Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel München Altstadt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hotterstr. 4, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#56 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1556 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel. Once you know where the hotel is - getting there is extremely easy but walking out of the subway into Marienplatz can be very confusing as there is so much going on around you. It's wonderful but overwhelming and hand held GPS was not much help nor maps I had printed from internet. Not that big a deal but we walked an extra half mile in circles.

    Best thing the hotel offers is the close proximity to Marienplatz and all the great bars, restaurants and shopping in that area. Staff spoke excellent english and was extremely helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice staff, very clean, appealing, quiet room, most comfortable bed during our 3-week travels. Great location. Shopping/restaurants in Marienplatz. Easy 15-20 min walk from train station/Karstadt Dept Store where we caught our tours. FABULOUS breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room service, no restaurants or places to sit and have a coffee for example

    The breakfast was great, the location was very near to everything you need. Restaurants, Marienplatz, Shopping Malls, Metro Stations and others. Staff was helpful and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel as it was listed as having parking onsite. This is only true for the first few guests who book in on a given day. We arrived and there was no parking left. We had to go to public parking away from the hotel. We were put on the first floor which was very noisy from street traffic and very smelly as smokers stood under our windows and the smoke wafted in. We had to keep windows closed at all times.

    Excellent selection for breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Great location close to old quarter and public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor hotel.. no porter to carry the luggage , no room service . you take your own stuff, buy your own water from the receiption. They don't change the bed sheets only tidy it. and in bath room, they don't replace the used shampoo... etc

    the location only.. breakfast was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect choice! Central location, easy to get to all the sights but still a good value. The staff was wonderful...helpful in every way. Really enjoyed the breakfast. They even provided gluten free bread for my Celiac husband! Will definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although I am staying in this hotel last 9 years and even I paid for upgrade of one of my room this time, hotel refused to offer me even one hour of late check out when I asked. In spite that I have Genius status at booking.com

    Location is very good. Breakfast is amazing. Staff is very hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site was a plus...but the garage is really small and hard to get in and out of....we needed help from another guest to get us out of the garage without scratching our car.

    Nice room... dry clean....breakfast was fabulous, great variety and wonderful staff. Location to everything we wanted to see/do was phenomenal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattresses and cushions good, but need to be replaced. They used to be better.

    Location of the hotel is great, room is comfortable, and breakfast is nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not renovated for very long time. The cushions and mattresses need to be changed. The staff need to be a bit more flexible to accommodate people who may need help due to illness or so. Many ppl come to Munich for therapy.

    The location of the hotel is great, and very convenient to move around. the breakfast is nice. The overall hotel is good for a 3 stars hotel. The cleaning ladies are very honest and safe to leave your stuff even out of the safe box.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my room the bathroom exhaust fan did not turn off with the light off. For this reason there was some noise constantly inside the room (with the bathroom door closed not bothering) but I think it was in my room only.

    The room and bed are great but I loved the darkness and the silence of the room all night (we was in a interior room with view to interior garden) whats for me it's essential to have a very good sleep. The breakfast is very good and varied. The staff is very kind and the location is excellent, near from a lot of tourist points in Berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is located on the quiet street in 100 meters from the main pedestrian street of Munich. To Mariyentsplats Square 5 minutes on foot, to the main station - 15 minutes. The subway, shops, restaurants - all nearby. Hotel staff polite and friendly. Excellent breakfast! In the room a minibar with free of charge drinks. Comfortable bed. Staying in this hotel I have the most positive impressions of accommodation. Thank you to all, guys! Will come back with pleasure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in the room are kind of missing a lot, like I asked for a hard pillow they didn’t have,no shower cap or toilet amenities like cotton

    Breakfast is amazing, so many varieties,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not quaint at all. Very basic.

    Bed very comfortable. Room a bit small for two people. Very simple architecture. Location is fabulous. Staff excellent and breakfast fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bell boy service at all!!!!! Thee are several steps to climb from street level, until you reach the elevator. Room was rather small. A feeling of squeeze all over.

    Nice enough location, quite close to the shopping area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I didn't like was the parking situation. There are public parking lots close by. However, one of the closest is closed on Sundays. It was also very busy when I arrived in the afternoon.

    Excellent location! You really can't beat it if you're looking for a stay in the heart of Munich. Breakfast was incredible with lots of great choices. The evening and morning staffs were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was sloppy, and fell out the holder. There’s no compromising on that kind of infrastructure.

    Exemplaric towels are worth noting, whereas in most hotels they are quite starchy or just not more than an absorber. These are like you like them at home, and that means a great deal after a morning shower to start off the day. Great with minibar included in the room rate, but it’s quite common in Germany.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower position a little awkward as in the corner, so you bump into the soap dispenser, and slippery to get out of.

    Friendly staff, good bed, quiet room, good breakfast, free wifi simple to use and decent speed. Whilst there is no hotel parking, the nearest 24h public parking is very convenient, and has a fixed price for 24h stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel policy that charge the guest €30uero for early checking even though the room is available. Never come across this in our travelling years around the world.

    Location is perfect, less than 5 minutes walk to Mareinplatz, CBD and Christmas market. Hotel is quite compact, even for two people. Room is very tidy and clean. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I think all the superlatives have been already used for this hotel. Just amazing. Everything is in a full harmony. Staff, service, facilities, location. Amazing breakfast, competent and helpful reception desk. Great view from our room on the 4th floor. Paid parking is just across the hotel. Another one is 2 min walking distance. Free minibar. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are super small, we were charged 60 euro for early check in for each room, even though it was 9.30 am, I have never seen anything like this at any hotel before, even when we arrived earlier after you go out of the lift there are more stairs, not comfortable with the suitcase, because you need to carry it yourself, there is no one to help you with the luggage

    Breakfast was better than we expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real parking on site but there were plenty of garages nearby.

    They had a breakfast bag for us because we had to check out early for our flight and would have missed breakfast! Very easy checking in and out, great central location and nice rooms!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Instructions on how to turn on shower needed.

    The location near the AltStadt sights was so convenient. They even gave your free beverages in the mini-fridge. Highly recommend this hotel! The front desk were so helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not one thing .....stay was PERFECT!!!!

    Not only was each and every employee a great asset to your hotel, friendly and knowledgeable, but location, accommodations, and the superb 'ample' breakfast is absolutely outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Minutes from Marienplatz and central to almost every major site in the city center. Amazing complimentary breakfast spread that blows most American buffets out of the water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a more effective extractor fan in the bathroom!

    Breakfast was great! Hot and fresh pretzels and pastries. Fresh squeezed orange juice and honeycomb😁 also so close to the shops and Christmas markets! Staff were really good to us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was awful--only 4 spots available in hotel parking garage. Parking is available at a public location around the block.

    The location is excellent--stocked mini fridge was great and the breakfast was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only stayed two nights and I think it would be hard to stay much longer - the rooms are small. But big enough for just a few nights.

    This was our first hotel of a 10 day Germany trip and we loved this hotel! The rooms were super quiet and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location was great - just a short walk from the Marienplatz and other areas. We all gave the Mercure's breakfast the winner of the trip award - their buffet was the best we had in all the cities we visited on our 10-day trip: plenty of healthy options, along with some tasty treats.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one of the rooms we had problems with the hot water in the bath.

    Amazing location. Great breakfast Clean, simple rooms. Free drinks from the mini bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was more that expected and excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff from front desk to breakfast room were friendly and very helpful. Location was great, within short walking distance to Marienplatz, shopping, restaurants and sights of interest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room feels old and a but dirty.

    A bit dated design and furniture but clean and comfortable, due to central location best for short term stays. However, amazing breakfast compensates any dated perceptions of your room and makes you feel you have been cared and served with high quality. Freshly squeezed juice, very good assortment of vegetables and dairy, bakery and real coffee ensures a great start of the day. Very accommodating stuff at reception and breakfast. Free mini bar is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the staff was very friendly but one was a bit surly and looked overtaxed.

    Breakfast was great and so was the coffee machine. There was an excellent variety to tempt the palate of any traveller. The staff were friendly and efficient in the cafeteria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may take a moment to find a parking place. There are two underground parking garages right next to the hotel, but one of them closes on Sundays and on holidays so be careful, where you leave your car. Still, it's definitely worth to stay at the hotel.

    The hotel was a very nice surprise - really great for a three star hotel. Nice, tidy, spacious rooms. Great mini bar (free of charge). Excellent breakfast (I especially liked fresh orange juice and that everything was fresh)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pricey, especially for the low season.

    We liked pretty much everything, especially the size of the room, bathroom and beds. The mini bar was free, which was nice. The breakfast was good and the staff well trained,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great Location, short walk to Marien Platz & HofBrau House, Glockenspiel Super staff, told about a great Italian restaurant within 2 blocks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is perfect for a munich visit, hard to find a better location than this place. Rooms are clean, spacious, and have all the necessary stuff for a stay at the hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twice the cleaner knocked and opened the door to our room at 8am without waiting for a response. I was dressed but may not have been. The standards have slipped since our last stay there 2 years ago

    the Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like. This hotel has no flaws, even the wifi was good.

    Everything about this hotel is great. The location is wonderful- you are literally next door to Marianplatz, great shops and restaraunts around the corner. The staff are friendly and helpful and adjust to your needs. The mini bar is free and they keep restocking it. The breakfast was great and catered for every preference. We have stayed in a few Mecures but this one isn't far the best. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Munich.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 'king bed' with two separate mattresses was problematic.

    Hotel is right in the middle of Munich but just off the main tourist thoroughfare such that it is relatively quiet. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful and supportive including locating and directing me to a 24-hour pharmacy past midnight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Cleaning , found some spider web in the rooms they don't clean very well

    The Location And the Mini Bar was free and changed every day they store our luggages since we arrived at 12pm and the check in at 3pm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs at entrance and on each floor. Additionally, the corridors were very narrow. These issues made it unpleasant to move around, especially with a stroller.

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to carry your luggages by yourself, no one there to help you. There was also no facilities for the handicapped or the baby's buggy at the front door. We had to carry my niece's buggy over the stairs every time we go out or came back to the hotel.

    The location is great. In few seconds, you just cross the street and you will be in the middle of the Marienplatz. The rooms were good and clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good enough. Some of the stuff were helpful and nice specially the woman working at night(I can't recall her name)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, all was good.

    The buffet breakfast is excellent, but the main advantage is the central location. It had a relaxed and comfortable feel and was the perfect place for a mini break in Munich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the location was very good the road was a busy car thoroughfare and even with sound proofing the nights were not quiet. The air con was not very efficient. We would, however, stay again due to location and the staff were helpful.

    The hotel was in an excellent location five minutes from Marienplatz.l The room was of a good size and a nice gesture was the free bottles of water in the fridge. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything negative, except perhaps the lobby, which consists of the front desk and a padded bench (and computers with a printer).

    This was our favorite hotel in Europe (Germany, Austria, Italy). The breakfasts were wonderful; our rooms were spacious; the staff was friendly and helpful. The location, quiet but just a few steps from Marienplatz, is marvelous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lobby, unfortunately, is essentially a padded bench and a front desk.

    The breakfast buffet is marvelous--well organized, delicious, with a huge variety and plenty of pleasant seating. The room (404) was extremely quiet. Window was insulated against sound. Not exactly spacious, but there was plenty of room to move around and for luggage. The location, a few steps from the cathedral and Marienplatz, couldn't be better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small, but fine for the price. Visitors to lovely Munich shouldn't waste their days inside the room, anyway!

    Fantastic location. Very courteous and helpful staff that were able to help us make rush taxi arrangements for a family of 6 with 2 babies very early in the morning. No easy feat! Delicious breakfast with lots of choices, too! Great value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work on a hot summer night and their solution the next day was a fan. Late next night when I realised that it still was not working properly I had to lobby to have my room changed. I was disappointed that a room change had not been the first solution when they knew they could not fix the air conditioner!

    Great position and excellent breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no bar or restaurant or exercise room. It would have been nice to have a place to work off all the great beer and food.

    The breakfast was excellent and came with the room. The location was absolutely terrific. The room was clean and the staff pleasant though I would not ask them for restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found nothing negative.

    The rooms were spotlessly clean, modern and roomy with very comfy beds, and plenty of outlets for charging devices. The bathroom was the same--modern, very clean with nice towels plenty of hot water. The minibar was stocked with a variety of complementary beverages. The breakfast was terrific--anything one could want--fluffy scrambled eggs, cold cuts and cheeses, smoked salmon, fresh fruit and orange juice, breads, pastries, granola and more! Coffee, tea, cappucino, latte. I was a great start to any day. The location can't be beat--Right outside the main square. Close to plenty of restaurants, shopping, and many of the main sights of Munich. The personnel at the hotel were very accommodating and answered any questions we had. The Mercure is a hotel that offers a comfortable place to relax and unwind after a day of touring, or business and a wonderful breakfast to begin the next day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have more on site parking there are only a few spots and they are 20.00 Euro per day.

    They property was clean. We had an easy check in and it is very close to all the great sites in Munich, like the Marienplatz and Shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the action in Munich with a great breakfast. Rooms large and clean. Bit more expensive than other places on our trip but good value for Munich

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked the location (a short distance to the main square). The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, hams and other meats, cheeses, honey, different kind of breads, sausages, pate, eggs, bacon, smoked salmon, toasts, fresh squeezed orange juice, tomato juice, pretzels and other delicacies. Nice bilingual staff. Private parking -but is limited.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's overpriced for a small hotel with basic facilities.

    Breakfast was excellent with good quality food. freshly squeeze orange juice machine. Location was excellent . Different kind of drinks like pop and beer are free in the mini bar. They said snacks are free but I could not find any in my three nights stay except apples

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer did not work very well ,

    We love the breakfast and even more so that they packed us to go bags since our flight was leaving before we could have breakfast the next morning . After eight nights in other accommodations with no air conditioning and heat wave that Germany was experiencing it was very refreshing to have air conditioning in our room .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked more restaurants close by the hotel. All restaurants were at least a 10 minute walk. Having nothing bad to say about the hotel though... just being picky!

    Great location- just a few blocks to Marienplatz, the center of town. Hotel feels very business oriented. It's not the most elegant or beautiful hotel, but it's still very nice and clean. The breakfast is top notch. Free drinks stocked up in the minibar- water, juice, beer, and coca-cola- only a bottle or two each, but refreshed every day. I arrived at 11:00am and was able to check into my room!! THAT NEVER HAPPENS! If you tell them you have a car, they have a car park underneath the hotel. It's 20 euros a day, but it's worth it to not have to figure out parking. They have a vending machine with snacks/ drinks- something I felt isn't easy to find in Germany.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The clean comfortable room complete with tea/coffee making facilities, free mini bar, a 5 star breakfast and It's location in a quiet street less than a 100 metres away from the pedestrian city centre make this hotel a perfect choice. It's a genuine superior 3 star with facilities typical of a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested explicitly a twin bed room with shower so that my handicapped mother could access. I received a call from Booking com that this will be done, however, there are no twin bed rooms with showers! Hotel is overpriced.

    Location only.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not quite as large as they appear in your photos, but they were clean and comfortable.

    The location of this hotel is wonderful!! Within easy walking distance of everything we really wanted to see in Munich. The breakfast was outstanding! The best we had during our 10 day trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly. All in all, we had a lovely stay here, just wish it had been longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillow wasn't to my liking but was fine for my friend.

    Excellent location in a side street so very quiet and near to restaurants, sights and shops. Clean and ample sized room. Excellent and helpful staff who were able to make suggestions of where to eat, what to do. Big bowl of apples and another of sweets freely available on reception. Mini bar in room no charge. Air con works efficiently. Electric outside blinds which make the room pitch black at night. Nice bathroom products, safe, slippers and plenty of wardrobe space. Luggage room to leave cases before leaving or on early arrival. Finally the breakfast is very very good. Fresh orange juice, selection of breads, meats, cheese, smoked salmon, a whole honeycomb to take your honey from, cereals and hot food + more. Sunny breakfast room and good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. There was an varied choice of breakfast goods from cooked food to fresh fruit, muesli, croissants, cooked meats and cheese.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were much too soft. It was like sleeping flat even with two pillows.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Free drinks in the mini bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booked room is free from 3pm. Before that you have to wait. Too long if you are coming from far away.

    Very rich breakfast, free mini-bar in your room, comfortable beds, even you can do ironing if you want :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked double room with one bed, but received a twin without any preliminary notification. In the bathroom was constant smell of sewage. Neither cleaning nor ventilation didn't help.

    Great location in the heart of Munich. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we asked at reception twice (two different girls at reception) how much will be cost a taxi to the airport, and they told us 17 euro. we take a taxi and finally the price was 72 euro. it was not so nice

    big room, very good breakfest, excellent location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been travel a lot the last 8 years. I have not find anywhere such a perfect hotel!!! Clean, friendly, with free mini bar in the room, which daily refresh, with a big and rich buffet, with very kind staff...in a perfect position , in the center of old town of Munich!! THE perfect hotel!!Congratulation to all of them!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, 5 minute walk to main square and train station to airport.The breakfast offered freshly squeezed orange juice and honey from a honeycomb which was highly unusual in what is a small city centre hotel. would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roomy modern quiet and comfortable hotel in the heart of old Munich. The bathroom was roomy and modern and they provided enough towels, unlike a lot of European hotels. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, with a wide selection of hot and cold items. (My favourite was the fresh squeezed orange juice machine). Was a great find, and would stay there again. 10-15 minute walk from the train station. There's a metro station nearby though we didn't use the metro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very reserved. Not made to feel "like honoured guest" which we have had at other hotels. Almost "we are doing you a favour."

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location couldn't have been better for the price. We were within walking distance of the the main attractions but in a quite area. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good. 3 minutes walk from the Marienplatz and subway station, but not noisy at all, because the hotel is located in a small street. Breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All rooms face the street and it is very noisy. They provide earplugs but they don't help much.

    We use this hotel because of the location which, for us, can't be beat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was really good

    The tariff included breakfast and minibar which was topped up daily. The location was excellent being very close to the Munich centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked it all!

    The location was great and the water was nice and hot in the shower and had good water pressure. The breakfast was delicious with a wide assortment of choices and the coffee makers in Germany make the best coffee - couldn't get enough of the milchecaffes (milk coffees). I would have liked an extra pillow but forgot to ask for one. Staff was great - very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    as europ small rooms no===small lobby no view only one left

    the location worthe the price with the normal breakfast the vending machine have water +etc good A/C the cleanliness of the apartment

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel München Altstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: