extra. Refurbishments were taking place during our stay. A little pricey for what it is, essentially an unpersonable, glorified hostel.

    Free tea and coffee in the morning. Daily housekeeping. Reasonable base for the Reeperbahn and the Millentor Stadion.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    3.8
    Public transportation was very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under reconstruction, it wasn't mentioned, We ordered room for 4 person, got for 8 with the possibility to get another roommates!!! For discount price of 375€!!! For 3 nights we even didn't get any shampoo in the shower, only cheap soap! Room was dusty. Almost the worse hotel we ever stay for such high price

    Public transportation was very close

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Great stag trip to Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the check in process could have been slightly smoother but the desk was always very busy so I understand the difficulties.

    I liked the staff in the hotel. The majority of them were very friendly with the exception of one gentleman who appeared to be new. Petra and phillip were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic for Football
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    excellent location if visiting FC St Pauli, & 2min walk from S Bahun, Very spacious & comfortable room (5 of us in a 6 bed room), fantastic shower, very friendly & helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Will visit again Diolch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location from the Altona train station, which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No info on the breakfast times was shared. Also, factor in the need to pay a deposit for each room booked. we were charged an extra 300 euro at check in which we didn't expect.

    Excellent location from the Altona train station, which is only a few minutes walk away with a direct train to the airport, via the city centre and Reeperbhan stops. Also it was only a 20 minute walk to the Reeperbahn from the station. Rooms were exactly what we expected, plenty big enough for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in restaurant and bar really good but no kettle in room. I messaged both the bookers and the hotel several days before to ask ( as I have a travel kettle I could have taken) and got no reply

    Staff were lovely. Hotel very good for the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No light above the small working place.

    Good value for money. Simple but functional rooms, good for a short stay. Groups of young hotel guests gives a bit the feeling of a youth hostel, but the rooms are absolutely ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    Few improvements to be made, otherwise good value for money, great location, and quite clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bunk bed was in a small cramped room within the main room and made climbing to the top bunk a nightmare. Not sure why that seemed like a good idea. Also the top bunk was the only bed where the sheets weren't pre-made and left for the guest to do themselves. In a room for five there were four beds and one sofa bed. My friend didn't mind the sofa bed, however I felt it was odd that this was arranged this way.

    We had a room for five people and the room was fairly spacious. Shower and toilet were in separate rooms which made everything easier. Location was decent. About 10 minutes walking distance from a major train station and small scale high street. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful when needed. There is a small communal kitchen available for teas and coffees at any time of day. ATM on site, which turned out to be essential as debit/credit cards are not as widely used in Germany as in other countries. Wi-Fi was fairly reliable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    Good, but could be much better
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The top bunk wasn't made up....even though there was 4 of us ........I don't expect to make my own bed on arrival at a hotel.....breakfast was not great!! no toaster or hot food or many things suitable for Vegetarians/Vegans

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    This was our second stay and we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    family room, but bunk beds not suitable for small children, so I had to sleep on top bunk.

    very helpful staff and great price. Toys in foyer to occupy kids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.1
    Beds are comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not really that pleasant. Did not respect privacy of guests as we had 2 occasions where staff members just let themselves into our door without knocking first.

    Beds are comfy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection wasn't very good. Bit of bread , no toaster, no hot food, not a good selection of cereal either.

    Great hotel , friendly, helpful staff and very clean. I would stay here again but wouldn't pay for the breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.1
    Good stay, but improvements could be a benefit.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were clean but a bid dusty. Extra careful with final cleaning is needed. Staff was not always friendly.

    Breakfast is fair. Room type and facilities were good. I would stay again since it's a good price, location and overall comfort was reached.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Worst hotel to stay in hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many to mention, 1- the hotel had one lift which was annoying as we have to wait for long time. 2-The house keeping is terrible sometimes they dont clean the room. 3-The beds are very small and not comfotable , it seems the mattatresses are very old. 4-There is no fridge in the room 5- On the last day we were not able to open the door they blocked the card and I went 4 times to the receptionist to get access to the room, finally i dont recommend this hotel to any traveler who is looking for comfort and convineince.

    The location only

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    Get Girly Get Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a group of school children we're staying at the same time which caused a lot of noise due to each access door to the stairs being fire doors which resulted in constant banging.

    the room was amazing, above our expectations!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice Hotel. Great panorama on very top floor. 6th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No announcement prior breakfast to clean up table of dishes and if guests don't do it because they did not know the will be reported to Berlin. Nationality on booking form needs to be stated. Form prints as default as British when booked online in Britain but had to overhand write as German.

    Loads of variety eat as much as you like

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Always easy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    normally nothing - this time just the lift buttons to the reception - travelled a few levels in crowded lift before reaching destination - but made friends lol

    My Fourth Visit - Great location - Altona area really good for shops and food outlets. Close to the train station and U bahn. Direct Ubahn train to the airport. Easy to reach Hamburg central. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. Nice buffet breakfast. Always feel comfortable here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Super stay for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Location was perfect 5 stops on train to the main centre such a warm inviting place beautiful clean fresh room white towels white bed linen lovely staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is rather dark and for some reasons its rather tricky to find the hotel. Probably due to road detour as a result of repair works

    Nice comfortable room and rather spacious. Friendly staff. Shopping complex and train station is within 50m from the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    Chill out at the bar until one of the staff members acted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of the staff are not friendly and can be rude in some occasions. Really poor breakfast

    Chill out at the bar until one of the staff members acted rude after we involuntarily drop a glass of beer on the floor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    A short break in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were unhelpful. At check in Ieft my file with all my holiday documents in & when I asked if they had found it they said that they had but they had apparently thrown it away without even checking the contents! !!! I couldn't believe it! This was a pity because in other respects the hotel scored well. I doubt we would stay here again.

    Comfortable, clean. budget hotel. Handy for public transport with regular airport connections.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Hostel really really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were slightly on the cold side. They held an advance €500 charge on our credit card in the potential case of damage which in my opinion was excessive.

    Hostel really really clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    10 minutes walk to Fablik
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my first experience that the elevator was defect which did not stop at only the reception level. (Eingang level)

    Very reasonable price I could get. 12.5 Euro per night for a parking space is rather expensive but was convenient and saved my time to look for a vacant space on the street.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    I like the staff and atmosphere. Home away from home. This is our 3rd time back to Meininger!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows are a little less the fluffy, almost flat. The guest kitchen is quite as clean. The utensils - knife is so blunt, not even cut well.

    The staff at reception are fabulous, especially "Janica". She is so helpful and pleasant. Give us a lot of help as where is the best place to visit and good buy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice city hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny bed. It was a hostel, after all, and a good one. But clearly not a hotel. Normally would have been much better value for money but I was there on a busy weekend so it was not cheap. My biggest complaint is a lack of info. It would have been great to have info in the room about the laundry facilities for instance. I had to find everything out for myself. Very noisy outside on Friday and Saturday nights.

    It was super clean and conveniently located. The kitchen had everything I needed, and there was also laundry facilities and iron. Bed made and room cleaned everyday. Nice big bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful when asked.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: