Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Oberhausen am Centro This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Max-Planck-Ring 6, 46049 Oberhausen, Germany

#14 of 33 hotels in Oberhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a place to sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not modern. But didn’t expect it to be.

    It’s fine for somewhere to sleep. It’s located in an industrial area so not much to walk to, but I didn’t need that for my trip. I wouldn’t choose this hotel if it was for a holiday etc. Bathroom and main room where a little dated, but not bad. Parking was good, no need to pay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to the railway station and the biggest shopping center...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful restaurant (nothing to choose from the menu, salads are too salty etc).

    Close to the railway station and the biggest shopping center in the northern-western part of Germany (CentrO). Nice and clean rooms. Wide variety of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The proximity of this hotel to CentrO by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the morning, throughout the whole morning and the point of booking a hotel is pretty much sleeping and washing, if one of these two thing is missing the experience will be unpleasant. At check out they apologised and did not let us pay for a deink we had the night before but I think they should have handled it differently: no updates throughout the whole morning, we had to contantly go and ask, nor we were offered to go for a complementary breafast since we were delaying our check out due to the impossibility of showering so even tho it was not entirely their fault, they could have handled it a bit more professionally.

    The proximity of this hotel to CentrO by car. Bit far if you are walking. The room was nice and clean. So was the bathroom. Not a four stars more like three stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    We could not find any decent restaurant(s) near the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not find any decent restaurant(s) near the hotel. It was a bit too far from the center of the town. I did not like the fact that I have reserved a room for 1 adult and 2 children of 11 and 14 years old, i.e. actually I ordered 3 beds, however, I learned that there were only two single beds in the room only upon arrival at the hotel... I do not know whether this was a trick from booking.com or a miscommunication between booking.com and the hotel, but this created a major inconvenience... the room was too small, and there was not enough space to add a rollaway bed...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Check-in around 20:00 meet evening shift staff was very...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad experience from the reception when we check-out. No basic polite words as "good morning", "good-bye", and no "thank you" after received my payment. But I've said all these to her.

    Check-in around 20:00 meet evening shift staff was very friendly. Service in the restaurant was really great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Good place for visiting CentrO, Aquapark and Legoland Discovery Center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no much in walking distance, but with car everything is reachable. - Restaurant does not work on Sunday, but we found nice pizza place: L'Osteria - Breakfast is too simple and absolutely the same. (2 days) - No fridge or bar in the room

    + Clean and quiet, close to Oberhausen CentrO + Parking + Friendly Personal + Restaurant (sometimes after long day you just want to stay in the hotel and relax)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    staff , surrounding inside and overall quality of the room...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bunch of drunk people (must have been hotel guests) just under your window untill over 3 at night was no pleasure

    staff , surrounding inside and overall quality of the room was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    Just for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in the bathroom. No space in the parking lot although we asked for it previously (whereas there was space at the street). High price of breakfast. Our room was located on the ground level in front of the parking lot, we heard people speaking while smoking.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar is very close to the downstairs rooms so you can hear if there are a few more noisy customers in the evening. There is literally nothing around the hotel other than a bowling alley and one asian imbiss. 10 min walk to a bakery. For anyone without a car, it's a bit inconvenient. No busses to speak of either. We were fine because we were there for an event in the Turbinhalle but for anything else it's a bit out of the way.

    Very clean, very friendly staff. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Location was convenient for the arena and shopping center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used my credit card to make a purchase on my computer in the hotel room. When I went to check out my card wouldn't work. I knew the card was working just an hour prior. I later called the bank and found out my card was hacked so it had to be when I used it in the hotel room on the hotel wifi. The hotel front desk girl did not handle the situation very professionally by telling me they have no problems running other cards which insinuated that I was deliberately trying to use a bad credit card. I tried to use another credit card and it also wouldn't work. I called the bank and was told there was no record of me trying to use it at the hotel. Something was not right.

    Location was convenient for the arena and shopping center. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful and comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the boy said the breakfast was included. At the check out the woman told us we had to pay €108(!!) euros for the breakfast, because it was not included. It was a little difficult to find, because it was situated in an industrial area.

    Beautiful and comfortable room! Loved the breakfast, a lot of choices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Great staff, clean and decent rooms, but bad internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality and bandwidth of the Wifi internet connection is pretty bad. In the evening, it can be difficult to get a connection. And even when you get a connection, it's typically unreliable and low bandwidth.

    Staff are always friendly, professional and forthcoming.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Mercure at it's finest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional staff. Big, clean rooms. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    the place to stay when you need to be in this region
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    price quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comparatively value-for-money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    "Fab"
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, walking distance to Cenro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious rooms, wonderful staff, lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, wonderful staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Very helpfull staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to invest in more robust room key technology. Key was slow to work. Guest computer did not work

    Spacious room. On bus route to the centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Not too far from centro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Not too far from centro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay for our visit, the breakfast was outstanding as were the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location for what we wanted

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant is in de weekenden gesloten!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is in de weekenden gesloten!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    The personnel was kind and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No minibar, no bath tub, no safe vault it's a bit light for a four star hotel.

    The personnel was kind and really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but need enhancment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water system was not working which makes me taking shower early morning with cold water with 10 C outside temperature.

    Good and quite hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Large room, direct access to the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room, direct access to the parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Happy faces!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Winterdance im kultemple

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    6.3
    Rooms were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a industrial estate, price of breakfast way to high

    Rooms were good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Good value, helpful friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark is a little bit small.

    The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    There is no fridge in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no fridge in the room. So keeping food & beverages fresh is a problem in case staying more than one night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, good choice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendfull staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    The rooms were clean, modern and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not included in the price. 18 Euro per person is expensive.

    The rooms were clean, modern and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Parking open to street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking open to street

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have Free breakfast. Because the price is too expensive.

    Bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in a room just off the reception which became a bit noisy one night because it was also the bar area. Book a room further away if this would bother you.

    The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee provided.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Room was clean, quiet and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Telephone in room did not work and was not repaired whilst I was stopping in the hotel (ie it was still not working when I left after 2 days stay). Breakfast cost was somewhat high so I purchased breakfast at the Oberhausen Centro.

    Room was clean, quiet and well located. When I arrived I was very cold due to the bad weather and fortunately it was easy and quick to increase the temperature in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They made me aware of the Oberhausen Centro shopping centre and I managed to get a replacement mobile phone handset from there (mine was water damaged during the journey there). Free to use customer computer with internet access was useful.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.3
    excellent breakfast buffet, very kind personal, easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little bit noisy due to rail road behind hotel, not too bad because auf noise-insulated windows limited amount of German television channels

    excellent breakfast buffet, very kind personal, easy to reach by car - near motorway, nearby to Centro-shopping mall, Lego-theme park, Sea Life and musical stage, English and French television channels

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.0
    - Free parking, functioning and fast wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very expensive breakfast and no minibar you could use as a fridge - long walk to the city center

    - Free parking, functioning and fast wi-fi the chinese restaurant in front (cheap and tasty) - friendly service staff especially the cleaning ladies

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.8
    Stuff at reception were helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    During dinner in hotel's restaurant i didn't see waiters around and had to wait for while to ask for the bill.

    Stuff at reception were helpful Breakfast has very good varieties and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite the offering and make it look easy to connect the free WiFi it was impossible to get a decent connection , i gave up after one hour.

    Clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    We went to a concert in the Turbinehalle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tiny blanket. I slept alone in a 2 person bed. If I had been there with a partner, the blanket would have been too small.

    We went to a concert in the Turbinehalle. The Mercure is within a fair walking distance. Also, the Centro shopping mall is within a fair walking distance. If you go for these or similar purposes, the location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    amazing bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it is far from the city centre. hotel is planed to be reach by car.

    amazing bathroom. shower area is large and cosy. coffee machine in the room with capsules as compliment from the hotel. big room and quite place. nice green backyard.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, efficient staff, comfortable well-appointed room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was closed for a private function on the evening I was there - which wouldn't have been a problem in itself, but Oberhausen city centre isn't exactly blessed with other decent places to eat.

    Friendly, efficient staff, comfortable well-appointed room, free WiFi, comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Close to Duisburg Centro Mall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One day they forgot my wake up call. The other day they gave me a late wake up call. Glad my mobile was a back up. A filming crew arrived and parked their 2 trailers over 6 parking spaces. Had to park in the road. Close to railway line.

    Close to Duisburg Centro Mall. Reception willing to serve food Sunday late. Helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.0
    clean, good facilities, big room, quiet, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    absolutely no atmosphere, feels like one-night-motel, located inside industrial park, nothing around. bed soft, lousy pillow

    clean, good facilities, big room, quiet, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.6
    People were very friendly and helpfull, the room was A+...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although close to centre, didn't expect it to be on industrial edge of the city. Not really a problem since you're only minutes away.

    People were very friendly and helpfull, the room was A+ really modern and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    Arrived very late and did not have dinner but breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived very late and did not have dinner but breakfast was nice. Had a fresh omelette made. Brilliant staff. Room was comfi. Wifi great. Free parking.Great access and location. Thanks

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    No complaints but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints but nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.5
    Bar is ongezellig in de lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar is ongezellig in de lobby

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Good room, nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was rather messy Room was rather warm

    Good room, nice facilities. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All good

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    6.7
    Clean hotel with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean hotel with comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Well located for Centro shopping centre and local music venues.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Clean and comfortable room. Really quite even if we had a room on the ground floor. I really appreciated the tea maker in the room

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and reception was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found a disgusting hair on top of the toilet and the room was quite cold. Bed was not very comfortable.

    Breakfast was good and reception was nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.8
    Good rooms, good restaurant, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good rooms, good restaurant, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    I like polish speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like polish speaking staff. Fantastic room and bathroom with all we need

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    Terrific Staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrific Staff and location. Central to all attractions in Oberhausen and Bottrup. Great value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    5.8
    The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's the worst bed I've seen in quite a while. Woke up all broken and with an aching back.

    The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    good room, good breakfast, for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    good room, good breakfast, for a good price

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    proximity to Arena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    proximity to Arena

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Clean room, very friendly stuff, tasty breakfest, stable wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Back windows facing to noisy railways

    Clean room, very friendly stuff, tasty breakfest, stable wifi

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff Free parking Free Wireless LAN

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.0
    Close to arena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small bar, restaurant closed early.

    Close to arena!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rear windows are towards railway track

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    Nice big and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parked cars in front of the windows

    Nice big and clean room

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great Location! The hotel was accessible to all the attractions in Oberhausen. A five-minute drive to everything.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    Very well located 4 star hotel , good service, free parking,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very well located 4 star hotel , good service, free parking, not far from the Messe Essen and Düsseldorf Airport

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    completely bad place,very rude stuff and the room are horrible

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    5.8
    No safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No safe.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    6.3
    Awesome staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was very very weak.

    Awesome staff.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Mercure Oberhausen am Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: