Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel BurgGartenpalais This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Herrngasse 26, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#6 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I can think of. It's slightly aging but you can expect that from all available hotels within the old city.

    It was my second time staying in this hotel. I loved the location which was within the old city area yet not the most touristy bit, i.e. quietness. I also liked the carpark and the lovely rose garden within the hotel. Very warm feeling from the staff too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All great

    We love everything! The staff were very nice. Great location and parking spot available. The breakfast was very good. I strongly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Period building with modern thoughtful conveniences. Parking on site is wonderful. Owners and staff very nice and helpful. It was a great place to call home in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful small family run hotel. My single room was generous and the ambience was lovely, a real medieval feel. Good breakfast and very centrally located, just metres from the town square. Really good value for money. You must visit the medieval crime museum when in town, and walk the city walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location right inside the old inner city walls is excellent and the staff friendly. The food in the restaurant is good and the room was spacious. Good breakfast and parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room laid out ina linear fashion which was odd. Value not very good compared to other places we have stayed Bedroom area very tight and awkward to move around

    Staff extremely good and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is wonderful located in the heart of the city 2 steps away from all attractions.Hotel style and decorations corespondents the outside atmosphere completely. Rooms are small but comfortable, not stylish but you will find everything necessary .Good WiFi Breakfast ok ( but not as reach as in other 4* in Germany- but very good . Parking very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prompt service at both breakfast and dinner. Great rooms and sense of history in old city. On propert parking a plus. Minutes from city center. Highly recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second time staying at this hotel. We love it! The hotel is well located, charming, and offers parking. We found everyone to be friendly and especially enjoyed the location and the breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean for the most part, except there was dried toothpaste off to the side of the sink.

    The restaurant was very nice and the staff was very friendly and our dinner was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on New Year’s Eve tired from a long flight and was greeted by a wonderful host who parked our car for us in the private car park and were extremely welcoming and hospitable. We loved the breakfast restaurant ambiance and the food. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath / Shower only has a glass partition for about 1/3 of the length, causing a lot of water to spray out of the bath onto the floor and walls.

    Wonderful ancient building - a great accommodation in a fantastic little city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved every single moment spent here. Position in the city centre, historical building, exquisite food at the restaurant, tidy, warm and luxury detailed room, very comfortable salle de bain, private parking, helpful and very nice staff, lift (which is quite a rare extra in Rothenburg), reception of great assistance in providing information on possible city traffic restrinctions or city cultural aspects.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Love the design of the room, somehow so christmassy . The receptionist was very helpful, showed us where to park the car so kindly (we arrived almost 10pm!) Staffs were all very cheerful. The bed was very comfy, everywhere was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can not think of a single thing I did not like.

    We had a 2 bedroom suite which was wonderful. The bathroom was truly exceptional. The garden was beautiful - but it was rainy so we did not get to use it. The proprietor was one of nicest we encountered on out trip. This is a very old building - but has very nicely upgraded features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and professional staff from arrival to departure. Nice clean rooms, Good breakfast, Good restaurant, Parking on site at absolutely fair price. The location is perfect. Nice biergarten

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, but the bed was hard to sleep on (back troubles!)

    Perfect reception by the owner, beautiful old fashioned hotel with modern facilities. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is spectacular, the room comfortable, quiet, super clean and nice amenities. The front desk, Otto, a lovely gentleman was welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast included a stunning display of so many delicious items and the eggs made to order. We will definitely go back to say longer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was amazing. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was substantial enough (ate enough and always ended up having a late lunch) and of really good quality. The hotel is so quiet at night that my sleep was never disturbed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't find any drawbacks in this wonderful hotel!

    The owners of the hotel are fantastically friendly and helpful people.They are ready to solve any problem or difficulty you have.(in fact, in this hotel you can't have),answer any question you have(places to visit,history of this amazing place).Moreover, the hotel is not only very modern and comfortable,but in some places looks like like a museum.We are very happy that we stayed in this hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, but as good as could be expected. Need sign on steps on second floor...difference in height between steps and landing area... a potential area to trip.

    Location, close enough to the town square, but far enough away from the street noise. Good breakfast, helpful and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was inadequate requiring us to open the windows. The outside noise (late and loud tourists and clock bells) made it hard to sleep.

    The location was excellent. The staff was very accommodating even offering us free breakfast when we arrived downstairs after they had ended the breakfast service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location, beautiful vintage property but clean and comfortable inside the room. We had to extend our stay for one day and they helped us to find a new room and move between room. The service was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    This hotel is perfectly located to all that Rothenburg has to offer. It is walking distance to shops, restaurants and local attractions. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable and has a lovely garden where breakfast is served. The staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to accomodate our needs. We are so pleased we chose this hotel for our stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a town center location, and along with that goes very narrow streets and a lot of pedestrian only areas. It makes travel by car a little difficult, but entirely worth it!

    Wonderful location, right near the old town square. Nice facilities in a very old historic building. All staff that we encountered were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are quite a bit varied - we booked two rooms and one room was a bit bigger. One of our rooms wasn't flat but tilted downwards by a 1-2 degrees.

    The staff are very kind, and the breakfast is very nice despite being limited in selection. The rooms are very clean. Very close to everything you need in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of

    we stay in family room, clean bathroom, cosy and warm , with sofa and view is good, interior design is also very atttractive, surrendering scene is also nice, relax and we enjoy staying there very much!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many parking spaces (arrive early). The best thing is to use the parking facility at the back of the hotel. Drive carefully when entering the old city center: Many of the streets are VERY narrow. (Not much the hotel owners can do about that, though). Except from this: A hotel you'll want to revisit!

    Excellent room (air conditioned). Nice bed and bathroom. Minibar and coffee/tea maker. Elevator (lift). Polite and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. The hotel is located right in the center of the old city. A short walk to everything. A very good choice if you're planning to visit Rothenburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No poached eggs would have liked them and toast.

    The shower was excellent you could have a mini bath in it. Bed comfortable over all a great room.Had a meal at hotel which was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awkward shower. Rude manager - seemed to be put out that we might be out until 10:30 and warned us that the parking area might be locked when we got back. We also had laundry service for our week's worth of clothes coming off a river cruise. It cost 166 euros!!! and he never mentioned the cost before hand. OUTRAGEOUS! The staff at breakfast were nice as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Big bonus - onsite parking. The biergarten was very pleasant with great food and service. Perfect location for exploring the area. Helpful and hospitable staff. Nice breakfast. Got a room with air con - important as it was HOT

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic restaurant! We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant every night that we were there. The outside terrace is surrounded by a beautiful garden, that makes it feel like a true oasis. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was set at too high of a temperature and would not go down.

    I was so impressed that even though we overslept through breakfast due to jet lag, the staff still waited for us, even though it was 30 minutes later!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think location is a bit far from the train station and i need to pull my luggage through the rocky road on the way. It took me 20 mins to get there. The room we got were decent but not fancy ones we saw on website. Cant't complain but may be bad luck.

    Beautiful hotel which gave me a real "Rotheburg" feel stay. We love the place to have breakfast. Hotel room was clean and comfy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room with small window outlook in a small ugly rearcourt Bathroom 70th Carpet also same period The room #6 should be entirely renewed and refurbished

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was absolutely horrified to arrive and find a soiled toilet which had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Had to clean it myself which was somewhat distressing.

    Comfortable hotel in excellent location with excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located very close to one of the main parks and murals, the main walking area, and just perfect for walking to the main historical sights. The staff was very accommodating, and very friendly. The rooms were also air conditioned which was wonderful to have during this warm season and be able to sleep so well in very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was set in period Bavarian decor and was well appointed. The bathroom was large and also very well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice. The hotel was easily reached by walking from the station. It was on a main thouroughfare in the old town and was close to restaurants, shops and sites. The world renowned Christmas shop was on the same street 100 metres away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room, and it was excellent - inside our doors it had an entry hall for shoes and coats, and then two bedrooms. The master bedroom was very large and comfortable, with a good bed. The kids bedroom was of decent size and had two single beds. The restaurant was great - breakfast buffet was tasty and wide selection, dinner was very good. For the location and price, this was a brilliant place to stay, and we would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The food in the hotel restaurants was very nice, good. The hotel itself is a dream come true. The staff is friendly and thoughtful. the location is wonderful: in the center of one of the most enchanting very old towns in Europe, amazing and spellbinding architecture, cleanliness, beautiful views all around and beautiful, romantic scenic roads around the town, along the little river and throug the forests across the hills... <3 <3

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was stained in many places, which makes a very poor impression and makes an otherwise clean room feel dirty. The decor in general is a bit tired.

    Location is excellent! We had a very spacious room, comfortable bed, modern and updated bathroom. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms less warm! That probably sounds silly, given the time of year, but very warm sleeping. Also would be good to have English subtitles on TV!

    All good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not so comfortable.

    They have redone the rooms and the bathrooms are fabulous. The place was in a great location and the the breakfast wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very nice city. - very nice personal. - wonderful rooms - building from medieval times. - very good food. Personal remark: what ever hotel you find inside the walls of old city, you will have great staying. The old city has frozen in medieval times.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Food was delicious- we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were very pleased with both. We stayed in the family suite, and although the floors were uneven I felt it added to the charm of the hotel. Lovely place, we would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some cobwebs in chandelier and in one place where the wall meets the ceiling but other than that, room and bath were pristine clean.

    Perfect location, warm and friendly staff, full of historical charm. Huge room, new bathroom, antiques throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    The room is big and clean. The breakfast was great and the staff were very nice The staff helped us to post the postcard and called the taxi while leaving, so helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Overall, it is a quaint hotel with all the basic comforts. It was a nice touch that the hotel could prepare your choice of eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is a classic hotel with updated, modern bathrooms and an elevator. There are antiques and lovely carpets everywhere. There is a wonderful Terrasse for outside eating as well as a great breakfast and restaurant area. The staff is extremely friendly and truly aim to please. There is parking for a small fee; and in tiny Rothenburg, this is a plus. The location is excellent. It is in the old town but not directly on the marketplatz so it is quiet and picturesque. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    showers are NOT built for tall people, and the A/C leaves a bit to be desired! This is a hotel that was built in an old property (as is everything in Rothenburg), so don't expect Hilton amenities.

    Great staff and central location in Rothenburg. Very quaint and authentic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving!

    Very large room, with ante-room (with storage space) very quiet. Very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice old building (as most are) only 5 minutes walk from town centre and 2 minutes from town wall and gardens. Food was very good with large portions as well!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful, beautiful hotel and good restaurant. Be aware that during special events access to the hotel's parking may be restricted during the day. The restaurant is a small beer garden.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I can think of that they could improve on.

    Lovely place, right down the street from the market place. Would stay here again, and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly loved the service, breakfast and staff. This hotel has character and charm too with modern amenities. Would love to stay again. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, Parking and restaurant with great menu and seating area. Try local wine. Authentic atmosphere and time travel feel (especially in corridors). Rich and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful hotel in an idyllic town. The hotel was stunning and our apartment room was spacious and very clean. The staff welcoming and very friendly, The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels. Our breakfast was lovely and set in a very well maintained and beautiful room. We requested a parking space with our booking and for just 7.50 euros we had a place waiting for us in the private car park in the grounds of the hotel. We ate in the restaurant on our arrival and the meal was wonderful. Travellers may wish to note that the hotel restaurant is closed on monday evenings but there are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk. I cannot rate this hotel and rothenburg highly enough! So much history and quite simply amazing. I am well travelled and have never seen such a wonderful example of a town with its history so well preserved, Make sure you have plenty of space on your camera!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooling system not adequate for hot days requiring windows to be open allowing street noise to enter.

    Location was ideal - in town and within walking distance of all activities. Beautiful terrace, quaint and authentic Bravarian breakfast room, and delicious food. Truly a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, good food and most important - staff who, when you have a serious problem, take the time to listen and help. A very good hotel, run by good people.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate at the hotel one evening and a little disappointed with the fish served as one fillet was a llittle undercooked, but hey it didn't kill me!

    Excellent central location with limited parking. Room was comfortable and clean with a street view and aircon. Wi-fi worked OK in the room, one of the few hotels during our trip through Germany that provided tea making facility in the room + mini bar. Hotel staff were also very helpful and pleasant. There is an outside garden restaurant giving space to relax. Stepping out the front of the hotel you are straight onto the street of a very picturesque town with plenty of choice for food and drink. No hesitation in recommending this hotel, you just have to consider these are old buildings so expect some wear and tear.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that would improve such a great experience.

    Wonderful place, wonderful staff, hard to beat: the hotel is run like a private home, all attention to details, owner is personally involved. Bravo, wish we could have stayed more days.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was set and you could not lower it. It was very warm in the room. I paid extra for two more people in the room. They beds were not there. So they came while in the room to open up the couch to a pull out bed. This should have been done prior and the cost of 50 Euros extra to open a couch is a bit excessive. Also, the pull out was extremely uncomfortable.

    Beautiful hotel with a great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the on-premise restaurant was terribly slow. The restaurant was not even that crowded so I don't know why the kitchen took almost am hour to bring us our food.

    Very comfortable family run hotel in a perfect location. Excellent breakfast selection. Very friendly staff. Parking available in the rear of the hotel. Decent Italian Restaurant right down the block-toward the main square

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault this hotel !

    Centre of the town with own private car parking. Extremely helpful and friendly staff and our room with 2 bedrooms ideal for a family. Excellent in-house dining and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very week wifi signal

    Old palace in the very center of Rothenburg. Very friendly and helpful staff. The owner and his father take care of the reception. We had booked a (the?) superior room, which was huge, but not updated, apparently for historical reasons. The bathroom was quite new with bathtub and shower. As the tv set was not working in our room due to a lightning strike, the owner put the next room at our disposal just to watch tv! This one was a standard room, which was quite nice also. Should we return, we would book this kind of room. Excellent restaurant and buffet breakfast. All-in-all, a very nice overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Italian restaurant near the hotel had a bad day when we were there. Our food took more than an hour to come. Not really acceptable.

    The restaurant in the hotel is very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to a beautiful garden park just outside the city gate at the end of the street. A short walk up the street takes you to the market square, the city center. There are many restaurants and cafes. We took a ride on a horse carriage with a woman driver who stopped every so often to provide us with a bit of history, which made the ride much more interesting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were cosy and had everything they needed. The staff were very friendly. While we were there, the hotel was struck by lightning (first time in more than 50 years according to the owner) and even though some facilities were down, we still felt like we were being looked after well. We stayed here with our parents, and they gave us rooms together in a little wing that could be shut off as a suite. I wasn't expecting that, and my parents really enjoyed the extra room. The hotel is in a great location within the old town. Not in the middle of the busy spots, but very close to it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent and the staff was very polite. Extremely well located, beautiful biergarten with good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space for family with kids

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds a bit soft, dated decor

    location, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better if they do hv a shower curtain despite there is only a bath.

    A very different style hotel, quiet and good for a relaxing holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and and room is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, well maintained, lovely property and friendly attentive staff. Beautiful town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The food, the rooms, the staff, and the service were all exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: