Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schützenstr. 11, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#26 of 597 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3305 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again if visiting Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!!

    One of the best hotels I have stayed in! Huge room and very comfortable. Brilliant location in a quiet part of Berlin. Handy for the hop-on bus at Checkpoint Charlie bus stop. Restaurant staff excellent - special mention for Mareno on breakfast duty! Very friendly and always smiling.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    The bed was really comfy and the shower was modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was really hot inside (I think the heating was on) and the aircon didn't cool the room very well. The bathroom sink was blocked but we kept forgetting to tell reception - so we didn't give them chance to fix it.

    The bed was really comfy and the shower was modern and powerful. The room was really large with plenty of wardrobe space. The location is quite near checkpoint charlie but very quiet and not near a main road.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Exactly what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the breakfast room was slightly too hot but you could sit between the bar and the dinning room which was far more pleasant.

    Facilities and food were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Location was excellent for catching transportation and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent for catching transportation and seeing the sights yet hotel was on a quiet street. Room very spacious. Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was a great stay and will happly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Providing free Berlin maps will be an outstanding service.

    The hotel is located in a quiet yet great location nearby Checkpoint Charlie and hop on hop off bus stops. Room size was perfect for 3 persons with outstanding wifi connection. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    It’s a very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to the elevator and it was very noisy in the morning, around 8am. Since I was on a holiday, I wish the employees were more quiet as well às the elevator.

    It’s a very good hotel. My room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpful. Location is good, close to Check Point Charlie. There are restaurants, coffee houses and supermarkets in a 2 block area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    I've enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was on the 8th floor. But the elevator could go up to the 7th floor. We had to go up 1 stair. Toilet and shower were in 2 different places.

    The room was very spacious. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    good!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    underground parking fee is little bit high and little bit hard to access(very heavy door!)

    very close to check point and there are so many resturants and coffee shops and shopping spots. room was clean and spacious. they give us free drinks and sweets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location - close to U-bahn but still situated at a calm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location - close to U-bahn but still situated at a calm road without traffic noises. Good breakfast buffet. Large room and good bathroom (shower was really good)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, spacious and comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good

    Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, spacious and comfortable, perfect for family with 2 kids. Very good breakfast. Quiet place, but lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Close to metro station, many attractions in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in the heart of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We weren't entirely happy that you had to pay for water and we didn't have any milk for the coffees/teas supplied in the room. Also the staff were friendly enough but could have told us a bit more information e.g. wifi information, breakfast times or offer any advice about the area.

    The room was incredibly spacious and it was incredibly quiet. We were so pleased to get a good nights rest. The location was fantastic as well, very close to Checkpoint Charlie and from there, we walked mostly everywhere. The room was immaculate and very clean too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is realy excellent, most of the reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleanliness of the room was not the highest level. even after requesting specificly vacuming the carpet "due to white flakes on the carpet" we came back and found the room had been cleaned and the white flakes had been moved around. Maybe consider changing to a stronger vacuum cleaner. The hotel does not offer luggage services, something that is offered without request even at 3 star hotels...

    The location is realy excellent, most of the reception staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good 13 Euros per person and was good enough, there is no reason to charge 20 Euros per person for adding a few Jams and breads. Great access to public transportation and quite rooms. The barmen were friendy and had a possitive attitude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel in a brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A fantastic hotel in a brilliant location. Central but tucked away in a quiet side street. The room was enormous and we were upgraded as we were visiting for my husband's birthday. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a lovely said.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was we had one toilet (on its own ) the bathroom was a double so it had a bath and shower in the same room.

    It was a lovely said. 4 of us stayed here and we didn’t feel on top of each other ... great location / staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent stay would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the place or the staff.

    Very comfortable bed. Good quality bed linen. Great shower. Fantastic breakfast, huge variety to choose from the buffet tables. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was extremely clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed in a 3 person room was too small for great comfort.

    The room was extremely clean and spacious. The facilities the hotel provided, such as the free bottles and snacks from the lobby, were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, we could walk almost everywhere or take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, we could walk almost everywhere or take the subway/bus 2min away. Close to cafes, shops, restaurants and supermarkets in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The room was huge(!), really spacious, comfortable and clean, with two practical bathrooms (room for 3 people). Good amenities in the bathroom and fridge. The wifi signal was good, but not great (first floor). The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great location, spacious room,attentive employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, we enjoyed our 2 nights at this hotel. Marina was very nice and professional. We needed to print few documents but the file would not open ,Marina came to the rescue and it was done with in few minutes . We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    The room had a great set up for 3 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was split in two rooms; sink and shower/sink/toilet. While it was nice to have two sinks, both rooms were fairly small.

    The room had a great set up for 3 of us. The kitchen stayed open a little late to make a snack for us. The lobby area was nice. There was AC which was wonderful as it was very hot in Berlin while we were there. Nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Room so hot it was hell. We won't come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was really disappointed that we were allocated a room on the top floor of the apartment (Residents) block. It had floor to ceiling windows and the room was exceptionally hot. The air-conditioner didn't seem to work (it was 37 degrees in Berlin on the days we visited and it was cooler to be outside than in our room). I called through twice one morning to ask if maintenance could come up to see if there was a problem. Both times I was quickly dismissed by the man at the front desk. About 4 hours later, after two calls to the front desk and when I was struggling to get our twin infants down for a nap in the really hot room, I went down to ask if anything had been done. A different member of staff spoke to me and told me that maintenance had been to look and that there was nothing wrong with the air-conditioner but that it "basically doesn't work in this heat as that room gets too hot for it to work" and that "our air conditioners aren't built for this kind of heat". They offered me a fan to which I replied that I would rather change rooms. He said they were fully booked. He then went to speak to the Manager and came back that he could try find us a different room. He spent some time searching but couldn't seem to find anything before I just gave up and said that I would just take the fan. The man behind the desk this time was polite and trying very hard to help me - but I am most disappointed that the hotel would even allow that room to be booked on such a hot day when they know the air-conditioning can't service it. It was like hell in our room (our baby monitors read a temperature of 34 degrees) - we avoided it when we could. Our twins woke up after every nap with wet hair it was so hot. We paid almost 500 EURO to stay two nights across two rooms and I'm disappointed that we didn't get what we paid for.

    The woman who checked us in was efficient and friendly. The hotel lobby is very modern and clean. The breakfast offerings were good and the tea brewing section was particularly good. We ate at the restaurant for lunch one day as we were soon awaiting a taxi transfer to the airport and it was quite nice. The rooms were very spacious and gave us enough room to put up our travel cot beds for our children. The location is exceptional - literally around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, hop on/hop off buses, supermarkets, restaurants, bars and bakeries - and only a short stroll (max 15 min) to other locations such as the Berlin Mall, Potsdamer Platz and Gendenmarkt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    I'd visit here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding out the car parking cost extra as I was checking in - I didn't see that when I booked it. (Perhaps that's standard practice? Perhaps I didn't look closely enough.)

    Room was more like a suite - very spacious and comfortable. The fact that it is in Berlin - what a city!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent rooms, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit expensive so skipped that.

    Excellent rooms, very comfortable. Nice bar and friendly staff. Near UBahn and walking distance to many sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel next to Checkpoint Charlie. Big rooms with new bathrooms- extremely familiyfrendly. Very nice staff. Would for sure use thai hotel next time I’m om Berlin with my family

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Good base for a city trip to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    The location of the hotel was really good for a quick city trip being located just beside Checkpoint Charlie and the Stadtmitte U Bahn. . The bedroom was large and clean and really comfortable. The lobby area was welcoming and the bar was small but friendly. We did not eat in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Berlin is a fantastic place to explore. This hotel gave us a base to do that and is generally ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was smaller than I expeceted.

    Travelled to the hotel from Tegal airport via the U6 to StadtMitte. A short 10 minute easy walk to the hotel. Check-in and arrival were all ok. We were shown to our room on the 6th floor with a view of the inner court yard. Room 620. A number of other properties from the inner court yard looked into our room. Breakfast was ok, typical hotel buffet style and nothing special. We did not eat in the hotel due to eating out in other places in Berlin. The barman “Carlo” is an asset to the hotel and made that aspect of our stay very pleasant. Check out was again painless and no problem. For us as an English couple in our 50’s the location was very good for what we wanted to see around Berlin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Generally has a very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing I dint like . The room fridge has left over food and drinks from the previous guests .

    Really enjoyed my stay . The room was huge and comfortable. The best part was the balcony . Very close to Charlie checkpoint. And the hotel gave us free drinks and snacks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As other tourist said, bathroom became little smelled with hot water...

    The location is center of berlin. I could go to U-barn station, hop-on hop-off bus stop and many important sightseeing places within 10min on foot. The breakfast was great. I enjoyed German and European foods with nice garden view. In my room, there were various types of tea and coffee. It was nice because it was cold during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.0
    Lousy checkin, not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Bad checkin experience. We were given a room on 7th floor and the elevators don’t go till that floor!! 2. Bed was too soft 3. Facilities were just about ok, but do not qualify as 4 stars

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Top hotel & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great large room with balcony, bathroom & separate toilet was lovely and clean, minibar is a plus. Location was super, restaurants & cafes, shops just round the corner. Underground 5-10 mins walk; however street is nice and quite. From the hotel many highlights within walking distance. We loved Berlin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast with plenty of options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too hard for my taste. Bathroom supplies (shower gel, schampoo etc) could have been better. Housekeeping woke us up early in the morning (8:15 am).

    Excellent breakfast with plenty of options. Spacious and clean room that felt airy and comfortable. Bathroom was like a modern clean hotel bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for a quiet and well presented hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing -- it's a very nice hotel

    Nice hotel in a good location. Room was spacious and in excellent condition, and looked out onto a nice garden. Beds comfortable. Bathroom was very well designed. The restaurant bar was also good and reasonably priced. Staff were polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    A decent place to stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minuses: - The rooms' design is not very pretty - In the rooms overlooking the internal patio, you can hear and smell the restaurant located downstairs - The shower wouldn't mind a deeper clean and a better water mixer

    We didn't have high expectation, but it turned out to be a decent place to stay. Fairly-priced, fairly-equipped, fairly-located (right by the Checkpoint Charlie). The size of the room was comfortable for the three of us. The staff was informative and obliging. The WIFI worked okayish. Pluses: - spacious room - the location provides excellent connectivity - separate toilet - nice Bavarian restaurant (Maximilian's) nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    A great visit. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trainee staff member at reception was less than friendly and not very helpful. No complimentary lotion in an otherwise we'll-appointed room.

    Excellent breakfast. Very large well-appointed, sunny room. The young bartender was very personable. Many city sites are easily accessible by U bahn or for those who like to walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    good but 'impersonal'!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the receptionists could be more friendly and warm. The one of the night shift was much friendlier and helpful. The breakfast should have a greater variety for the price of 20 euros! The restaurant was not good, even though the staff there was friendly and kind. Overall it was a good stay, but a little bit 'impersonal' and 'neutral'. I expected something more for its price.

    A Hotel with a nice design, very clean, in a nice area of berlin, nearby check point charlie (Friedrichstrasse). the room was spacious and the double bed comfortable; the sofa as well. The breakfast could be better for the expensive price of 20 euros that we had to pay extra. The restaurant is not to recommend. The menu gave a better impression of the dishes, than they really were.. The hotel's staff was so and so! half very kind and friendly and half very cold and distant. The 'privilege room' has certain gifts (bottles of water and snacks). that was nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Location, restaurants nearby, friendly staff, good sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Servicing room slightly lacking, drink supplies not always replenished, glasses not washed.

    Location, restaurants nearby, friendly staff, good sized room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, HUGE room worth upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money and worthwhile upgrading to a superior room as the room was huge. Room had it's own foyer and little walk in wardrobe area. There is also a separate toilet to the main bathroom, very nice!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Certainly appreciated the helpfulness of the staff and would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was rather cramped and a little more space there would be an advantage.

    The room was spacious, extra comfortable bed, staff extra helpful. Very quiet and restful and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Room is big
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, noises from the patio, bad noise insulation. Bad lighting as well, the table lamp is hurting my eyes and there are no other light in the room for the working space

    Room is big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but a little expensive. 20 euros per person for a family of 5 is a lot. They are too strict with bringing in outside food. Don’t permit you to sit in lobby/public spaces with outside food and drink.

    Great location. Huge rooms. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bar and outside garden to enjoy a drink. Staff extremely helpful & friendly. Received a pleasant surprise of an upgrade to a suite which was lovely as was a special occasion. Would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Good value friendly staff clean modern hotel. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast tea. Only a small complaint but a relevant one!!

    Location of this hotel was perfect in the city but a quiet area. No noise at all and felt very safe. Good transport links underground just around the corner and tourist bus stop next to Checkpoint Charlie. Within walking distance to many attractions. Lovely large room and extremely clean and tidy. Would highly recommend. Only 30 minutes from the airport. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good hotel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the bed wasn't that comfortable and the pillows and duvets weren't feather - they were quite lumpy in fact.

    Delicious breakfast, friendly staff, good location, large room, lovely outdoor courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Nice location and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift can't reach 8th floor so have to climb the stairs to get to rooms on 8th floor.

    Friendly staff. Balconies on both sides. Convenient location but not noisy. Supermarket, pharmacy & post office nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great location. Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lovely large room with windows that open! The staff were polite and helpful. The small bar opens into a tree covered garden which is peaceful. The hotel is just around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie and the Hop on Hop Off bus stop so an excellent location! There is a Lidl supermarket 200 meters from hotel so you can stock up on wine to chill in your fridge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly we were offered not the room that we booked on the website (2 separate beds instead of 1), but it was immediately changed on our request. The breakfast was nice, the only thing that surprised us was that porridge was served ice cold.

    The hotel is located conveniently, Potsdamer Platz and Reichstag, unter den Linden and Gendarmenmarkt are accessible by foot. Metro station is also near. Room was spacious and equipped with everything necessary. There is also an ironing room which is quite useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic stay with 4 girlfriends. 2 rooms were huge so all 5 of us could socialise together in one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Woman on check in was miserable, but everything else good

    Location Great, Rooms were huge. Good to have a seperate toilet from the shower room. Beds were comfy. All good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks are a bit pricey. Laundry was ridiculously expensive.

    Great location walking distance to lots of things as well as 2 u-Bahn lines. Super convincing to get around. Comfortable rooms, reliable WiFi (was a work trip)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A Gem of a Hotel in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I guess smoking on the balcony is okay some of the smell comes back into the room. We don't smoke, but it was okay.

    Everything was great, location was fantastic, staff fantastic, outside and inside areas were fantastic. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Awfful, not reccomennded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awfully smelling room, strange layout of the room: writing tabe with fridge and tv on it in the middle of the room, loud party in neighbouring rooms and corridors until 4:30 am, strange arrangement with taking minibar water from reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is on good location if you want to see major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection could be better.

    Hotel is on good location if you want to see major sightseeing attractions, hotel staff is very kind and will assist with all you need, renting a bicycles for us was great idea, rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, clean and tidy, near the underground so useful to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even tho it had a little kitchen there was no cutlery or plates, or anything to cook in. Hotel restaurant menu was poor.

    Comfortable bed and sofa bed, clean bathrooms, cheeky little balcony so we could sit out in the sunshine on the 4th floor. Cleaner came in every day and tidied up, made the bed, etc. You could choose to have fresh bedding and towels or keep them to save washing. Good coffee machine and coffee pods, tea bags, etc. Great choice for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice quiet hotel in 'walking' area to all the main attractions - LOVE THE CITY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark hotel room and difficult to get fresh air from open windows course of the placement in the corner of the backyard.

    Very nice quiet area. Breakfast was good. Our appartment was big but very dark and it was difficult to get fresh air in the rooms course of the placement in the corner of backyard Nice easy parking basement. All in All very good hotel :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    We love Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I cannot comment on the food or drink – we had all our meals out – but the bar staff we passed by on our 5-night stay were very friendly. The free wi-fi was fine in our room. Google maps worked on Map view, but struggled on Satellite view, so power users would need to pay for a better service. We had ample closet space, but only three hangers each. I asked for six more, we got four. The only noise intrusion came between 6 and 7 am each morning, as the (I'm guessing) kitchen staff trundled their supply carts across the cobbled courtyard. What a racket! (Mind, we sleep with a window open.) These are all minor issues. If we wanted a hotel in the same part of Berlin again, we'd stay here. I do have to complain about the price of parking, though. €25/day is extortionate. The price of security, I guess, but more than double what I paid in Köln or Aachen. It probably explains why the garage was mostly empty.

    We had room 520. It was excellent and large, looking out over a quiet courtyard. It had a TV/desk area separating the bed area from the seating area. I kept forgetting where I left stuff! The modern bathroom had an excellent shower. The bed was huge and firm. There were ample plugin points. Nights were dead quiet. The location draw is not really Checkpoint Charlie, but Gendarmenmarkt. One is absolutely spoilt for choice when it comes to places to eat and drink. We walked to all the sights, only taking the U-Bahn to the botanical garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and cozy hotel in the center of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost everything was excellent except of two minor things. The first thing is that maids in the morning don't knock the door before the entering the room for some reasons. I really surprised when some person accidentally appeared in my room when I was in bed in the morning :( The other thing is that kettle in my room didn't work fine. Rather often I couldn't turn it on, because of some problems with its button.

    It's a very cozy and comfortable hotel in the center of Berlin. I really liked that I could reach almost any sight on foot and it was really pleasant to do it in the middle of April. The hotel is situated on a quiet street and has its small inner courtyard, so I was listening to birds singing every morning and that was excellent! Also receptionist Marina helped me a lot and answered all my questions about the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a pleasant quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door lock was very difficult to operate for the room we were allocated - required help from reception and others on a few occasions to enter room.

    The room was clean, quiet and well equipped. All staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful weekend in Berlin!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Read below.

    The hotel was comfortable enough and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We were somewhat disappointed with the location of the hotel. It's location was rated over 9 points (which I usually assume with Booking.com is an excellent location) but it was a good 2 to 3 blocks further from the center than I usually like to be. In addition, I booked a superior double room to assure a larger space and was given a very retangular, awkward room whereby extra space wasn't really usable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    I recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We shared a 3 room and the extra bed was not comfortable. Even the pillow was different and low quality, when we asked to change they said was not possible. Not many options in the food menu

    Location was excellent, service very friendly and helpful. I needed vanity item and they were very helpful and fast in providing it. As a plus we liked the song at the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Gread city, greaf hotel in a central location perfect for seeing all the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really warm and whilst there was cold air fans they didn't seem to do much. Only minor though, we opened the windows.

    Room size was excellent, service in the bar was too. Staff helpful send friendly.my special request was listened too which was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and buffet breakfast, would definitely choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only criticism I have is that we didn't get any information regarding the facilities available, breakfast times etc on check in and we couldn't find any information in the room so we had to keep asking at reception when we needed to know something.

    Breakfast was excellent! We arrived very early and instead of placing our luggage in storage they allowed us direct access to our room which made things much easier when travelling with children!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in central clean and spacious hotel probably more upmarket than most basic city hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower area seems to have a problem with smell. Poor selection of snack food at the bar.

    Very Spacious Bedroom. Excellent Breakfast. Central Location. Quiet Street just off the main tourist area near Checkpoint Charlie. Very clean hotel with nice courtyard to sit out if you wished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, close to many interesting spots, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't understand why purchasing a large bottle of water at the from the reception desk should cost 7 Euros, where it would cost 1-2 euros at the supermarket or 3-4 at a fancy restaurant.

    Excellent location, close to many interesting spots, very large rooms for a city hotel, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great family stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is an excellent base for a family trip to Berlin. Many sights e.g. Brandenburger Tor are within walking distance. The closest U-Bahn station is an eight minutes walk away. The roome are nice and well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location huge rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff a bit aloof. Bar was not busy but took ages to get served

    Stayed in apartment with sofa bed made up for daughter who is 20 which she said was fine. The room was huge and quiet . Bed was fantastic. Nice bathroom. Good location near U bahn

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Thoughr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Clean ,friendly. Ideally placed for sight seeing. Fabulous restaurants within walking distance. Outstanding.

    This hotel is outstanding. We loved our stay and will deffinatly be back. Staff were so friendly & so help full. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Birthday trip away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could be too warm at some points even with Windows open and the fan system only seemed to cool near the door of the room. Apart from those two small complaints the hotel was great.

    The property was on a quiet street despite its central location. The staff were all very helpful with checking in and provided information about the surrounding area. The hotel it's self was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. I was very pleased.

    Our room was very big and situated at the front of the hotel. The bathroom was also very big with a walk in shower. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location for business, and also as tourist. Good hotel, not amazing, but good!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service is fine, rooms good, bathroom a bit small this time for 2 people sharing, but overall it is a fine hotel, for business it does the job. Tjhier apartments are good for sharing, small kitchenette, this time only a normal double room, but spacious enough. It's clean, central, good value for money!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms shower only had very hot water but still not too bad

    They upgraded our room and the room was excelent! Location was good metro is near! Staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant, happy overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was two singles pushed together to make a double. Could have supplied water with the room. And didn't see any shower hats.

    Bed was very comfy. Room was huge and bathroom/shower was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    A great "home base" for work or travel in berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not much.

    This is a comfy hotel, with great facilities, and good atmosphere. Location is good. public transportation nearby, and tourist atractions are in walking distance. rooms are spacious clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Will visit again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The halls were a little echoing, so I could hear people passing my room at night if they were talking.

    The room was huge for Europe and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Thanks but won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could of advised at the time of booking that there was construction works occurring at night. The menu for food during the day is very limited. Bar staff seem to be cooking the food; I’ve no problem with that , but it’s difficult for them to do that and run the bar at the same time. Had to send one meal back as an item which was supposed to be cooked was still frozen. They advertise the WiFi as being free..if you want any decent reception you’ll have to go with the €6 for 24 hour option

    Staff were friendly , location to public transport was quite good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    great hotel, with great staff, decoration and a winning location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is nothing that springs to mind

    the location of the hotel was great especially as it was so close to our office. I love design and the spaces were contemporary and fun, but just the right amount. The room I had was great and even had a balcony. At night the hotel was quiet and I got a great nights sleep. Breakfast was good with a good selection to suit everyone's tastes. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the little things I would expect. No complementary bottles of water. Cost of the small bottle in the mini bar was nearly 3 euros. Hotel toiletries were very poor and not replaced even over a three night stay. Neither was the tea/coffee.

    Overall a wonderful hotel. Breakfast was first class. Plenty of choice. Good location for hop on hop off bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Excellent citybreak for shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was OK, as I expected. I've stayed last year at this hotel and I choose it again because it was an unforgettable experience. Once again I appreciated the high quality of services: central location but in a very quiet zone, very large room, comfortable beds even for the third person, very clean, very friendly staff. Huge, varied breakfast, of very good quality. Certainly the hotel will be the first option on my next visit to Berlin.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: