Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mennicken 3 stars

Jülicherstraße 80, 52146 Würselen, Germany

#2 of 4 hotels in Würselen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 352 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small but well appointed hotel close to the motorway, yet quiet and secluded. An evening menu in the restaurant to suit all tastes and appetites, big or small, and a fantastic buffet breakfast. Good parking and strong wifi. Staff cheerful, friendly and helpful. Well equipped and comfortable room, with good sized bathroom and excellent shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV in the common room from last era.

    It was nice weekend for us. Good location for traveling around Aachen, Cologne, Roermund. We liked comfortable sleep, cleanness, very good breakfast , especially on Sunday. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minus is location - hotel is located in a small town and is reachable by car. If you are not driving, it might be easier to stay in some larger city nearby.

    The accomodation exceeded our expectation. We have booked a room in the building which is 800 m fro the main building of a hotel which was a surprise. But when we have seen our accomodation, it appeared that it is not just a room. It was a full part of the building in our disposal, with a winter garden, library large living room, cosy kitchen and 2 toilets, and cute chocolates on the beds. I definitely recommend you to book the accomodation that 800 m away! And it was written on the booking that check in is available till 10-30 pm but the hotel was so kind to wait for us until 11.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    floor in my bedroom wasn't cleaned, I was in a single room 900 m away form the hotel with no facilities. It was noisy at night. The hotel seems nice but I wouldn't advise the single room. Although the price is not bad for a one night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a room which was 800 m away from the rest of the hotel. That was a bit inconvenient. The room was carpeted which I personally don't like since the air always feels a bit more dusty in carpeted rooms.

    Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were very welcoming, pleasent and helpful. It’s very easy to find from the Autoban with good secure parking. Cleaned to the highest standard, a comfortable bed, linen and towels fresh and sparkling white. The breakfast buffet offered a wide selection of cold meats, cheeses, scrambled egg, breads, juices, excellent coffee and cake / pastry. There is a very nice bar which serves good German beer and a good restaurant both well served by the barman / waiter. The hotel has many plants which can be enjoyed inside and outside. It is a very popular hotel and often fully booked on booking.com. When visiting Aachen this hotel is our first choice and rate it 5*.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Probably one of the nicest hotels in Germany we have ever stayed in. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpfull, I had a problem with a newly fitted tooth crown the day of arrival. They telephoned a local dentist who saw me straightaway then he didn't charge me for refitting the crown. The suite we stayed in was perfect, clean and comfortable. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed at Hotel Mennicken a couple of times now. Good location not far from the Autobahn network but far enough away so that there is no traffic noise and just the right distance for a stop off en route from the ferry ports for a trip deeper into Europe from the UK. Food is the restaurant is tasty and good value, staff are friendly, breakfast is good. Parking is out of sight from the road behind the property which is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it can be a bit quiet and creepy in the Suite as no one else was sharing it with us.

    The Suite was lovely, very comfortable and above all in great price. Breakfast was very nice and me and my family enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for 3 adults and 2 children (6 and 9 years old). We accepted the interesting offer for an appartment for the couple and children, and a separated room for the third adult (grandmother). On site we were announced that we have to pay overcost for additional beds for the two children (20E per night and per bed, +30%). The offer was calculated for the children to sleep in the same bed than the parents (is that a promotion for incestuous behaviour ?)! We paid and the children slept in another bedroom in the same appartment. Why this additional room was not initially offered to the grandmother ? The appartment is equipped with two rooms able to receive 4 people, We think booking.com should change the declaration of the bed number for this appartment in order to avoid bad surprise for the travellers.

    The size of the appartment was OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally cannot sleep on big medium soft pillows of this type so for next type i will pack up my own anatomical one, but my colleague in the other bedroom with the same pillows said she slept soundly.

    Impeccable services, so clean - almost unbelievable, hotel and the studio I booked are decorated and furnished with great taste. Best accommodation of this type so far and I travel a lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since some of the rooms of the hotel are facing a main street, in the morning you can be awaken by the traffic.

    The bed was comfy, very good breakfast, good location if you want to visit Aachen and the region. There is a bus stopping in front of hotel that takes you to Aachen in appr. 25 min. The restaurant serves excellent quality food, really very delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was too soft. When my neighbor showered, the pipes were somewhat noisy.

    The room and bathroom were very clean. Bathroom was fully renovated, while the beds and closets are older.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a family room, but they charged us for the child bed bed 20 euros extra per day. It was not a family room we got from them. The parking was full... Very basic limited breakfast..

    The bathroom..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pity we could't stay longer and check the restaurant for dinner.

    Cozy place, very helpful staff and good breakfast. Convenient location, just a short drive to Aachen. Will stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found nothing to fault this Hotel.

    Wi-Fi worked at a good rate all over the hotel. Breakfast very good selection of cooked meats and cheese with cooked eggs available. Restaurant meals were excellent (we ate in every night)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little privately run hotel friendly owner and staff with traditional in house restaurant and good breakfast .Nice room and bathroom good shower all spotless. It's not the Ritz but it's comfortable has good wifi and for the price best value for money I have had in a long time would defiantly return and recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Needed extra pillows and a kettle would have been nice. Some staff's English was lacking but we managed to communicate!

    It was clean and comfortable. Good value for money. It was ideally located for my trip. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi Internet connection in terrible. The hotel has no Air Conditioning or Fans and it is really hot in the rooms.

    The breakfast and the dinner manue was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in the annex 800m from hotel. Its a house and i wish it were mine. Wonderful accomodation. The main hotel has a restaurant serving good food at reasonable prices. We will return

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    charged us for cappuccino there was a small fridge, but some cutlery would help

    spacious you can feel the local atmosphere in the family house yes its not very close to Aachen, but that's what we wanted a quiet small village family hotel and a parking for our car

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticise at all.

    This hotel is only five minutes from the A44 motorway so perfect for an overnight stop. We had a lovely room, with an excellent modern bathroom with a large shower. The restaurant was very cosy, we ate in the bar area but there was also a lovely light restaurant at the back. We liked it so much we've booked again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location from the Autoban and to Aachen. The bedrooms are always clean and comfortable. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. There was a good breakfast buffet with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was all excellent.

    This was our 4th stay at this hotel and, again, we were delighted. Very helpful staff, great food and high comfort combined with excellent value make this our favourite night stop when en route to Germany from the Channel ports.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    We were on our first night of our road trip to Bulgaria from the UK. Location was just right for our late morning trip through the Tunnel. We choose the suite and were not disappointed because it allowed us to sit outside on a nice patio area over looking a semi private open space with a local beer after our journey. The suite is basically the family apartment of the people who own the hotel, and was very spacious especially for 2 guests, and if you treat it as a hotel room rather than a self contained unit it was perfectly OK and as already indicated the out side area was a real bonus particularly on a warm evening. Walked back to the main hotel through the quite town to have a nice evening meal of local white asparagus which was a local speciality and luckily was in season. Breakfast was very pleasant and the staff including the owner of the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Good relaxed choice for our first night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was great - large, with access to garden (worth staying even if 600m from the hotel building)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i didn’t like is there are no shops around, theres nothing

    Beds were comfy, could do with more pillows 😊 the place is very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old dusty carpet.

    Comfortable bed and linen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, nice bed, clean room, good WiFi. What do you need more?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Comfortable rooms and wonderful breakfast with wide range of foods.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and room was unbearably warm.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Meals were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food, lovely place and very polite staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely, plenty of space and great value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft pillows and no extra ones in room

    Food very good in restaurant and good breakfast selection

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is poor.

    We booked apartments 800 meters from the hotel and it was perfect. Very nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were helpful, food was good typical German fare clean comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To far to work back to the mean hotel for breakfast

    Stayed in the suite and it was very nice but needs tea and coffee making facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean Rooms and good breakfast service. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was very pleasant as well with good service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning or even mosquito nets on windows, no bottled water in the room.

    Breakfast in good - restaurant is better than rooms in general.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite (800 meters away)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Second visitn. Says it all

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome staff, nice bedroom, bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind and friendly staff, very clean and cosy room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Pleasant clean acommodation

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was a little crowded with the toilet too close to the wall and shower cubicle.

    The room was very comfortable and facilities adequate. Breakfast was plentiful with a varied selection on offer. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi speed in the evening could be faster.

    The staff are always very helpful and friendly. The small restaurant is very good and the rooms are a good size.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very pleasant hotel with lovely owners and staff. We stayed two nights in the suite (800 m from the hotel and the restaurant) and it was more than nice. It is almost a complete house (only the kitchen is missing) with a big garden, a terrace, a winter garden, a huge living room, two bed rooms, a big bathroom and two toilets. Private parking in the closed patio. The breakfast was rich and tasty. To get into Aachen only ten minutes. The main street Jülicher Strasse is the road where you can find everything you need, and which is your straight way to Aachen :)

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy rooms. You could hear every word the other guests said in their rooms, even though we all tried to keep our voices down. Uncomfortable beds and pillows. Management related staff was extremely unfriendly. Had dinner in restaurant. Vegetables had been re-heated several times, were brown and wizened. When we complained the senior landlord (about 80 years old) came to patronize us and tell us to stop complaining. We were so offended by him. My partner had a gout attack at night after he had the goulash.

    The room and the bathroom were clean. Breakfast ok.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I lost my key (RFID type), unfortunately, and they have not been able to program a new one, so I had to always bother the personnel to open my room :-)

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only improvement I could suggest is for coffee making facilities to be in the rooms, however, saying that, there is a wonderful bakery 2 mins. from the gate which sells fantastic coffee

    We stayed in the Suite which is approximately 1km from the hotel. It is the whole ground floor of a house with a beautiful garden, sitting area and pond, very relaxing. There is a great Hof within a 2 minute walk for food and beer (should you wish to) by turning left out of the gate. The premises has very secure Parking and makes for a lovely escape. We stay there to visit a large retail Motor bike store. Breakfast is great when travelling back to the main hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wi-fi some times was not working

    very friendly Staff and owners. I recommend. excellent breakfest for very goooooood price. Food in restaurant very good quality

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No issues!

    Very friendly, helpful owner/staff Excellent restuarant - delicious evening meal. Ample parking. Quiet location+comfy bed = great night's sleep - thankyou!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good experience so no complaints

    Nice, clean hotel with very helpful staff in addition to which good breakfast, decent bar and nice room. About 20(ish) minutes by bus from central Aachen which should not put people off as direct service and stop close to hotel. Would stay here again if visiting Aachen

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no lift, and our rooms were on the third floor.

    Rooms and bathrooms are ok for a stop-over. We had no breakfast there. Tha lady who met us was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were too late for breakfast and the staff was extremely polite to serve us breakfast. They had to bring all the food back again. Thank you very much for that!!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the breakfast was not up to the standard or quantity we have had on previous stays.

    The location from the Autoban and the ease of driving into Aachen.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Easy to find excellent evening meal and breakfast On arrival the hotel is closed in the afternoon on a Saturday but ring the bell and someone will let you in show you your room they then offered us a drinks from the bar. So all good a tidy one night stop en route for us

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift

    Staff superb. Bus stop right outside hotel very easy access to Aachan. Although lunch was no longer being served we were offered a wonderful salad. Easy parking. Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi was not connected when we arrived in the suite 800 meters away from hotel and we could not get it to work. It should have been set up before we arrived. Kitchen area was locked no plates or glasses available or fridge.

    The breakfast was good and staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relative small room, internet tv without Belgian and Dutch channels

    Excellent location for walking, visit to cities (Liege, Maastricht, Cologne, ect). Breakfast, also good location for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Gorgeous 2 bedroom apartment with living room, 2 sitting rooms, dining room, and 2 bathrooms. Large, beautifully landscaped back yard. Much more than we expected for a great price. Will definitely consider returning for a longer stay, if access to the kitchen is possible. Wonderful breakfast was served at main Hotel approximately 1km away. Bus stopped nearby for easy access into Aachen.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Delicious dinner and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had this enormous flat some hundred meters away from the hotel…. it was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Comfy bed, convenient for the motorway and a very nice restaurant. The breakfast was impressive too.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel, the suite we had for the 4 of us was huge. It was like an apartment.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor WiFi Signal in the Room

    Excellent Food

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kind and friendly staff. Clean environment. Tasting and rich breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cant fault

    Fantastic value for money Clean, comfortable and great food

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Even though I arrived late I was offered some food. Personally escorted to my room! Good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic room but perfect for my overnight stay. Great selection of food in the restaurant, dinner was fantastic!!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    no elavator

    the staff was very polite and helpful, very good breakfast and excellent food, the place was quiet and very clean

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A convenient overnighter from UK - nice welcome and supper available. parking easy and wifi ok.Spotless, comfortable room and good shower room.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow Internet, no water heater nor other possibility to make tea or coffee in the evening.

    Quiet, ample place, great Breakfast. Ample bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Couple

    slightly noise from road outside if windows left open

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and clean

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No Wifi. Annexe was 1/2 mile from the Hotel

    Friendly Helpful staff. Suite in the annexe was lovely.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: