Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kleinhuis Hotel Mellingburger Schleuse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mellingburgredder 1, 22395 Hamburg, Germany

#138 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in the heart of nature in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the distance from the city center, but other than that there is nothing I didn't like.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast (included in room price) - very fresh - eggs to your liking (scrambled, hard boiled, fried eggs), ham, cheese, salmon, etc. Extremely good WiFi. Free parking. Very quiet. Very clean and comfortable room. I slept very good. Wonderful surroundings - next to a small river in the middle of a park. You are in the city but at the same time you are in the heart of nature. If you like quiet, this is the place for you. If you want to visit Hamburg you can do it too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable traditional hotel in a delightful setting.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift to the second floor. There is no water heater or tea and coffee in the room, although this is becoming international standard. The room size is greatly reduced by the sloping walls. But none of this was enough to spoil an otherwise very pleasant experience.

    The hotel is beautifully located in a rural setting in the Alster Valley, in a very pleasant suburb of northern Hamburg. The building style is also traditional and attractive. The restaurant is good, the staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay if you want to step back in time and the surrounding vegetation gives a relaxed f
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very musty when we arrived, it had a heavy feeling and very old look, it shocked me at first because i wasnt expecting it, but we aired the room out and left the window open all day and it changed the place. The history was interesting and once the musty smell left we were happy.

    I could appreciate the history of the place. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely property; great staff; learn to design a modern bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Germans, in general, don't put non-skid material in their showers, nor grab bars. Showers are dangerous as designed. In general placement of electrical plugs is very poor; no ground-fault interrupters in bathroom plugs -- extremely dangerous. Bathrooms without fans is just silly. Have to open window to air after stool use, but so wet/rainy that humidity is high. Windows without screens means bugs come through open windows. And, without A/C, the humidity is unpleasant. Germany is 'world class' in many respects, but even the most newly renovated hotels look like the owners never traveled to other parts of the world. Sound proofing also not up to modern standards. Doors not adequate; and, double locks are dangerous. If for safety one locks a door at night, make sure you leave the key in the lock. Otherwise, if there is ever a fire, you'll die trying to find the key in the dark, when the power fails.

    Excellent restaurant; delightful staff, especially the Dutch front office manager there both days that I was.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed cotton buds in the bathroom. As hotel is 4* it should be there.

    Great location. Surroundings excellent for an evening/morning jog. Staff greatly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and a bit hungry,no snacks or drinks available at the hotel or nearby, after asking a few staff we were able to buy a bottle of wine and take it up to our room, which was great.

    Easy drive from the airport, very quiet location set on the banks of a river with lots of walking trails to explore, breakfast was amazing, and the breakfast tables look out over the river

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice traditional German hotel in rural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free Wi-Fi advertised but could not get signal in my room! There appears to be renovation works ongoing with all Food being prepared in a mobile unit temporarily it would seem.

    Hotel location & setting is beautiful. Shower was powerful & perfect! Room was fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, professional team, friendly waiters, wonderful food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I had a wonderful weekend here around New Years Eve 2016/2017. We had our three small dogs with us. We enjoyed the warm, relaxed and professional atmosphere during our stay. The hotel is right next to the river in beautiful surroundings. The staff was very friendly and very professional. The hotel and restaurant offered nice and comfortable facilities and the food was very delicious. We will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    A great location near the river, and wonderful rooms and pool to relax in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The options for dining on the night of our arrival were somewhat limited although the food options we did have were very nicely cooked and presented

    We liked the options for breakfast which included hot as well as cold foods.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Hamburg beauty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just regret not to be close to the city, half an hour by feet to get the metro station, about 500m to get the bus station and medium 30-35€ for a taxi to reach the centre. Nothing else bad..

    Everything was wonderful, everyone of the personnel was really kind, gentle and professional. I was really happy of everything and everyone. They really helped me in everything I needed, even just a talk. The place is awesome, really calm, relaxing, beautiful. Amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay in historical building
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't imagine what. I didn't try the breakfast or the pool though.

    In a historical house like this so close to a river you might expect old, tired facilities or dampness, but none of that is the case! It is as quaint and historical as it should be on the outside and style on the inside, but the beds are super comfortable, the bathroom recently done and very well done and clean, water pressure in shower is excellent, windows and heating are all perfect. And despite a holiday weekend and several events very quiet. Lots of free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellenz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    The natuear and quait not long from City
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The natuear and quait not long from City

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The hotel has a quaint appeal and is comfy.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Face cloths in the washrooms for showering.

    Yes the bed was comfy and the breakfast great. The hotel is unique and we enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Very good restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good restaurant!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    In the country but close to the city. Old school charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Setting in the country near a lively suburban town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Great quiet place to rest in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to say

    The attendants were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice, but only German TV
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kun tysk TV!

    Ja, rigtig god morgenmad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Good for visitors with own Car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was Not made up After Second Night.

    Very quiet Location - only Noise Bords.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Over all a very nice hotel and I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in the room and when showering the window was in full view of a grass area and there was no privacy

    Nice size spacious room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    Good bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room, no coffee available in the evening, staff woke me in the morning,

    Good bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice view and environment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view and environment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    good sleep, perfect breakfast, quick morning drive to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    fairly simple room, and everything had a strange (old-like) smell in the hotel

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Location and facilities very biutiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities very biutiful

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24