Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meister BÄR HOTEL Bayreuth This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Berneckerstrasse 4, 95497 Goldkronach, Germany

#4 of 4 hotels in Goldkronach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    ideal little hotel in a nice quiet area in the hills above Bayreuth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    see above

    One was made very welcome and the hospitality was good - as was the breakfast. However, some difficulties in the kitchen delayed the arrival of the main course in the restaurant in the evening, which was not acceptable, but profuse apologies were received subsequently.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Good if you need to withdraw, to recharge your batteries. If you need to reflect on opera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The flexibility of restaurant opening hours; the proximity of forested hills & trails; the overall quietness - good for thinking, writing, meditating and of course hiking. I liked the way they took the needs of Bayreuth Wagner Festival visitors into consideration. After 5 hours of opera, one does not need more noise and distraction. This hotel is perfect for that scenario. Very friendly, efficient and responsible shuttle bus service to and from opera performances at the Bayreuth Festspielhaus. Guests of other hotels were sometimes left stranded because maybe they had clapped longer after the opera ended, or needed to use the restroom. With my hotel, they did head counts, and would not drive off until they were certain everybody had been accounted for. On another note, I had no idea my room would have a kitchenette - this was a most welcome surprise. I ended up using it a lot - it added to the note of domesticity, of feeling comfortable and at home. The pictures are from a jog through the Fichtelgebirge forest that the hotel is on the edge of.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice people running the place but this cannot outweigh the negative parts.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The parking on the premises is awful and should be avoided, if possible. There is no elevator from the ground floor to the rooms. The rooms are too small. We had a room price of € 149 while the room price on booking .com went down to € 99 during our stay. This is not acceptable .

    The personal is extremely friendly and helpful. The free-of-charge shuttle bus to the Bayreuth festival is very good. The breakfast is on high standard. The restaurant and kitchen is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    A beautiful but deserted place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotel has a restaurant, it was closed throughout the stay. There are no other restaurants in the area.

    The property is in a quiet place, the room is spacious and bright.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice night to stay after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms had a slight musty smell. Some old dust in places. (On cloth lampshade). Had a little difficulty finding hotel with GPS since there are a couple of other signs with a different name than the reservation hotel out front.

    We were the only people at breakfast that day. They asked us what time we would be having breakfast. Everything was ready upon our arrival. My friend wanted hard boiled eggs. I knew enough German to ask if they had them. She asked how many and started cooking them. All employees were very nice and excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.1
    Customer friendly website and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is far from the main city where the Train station is located.

    Customer friendly website and atmosphere. Good mood customer service, fine quiet dining.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Nice view from balcony.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the bathroom was coming and going when in the shower. Censor trouble?

    Beautiful surroundings. Good breakfast and coffee. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    too brief
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    I was there for the Bayreuth Festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi didn't reach my room but did work in the main building.

    I was there for the Bayreuth Festival. The hotel runs a free bas shuttle to the theatre and welcomes you back with complimentary drinks. The resaurant stays open later than the advertised time so that you can eat after the opera. I had my own table outside the room on a quiet terrace.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.8
    The kindness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bad experience is again the rooms given to the booking.com costumers are the worth !!! Secondly you give a picture of the hotel but the rooms are in an other poor building , you have to walk up a ramp and 23 steps as there is no more parking place on the upper level but nevertheless you have to walk up.

    The kindness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.8
    The small town atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Handling luggage was a big problem because I had to schlep my suitcase up a steep ramp and then up stairs---the staff offered NO assistance. I saw older guests struggling.

    The small town atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    This is potentially a lovely hotel in a beautiful village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a return visit after a two year interval. There appeared to be little maintenance let alone improvement in that period. There are two elements to the hotel, an handsome presentation to the street and a dreadful concrete pile behind. There are major problems with access. Everyone has to drag their luggage up steep steps - although belatedly there is a lift from the first floor. There are curious ramps beside the steps which are intended to allow luggage to be rolled up but the steepness of the slope makes it near impossible to use - there is plenty of room for the installation of a shallower slope. The fitting out of the rooms is dreary and old fashioned with no charm. To cap everything there is a fly attracting enclosed rabbit patch along the whole length of the front of the accommodation block. The company need to employ a good architect with only a modest budget to transform the buildings. Imagination is what is needed, not money. Given these defects it is difficult to recommend the BAR Hotel to friends - a pity.

    This is potentially a lovely hotel in a beautiful village within easy reach of Bayreuth. The original building is one of the most attractive facades in the village. The staff are friendly and accommodating.The hotel provides a return shuttle to the Festival House.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    I was attending the Bayreuth Festival, so the free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To get to Bayreuth town you have to take a bus. But this inconvenience is far outweighed by the facilities at the hotel and the closeness of great walks.

    I was attending the Bayreuth Festival, so the free bus-shuttle to the theatre was great. My friends stayed in Bayreuth, and for the same price had hotels which were far inferior to mine: they were noisy and had fewer facilities. This hotel is close to fine walks in the Bavarian Highlands. The breakfast was perfect for me: A wide range of cheese, meat, smoked fish, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    It was really high class for guests to the Bayreuth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A missing outlet for water in bathroom floor which was unavoidable at the floor caused by a missing curtain for the shower and spa could give dangerous and uncomfortable situations in the bathroom.

    It was really high class for guests to the Bayreuth Festspiele with arranged shuttle from the hotel to the operea house and return. Altogether very kind staff at the hotel. The small city the hotel is situated in and the surrounding landscape is also really nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    5.8
    location, friendly staff at breakfast ( despite possibly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant closed in evening - and reviews had said it was good, so that was a disappointment ( but probably due to lack of guests ). not very clean.

    location, friendly staff at breakfast ( despite possibly only 2 guest in hotel )

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.0
    Staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vastly overpriced for what it is. No English or other language translation of the menu.

    Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, shuttle to opera, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, shuttle to opera, great breakfast

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: