Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Bielefeld City 3 stars

Waldhof 15, 33602 Bielefeld, Germany

#13 of 25 hotels in Bielefeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1111 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    as I have said above

    you book with a credi/debit card they take or hold your money till you check out then charge you but your first holding payment does not get released when you check out for 3/4 woring days which is totally wrong reccomend paying up front and pay extras on end of visit also whatch what they charge as they tried to charge for extras

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    I had come for an army reunion so wanted somewhere cheap clean and cheerful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The biggest compliment I can give is to say I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi system was a nightmare, very bad for a business hotel. my reason for not coming back in the hotel !

    parking next door and perfect location in centre ville.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms have only dim lighting --not good when trying to work. Used to have BBC News on TV , which is no longer available. Only English language programme was Bloomberg and CNBC. The menu for food in the bar is very limited and the restaurant is not open during the week. There are lots of restaurants nearby, but after a long day, I like to eat in the hotel

    breakfast excellent. Staff helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really ! I have been here quite a few times before and I will definitely chose this hotel again.

    Location. This hotel is located in the old city with plenty of dining and shopping options - all within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating is not adjustable! They provide a thermal fan if you want a little more heat in your room. Only one lift in the Hotel. Very slow when peak hours of usage. Parking is under the hotel, but it has bad connections to the Hotel, be prepared to carry your bags up flights of steps.

    Breakfast is good, rooms have a nice size. The location is nice, many places close by for shopping and dining.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was narrow. The room was ok and the bed was so so. The breakfast was very expensive.

    It is close to the center. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out we told lady we had only one set of towels... and she said this room is usually for single occupancy.. and we should have call reception - is like my responsibility to ask what I pay for - no sorry..We was traveling for 12 hours and was looking forward for bath and sleep. There was one pillow and single duvet- but we found other set in the cupboard .

    Good location! Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible useless wifi connection, very tight and crowded underground parking. Bath tub, not shower, may be difficult to enter for older people.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast but expensive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in bathroom. Water leaking out of tub shower wall. Slow free internet while faster wifi is not free of charge. Public garage is very tight not only for big cars.

    Location near old town with shopping and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice somewhat outdated but very pleasant hotel in the city centre, very good public parking garage downstairs. Pleasant trendy Italian restaurant at the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 14€ for breakfast per person. No discount for hoel guests by the parking.

    Thehotel i nice decorted with a very close lcation to the shops and city center . Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One bed was a little soft. The bottom sheets were on the small side and came away in the night which was a little annoying.

    Great price. Excellent location in the centre of Bielefeld but not noisy as just off the main pedestrian area. Close to tram. 15-20 minutes walk from the main train station. Good quality room and bathroom. Twin beds were a good size single bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty run down rooms. Old, still ok, but not appropriate for 2017 anymore. Noisy aircon.

    Very friendly staff. Very kind and so helpful. Easy place, in the old town, walking distance and parking right in the building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were very dull and not particularly happy or helpful. It wasn't exactly a warm welcome...

    Great location close to many bars and restaurants. Very good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked air conditioning and we were far too hot. We asked for and we're given fans - far too noisy ! No real sleep for 5 nights which was irritating.

    The location was excellent for our purposes in the Altstat and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat broken, room was ready for one person (I was traveling with my partner), damp in the bathroom. Overall it wasn't a bad place but need more attention.

    We booked the room for 2 people and we paid for it but We received the room with one pillow, one duvet and one set of towels for one person. It was a lot cheaper when we booked via booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast fruit salad was disappointing (90% apple). restaurant not open in the evenings during my stay and choice of bar snacks really limited

    bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I made the reservation months ago and askedd for a room with a view of the Sparrenburg, I only got a room facing the a new park under construction at this time.

    Very central to old part of town, easy access to public transport eg tram, bus Nice restaurants, cafes in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we requested rooms when booking in October, the rooms assigned were overlooking a busy road. We requested quieter rooms, and got them the next night.

    When we got our requested quiet rooms they were very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the reception staff were not so forthcoming with tips about eating and sightseeing in Bielefeld, despite the signs saying to ask. The entrance of our room smelled of cigarette smoke. The bed was on the soft side.

    Clean, handy location, decent sized room. Kettle to make tea was much appreciated! Despite the cons would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    free wifi just a dream. not only the free wifi only allow just email and basic browsing (no streaming, very limited bandwidth), but also most of the time although connected no reaction. so i was desperate enough, even to do my train booking, and i was forced to go to the pay service (6 euro per 24h) which is good. what i think is that nowadays paying the wifi is like to have to pay for the hot water ion the shower ...!!! nonsense and not acceptable also because it was advertised the "free wifi"! besides in the pick hours hot water from the shower was not working properly: temperature was not stable ...!!!

    really excellent breakfast! nice and large room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast on the expensive side.

    The location is great, right in the middle of the old town, easily accessible by tram too. Hotel is a bit outdated, but the hospitality and kindness of the staff certainly compensate for this! Wonderful view from the 4th floor!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly the hotel is in need of renovation. The rooms and the common areas are looking very tired and worn-out. The free Wi-Fi was slow as hell. I find it irritating that these hotels masquerade as having a free Wi-Fi service that is actually very subpar, and then try to upsell you a "premium" service.

    Great location. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was pretty good with a very reasonable selection of items on offer. There is a multi-level underground car park directly below the hotel, which is fairly reasonable price-wise (I think it was 10 euros), although it's relatively cramped if you're traveling in a large car.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was absolutely nothing not to like. Perfect

    We stayed in a twin room which was extremely spotless and clean. Beds very comfortable all mod cons, 10/10.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast isn't included in the room and is quite expensive ! I was surprised to be told that the rooms on the first floor did not have a security locker inside the room :-(

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like people hovering over us while we were having breakfast. As we had two rooms we didn't need three beds in our rooms. We hoped staff would remove the third bed in each room but it didn't happen.

    We liked the bathrooms and the location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It appears that the hotel is still from the 1970's . Used to be a noble place 15 years ago. The room was not entirely clean and would need some refurbishment. Houesekeeping should have a closer look into details (Dust, stains in the bed decoration). Breakfast is rich, but 17 euro is quite expensive for every day as there is a good choice of other bistros and bars nearby for the half of the money.

    room comes with a fridge and kettle, free tea and instant coffe. Very good access to the old town of Bielefeld, small supermarket nearby. Free Wifi access in the room and lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was a bit lacking any atmosphere. I would of been nice to access a film in the room as a foreign traveller.

    The Location was fantastic, right in the aldstat and, the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big room, super comfy bed and very quiet even though in the centre of the Altstad. Great bathroom with good shower. Plenty of storage too, pretty much perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ridiculously overpriced breakfast. Wouldn't consider it with so many places to eat nearby.

    Excellent location (heart of old town). Rooms very spatious, clean and comfortable. Parking space at the basement with just 5 EUR per day. Very good price for what it offers!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had neck-ache, because the pillow is too thick, I guess. The music from an Arab bar (oriental) can be heard throughout the night if you book on the 1 st of 2nd floors, I guess.

    Location. Parking. Price. Russia Today. I can recommend this place. Liked the TV set with RT.com Was awesome. Bars, restaurants are around the corner. If you walk 2 mins you can find breakfast for 8 euros (served from 9 am). Go left till the corner and left once again. Then straight walk 2 blocks. Parking is right under the hotel and its pretty cheap (4 euros)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning although temperature was bearable with window open.

    Large airy room with kettle and tea and coffee. Very convenient for the Altstadt

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like!

    I liked everything about this hotel, it is in the city and close to old town, but it's a quiet location, comfortable room and great choice of food at breakfast time. Friendly staff, all in all an excellent weekend break.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have made it a lot more comfortable.

    The staff were very welcoming and very helpful. The room and hotel were immaculately clean. The position of the hotel was great, in a really nice part of town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great the view looking out to sparrenburg castle was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Steps to access the Hotel, No Disabled ramp and no lift from parking area, Not very good at all for Disabled access !!

    Baked Beans for breakfast 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft for me

    Great staff , nice room , lovely breakfast , brilliant location .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the rooms made them very very hot....

    Great location, lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike..

    Nice and clean..great location near the old town...friendly and helpful staff...would definately stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value and right in the centre of the city, highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Prefect for getting around Bielefeld. We had a great weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Will definatley stay at the tulip again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    saaie lobby

    perfecte ligging in centrum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, very convenient for shopping and drinking, there is an amazing party at the end of May, perfect trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motorcycling touring, the parking restricted to cars only. Though parked on street directly outside reception.

    City centre location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking inadequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wheelchair ramp

    Very cleen and staff very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small and quite dark. It did not look like the pictures.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive

    Good value for money Clean rooms Good bed Good shower Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money and very good location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is poor and expensive (14€)

    Confortable, clean, easy parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were abrupt and unfriendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotell is little bit used and outdated. Upgrade is needed.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location for the town and amenities. A little dated but lovely and clean and well maintained. Would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Weather

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only fault was that the TV didn't show any English Channels and it did advertise that it did, so poor score for that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the heart of the city, rooms a little tired but spotlessly clean throughout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very TIGHT underground parking (8 euros)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having USB power chargers in 2917😠Easpecially for international visitors👎🏿

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast price

    Great room, nice bathroom, good breakfast, good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was easy but expensive

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extra jumpy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work, no available plug sockets in the room.

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 1 problem was that, there was not internet inside the room.

    Behavior of the 2 ladies who were in the reception was great and I thank them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opted out of breakfast. Far too expensive at 14 euros. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel located near bars and restaurants very good overall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking at location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible internet, broken shower, dull rooms

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Putting the tennis on the television in the bar!

    Breakfast was plentiful although room crowded at peak times as you would expect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Tulip Bielefeld City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: