Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Meienbergstraße 26-27, 99084 Erfurt, Germany

#8 of 32 hotels in Erfurt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1525 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a wonderful old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have done with a safe for laptop etc. but this would not deter me from coming back here

    The location was just perfect. Everywhere in walking distance. Staff helpful. Coffee in abundant supply. I'm digressing a bit but I had never been to Erfurt before and the city more than exceeded my expectations so much so that sightseeing more than business prevailed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, excellent location for exploring Erfurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was good

    The hotel is nice, rooms well appointed, breakfast good - however, they do charge a premium price and for that I guess I was expecting just a little bit more. It is defnitely a good, recently modernised hotel.... but at 140 Euros per night for a fairly standard room felt just a bit on the pricey side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    This hotel, Shows you why its called Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    The Personal that received us was amazing. First I want to specified the point that this was during Christmas event in Erfurt which is within Germany at least extremely popular. That said literally all hotels according to booking.com and other booking pages was totally rented out, even the way down to hostels and Bed and breakfasts. But for some reason I just updated the page and Mercury had a spot open, so of course in "flashmans" speed I managed to reserve it. Then later that day I came in there, had issue with my cards. None was able for some reasons to reserve the amount of money the hotel cost.Which was suprisely low compare to the others I then saw. ( NB! Card issue later solved, not the hotels problem). So selfish I was not considering it was a queue pretty much all the way back out into the street, I asked polite if it was ok, if I stepped outside to make some calls. Without any hesitating the lady replied None at all sir, you just go a head." I am a businessman pretty much living on hotels on weekly basis, and never have I seen such a service and patience. Not to mention helpful and understandably. Luckily during the time on the phone, my other part of the brain kicked in, and reminded me that I actually had some cash left in my pockets, so ended up just pay cash... But still... I just found my new hotel when I go visit my steps kids again, because here I felt HOME! Thank you Mercury for not letting me be out in the snow in xmas, and I recommend you to any people. Elevator is fast and easy to use. Stairs if you are not so fan of it also of course. Breakfast offered. Can not grade it as I had to haste before I got that pleasure. They offer parking space with is in its own safe backyard with own entrance to building. Bar at reception. And of course most important for turists, They speak perfectly English. Is as in the middle of Erfurt as it mostly possible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    It was a good and clean hotel, smack in one of the best...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite simple and the decoration old. For me this was not a problem, but for some it might be.

    It was a good and clean hotel, smack in one of the best locations possible. Close to every point of the city so you can walk just about everywhere, but far enough of the center so that the noise is reduced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, easy to reach, hotel in Altstadt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was very hot, above the 30´s outside, we would have liked air condition in the room. Otherwise everything was fine!

    The hotel is very well placed in the Altstadt. Easy to park your car in the hotels parking garage. We got a rather small but silent room towards the backyard of the hotel. Very nice terrass where we had breakfast. Very service minded staff in the reception. Fast check in and out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in the room would have been even more convenient.

    Very comfortable room with lovely outlook, breakfast of excellent quality and variety. Empty fridge in the room for our use. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Location in the city centre near Krämerbrücke is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi good have been better. The rooms were either too warm or too cold.

    Location in the city centre near Krämerbrücke is good. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    Beware the hold on your credit card
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beware! Mercure takes an advance reservation on the credit card upon check-in but does not use that same reservation when you are checking out and does not release that reservation. Your c/c will be charged the amount of the bill and will have a reservation for a similar amount for up to 28 days - blocking that amount from being used. The non release of the reservation was policy, I was told. The hold automatically expires after 28 days. Upon check-in I specifically asked about it, and a note was made to release the hold upon check-out. It was not done and I had to call the hotel afterwards (of course, I should have checked my bank and c/c statement on check-out). Also: wanting to settle the bill the evening before to avoid the morning queue, I found a receptionist who did not know how to do that and could not do it. And who also would not call a manager to ask how it could be done. Business hotel anyone? [the next hotel on my trip actually encouraged people to check out early, for the convenience of all] Poor internet

    Nice location in the old town of Erfurt, within walking or public transport distance of the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Good and clean rooms in the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free internet is very slow, but you can upgrade to fast internet € 6,00. Breakfast expensive but good.

    Good and clean rooms in the centre. Car Park at the hotel ( € 15,00 )

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guaranteed parking. Small car park costing €15 a day. No "Do not disturb" door hanger, so we were twice disturbed by enthusiastic, early room servicers.

    Perfect location for central Erfurt and tram stops.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.4
    Nothing but the location and the (expensive) garage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and windows could not be opened except by staff that was very late in coming. Internet rather slow. Elevator problems.

    Nothing extraordinary for the price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    very nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircondition, hotel provides fans but offers them only on request by customer, fairly hard mattress, breakfast room too small, especially during morning peak times,

    excellent location in the old town, close to all important tourist attraction and not far from main railway station and tram stops, good breakfast, friendly front and breakfast room service, free of charge beverages from room fridge (stayed in superior room), good internet connection, coffee making facilities in room, numerous domestic and international tv-stations,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.1
    The location is great and the room is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asking to the staff where to have dinner and getting "in the city center" as an answer is not why I consider a good advice.

    The location is great and the room is nice. I did not have time to try the breakfast so i cannot comment on it

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have preferred a double bed with a single mattress (instead of a twin bed) parking is not included and quite expensive

    very well located in the city centre (close to Kraemerbruecke and Anger) but still very quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Location, staffs, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has no airco and the pillow is not comfortable to sleep on

    Location, staffs, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was so hot, I had to call to have them open the window, and there wasn’t a fan.

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft pillows. Expensive breakfast.

    The size of the room and location. Very good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, perfect for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed, good location of the hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Very clean;
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no central light in the room, so a little bit dark in the evening

    Very clean; nice sauna; big testy breakfast; good personal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and ideal location for visiting family in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very expensive.

    Very comfortable and ideal location for visiting family in Erfurt. Very convenient for centre and sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel, great breakfast, good location for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel, great breakfast, good location for walking through the old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located within the city center, easy access to public transportation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable Walking from train station with luggages.

    Nearby area of the river and downtown shops

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    very convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location halfway between train station and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location halfway between train station and main Christmas Market. Clean and comfortable. Quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, excellent staff, very comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for 17 euros per person was WAY too expensive, so we ate elsewhere.

    Location right in the old town was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Dirty sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty sheets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Love the town of Erfurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night; disrupts our sleep.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location. Very helpful staff. Good English speakers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning for warmer weather

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable bed and bathtub, and excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable bed and bathtub, and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    a wonderful place to stay in Erfurt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was too hard for me.

    Excellent staff, great location, very clean and modern!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Room 224 with bathtub

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice spaeous room, quiet, at a good location, decently prized
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff starting to refer one to another desk before doing anything else

    Nice spaeous room, quiet, at a good location, decently prized

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Charging for the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charging for the parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    Standard European 4* tourist hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listen of very move of neighbors. Boring staff in the morning.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast. Lovely (firm) bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.9
    breakfast was overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was overpriced

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Decent place with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit too firm and the room was warm; no air conditioning

    Great location and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay for a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well nothing really maybe no air con is a problem at a very hot day

    Nice Location easy to walk to all major point of interests. friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.3
    location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    got a free voucher for a newspaper but they had no english newspapers. also when checked in the held €143 on my credit card and when i chevked out i still had to pay the full room rate to, and was told i will get the €143 euros back in 3 weeks. overall paid €300 euros for 1 night stay !!

    location was great. free complimentary drinks in the room was good

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.3
    The location of this hotel is perfect - walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Before picking this hotel I read the reviews. I saw a couple people complaining about the towels and thought to myself this was a silly complaint. Well I'm going to need to be picky myself and say their towels are horrible they REALLY don't reflect a 4-star hotel quality.

    The location of this hotel is perfect - walking distance from everything. The staff was really nice and spoke great English - thankfully! Our room was fine - two single beds pushed together which seems like a European thing - enough space to go around with a bit of an outdated yet cozy decor. We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    7.5
    The staff were brilliant and helpful with anything we asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast at 17€ was very expensive for coffee and a bowl of cereal. The towels for the quality of hotel were very poor far too thin. The car parking was hit & miss.

    The staff were brilliant and helpful with anything we asked of them.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.2
    I had booked two rooms and on arrival we found that they had...
    • Family with older children

    I had booked two rooms and on arrival we found that they had only booked the double room and no single room. I had to stand my gound and insist this was incorrect. after 15 minutes they found their error and provided the single room as booked, not a nice experience.after a 12 hour journey to get there

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Great location - in the heart of the old town close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced breakfast (17 euros). As we had a last moment booking it was part of the deal so we didn´t have to pay for it but otherwise it wouldn´t be good value for money. The bathroom and the basement (garage entrance) rather on the dated side.

    Great location - in the heart of the old town close to sights and restaurants, supermarket just round the corner, free wifi, very nice staff, comfortable bed. We had a really quiet room:-).

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.9
    The location central and close to many restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small with ceiling slopes towards the floor. Not much head room. The room I had was advertised as a quiet room in the court yard. The court yard was not quiet. No air-conditioning which in itself is not a big problem but the windows only canted open a few cm's from the top which resulted in poor air flow and no cooling effect. Not so bad this time of year but summer could be worse.

    The location central and close to many restaurants. Breakfast was very extensive. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    Centrally placed in the Altstadt with easy road access and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like, great stay - but EU17 for breakfast is ridiculous when you consider the price of dinner in a restaurant or pub in Germany! We bought pastries from the local bakery and used the in-room coffee instead!

    Centrally placed in the Altstadt with easy road access and a private car park with lots of space. Easy walking to all the shops and restaurants. Clean and tidy in line with the usual Mercure standards.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.3
    location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    G.ood location from tegel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is kind of a hassel and inconvenient but adequate

    G.ood location from tegel. Lots of really good restaurants within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    The hotel location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel location, the friendliness of the staff the quality of the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    Room to warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room to warm

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Location Parking Wifi Staff Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast included

    Location Parking Wifi Staff Room

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Air conditioning.
    • Couple

    Air conditioning. Comfortable beds and in ro WiFi

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Friendly staff ,parking on site ,nice clean room, minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff ,parking on site ,nice clean room, minutes from both the old town and town centre with plenty of bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    Personal is really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel a litle bit old, rooms needs some small rekonstruction

    Personal is really great! Nothing to say bad...

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great. Location to the merchants bridge and transport

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good location. Friendly staff.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: