Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Strobelallee 41, 44139 Dortmund, Germany

#7 of 49 hotels in Dortmund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall excellent. Your staff were impeccable and so helpful. Please reward them well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All of the hotel corridors smelled of cigarette smoke. Note to Mercure: I would suggest ditching the internal smoking room and keeping smoking outside of the property only.

    All of the staff were exemplary and extremely helpful. We could not have felt more welcome. Note to Mercure: Please present your staff with a monetary incentive. It is well deserved and I'm sure you can easily afford it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    very enjoyable football weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough staff in hotel restaurant after the football match finished. Appx 60 customers and only 3 staff.

    Hotel breakfast very good and staff very helpful. Location for football at BVB (Dortmund) could not be better. Strobels bar/restaurant next to football stadium serves good beer and excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent venue right at Westfalenhalle and Signal Iduna Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, small tv, most room furniture and carpet are from the 1980s and 90s. Everything is looked for, but you have to be aware of a relatively small old room for a premium price. It is a recommendable stay if you attend an event at one of the nearby venues, otherwise you might get a better value for money.

    Nice staff, big breakfast buffet, welcoming atmosphere, parking right in front of the house. The staff was very kind and helpful, swarming around to make our stay comfortable. The buffet was great, but of course it costs 18€ extra. We liked a lot the opportunity to park directly before the entrance and have only a short walk to Signal Iduna Park. The bath was clean and comfortable. After all we enjoyed our stay and will return when we attend our next event at Westfalenhalle or Signal Iduna Park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    We went to the Germany v England game so the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was quite small considering the size of the hotel. We had to sit in the reception area

    We went to the Germany v England game so the location was ideal. Rooms are a good size and the hotel itself very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a breakfast discount for under 15s would be a nice touch.

    Everything. The staff were lovely and friendly and the breakfast, though a little pricey, was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location if you attend one of the fairs organized on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was really bad, at least on the hotelroom.

    Good location if you attend one of the fairs organized on the "Messegelande". Friendly staff and good basic service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    A must if watching the footy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few negatives, although breakfast was very good and included in the price, the evening meal that we tried was buffet style and was very poor and overpriced. The room was very nice and clean, bathroom was spacious and decent quality but came at the price of a smaller space for the beds which was a little disappointing as the were cramped together. Also, if you are travelling to the hotel on a match day be aware that the police shut the road that the hotel is on and you will be dropped by any taxi about a 5/10minute walk away. We also flew into Dusseldorf and a taxi from the airport to the Dortmund ground, going 140 euros, coming back 115 euros, it will save you money if you try and barter with the taxi driver, be pushy and they will drop the price!

    If you are watching the football then this hotel is, 100%, a must. Myself and my teenage son have been a few times to Dortmund to watch the football and shop and have always stayed in city hotels but have always been disappointed by these city hotels. This hotel is a 5min walk to the ground and is great for soaking up the atmosphere without any hassle of pushing and shoving on very overcrowded trains. Even if only shopping I would stay here as there is a nearby station within very easy commute.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to smile to customers and be more helpful. Check your bills, receptionist wanted to charge us for breakfast which we did not wish to have.

    Nice hotel, good food, nice garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Smoking lounge was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing for the price

    Smoking lounge was good. quick reaction to a loose door handle. Bar staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Dortmund Gameday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome location to attend a Dortmund game. Signal Iduna park is across the street! Clean hotel, great and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Nice relaxing place on the edge of Dortmund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    It was the quietest hotel room I ever stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Came to watch football hotel literally across the road from the stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for football stadium

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Unique breakfast with a very wide range of dishes.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique breakfast with a very wide range of dishes. Comfortable and large room with a large bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, correct price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet floor

    Good location, correct price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Service always in high standard !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and great helpful staff , very clean and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel in Germany. Period.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything! My favourite hotel in Germany. Period.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Everything - perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Not a lot of choice in restaurant in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of choice in restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    One night in Dortmund
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convenient to city center or many restaurants

    Close to football stadium. Clean. Good breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel for visiting the stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only couple of minutes walk to the stadium and also to the metro, city centre about 25-30 minute walk. Nice clean hotel with good friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location for football stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm friendly greeting by all members of staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for football trips!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local shops near the hotel.

    Perfect location if you're watching football. Literally 2 minute walk away from the ground

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.1
    Right next to the stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next to the stadium

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    Great football experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for watching Borussia Dortmund

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.5
    Standard business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking lounge with opened doors closed to access to the rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition not work if the weather is under 22 degrees

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Staff very helpfull very gratefull for service they gave me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpfull very gratefull for service they gave me 5 star service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.8
    Ideal location for BVB stadium and only a few stops from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were polite but not particulary friendly.

    Ideal location for BVB stadium and only a few stops from city centre on the easy to use underground. Good also for the local park with viewing tower.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The staff were so helpful with receiving football tickets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so helpful with receiving football tickets prior to our arrival. Plus they gave us lots of help regarding booking tickets and using public transport around the city.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Perfect if you are going to westfallenhallen og iduna park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was to little beds togheter :( Had to pay dortmund city tax fee without getting a noice first. Expencive breakfast. No signs to lead you if you come by underground train or bus.

    Perfect if you are going to westfallenhallen og iduna park! Very nice hotel, swimmingpool and resturant. Right next to underground train.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    Staff were fantastic, I asked for a room with a view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were fantastic, I asked for a room with a view of the Signal Iduna Park and they gave us one with an amazing view. The location is absolutely perfect if going to see Dortmund play!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    10
    The location was amazing and the staff at the reception desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only downside about this stay was the staff in the restaurant. When we were eating our lunch the staff were all looking at us and pointing and laughing. Was really off putting when trying to eat and made us feel very uneasy.

    The location was amazing and the staff at the reception desk were extremely helpful and catered to all our needs. Ordered a take away for us and recommend places to go. Could not praise the staff at front desk highly enough. When I travel to Dortmund again will be using this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.1
    Good location , rooms were ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Went to the buffet , told one plate for €15 only took 1 plate and charged €25 I tried reasoning with the women she clearly knew I took one plate but she insisted a pay €25 .

    Good location , rooms were ok

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    8.3
    The rooms are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some waitresses at the restaurant don't speak English; we had chosen one type of meal that cost 15 euro and the waitress charged us 25 euro (that was the price for all you can eat, which we hadn't chosen); there was no way to explain her that she made a mistake; she kept telling us that it's all you can eat, it's not her fault that we only had one course

    The rooms are nice Staff at the front desk - really nice

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Excellent location for BVB game and also within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There no cons on my mind

    Excellent location for BVB game and also within walking distance (15min) to the city center Very rich breakfast buffer Comfortable wellness area

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.8
    verry clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    verry clean and spacious room. next to Westfallenhall, so perfect for concertvisits, next to Borussia Dortmund stadion, only 10 minutes with subway to stadsgarten. verry good buffet in restaurant in morning and evening

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They did loose our pack in the freezer. Food not great - bufet only. Parking limited but again helpful staff find a solution.

    Very friendly staff. Nothing seemed to much of a problem. Very spacious and comfortable room (executive room)

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    2.9
    Hotel is next to Football stadium .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unhelpful staff. Poor wifi. Dirty room. Paid for breakfast , did not receive breakfast and got charged - still trying to be reimbursed .

    Hotel is next to Football stadium .

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Has turned into my favourite hotel in all of Germany!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Has turned into my favourite hotel in all of Germany! It's right across the street from Signal Iduna Park. Only 10 min walking distance from the train. Large, comfortable rooms. Great showers! Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    4.6
    comfortable bed, nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff does not speak English properly, limited capability to interact with the customers, no parking place available, very noisy during the day as there are construction works next to the hotel.

    comfortable bed, nice spa

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    The location and the easy access to the U bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was having major renovation works to the bar area and patio. The bar and patio was not open, the work will improve the hotel. I was not told about the on-going works when booking. The other small bar in the hotel closed in the afternoon and this forced us to use the mini-bar on a couple of the afternoons in the room so the children could have a drink, there was no price list for the mini-bar that contained 2x juices, 2x largers and 2x water. The hotel swiped my card on leaving and has charged me £30+ The drinks should have been complementary or at a reduced cost. I think the drinks in the bar would cost the hotel less than £3 and it would have been a good customer focused approach for the mini-bar to be complimentary while the improvements to the bar and patio is taking place. I would have bought a bottle of juice from town if I new the hotel had no drinks available at certain times.

    The location and the easy access to the U bahn. The room was very comfortable and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was too hard. And thin curtains that didn't cover the window fully was not good at light as the whole room was lit up by the outside lighting. I think others have mentioned this and am surprised nothing has been done about it. Drilling and maintenance works next to the bar put me off from using it in the morning. I was not given any notice about these works! Cleaner very noisy in the early morning.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    It is a lovely hotel and the staff are so welcoming the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is a lovely hotel and the staff are so welcoming the rooms were great as was the food and the swimming pool, there was nothing negative about our stay, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit too soft for me personally. Internet connection could be better, but was overall ok.

    Great hotel. Quiet and near downtown. Parking. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable, with enough day light coming in. Spacious bathroom. Free mini bar was nice. Spa area is also clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    Free wi-fi, the friendly and helpful staff, the room, its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's not very near the main town but there's an underground nearby to take you there.

    Free wi-fi, the friendly and helpful staff, the room, its proximity to the Signal Iduna Park

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    This hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    This hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the Westfalenhalle. It has free parking, spacious rooms and an amazing breakfast buffet. The pet fee was pretty standard @10€/night/dog. The staff were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.6
    Everything was excellent,room was big and comfortable also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was excellent,room was big and comfortable also bed.Best thing was that this hotel has sauna and pool which is free of charge for guest.Also nice gesture was free mini bar.Definitely recommended

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    3.3
    Breakfast was okay for a 3 star hotel.
    • Family with young children

    I usually don't complain about hotels, but the stay at Mercure was a disaster. There were three reasons for this: 1. There were no curtains in the room, except for some semi-transparent white ones. At night time the room was not dark, since there were street lights outside the windows, and at dawn (early in the morning!) the room was flooded with light. 2. I had to work 2 hours online in the evening. I had booked Mercure, since they claimed to have WLAN. Unfortunately this did not function, and the receptionists could not help me. They only said that someone who would work there tomorrow might know more (not very helpful to me, since I would leave in the morning). Instead they referred me to a computer in the reception that guests were free to use. The computer was from the late 1990s/early 2000s, and of course extremely slow. The keyboard was equally old, and very difficult to use. The browser was Internet Explorer (hello 1998!) Each online session ran for about 25 minutes, and then I was automatically logged out. Each time, it took almost 5 minutes to log in again. Instead of 2 hours work, I had to spend almost 4 hours to finish my task. The consequence was that I didn't get enough sleep, and had less time for my family. 3. When I checked out, I explained the situation to the receptionist in a friendly way. He didn't give me any kind of excuse, and charged me full price for the room. It is rare, even in Germany, to experience such terrible service.

    Breakfast was okay for a 3 star hotel. Restaurant was okay, but very expensive. The interior gives you a sense of what average German hotel design looked like in the 1990s.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast and superb location for the football.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic breakfast and superb location for the football...also very easy to get into the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is 100 yards from the BVB ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel is 100 yards from the BVB ground. Free parking. Free wifi. Short walk to the centre. Excellent price. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    Ex Ellen friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Ex Ellen friendly staff. Great room very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Bar meals were not available this year,I consider this very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar meals were not available this year,I consider this very poor.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    7.1
    Location to football ground
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were told on arrival breakfast was 8 euro. It was actually 18 euro per day. Very expensive

    Location to football ground

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The two rooms we had to fit our family were next to each other, but no connecting door.

    Staff were very nice. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    10
    location, free parking, free wifi, smoking rooms available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    location, free parking, free wifi, smoking rooms available

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Clean and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean and nice room

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location near the Football Stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location near the Football Stadium

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    This is the only hotel I stay at when visiting Dortmund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    This is the only hotel I stay at when visiting Dortmund

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    The staff were amazing and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were amazing and very helpful. Had a view of the famous Signal Iduna Park, Swimming pool was great. Thank you for an amazing stay,

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Everything is great and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything is great and nice! Especially the location!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Very good cuisine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The matress was not convenient.

    Very good cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    wifi is not strong and keeps dropping.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi is not strong and keeps dropping.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.2
    Nice view of the Stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice view of the Stadium

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow wifi Groaning/expanding central heating pipes

    Breakfast in room Minibar Parking

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: