Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Im Dammwald 1, 61381 Friedrichsdorf, Germany

#5 of 7 hotels in Friedrichsdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 404 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Mercure at it's best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    is kind of hard to get to the hotel if you don't have a car

    you can find there all you you can expect on a Mercure hotel, new furniture, top cleaning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Dated but convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel decor and rooms are tired. Small bar and limited facilities. Expensive for location and available amenities.

    Very convenient for the railway station and access to the Frankfurt Messe. Lovely breakfast. Helpful and welcoming team.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    good location, free parking, nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the temperature Inside the room was too cold (+/- 18 degree). The girl at the reception told me that the heater was not working. I took my shower with cold water, in a cold room. Room old style, bathroom even older.

    good location, free parking, nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.0
    Ok hotel, but no value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services could be better. Weak wifi. Bad ventilation in the restaurant. Old furniture. I've booked Mercure before, but trully ****. This one does not deserve 4 stars. Too expensive for its services and amenities.

    Good food. Ok mattrees.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    Just soso for me and only stay 2 weeks.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The speed of free wifi is very low, it can't open the movie website because of wifi still too low. And the room clear not enough, i have two times complaint to hotel assistant and final haven't get any support until checkout.

    The food just soso and very nice for sleep on here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Fare Hotel/I believe they are looking for Extra money for anything gusts request !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested to borrow an adapter as I was using UK laptop charger . They asked for €12. While they should respect their foreign gusts and should be provided by Hotel the cost to buy the adapter in UK is £1, Not everyone comes from Germany. I asked for late checking out while hotel had loads of room empty the hotel demonded €50 to stay till 6pm. They didn't really care about gusts flight times. I had to leave early and spent time in Airport which I was not happy.

    Good Location, clean, nice swimming Pool, good view of main street, massive park beside the hotel. Shopping malls very near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stopover :)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small car park, but I was told the hotel have allocated parking in the super market next door.

    It's about 10 mins drive from the A5 motorway, the hotel is set in quite a small pleasant town, the staff were pleasant, food served in the bar till 10pm, the waiter was very good helping us with translations. The room was large, shower good. We enjoyed our overnight stay very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    2.5
    bad experience in germany
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With following I am sending my hotel's review. The hotel shows up cute, but unfortunately single rooms are too small and low. Seems to stay in prison, but not in the hotel. You should pay even for water. I have never seen it for 30 days visiting hotels. I should say that I was very disappointed with this hotel and will never use it anymore. I will leave it for germans, who probably stays well in small and essential places.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, terrible pillows, wifi was terrible and barely worked, very old hotel in need of an update. When I went to check out, they tried to charge me an extra €30. I had not taken anything from the mini bar or ordered breakfast, so I showed the manager the rate I had been given at the time of booking. She argued with me and insisted that the hotel should not have to lose out on money because I had been sent the wrong rate! Atrocious customer service. Do not stay here!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    4.6
    Find somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated, old fashioned room -- air con / heating controls did nothing (room was hot in the evening and cold in the morning), reading light broken. Only one thin duvet provided. Barman wasn't present at the bar half the time, so often had to wait around 10-15 mins for him to wander back and serve a drink. WiFi was slow. The last Mercure I stayed at, in Dortmund was actually nice. This, not so much.

    Only good think about this hotel is it's proximity (10-15m walk) to the train station -- regular trains run to Frankfurt. The blonde lady working on reception when I checked out seemed genuinely interested in how my stay was when I left, so that was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    5.0
    Boiler in the room and a selection of tea/coffee
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a single room. It was very small and dark and there was no heating when I entered the room... It was really cold. Bathroom is small and very simple for a Mercure and for the paid price. The bottle of water is not offered but is charged 5.50EUR... Which is amazing for the standard of the hotel and the price of the room

    Boiler in the room and a selection of tea/coffee

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a quiet environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neat and clean room in a quite hotel price/quality is OK Room offers everything you expect. Friendly personell 7 minutes walk to station for S-Bahn into Frankfurt Great supermarket next door.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Good and clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As for 4 stars I expected GYM, amd may be more modern style. Wifi is very slow.

    There was iron, pool and many other small things which is made your stay nice. Free parking. Good breakfast. Good staff. Possiblity for great and large early breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.3
    The personnel was nice and helpful, the room was nicely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering this is a 4 star hotel I was disappointed that the room was really small, as well as the bed. There was barely any room to put your suitcase down without almost falling over it. The same applies to the bathroom, it was extremely small. I was there in summer time and the room was awefully stuffy from the heat and every once in a while I could smell smoke from people smoking outside. The ventilation seemed not to have been in good shape. Considering the price I paid each night for the room i can say it was way overpriced.

    The personnel was nice and helpful, the room was nicely clean and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Clean, nice and comfortable accomodations for our last night's stay in Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was odd in that it had no door and the glass only covered half the entrance meaning the tile floor got sprayed with water while you showered, making it slippery and wet. The restaurant was outrageously expensive...$18 Euros for salmon.

    The bed had a perfect, soft pillow and comforter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect place to discover unexpected sides of Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna is only heated from 3 PM, should be possible to switch it on any time of the day.

    Close to the beautiful Hochtaunus forest hills, ideal for mountainbiking - while very close to cities Bad Homburg and Frankfurt. Top quality breakfast, excellent service in the bar. Good size swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    For business good hotel.nearest hotel to the party place .😉😋
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift too small, bathroom too small, No Fridge and safety locker in the room.

    Location is good. Receipt lady was very polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Hotel review
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very low signal

    Very near the working place , train station, supermarket and restuarant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Mercure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini.bar in the room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Bed was not good, very soft pillows, small room, bathroom...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not good, very soft pillows, small room, bathroom was very small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    I was having the impression that it is four star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was having the impression that it is four star hotel. But it’s not

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.0
    I expected much higher standards from Mercure hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness and services of the rooms

    The staffs behavior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy check in, very comfortable, not cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Tv only had 1 channel in English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv only had 1 channel in English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No specific parking. The Parking next to the hotel was perfect but got no instructions. So parked wrong first nights..

    AC, room, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    I liked the swimming pool and the sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the swimming pool and the sauna. Also the food was good with possibility to order to the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is good but expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good but expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    First class stay
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent location great hotel great very clean food fantastic just excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    In the middle of the small town with everything on a stones throw distance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Very small room.

    Near a super market, which was very convenient. Check-in was smooth and they gave me a higher floor with a view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    2.5
    lousy hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lousy hotel. too expensive . stande too small. not recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    3.3
    travel germany jobs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lousy hotel. too expensive for the service offered. too small rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good, staff is friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small, also the bathroom

    Breakfast was very good, staff is friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    nice hotel view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice hotel view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    great stay at the Mercure Bad Homburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms staff food and drink locality friendly

    everything was great here

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    I am always happiest when I stay In the Mercurr, when in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am always happiest when I stay In the Mercurr, when in Friedrichsdorf.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    Had read a few negatives so was a little concerned but to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the negative coments i had read on trip advisor which to me were not acurate.

    Had read a few negatives so was a little concerned but to my surprise the hotel was very good. Stayed in toom 504 which was a good size. Clean and vry comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Clean, quiet, good sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was full (I had to find a place on the neighboring streets), pool was closed for works (they were making scheduled 3-days cleaning but haven't notify me at the time of booking). Because parking and pool were the only reasons for me to choose this hotel (among many) I was of course not so happy.

    Clean, quiet, good sleep

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Over all verygood value for the dollar,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was warm weather and we had big feather duvets. Nice but just too warm.

    Over all verygood value for the dollar, if you are out in that area. Bit of a trip if you want to be in Frankfury.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    Excellent Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking a little limited.

    Excellent Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.3
    too noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too noisy. I waked up by the noise from next room's shower room. I think I will not use it next time.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast is excellent .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The towels are very old and thin and small size.

    Breakfast is excellent . Staff also excellent .

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Price of the breakfast not included in the room price.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Service was excellent and the staff very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything was great

    Service was excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.3
    I've stayed there a lot, and have always wondered who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've stayed there a lot, and have always wondered who pays 20 euros for there breakfast! Ridiculous!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Lovely staff made me very welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was very small and had a waterproof cover on the mattress which caused some discomfort

    Lovely staff made me very welcome

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Arranged discounted rate for taunus therme in bad homburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Arranged discounted rate for taunus therme in bad homburg

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.1
    Hotel is clean and modern.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noice from hallway in the morning. I did not check, but think cleaning staff made noise.

    Hotel is clean and modern. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    The location worked well for us;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was too expensive.

    The location worked well for us; the staff was very kind and helpful and the room was clean and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Very nice the building, the room very confortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say in negative

    Very nice the building, the room very confortable and clean. Everything perfectly working. Very good quality and price

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    It was a quite environment and comfortable room, rested nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All was fine.

    It was a quite environment and comfortable room, rested nice and easy. Thanks.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    The staff was beyond compare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was beyond compare. Always willing to help and went way beyond what we expected. Breakfast was superb. We highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.9
    Kind staff and nice, convenient standard room at good value...
    • Couple

    WiFi did not work.

    Kind staff and nice, convenient standard room at good value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    8.3
    Polite and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed comfort.

    Polite and welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    Room and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Room and Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.2
    Convenient for our purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient for our purposes. The staff was very friendly!

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: