Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Potsdam City 4 stars

Lange Brücke, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

#26 of 31 hotels in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1585 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking is not straight forward but not too bad, take some change with you in case you need to use the car park near the hotel

    I arrived early not expecting my room to be ready but it was, really good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wide range of choice for the breakfast and high quality. The room is very clean and comfortable. The staff is cordial and speak english too. I like the interior decoration of the room and of the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too soft, also the a/c has to be cleaned! when turned on, the heat with the dust made it a bit difficult to breathe.. and the most important i had to prepay before checking out!! not the deal !!! Plus, misleading accomodation/payment terms via booking.com-hotel mercure!!! When you arrive everything may change!!

    The room in general & the view..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked for quiet room but there was noise from drilling and renovations. Dinner menu very limited and staff at dinner unfriendly (unlike breakfast staff). I had stayed at this location in 1989 and there are still traces of DDR ...

    Breakfast was exceptionally lavish but dinner not so. Room was compact but efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Would have liked tea/coffee making facility

    Hotel is quite well situated for walking into city. Palaces are at varying distances but there is public transport. Hotel rooms are very small but have everything you need. We were on 4th floor and is was very quiet. We ate in resturant and had pleasant meal although not a wide menu Staff were all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I couldn't make the heating work properly. It was cooling the room at the beginning even if I setup heating. Then when it started heating the room, I couldn't manage to stop the heating.

    Good location, close to the Potsdam Haupbahnhof, tram stantion. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking cost 12euro per day Interior of the rooms quite old. I had a room next to teh elevators which was quite noisy The aircon couldnt be switched off

    Friendly staff, uncomplicated check in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult parking system. Lengthy check-in and out procedure. No invoice received at check-out because printer was defective and still awaiting invoice via email or post.

    Very comfortable and clean. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are badly dated and need to be refreshed. The bathroom fixtures and vanity were clean, but not particularly easy to use.

    The room had A/C which in Germany is not the norm. The breakfast menu was spectacular and the best I have had in my many trips to Germany.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needed a little care to obtain water at the point wanted

    Convenient for public transport and river tours. Good view from 11th floor (bedroom window). Very helpful welcome at reception. We used it as a base for day trips to Berlin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even that hotel is clearly visible, it is little bit complicated find right way how to come by car directly to main entrance from the street.

    Friendly personal, nice and well designed and equipped rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked this hotel because it said there would be wifi at the hotel. As I lived on the 11th floor however, the internet wasn't working in my room. The first night I could just about open my emails, but the other two nights I couldn't even open an internet window - it wasn't working at all and so I couldn't get the work done as planned. When I called to the reception about this they just told me that "yes, the internet is slow", and didn't respond when I said that I had booked this hotel specifically for business and because I needed internet access. Neither did they apologise or offer any compensation. Very disappointing.

    Nice hotel, clean, good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of the room was not to my liking, you could almost fall out of the toilet onto the bed. We were in a superior room so I`m glad we were not in standard one.

    The breakfast was good and the location and the view from our top floor room in the tower block Was great. In view of recent events in London I was relieved to see they had sprinkler system! We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night not something we usually do and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and attentive. The location is excellent and having stayed in Potsdam many times it was my first stay in Mercure hotel. I would stay again as I found it to be conveniently located and within walking distance to town centre and all local restaurants etc. Beautiful city and visited with elderly mother who loves the area as it is a much slower pace than Berlin and lots to see without having to spend any time train/bus hopping.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included for the price; especially since the hotel is 30-40 years old! Staff was very cold and unfriendly. Wifi was the worst I've seen in Germany.....but this is the case throughout Germany.

    Location to train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solo travel and request large bed which is not fullfilled ; they give side room and refuse to give lake view room however the hotel not seems to be busy

    The only hotel in Potsdam ; rooms are clean and good Potsdam is very quiet area ; don't think of any night activities ; it's not there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff, very helpful and polite, they are the very best at this hotel

    Four stars but the breakfast is not included, it cost 16 euro extra per person per night I was surprised that the price did not included breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They made a party in the roodtop bar (17 floor) till 3 am, even on the 11th floor, where our room was, it was impossible to sleep! Not the first hotel of this chain that is a total dissapointment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Free wifi wasn't very reliable but you had the option to buy an upgrade in the web portal. I had plenty of data on my phone so didn't use the wifi much anyway.

    Hotel was a good location - close to the main Potsdam train station and the tram lines were directly across the road. It had a good breakfast with lots of choices. Rooms on the upper floors had excellent views of the city and even Sanssouci. Hotel Bar did nice cocktails and was a nice place to read a book in the afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) hotel used for internet connection application my cloud, you has to reconnect again and again, 2) I warn everyone before parking, the hotel has a small parking which works like a lottery, you can place bets, whether you find or not find free place and price is 12 EUR for day

    excellent breakfast, hotel location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms can be noisy, you could hear noises from neighbouring rooms.

    Great view (we were on the tenth floor) and good location, centre is a short walk and close by the station and shopping centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi at rush hours had mediocre performance. Had to use my mobile hot-spot at times to get work done.

    Great hotel with a splendour view from the higher floors. Great location with walk-distance to all the interesting places in Potsdam. Super break-fast with a great selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking at Hotel is not mentioned beforehand. It is 12€ per night.

    For such a small space the bathroom area is well designed. Just make sure you look in every drawer and cupboard

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very narrow with a moving door separating the toilet from the shower. There was no door separating the bathroom from the room, which allowed odours from the bathroom to enter the room.

    The view to the river was amazing. very convenient location.good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the internet was intermitant and at first difficult to figure out. Probably typical of the area though.

    Excellent breakfasts but a bit pricey if you didnt want a lot. Dinner menu and wine list very acceptable - and food on the whole excellent quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The two single beds pushed together (to make a double) was odd, and the towels were a bit thin.

    Great location that's walking distance from the train station. Wonderful, friendly staff, all of whom also spoke English (which helped because my German is terrible). Delicious food in the restaurant and also at the bar -- the caprese salad was one of the best I've ever had. Clean room, great shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning... Both the room and the breakfast area were not clean. When we entered the room, there were hairs in the sink, on the paper towels and on the shower tap. Since it was late in the night, we didn't contact the reception for a change. The bed and the towels were looking fine but still, this is not acceptable. Also in the breakfast area, the tables were not cleaned up properly and the service and friendliness was not satisfying.

    The room was small but renovated and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was offered for free only in the rooms but not in the lobby or in the breakfast area which I found odd. I stayed for two nights and after the first night after my room was cleaned I didn't receive a full set of fresh towels and my toiletries were not replenished. There was no bottled water in the room and the fridge was completely empty with nothing to buy in terms of snacks or any drinks. This was very inconvenient.

    Mercure Hotels are generally of a very good quality. I like the rooms and the breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot was full There was no apparent order while checking in - people coming and getting in front, and I had to wait for 15 min to check in Bathroom is very small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding a parking space at the hotel is really difficult unless you arrive before 1600 hours

    Very good room layout in a small space. Everything worked, the bar was good. Location is good for the new Film Museum and the main restaurant area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff's English and communication

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast and views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door of the toilets.

    Bath room features, the shower. Very comfortable pillow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English service will be appreciated for international guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    traffic noise

    Welcome fruit and water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unattractive building. Staff not too friendly. Rooms too compact and decor uninspiring.

    Close to central station and tram.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon

    Good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was useless - extremely slow even for short text emails. The breakfast was too expensive for a person who does not eat a lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    aircon was very noisy

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi did not work well in room, had to go to lobby.

    Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was slow

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Gym, no any sport facilities

    the place was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath - dangerous because could be slipperyand the bottom was not even.

    Friendly staff, good restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking spaces for hotel

    Top floor room with fantastic view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little overprices. Breakfast was to be charged seperatly, and was way to expencive!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location of hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight drain smell in shower

    Excellent breakfast, lots of choice, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally didn't find the staff particularly kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows too soft

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms-behind-the-elevators are quite noisy, the other rooms completely fine.

    Nice all-around experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff grumpy with a few exceptions. Bed was awful

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower, the bed and the view were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is expensive. Breakfast is not included.

    Good location. Very clean. Nice restaurant with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place I will love to visit again

    Location and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is weird a bit :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking

    Meals

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many fast bicycles in the surroundings

    Fantastic view from the higher floors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioner did not work well!

    Location & breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked large bed, got 2 small beds. Sink wasn't working, there was smoke smell in the bathroom. They did a discount after complaining.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC was not working in one of the rooms , our check in was delayed till 3:30 in one room

    staff was friendly , location is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly service Bike rental Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very unfriendly

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awesome, biggest breakfast buffet I've ever seen! Rooms well furnished, comfy beds, fluffy towels etc!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel in central location. Good views of stage in free music festival in gardens next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used to be a nice 4 star hotel several years ago. Extremely slow WiFi. Small room.

    Nicely located within walking distance of the main train station

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beds are monstrous and need urgent replacement of the mattrasses; the pillows are synthetic which I dislike. Airconditioning does not work properly, and you are not supposed to open the windows. It was terribly hot.

    breakfast was decent, room service was professional and friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room cleaner knocked the room door, went into my room with his master key directly at about 08:00 am, and asked when I would check out . I have never had such kind of experience in a four star hotel. The staff training has problem.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV screen small for 4* hotel. free Wi-Fi could be faster, "logistic" of the bathroom space not good but for a few nights acceptable

    Breakfast of good quality, comfortable bed, excellent view from the top floors

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Mercure is in a great location/ Walking distance from the train station and from the center. Its high-rising building offers a beautiful views. In winter you can see beautiful sunrises at a reasonable hour (8 am).

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel Potsdam City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: