Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Hamburg Alster City 2 stars

Holsteinischer Kamp 59, Barmbek Süd, 22081 Hamburg, Germany

#162 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 833 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and there was a pretty large stain on our carpet in the room. Also no english channels (we are american). The location looked a bit rough but once walking outside it was fine and there are plenty of restaurants around and markets.

    We liked how helpful and nice the staff were. Plus there is a small kids area for young kids to play. Breakfast was great too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in 5-minute walk from the station Hamburgerstrasse, line 3, direct to the central station. The hipermarket Sky is just next to the hotel. The room was spacy, clean, quiet. Our neigbourgs were respectful, as all hotel residents, what is very important. Wifi was very fast. The breakfast was excellent: tea, coffee, hot chocolat, apple and orange jus, all kind of bread, croissants, cheese and bacon, eggs, fresh fruit mix salad. Clementines and candies for kids were free!!! My son was happy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint about the stay was that the rooms are set default to 'heat off'. It took me a bit of fiddling to figure out how to turn the heat on because the room was an icebox after sundown. Once that was solved, I was warm enough.

    Hamburg Alster Styles was conveniently located in the neighborhood I needed to be in, and about 4 blocks from the Ubahn, which gets you all around Hamburg. Booking.com reservation also got me one of the largest rooms in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little earlier check-in was not possible. Room was not really clean: I asked for an extra vacuum clean, which was done I guess. Sound from many delivery trucks early in the morning from the next door supermarket was really disturbing. Staff smoking outside at the entrance really looks unprofessional.

    Very, very nice and comfortable bed! Size of room a plus. And 5min walking from U-bahn. The art (?) next to the entrance was pretty unique: just an area of 10m2 with broken glass...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I arrived at my door and my card did not work, so I had to go downstairs again. But they helped me quickly!

    The staff where very helpsome. I was traveling with my 1,5 year old son. They helped me perfectly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in my room was dirty; The outdoor conditioners at the rooftop of the neighbour building were quite noisy even at night; The plains fly quite low above the building and make noise as well, although it's only until 23:00.

    Fresh colourful design (especially the bathroom) and pleasant atmosphere; Free tea and coffee downstairs; Nearness to the metro station but still tranquil neighbourhood; Breakfast included already;

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was located on the lowest floor and the toilet smell was awful, had to keep the door closed all the time with the fan running.

    Good location (very close to metro station), cozy bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast horrible, grumpy waitress, nasty over cooked scrambled eggs, no logic in buffet offering. Sad note just before leaving after a great night sleep.

    Funky style, good location and cool staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit unhealthy breakfast

    Absolutely great shower!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning during very hot days

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small bathroom

    Good breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks

    The coffee!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is amazing. All of them are real professionals

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I hate duvets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner available.

    Clean, friendly and helpful staff, wifi, breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well connected to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold and no mini fridge to put my daughters milk

    Great kids area My daughter loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even asking in advance for a disable room and sending email we didt realy get a room even if it said it was

    Staff great helpful clean room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and very attentive staff, everything great and comfortable. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel. Friendly staff. Overall great value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed: very comfortable, Breakfast: fruit salad very tasty

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent coffee and rolls at breakfast Very convenient location Good prices in the bar

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stay in this hotel for the second time in a short period and I could apreciate and enjoy it even more. The staff is very professional and really friendly.It was very useful to have the possibility of keeping the luggage after check out, in a room specially designed for it. Very good price for the offer. I will come back.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A very nice surprise from Ibis - we booked 2 rooms (single and double) and both were very spacious, with modern design, clean, free parking on the street. The staff at the reception (John) was very attentive (I forgot my wallet at the computer table, and John made sure it was returned to me in full content)

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighbourhood not very high standard: few vacant plots and also building activities. Hotel straight under runway approach of Hamburg airport: noisy sometimes!

    Near a U-bahn station (500 m). Excellent breakfast buffet in a very spacious room. Clean room and fine bed.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi didn't work on the 3rd floor and when I mentioned it at the reception, they said they can not help, it is so. Bathroom should be renovated, the tiles in the shower cabin were full of mold, the cabin was already rotted partly. No air-conditioning.

    Close to U-Bahn station, you can reach the city center in 15 minutes. Breakfast was fine (though the same everyday), staff was kind.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ventilations in the bathroom too loud and room smell wasn't pleasant (probably someone has smoked in it before).

    Very polite staff at breakfast buffet, gives really good service. It is very convenient that you can make tea or coffee free of charge until 10PM.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Always clean, comfortable and supported by helpful staff. The hotel is situated in a very convenient position for very reasonably priced train access to city, suburbs and airport.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is a bit off-site

    Super friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being harrassed by receptionist to go to the bar and buy alcohol every time passed reception desk.

    Coffee in hall way , room size ,

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little away from the center of hamburg.

    Comfort and space of the room. Breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell in the bathroom that came or of the ventilation.

    -

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor internet connection

    Nice hotel with lovely rooms, the decoration was esthetic. The breakfast was diverse and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant in hotel and in vicinity

    Clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think this is B&B level. Not a Ibis style.

    Only VIFi ok

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse ibis Styles Hamburg Alster City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: