Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercedes City 3 stars

Maarflach 17 a, Südstadt, 53113 Bonn, Germany

#28 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quiet but still close to center. Carefully maintained, clean and nice rooms, although not recently renovated. Very attentive staff and very good value for money. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly odd smell in the room. Very minor but did make us wonder what it was. Pillows were also a little flat and there was only one per bed that we saw.

    Breakfast was typical German but excellent selection of foods with cooked to order eggs and coffees. The apartments were nicely furnished with just enough furniture for two people, and we easily accommodated a friend having drinks in the room after dinner without it feeling crowded or uncomfortable. Reception was very friendly and helpful, and there is a parking garage around the corner that they were able to direct us to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow wasn't good enough and lack of lighting to read in bed. TV remote didn't work very well at all.

    Good quality breakfast for a vegetarian. Staff very, very helpful with a travel problem I had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was good for one person, room's definitely cozy. Staff speaks English, but with some problems. Location was perfect for my purposes. Can recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to Anuga exhibition (Cologne) were all hotels in the region at least double the price. Also this hotel. 170 Euro for a hotel that normally max. 80 Euro will cost.

    Friendly people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a decent, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were friendly and it is in a good location. The breakfast was also reasonable value. Overall, it was very good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    way too costly for the Standard, half price would fit for this small and very tight Hotel. Can hardly turn around in the small rooms, no elevator. Building seems from the 50s after WW2 constructions that hardly fit the business traveler standards of 2017. Seems the same for many overpriced Inner City Hotels in Bonn

    Breakfast very good, excellent service and supportive and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom fan runs for quite some time after it has been switched off

    Comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom, desk workspace, basic but fresh and tasty breakfast offering, shoe polishing machine is a welcome touch, close to the city and public transport

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is a little bit away from Bonn Hbf. But this is not a problem.

    Room was big and very clean. Everything was good. If you have to stay in Bonn, you can select this hotel without any hesitation. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    average location down a narrow road. single bed. no extra bedding. one flat pillow. no hotel facilities. no bottled water. not easy to find. Very average breakfast. Would not stay again. not suitable for short stay, its really only for longer stay. Also very expensive.

    not much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The amount of hot dishes for the breakfast could be bigger.

    I stayed there for two nights in on of the apartments. The hotel itself looks like an old tenement house converted into hotel but nevertheless gives the required amount of comfort and service :) The apartment has a small kitchen, full fridge (quite fair prices), and two beds (together with flatscreen tv and radio). Served breakfast was various, however the amount of scrambled eggs was really looow :) Buliding is really close to the city center. I was even surprised that it took me around 6 minutes to reach the old town. Hotel has a very good WiFi (5G).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, they told me to try and find a spot on the streets. I drove around for 20 minutes and finally found a spot 1km away. That was disappointing.

    Great breakfast, many choices! Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no lift in the main building

    Small, clean hotel on a good location, 5 min from the city center. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Nicer breakfast and helpful staff. It's good to know that apartments are not in the same building with main building the hotel where rooms and reception are, but in the building just around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before 7AM there was already considerable noise coming from the ground floor where the breakfast was going to be served. The room was too warm. All the TV channels were german spoken.

    Very close to the city center. A very good breakfast offer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great little apartment and we were given a free parking space outside our room (only one free space). The room had everything you might need except maybe a fan in the absence of air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just two minor things. They announce bike-rental, but actually one is stolen and one is damaged, so there are no bikes ;). I was looking forward to that, but it is just a small minus. The breakfast was ok but conventional (except for the great fruit salad!), I would probably try other places around in Bonn city that offer good vegetarian and vegan options . But the serving of tea and coffee is very friendly. over all good experience!

    Very friendly receptionists, big room (i booked comfort -single, single rooms seem to be significantly smaller). I liked that I had a desk and a view from my room. In the first room I stayed, the mattress was not great and people were talking loudly in the courtyard, but the hotel-managers were really friendly and flexible and gave me another room the next night, which was perfect. I recommend staying on the street side (it is a very small quiet street). the location for me was just perfect: Close to Rhine , University, an Hofgarten, not directly in the old city, but a 5-10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good n it's in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi connection was not as good as expected.

    The hotel was very close to the bus center, which was useful for my business tranfers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were way too soft.

    It is a nice, clean and cozy hotel. Spacious rooms and good internet connection. Good breakfest for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location near the center of city and railway station. Simple but very tasty greakfast

    Small room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark; the bathroom was not cleaned well.

    Perfect location; kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this amount of money one will expect more comfort.

    Cosy place, nice location and breakfast and a very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff, good position, fresh and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception closes at 8 PM. This was an issue because I booked in the morning and arrived past 8PM. Having no e-mail access I missed a code sent via e-mail that unlocks the door. Therefore, I had a hard time retrieving the key of the room.

    Very clean room and hotel. Fair breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Very nice staff: reception. breakfast and cleaning crew, quiet and convenient location, close to train station, room was comfortable with good lighting

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet street if you don't take the church in account right across the street where the members gather for wedding parties, singing, music... The school next door also woke us up in the morning. Not so quiet after all. We couldn't find a "do not disturb"sign to hang on the door. This lead to cleaning lady walking in our room while we were still asleep. She started talking in German which we didn't understand, it was an awkward moment. Building is noisy as well. No parking. I called a few days before our arrival to dubble check and was assured that during weekends there is always space in the street, but wasn't the case when we arrived. Room could use some refreshment.

    Good bed, spacious room, walking distance from center

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking, that is promised in the description is actually a stand-alone company next door. Not expensive, but needs to be communicated better.

    We came for a festival, location could not be better. Nice little place.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The second morning there were no towels in the bathroom, the staff has forgotten to put new towels after they took the old ones.

    Nice hotel in the city center, not far away from the Rhine. Flexible arriving times.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Considering outside temperature over 30 deg.C and high humidity I missed an air condition.

    Great location, close to the center, but very quiet. It was not until breakfast I discovered I am not alone in the hotel. Breakfast is perfect, like in 4 or 5 star hotels. Come again, warmly recomend to the others.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The only problem - there is no elevator

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, nice canteen and good choice at the buffet, following my request prepared breakfast earlier than scheduled,

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a bit far away from the station. There are not many rooms, so the overall service is quite basic. No facility for coffee or hot water for tea. It's a good hotel for sightseeing, but not recommended for business purpose if you need coffee to work.

    The hotel is surrounded by normal houses and very quiet. There is a small pond in the garden of a neighboring house, and the slight sound of flowing water was even enhancing the peacefulness, I liked a lot. Hofgarten is quite close and good for a small walk, very relaxing. Room is relatively large considering the pricing. Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy street

    breakfast & clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a good hotel for two nights stay. Wifi was working well and hotel was in a walking distance to buss station.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    There is no elevetor

    Silent place

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was great Convenient location on quite area

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice people who make you feel very welcome. Breakfast is also great

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room in particular was very small, around 6 square meters including bathroom.

    Nice location, Friendly staff, Clean rooms

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Mercedes City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: