Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Merkur Garni 3 stars

Bahnhofstr. 58, 08056 Zwickau, Germany

#8 of 13 hotels in Zwickau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint that I have is their power sockets were in unfortunate locations. There was no second one by the desk for a laptop.

    The staff was exceptionally nice and accommodating. They were also very helpful with general local information. the rooms were nice, simple, and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is until 10 AM only, I'd appreciate if it was until 11 AM after a night party (well I haven't asked, maybe it was my fault) :-)

    Old hotel located close to the railway station and Club Seilerstraße. Very clean, comfortable beds, nice owners. I was a bit worried about noise coming from the street (got room with window located to the main street) but trams operates to 5 PM only and the street is quiet at nights. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi.

    It was spotless. The owner was always at hand and proudly explained the family history of the hotel. The dining room is still in the style of the 1920s and it was like sitting in an Agatha Christie film.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey, given that both Wifi and Breakfast are not included. and also: ZWICKAU! it's almost a ghost town, with NO attractions in the near. Unless you are on a business trip, go somewhere else!

    Walking distance to the city's central station. Very clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit unattractive, but close to Haupt Bahnhof and easy walk into Stadt Mitte.

    Have been there several times. Close to Stadt Mitte. Small, but comfortable rooms; bath facilities good. Staff helpful. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too expensive in my opinion. Breakfast was extra 6 euros adding onto the overall payment. There were little options available or breakfast and it wasn't very filling. Next time I would hunt breakfast at a local bakery which are really good size portions for very little price

    TV had many channels. Receptionist helped close top window when it was too high for me to reach. Very quiet. Restful place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-con (was very hot during my stay) Extra for wifi Ask for a room at the back as the hotel fronts a busy road to the railway station with trams & buses running from early morning.

    The proprietor was waiting for me outside the hotel when I arrived. Nice touch. The hotel has a lovely old fashioned feel to it particularly the breakfast room & reception area with plenty of wood panelling & old fixtures & fittings. Bed room & bathroom however are up to a more modern standard. Clean & tidy throughout. Comfortable bed. Location is just yards from the Hbf station & a 10' to 15' walk into the historic town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldddd

    Worst hotel i have ever been

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a long uphill walk from the city centre!

    Very near the HBF - free city transport card: but beware, most trams stop running at 17.00!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator, kettle and water in the room. wifi is available ay a cost of €5

    friendly staff. responsive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 5 minute walk to the train station. The proprietor was most friendly and also knowledgeable about public transportation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that you have to pay extra to have internet access..

    The owner has been very friendly and helpful to me since I had to check-in very late and a lot later than the predefined check-in hours. The hotel is located in a walking distance.. 3-4 minutes away from the train station. It is a very good value for money for someone who wants to stay there for a couple of nights.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    really bad smell on the reception

    staff

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly welcome, comfortable room, just a few minutes walk from centre, and railway station. Good value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Sunday at breakfast the bread was old

    The safety

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi not free, they charge it 5 EUR

    Location 5 minutes form train/bus station and 15 minutes from town center.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quite cold at night.

    The room was very clean.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Browse Hotel Merkur Garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: