Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Germany

#13 of 43 hotels in Trier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1058 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Room with the View on Porta Nigra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room with the View on Porta Nigra! Hotel in a lovely area just cross Porta Nigra. About eight minutes lovely walk from train station, one minute walk to Porta Nigra itself, another one minute to the town Main Square (do Mosel wine tasting!). Or you go to the right and in 5 minute reach Mosel rive. Definitely must take river boat trip! at the quiet backstreet of historic part of the town. Easy to go everywhere from here. Do not forget Palace and Arena! Visiting Trier? Stay in Mercury near Porta Nigra at the room with view on Porta Nigra!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if these Mercure hotels actually have a complete double bed instead of 2 singles pushed together plus the internet was very poor.

    Staff were very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paper cups and plastic spoons with the drinks tray? No thanks - I've paid €190 per night. Proper cups and cutlery please.

    Good hotel in a perfect location right across from the Porta Nigra, and a few minutes walk to the very pretty Marktplatz central square. Only a 10 minute walk from the bus/rail station if that's the way you're travelling. Premium rooms (and the breakfast room and the bar) have a view to the Porta Nigra. Good quality safes in the rooms, including an internal power socket for keeping your devices safe AND charged.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place for a relaxing stay and to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to single out.

    Good quality chain hotel. Superb location is ideal for exploring the city. Good staff capable of dealing professionally with a diverse nationality client base.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    It seems that Mercure doesn't mean a consistent standard throughout the Accor group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starkness of public area. Two pairs of curtains in the bedroom. Each pair was one brown and one green curtain???? We were there for 4 nights but had a row with the duty manager about the quality of the main dish on the third night, and experienced rudeness from another member of staff when we thought the matter had been resolved. We ate out on the last night.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, comfortable and convenient area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The construction noise as they were doing renovations at the front door. Wish the bathrooms had wash cloths.

    The bed was comfortable and clean, so was the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, our room faced the Porta Nigra, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gentlemen at front desk was just OK, he seemed to simply be going through the motions; ladies at front desk were polite and made the effort to go the extra mile.

    Great location, our room faced the Porta Nigra, which was quite special. Train station is an easy 10 minute walk, shopping areas and other attractions are close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Everything was very good except that a disabled friend of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was very good except that a disabled friend of mine visited me and was appalled by the lack of features for the disabled in such an high class, modern hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was ineffective in our room as the heat was still on as well. But my sisters room worked great.

    Location was awesome! A room with the. Jew of Porta Negra was worth it. It was very clean and they gave extra pillows which we really liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I’ll be staying here from now on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like.

    The rooms were very spacious. The parking was on site and very convenient. I enjoyed the location, the breakfast, everything. I come to Trier every year, and this was my first time at this hotel. It is now my hotel of choice in Trier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Really in front of Porta Nigra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 star hotel some accomodations and furnitures are a little bit...economy oriented.

    Excellent position, direct in front of the Porta Nigra and few minutes from the histirical city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel at a good rate right outside the Porta Nigri.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really don't have any complaints. There was some construction going on nearby, but it was minimal and not something the hotel could control.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They even noticed that it was my birthday and had a small gift for me in my room when we checked in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice break away to Trier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one chair in the room. On both mornings the room staff forgot to replentish items that had been used, like paper cups and toiletries. While showering the water temperature changed from hot to cold constantly, also the flow from the shower nozzle was very poor. We ate one evening in the hotel restaurant and we opted for the dinner buffet, which was a mistake because there was a very poor selection and also dishes were not refilled.

    The location of the hotel was most convenient, within a very short walking distance to the old city center. We had a stunning view from our room of the Porta Nigra. The buffet breakfast was well stocked, we especially liked the large variety of the yoghurts and cereals, including nuts and berries. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The cocktailbar Vis a Vis serves tasty meals for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Perfect for a short break at any time of year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking at the hotel.

    The view from our room was great. The breakfast was a of a good standard with a reasonable selection.The hotel is situated in central area and was ideal for our needs. I could park the car at the hotel (11 euros a night) and walk into the town centre in under 5 mins.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Perfect for all Ancient Roman obsessed nut cases like me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a couple of observations really: In the room the safe was situated behind a glass door which opens outwards: care must be taken to ensure that this door is closed after use as it is situated at head height; it was also possible to knock the large glass shower curtain with the inward opening bathroom door if the former is left jutting out slightly. I would have absolutely no hesitation staying here again.

    Great view of the Porta Nigra from the restaurant and bistro bar: Good breakfast fare complete with excellent view of the Porta Nigra; Nice big comfortable room with a lovely big bathroom; Very reasonable priced drinks from the bar; Friendly and efficient staff; I felt at home literally as soon as I walked into the hotel. Train station (Trier HBf) 10-12 minutes by foot; Close to Porta Nigra, Cathedral, Aula Palatina, Landesmuseum, shops, bars, restaurants and Christmas market. About 15 minutes walk to the Imperial Baths; around 15-20 minutes walk to the Roman Bridge and Barbara Baths, and about 25 minutes walk to the unmissable amphitheatre whose location is well signposted from the Imperial Baths; 15-20 minutes walk from Hans-Jorg Kottmeier's unmissable antiques emporium!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    The location was great and the bar food was better than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a smell from the drain in one of our rooms when we checked in. We opened the windows and flushed some water down the drain and it went away. Parking was 11 Euros.

    The location was great and the bar food was better than expected.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for your weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't give me the feeling of a four-star hotel

    I booked a room with a view at Porta Negra and that was the biggest plus of the accommodation. There were facilities to make hot beverages in the room, which was nice. The location is great for taking a walking tour in the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice breakfast. free wifi. very friedly and helpful staff. the room was clean with coffee & tea.next to porta nigra and to the town center 8-10 minutes walk from train station. the food and staff at bistro bar were also very good.they have a luggage room for after checkout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay .
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall to wall carpet in room. No reading light .

    Big room with view on Porta Nigra . Friendly and efficient service .Excellent situation to city -center . Good breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    The mercure hotel is in an excellent location right in front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mercure hotel is in an excellent location right in front of Porta Nigra. It is an amazing view to have during breakfast. It is also located at the main pedestrian street. Breakfast is very nice, rooms are clean and big. The city Trier has an amazing history, beautiful roman buildings and everything is easy to walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Trier. Two nights not long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast, but it seems to be the price you pay at Mercure hotels.

    The location was excellent, just across the road to the Porta Nigra and the old town. Staff were friendly and our room was available at the time of our early check-in, which is always a bonus. We were fortunate to have a room with a window that looked out at the Porta Nigra another bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Prime location with affordable off-street parking and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since time immemorial, I've been puzzled by why you can't find a double mattress even on a double bed in Germany, I guess that will never change.

    This property has fantastic location and offers affordable off-street parking. The breakfast was good, although coffee was somewhat questionable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    excellent location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms and maintenance are tired .We checked in with not working minibar , problems with air condition and not working kettle.We informed the reception and they rapidly responded to our complaint and all problems were solved .

    excellent location excellent helpful staff cleanliness of room easy parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    A reasonable choice, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a pure disaster: for the first minute or two there was only cold water coming from it, and after that the water temperature could all of a sudden change from hot to cold. Ventilation in the bathroom seemed to be non-existent as well. Wi-Fi signal strength was not perfect (I have a tablet with a weak Wi-Fi adapter - it kept disconnecting). The bureaucracy of a typical large hotel (I do prefer small family run ones): to order a cup of coffee in the room, I had to talk to 3 different persons from the hotel staff and it took ca. 20 minutes.

    A superb location - just across the road of the main city attraction and the historical center, a short walk from the train station. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room (except for the shower).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    The AC was a plus since we had 30 degree temperature during...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the WLAN connection wasn't good in our room, so I could not post pictures at the time of our visit. But that wasn't going to stop us from having a great time in Trier. :-)

    The AC was a plus since we had 30 degree temperature during our 4 day stay. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the small refrig was very nice for keeping our drinks cold. We were very happy with our stay at the Mercure. Having the view of the Porta Nigra was AWESOME!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay, the cleanliness could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are hard water scale and stains in the toilet bowl and wash basin. Yucky.

    Location is across the Porta Nigra, the room is spacious with the view to the Porta Nigra, breakfast was good, easy parking (€11,- a day)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Germany vaca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Spacious room with plenty of closet space, coffee maker and black out drapes. RIGHT across the street from Porta Nigra and large pedestrian walk way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Location is amazing - as it's opposite the porta negro,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing - as it's opposite the porta negro, in the morning when you draw back the curtains it's there! Staff were very obliging and friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location to explore Trier
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is beginning to show its age, especially the lobby and the bathrooms. Breakfast is good, but I was expecting more variety in a 4-star hotel.

    This hotel is so centrally located that you can already see some of the most imposing monuments of this ancient city while enjoying breakfast. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (make sure to book one with a view of the Porta Nigra) and staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location. Lovely room. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really. Perhaps it would have been good to have 1 free bottle of water on arrival. But the tea/coffee making facilities were much appreciated.

    Excellent location, with view of Porta Nigra. The room was spacious and very comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location and excellent meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Saturday night the street noise was loud for a bit (had to shut the window).

    The staff were all friendly and very helpful and the location perfect for visiting the sights of Trier. My room had plenty of storage space and a big desk space too - plus the great view!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Fully satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hair in bath plughole

    Location re exploring city. Directly opposite Porta Nigra and Tourist Info. English news channels. Well appointed room with sofa and table. Easy one road walk from Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.2
    Big room, lots of facilities, great view, bed and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working, food extremely expensive, room had a dirty toilet and broken remote tv control but we switched

    Big room, lots of facilities, great view, bed and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Most highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman who checked me in was truly excellent. Friendly, helpful, professional and went out of his way to make my stay so enjoyable. Thank you Ewe . His colleagues were equally helpfull, a first rate experience. A comfortable bed with good quailty linens and towels. A delicious breakfast buffet, a wide choice of both hot and cold food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Great base for exploring Trier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't manage to get the AC in our room to work, but didn't bother to complain because the window could be opened at night.

    Great location, very helpful staff, delicious breakfast buffet. Very good value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    .First class !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single beds rather narrow and one very creaky every time my partner moved.

    Excellent breakfast and very pleasant girls serving. Parking only 10 euros, half what we had been paying! Had evening buffet meal which was first class.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Trier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location right across the street from Porta Nigra, great views, friendly staff, good breakfast, nice rooms. The rooms even have air conditioning! We liked this hotel so much that we stayed there again at the end of our trip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged three times and is not been fixed.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Excellent with underground parking for bike great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent with underground parking for bike great location to get to bars

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Underground car park easily accessible. Very large well equipped bathroom. Superb buffet breakfast overlooking the Porta Nigra.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.4
    Comfortabe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really as it was better than expected.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient town centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very convenient town centre location. Easy access to Railway and bus stations. Close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location across from Porta Nigra Roman city gate. And close to other Roman historical sites . Clean quiet hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paper cups. My husband burned his hand when cup leaked.

    Decent sized room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The view was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying €24 for two days parking.

    The view was excellent. Breakfast was nice and varied. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great base out of which to explore Trier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. WiFi worked well. A/C was useful as it was quite warm the weekend I was there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful property with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    walk to railway station 10-15mins

    excellent restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean, friendly staff, parking will cost you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible shower; either very hot or cold and essentially a trickle

    Great location, clean, friendly staff, parking will cost you €12/night though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Not cheap but very close to all tourist places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm room above smoker lounge/terrace.

    The view from the restaurant to the porta Nigra

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    price quality ratio not so high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no fridge, only paper cup in room for tea or coffee.

    best location for city trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Working staff are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working staff are great! We forgot a clothes and they send it to us ,thanks again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work😩

    Centrally located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    There were a lot of surprises. I recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was cold water in the bath at the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    convenient
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    normal

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worth paying extra for the view - especially at night, with the room lights switched off. See photo!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Nicee hotel for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast.

    Ease of parking and distance to shopping area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was to expensive

    Large clean quiet parking .kettle in the room 💚💚

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Good breakfast, nice rooms, nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, nice rooms, nice service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Always first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Go there every 2-3 rd year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    I will stay hereon my next trip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators need upgrading.

    I loved my view of the Black Gate. I loved the wide opening window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Fine because of the view, as asked for, but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only extra supplements (Parking under the building, breakfasts). to pay. No value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Sleeping across the street from 2000 years of history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive.

    We had the view of a lifetime! Opened the curtains and we were directly across from the Porta Nigra! Stunning!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect! We will always check Mercure hotels for availability when we travel!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was gorgeous! We loved being able to look out our window and see the flowers in the flower box and the wall across the street!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, great view from restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit outdated furniture

    Good breakfast, great view from restaurant. Perfect location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Best location in Trier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Best location in Trier. Lovely buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Clearly THE place to stay for Trier tourism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BIG room! Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    We will stay here again with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Efficient staff. Comfortable beds. Breakfast room has a great view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Size of Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Cigarette smell in building

    Size of Room Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Quality hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    The view from our room was the reason most come to Trier - directly opposite the Porta Nigra. Car parking on site convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Great room overlooking main roman ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opposite a great roman ruin, all historical sights in walking distance

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: