Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Berlin Alexanderplatz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mollstr. 4, Mitte, 10178 Berlin, Germany

#442 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1129 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Functional business hotel in East Berlin landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A business hotel with professional atmosphere, functional but not by any means personal. The room was large and the balcony a plus. The location is sort of cool in East Berlin fashion, but don't expect any urban streetlife. Good connections with the tram lines, and Alexanderplatz is just a five minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a little bit more friendly but they weren’t rude or anything so it’s not a big deal

    Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Shower room was also clean and spacious and the water pressure was strong. Breakfast was fine. They had rental bikes parked just outside the hotel and you can borrow it from the reception for 12 euro a day. Berlin is a wonderful city to tour by bike and it was very convenient that we could just return the bikes to the hotel during check-out. Hotel also let us store our luggage in the store room before and after check in. The store room had lockers, you had to put it one euro to lock it but you get it back after. The hotel was also a few minutes walk from Alexanderplatz station and the bus (flixbus) station. We had a great one-night stay overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    There wasnt anything good about this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is really rude, theres nothing to eat at the hotel or the surrounding area, you have to go alll the way to alexander Platz witch is around 10 minutes away. The matress is terrible and theres a lot of noise in the rooms.

    There wasnt anything good about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel, but if you need wifi stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi signal is very poor in the room, probably because of the old structure of the building, even thought it was recently renovated. the location seems good, but it is in fact a little far from Alexander Platz, in a surrounding area with abandoned buildings.

    The hotel is good, rooms are very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for a visit in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have done with a top mattrass on the bed, as I could feel the springs. 18€ breakfast is a bit expensive (but standard price apparently)

    Staff was very nice and helpfull Room was big and well planned, with a pantry and kettle for tea/coffie Will definitely stay here again on my next trip 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff is annoyed to work there, they barely say hi when u walk in or out... we asked for some food at night answer was no, we asked a breakfast on the go the night before, not possible. Breakfast is immensely expensive considering the proces in Berlin The room doesn’t have the fridge The forniture are from the 80s

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    The room was alright but I had better expectations due to the pictures provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly but not helpful for a tourist. I was expecting a little more information from the receptionist when I asked him about the popular places to travel. He just said as little as he could to finish the topic. The pictures used are slightly different from the room I stayed in. The room in the picture looks more stylish which I believe is because they have another better version of this hotel in Berlin. This one is a cheaper version of that so don't expect things to be like in the images.

    I like the location because the tram connections can take you many places. Also close to place are many restaurants on Heckscher street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows could be better, they are large squares and not the most comfortable.

    The room has very big windows letting in lots of light. These open up to a large balcony with a good view of the surrounding streets. There's lots of floor space and a wide desk for working.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    I can recommend to stay at the Mercure Berlin Alexanderplatz!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are very large, customer has more than enough space for his personal belongings and other things. A huge balcony was extra, ideal for smokers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great location and very priceworthy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we missed was a fridge or minibar at the room, since we were staying for a couple of nights. I'm not a big fan of the carpeted floors either, but other than that we have no complains at all.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and good. The location is very good, just a couple of minutes walk to Alexanderplatz with a tram station right outside. We had a very good stay! The price is very good for what you get.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had already paid on booking.com, but the staff asked me to pay again. The second day they found this situation ,and return the money .

    Clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel, spacious room with a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea, coffee and milk hasn't been given to us by cleaning staff. We were told to go to reception and ask. Staff at reception has been very greedy as to it, they gave us one tea bag and when asked for another one they were giving very dirty looks and were impolite. They have us another one, when asked for sugar or milk they were acting like it was so much effort. It was the same situation with shower gels, shampoos and body lotion. Hotel had only offered breakfast for €18 per day which is quite a ridiculous price, thankfully there was a coffee shop right outside of the hotel with lovely breakfast for much cheaper prices. Balcony was very dirty and as if never cleaned. Other places around the room were quite dirty too.

    Lovely hotel, spacious room with a balcony Great location! Only 10 min walk to Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor was fully carpeted, which makes cleaning less easy (I did spot a stain). There was a semi-stale smell of mold especially in the corridors, and only one elevator was working, making it pretty difficult to move.

    I was on the 7th floor with a full view to the TV tower, so nothing to complain about on that regard. There was a kettle and free coffee/tea in the room, and a good desk for those of us who travel for work. The closet was spacious enough for one and the toilet was also spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    You can definitely find something better in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old, sad hotel, everything is very restrained and sparingly, the furniture is old, carpet too, the elevator button is glued to old one and hardly be held, WiFi access must be constantly received at the reception, which is really unfortunate if you forgot to do it at the entrance

    The location was not to bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    The stay was so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the elevators are well maintained

    The Hotel location was perfect, and the tram station is so close. The reception staff are so friendly. The balcony is very good for smoking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    This was my second stay, and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lift serving whole hotel, which was frustrating during peak periods. Breakfast good and convenient, but a bit overpriced.

    Good location . Spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    very good value in Alexanderplatz
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Waiting so long for a lift which never came, but well...

    We loved the central location, the large room and the balcony with a view on the Fernsehturm for such a small price. We enjoyed the kettle, free tea and coffee, the staff was always very nice and we hope to return soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    The balcone was bad and not clean, it is not fit with the...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was good. But the soffa was bad to sleep

    The balcone was bad and not clean, it is not fit with the price. But it is big room in good place in the city. The soffa it is not good to sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Won't book there again. Staff were great though.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was good but the exterior and interior of the hotel badly needs a refurbishment. Beds were very uncomfortable. I was located on the top floor with my daughters room on floor below. There was only one operational lift for the 9 floors. Location is a bit away from Alexanderplatz.

    It was clean and the staff were very helpful. View from window was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    there was a hair under the mattress - black curly medium...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a hair under the mattress - black curly medium length - disgusting!

    there was a hair under the mattress - black curly medium length - disgusting!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy with open window ,breakfast too expensive compared to offer , alternative round the corner

    Very specious rooms , close to Alexanderplatz and great public transport and connections in front of hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Disappointment! Needs urgent refurbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet looks dated back from the 70's, old and full of stains, luckily I had a pair of slippers to walk around in the bedroom, it really looks disgusting, beds are the most uncomfortable. The only pos is a spacious bathroom that seems to be just redone. It's a shame as location wise is good for the price, I guess that's what you get.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything they was nothing not to like

    The room was so comfy ! Beds was fantastic so warm and comfortable ! The food was amazing could not fault the hotel at all and a bonus the view was fantastic !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    superb scambled egg and many choices in the clean, large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    superb scambled egg and many choices in the clean, large and airy breakfast room. My room was large and comfortable, with a balcony. Lots of information on things to do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Location is OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was extra noisy as the tram turns around the hotel. Some complimentary earplugs would be nice.

    Location is OK. Bet was comfortable. Room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Location ok but noisy, where is my tea bag...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel location is next to one of the main streets, hence quite noisy and a lot of siren noises. The lift was very old and not responsive, had to use the stairs. We booked a non-smoking room but we could smell cigarettes every time we walked into the room. No free water provided. Toiletries in the bathroom were not replenished. Tea and coffees were only given on first night and not replenished after, even though we stayed there for 3 nights. There is note in the room 'If you would like more coffee and tea, please contact reception'... but if you pay over 100 euros per night you should not need to beg for a tea bag!!

    Good size room and great shower. The place was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Coin operated baggage storage in property if you need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Passing the 70 meter stretch of empty building to the train station.

    Coin operated baggage storage in property if you need to check in before 2 pm or need to check out by 11 am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    It is clean and the location is excellent.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was not ready when we arrived. The staff was not friendly or helpful. When we wanted to park our car in the outdoor parking lot, they told us that another guest had taken the key and we would have to wait for him to show up?! Finally at our insistence they gave us the spare key. Very unprofessional.

    It is clean and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, good breakfast, bad Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "Premium Wi-Fi" was so poor I was forced to use cellular data transfer.

    The hotel is very close to Alexanderplatz so the location is great. Breakfast was very tasty and is between 7:00-11:00 AM so that can wake up late if you want to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location, basic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water bottles had 'complimentary' on a tag which was scribbled out and '2euro' was written on there. When water was used it wasn't replaced. Empty bottle left in the room for three days. Lift call button on third floor didn't work, had to use stairs. Twin room was a double bed with two single duvets. Kettle didn't work, no milk given for tea / coffee.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent customer servicr
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff.. I had trouble printing Ryan Checkin card.. Two staff in particular Mohammad and Steven helped me to contact the German office of Ryan.. Due to them, I had a peaceful journey ... Instead of worrying about the airline .. Thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Good weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, nice staff, great breakfast. Hotel parking is pricey, but a 5 min walk away you can use the parking garage at the mall. Check out was simple and fast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    The noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. This is one place that would benefit from air-condition to avoid opening the window. The very good location also means two major roads and 6 tram lines meeting in front of the property providing a very noisy experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    Totally not worth the money you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was not interested with my problems regarding the room. (Except for Murat, he was really caring about how should I go to the airport). As a single traveler, one night I went down to the reception saying that I do not feel safe in the room as it's on the first floor and looking into a huge dark building which is abandoned + the sink in the bathroom is blocked. The receptionist did not give any attention to what I say at all, carelessly noted down that I wanted to change the room. Nobody helped, of course. The elevators are not sufficient enough for such a big building. Sometimes you need to wait for more than two turns. Furniture in the room is old, the room was not clean enough. This hotel totally not worth the money you pay for.

    Breakfast was the only thing that I enjoyed regarding the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Decent for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is faced to one of main streets and because of this it was really loud during the night. Also the rooms need to be refreshed.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Value for money hotel in a convenient and interesting location in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No negative comments - suited our needs.

    Very much enjoyed the breakfast as there was an excellent variety of cooked and cold food and beverages available and the quality was very good. Also- most conveniently the time slot for breakfast went from early i.e 7 am to quite late i.e. 10.30 am which allowed you to access breakfast at a time that entirely suited your plans for the day. It was a 5 to 10 minute straight forward walk to Alexanderplatz but the Tram - to Alexandraplatz and beyond - was very conveniently just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    I like the central location and the easy public transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception personal is not really taking care of who's entering and going out. And for one of them not really welcoming.

    I like the central location and the easy public transport communication.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Great beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to arrange early check in via site and phone but it ended up subject to availability upon arrival. I would also like the option to pay before arrival for the whole booking

    Friendly staff, lovely room, excellent shower and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice choice IF you don't care about WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi was a joke. For like 60% of a time I've been out of range (last room in a hall), for few hours it was unavailable on a whole floor, a lot of ports were blocked (bye bye WhatsApp) and the quality...

    Room was unusually big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location for trams, excellent breakfast, OK rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The derelict buildings

    The location is brilliant from a tourist point of view (just because of tram area), however the surroundings of the hotel is a little poor, area needs work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location, pleasant atmosphere, well run and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedside light being broken. The shortness of the kettle cord for pouring hot drinks and the need to unplug it every time to re fill it. The stiffness of the plug in the socket.

    The range and freshness of the breakfast. The time available for breakfast. The quick and pleasant service if the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping came at very different times. One day we had been out all morning, and they came to clean the room when we were relaxing at 15h. Breakfast could have been better - for 18 euro you expect the bacon and sausages to be hot, and the scrambled eggs not to be cooked dry and into pieces.

    Perfect location, well-sized room. Most of the staff were very friendly. The price was good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    If you want to see Berlin from above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is too expensive- they must charge less for kids as they only eat cereals and juice Bottle of water in the room should be free- they put the label pay 2 euros for it. TOO expensive hotel, breakfast is not included

    Receptionist Renata very helpful and always smiling. TV Tower is very close- 2 stops by tram to Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.6
    Little value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room we suppose to have INTERNET! I think this is a BASIC service now! The reception was promising us all our stay that they fix it!! The haven't!! There is no way that the hotel couldn't fix the internet in 3 days! We heard that other hotel guests also asked many times!! Its annoying! We booked this hotel because we had higher expectations of the Mercure!! I was also expected to do work in the room that require internet! Beds are old, and we felt the springs in it. Location is bad, we constantly heard sirens everywhere, but at least close to the transport! Ahh!! And breakfast for 18 euros/head/day?? No way! Expensive for little to know value! May as well to stay in cheaper place, because there is better service!

    Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar service was really bad. Having two single beds pushed together to make a double Breakfast was too expensive. Dined for two elsewhere and paid less than for one at the hotel.

    Good value, location was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    SO-SO
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds sucked. I could feel the springs.... Brunch was 18 Euro a person... Thats a bit in high end for just a normal breakfast

    the rooms were big and spacious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Staff were nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me it was bad timing. The Berlin film festival was also happening and the room really was not worth the money. The decor could be updated in the hallways. The bedroom was fine. There was an incident where the cleaners left the door slightly ajarsajar so I was shocked ehen I got back but nothing had been taken.

    Staff were nice and helpful. Location was fine as well, close to the underground and the tram network.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Decent value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A better tv (this one was ancient by modern standards). The ground coffee for the breakfast was terrible (the cappuccino was alright).

    The rooms are large but sparsely furnished with outdated furniture (not in the good way). The double-room balcony is surprisingly roomy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were a bit lumpy and oddly square shaped, not the comfiest but ok. Carpet was quite dated and curtains didn't fully close which let light in but this wasn't a major issue

    Great location - tram stop right outside which was super helpful. Good sized room and bathroom. Staff were friendly and the locker left luggage was really good - secure and safe!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lifts were painfully slow. The cleaning staff pushed my wife out of the way to get into the lift.

    Breakfast was nice. Rooms have been recently refurbished

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.2
    Big Mistake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally it was a depressing place .... Needs a face lift ... Paint chipping, old carpets ...the location was also depressing. It was a mistake to stay there.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom seemed newer than the rest of the place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    Not a bad hotel, could do with some updatw
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fold put bed did not work. The lifts are so old and slow and took very long to use

    The room design and style was really cool and retro. The location was great, and good views from the room balcony

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location - not so good WIFI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    once we arrived we got a room and the WIFI didn't work. we had to go and sit in the corridor just to have internet. we went to the reception and the next day we moved to the higher floor there the wifi was good. I noticed that we weren't the only ones complaining about the wifi there. the breakfast was ok.. no vegetables other than olives cucumbers and a few more, we expected more. Nothing vegan, so if its a problem for you keep in mind that you will have to get food other places. For a 3 star hotel the price was a bit high. other hotels around with higher rank were cheaper and offered the same deal, but the rooms here have a balcony, so we chose this one in the end.

    The staff members of the hotel are very kind and did all they could to help. The breakfast was ok. no much of diversity between the days. Location was good. about 7-10 min' walk to the actual Alexanderplatz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Flying visit to the Berlin Christmas Markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size above average and well furnished but needed a comfortable, relaxing chair.

    Wonderful warm, comfortable room (temperature control just right). Beds and bedding of good quality. Bathroom well equipped with range of toiletries so less to pack. Helpful, friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent stay in an exciting city, there is so much to see and do. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar was very small and somewhat impersonal, not somewhere you would specially go to.

    The breakfasts were amazing, the rooms very spacious and very well appointed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.8
    Approved! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not exactly a negative opinion, but it would be good that you could add more vegan options into your breakfast menu. You already provide few things, but it would be even better if you could add more options.

    I love the mini packs of Nutella, it was awesome to mix it with the Croissants. In general the breakfast was great. Location was really good, very close to AlexanderPlatz and close to public transportation. Nice staff, very communicative and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They couldn't exchange 50 euros for smaller bills - but then again, this was a hotel not a bank:) And it was the weekend

    I was very happy with this hotel. Breakfast was great and every thing else.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    4.6
    Great location, okay room but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for what the rooms were actually like - old fashioned, lacking in facilities. It was just a basic place to sleep, thus the pricing should reflect that. We were also shoved to the back of the lift by a cleaner and her trolley filled to the top with rubbish and dirty towels. She then brought the lift to another floor up from where we wanted, where other staff were waiting. All without a hello or acknowledgment, which I thought was a little rude.

    Receptionist were helpful Location excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi signal was exceptionally poor in the room. One device couldn't even connect. Did mention this to staff, who were more than happy to give me free access to the "premium" Wi-Fi, however the "premium" internet signal was non existent in the room. Despite it being a leisure stay, there was a need for to be online for work purposes, and was unable to. Very unacceptable and should be addressed.

    Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Generally excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant.I was very tired and would have preferred to dine in the resturant in the hotel.sadly there wasn't one and so went out and hyad one of the worst meals I've ever eaten.

    breakfast -excellent,helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.5
    OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn't have been LESS helpful when we were trying to establish whether the marathon would prevent us from being too the airport. Basically said they would book us a taxi, when they had time, and that we would have to take our chances.

    Good position

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was great and the room and shower room were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lobby area is very small and the 2 small lifts inadequate for the number of guests at peak times. The bathroom was big but the shower cubicle was very small. The balcony was dirty - it looked as though they hadn't cleaned in since taking over the building as a block of East German flats from the City. I guess they think no one would step out there. I didn't like the walk to the hotel at night from Alexanderplatz; the area is undergoing renovation but has a way to go and the streets are not very well lit (observed throughout Berlin).

    The breakfast was great and the room and shower room were large. The bed was good though curiously considering they're owned by the same people, the beds in Ibis hotels are more comfortable than in this Mercure hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    3.8
    WIFI DOES NOT WORK IN THE ROOMS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI DOES NOT WORK IN THE ROOMS!!!!! When I complained at the reception, got the unbelievable reply :"We know wifi does not work in the rooms but management does not want to remove free wifi from the profile on booking.com because then noone would like to stay here." Totally unacceptable service....My room was not cleaned one day.... I will never stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location. Good room. Check-in could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in documents could have been prepared, but no. Writing all over again all information that already has been given during the booking... The check-in is the first impression of a hotel and what is more appreciated by a traveller than a well prepared check-in. "Just sign here..." The corridors need a refurbishment with the same mondern style as the rooms.

    The room was perfect and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    i had a room on the top floor with a great view on the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is located in an area full of constructions sites

    i had a room on the top floor with a great view on the city with a very large balcony the room was big, clean and fully equipped (you can make tea and coffee) near to the trams and train station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.8
    Good location poor room nothing like picture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact it states free wifi in room and staff informed and yet was not rectified. Am of the opinion that they were aware however is a cost saving exercise. Was provided secure password however inconvenient when having personal call in the foyer. No fridge in room regardless of no mini bar. Would be nice for a small fridge to be provided even for cold water.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, excellent location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning in the room, difficult to sleep during a heatwave

    Comfortable beds, excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    It was great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed an iron.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The staff is very helpful. The room is wide and very clean. The bathroom is very clean too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed in manner and arrogance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better quality and range of food.

    It was average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Smoke smell everywhere, hallways, even in our room and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smell everywhere, hallways, even in our room and our shower area. My kids have problem with it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location, good value for money and clean! Ideal for a weekend Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noizy at night

    Big comfortable rooms, good location, cheap, clean,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place and location
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You should have an aircondition in the room it will be great

    I like the location,Staff,Services and everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was a very good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there was no air conditioning.

    The balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    It was pretty old and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great.

    It was pretty old and dirty.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Berlin Alexanderplatz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: