Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropolitan Hotel Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schaperstraße 36, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10719 Berlin, Germany

#459 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1913 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff, 24/7 reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A plug/socket for a phone charging closer to the bed would make the facility totally excellent for the price.

    Good location, friendly staff, 24/7 reception desk. Everything what was needed was in the room, good for a price. Convenient reservation/cancellation policy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    It did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It wasn't very clean. Bathrooms definitely need improvement. Our rooms were not close to each other.

    The location was nice - it was close to a metro station, small shopping center, restaurants and nice places to have a coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Hospitable staff, we asked for hot water and they let us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was quite weak.

    Hospitable staff, we asked for hot water and they let us borrow the kettle for a night. It is near a metro station. The room was cozy and spacious and the bathroom was also very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were nice and the room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no facilities. There was no kettle, toaster or fridge. The pillows were horrible... Asked for different ones and was just given the same!

    The staff were nice and the room was large. Location wasn't too bad. Super close to a few public transport options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Not amazing - but we still enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little run down, paint peeling off the walls etc. The rooms were quite bare and very basic.

    It's in a great location, a pleasant walk to the train/underground and the zoo. It's also near a shopping area and lots of restaurant. The staff were so pleasant and everything was very clean. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but the place just needs a bit more TLC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good but the nearest U-Bahn station was closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some coverlet on the bed would be nice. Breakfast is poor. That would be also better if there could be some ventilatin in the bathroom. The humidity was pretty high there

    Location is good but the nearest U-Bahn station was closed at the time when we stayed in the hotel. City center is not so far away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Location was good, pretty close to the stations I needed...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures didn’t really match the reality, I was expecting something else as I’ve seen in the pictures when I booked. The room was old and not well maintained, bed was so uncomfortable that I had backache for two days. The floor was dusty and in the shower the sink was open and I could see grey water inside and a broken tile. Another thing that really made me a bit angry was that I could see cables everywhere which was a bit unsafe and cheap. There was a curtain, I suppose broken, and they left it on top of the wardrobe instead of fix it so again, every morning the sunshine would wake me up very early and not letting me rest properly. I don’t know if they were expecting me to fix it but seeing the curtain on top of the wardrobe gave me a very bad impression of not caring about the rooms. Overall I did not feel confortable and this is the first time in many years travelling that happens.

    Location was good, pretty close to the stations I needed during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Happy but pay for the better room, not the standard, massive different and only 10euro more a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a chilled quiet area of the city. Also NO AIR CON in the whole buidling!!

    At first nothing, we were put in a box room for our 5 night stay, it was terrible. I complained and we upgraded and it was a massive difference. The second room was much larger and very comfortable. Staff were friendly. Close to shops and main area of berlin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better, The food was not topped up properly. Did not have air conditioning. So slept with the windows open

    Location.Friendly staff. Facilities were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is great near from every thing that you would use...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small beside it was on the fifth floor and the elevator only goes to 4th floor and there were no lights in front of rooms and it was dark that you couldnt use your keys to open the door

    Location is great near from every thing that you would use during your stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Located in a quiet residential area, but close to the Subway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aren't many cafés and restaurants in the neighborhood, so if you are looking for more lively place this might not be for you

    Located in a quiet residential area, but close to the Subway station, so it's easy to travel around the city. Room was fine, average hotel-room size, clean and cleaned every day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Like the spacious room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light is too dim which made me be not able to read. The wall is too thin that can hear people walk along the corridor. Building is old and lift has once been malfunctioned.

    Like the spacious room and bathroom. Bed is soft. Good price as the location is good. With many restaurants and supermarket nearby. Railway station is just 10mins walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were extremely helpful and the room s were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three rooms, each had a considerably different size. In one 2 persons could barely move around the bed, in the other the room was huge. All rooms we booked were standard. The location is also not op

    The staff were extremely helpful and the room s were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and worth for the money, the receptionist (the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and worth for the money, the receptionist (the lady from Kreuzberg) did her best to check me in earlier and explain me everything i asked...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Noise from the very old wood floors are a problem. Each time someone walks by the hallway you can hear/feel them like they were by your side. We woke up a few times during the night because of the noise created by guests just walking to their rooms. Breakfast is poor in choices and does not get refiled that often. There is no fridge in the room.

    The placement of the hotel is very close to the U line (3 minutes walk) and just about 15 minutes walk to the S line (Zoo Station). The rooms are very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Few shops and restaurants around. Expensive breakfast.

    Very comfortable and clean room. Fancy lounge. Very kind staff and plenty of information for turists. Calm and green neighborhood. Good location, very close to the Augsburger and Spichernstr. metro stations. PC available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is good, the receptionists were helpful and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there's one thing I really hate when staying in hotels, it's strange people entering my room. And I'm not speaking about the regular room service. We stayed in Metropolitan for the nights and were visited 4 times by 4 different people. Two of them were plumbers, trying to fix the low pressure in the shower – although we did not ask for it and they arrived in strange times – one in the afternoon, the other one at 7.10 in the morning. And there really are not many other ways to ruin a stay at a hotel than being woken up so early by a man standing next to your bed, barely speaking any English.

    The location is good, the receptionists were helpful and you can borrow bikes really easily from the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    The best aspects were the cost per night and location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is completely uninspiring and definitely not worth €9. Housekeeping starts vacuuming by 06h30 a.m., so in general, it is a very noisy hotel. Do not expect extra amenities such as shampoo, body lotion and a kettle for boiling water.

    The best aspects were the cost per night and location. If you don't expect much, the hotel won't disappoint.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location. The pictures do not show the reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was much worse and older than the one in the pictures here. Even though the rate was quite cheap, if I had known how the room would look like in reality, I would not have stayed in this hotel. Our room windows were facing 'inner yard' with garbage bins and a storage room, so it was noisy starting from 7 AM, sometimes earlier. The windows are very old and do not protect from the noise at all.

    The location was very nice. Close to public transportation and with many dining options around. The bathroom was clean and did not look as old as the room. Ironing board with an iron were provided fast after the request and were not taken from our room until we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture, walls, staircase, carpets etc. are worn. Window requiers painting. Bathroom ok.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    It’s located near by the city center, so you can walk trough...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms can be cleaner...

    It’s located near by the city center, so you can walk trough very easy. For example: Hard Rock caffe 550m Zoo 920m Plenty of nice restaurants and shopping malls are in the neighborhood 200-400m top

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Such a pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a beautiful historical building, the rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is helpful and nice. With a short walk you can reach the main touristic attractions of west Berlin, and the subway station is just around the corner. Perfect solution for a trip to Berlin!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Alles gut!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning lady was a little bit rude during check out and they didnt change the towels when we asked for it.

    Just a few meters away from Ausberger strasse u bahn station. Friendly staff,clean and big room, comfortable bed and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    After the first look I get love it better and better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No enough place between the table and the bed corner's. The Eurosport channel was not clear,the broadcasting quality. No lemon at the morning buffet's table.

    The Hotel is located very well. Easy to get it by Public transport. The Breakfast was delicious. Towels changing every morning. VERY good bed!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Adding to the room a mini bar/fridge and a electric kettle would be great

    The staff was really nice, the room was quite big and quiet, the hotel's location was really great, the whole city was easily accessible from there. I'll definitely choose this hotel for my next stay as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    The lobby was just like the images, and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was just like the images, and the staff were really lovely. However the room we were given compared to the images were different it was small but that was fine the bathroom was clean and the shower was great. The bed made a lot of noise and wasn't very comfortable and the room itself could definitely have been cleaner but as we were there to see the sights and weren't really in the room we just got on with it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Good place close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great to have a kettle and glasses in the room.

    Perfect location, comfy beds, good size room, nearby to metro station, possibility to leave our luggage, nice reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Exellent location, place to crush for couple days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room asks for remodeling just tired of everthing, elevator is working but like 80 years old granny too slowly.

    Excellent location, quite neighborhood, close to Berlin zoo 15 min walk, basic apartment but wasnt looking for smth special, everything worked as should be like budget class. if you need close to zoo and just place to crush that it is good choise dont look for fancy or breath taking view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location - near U bahn, peaceful neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lightning could be better - too dark even with all lamps switched on.

    Good location - near U bahn, peaceful neighborhood. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Definitely not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a disability room even though we didn’t require that type of facilities. The room was dusty, unclean. It was on the ground floor and the view from the windows was a pile of trash and old furniture. The bathroom was rusty and unclean. The wardrobe had a broken door, which looked like it will fall down any minute.

    Staff was friendly. The breakfast was nothing like the photos but it was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    very unconfortable,never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first...single room was a closet sun exposed and terribly hot. the second stay with upgrading , very long room but narrow.Two long beds leaving only 30 cm to the wall.With TV hunging on the wall to open the window you must crawl on the beds !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very close to the subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very close to the subway station. The room was very big and we had a door to the inner courtyard so we could get out for a smoke whitout passing through the hotel. The staff was very Nice and gave us all the explanations in English. We could leave the luggage after check out to take advantage of the rest of the day until the time of the flight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic mattresses, very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dim and depressing lighting. Many bottles of soap but no shampoo. Nice pleasant area in the former West Berlin, but all the excitement now is in the former Eastern sector

    Fantastic mattresses, very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    All in all it’s a good hotel. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small damage on the bathroom door preventing it to be closed so the floor would be a bit wet after a shower (which I hate). Breakfast was ok, they could have some more variety I think.

    It’s very close to 2 different subway stations. The hotel is located in a very quiet and safe area. They cleaned our room very nicely even on a day we left the hotel almost at midday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Good for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Double beds were single beds joined. Dusty drawers and a little bit smelly.

    Close to the city. Not too fancy, but pretty good for a few nights. Hotel was old, but well kept. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.2
    Cheap but not worth the savings
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in dire need of renovation. Carpet smelled terribly. The shower leaked. The balcony was filthy. The breakfast was bad. I had breakfast there two years ago and it was lovingly prepared. This time the service was totally uninspired and the service personal inattentive

    I was disappointed 😞

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    cheap but lifeless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    far from nightlife and tourist attractions, can be annoying travelling home at night. also very dark hotel, had no interaction with any staff until morning of check out, when staff walked into room to tell me i had 30 minutes to check out.

    it was quiet and cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Old fashioned hotel with good staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or kettle, the room overall was very outdated and required regenerating and bring back to life, we was initially disappointed with the room but it was very clean and the staff and location did compensate this.

    Staff members were very polite and helpful and always available to answer questions you may have had. The hotel Location was great, quiet in the night which helped you sleep and close to the city centre and underground stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel. Would stay here again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single English language channel on tv. Would be really nice to get at least one news channel in English. The lift (elevator) takes you to half way between floors so you still have to lug your suitcases either up or down half a flight of stairs.

    More central than I expected. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Good cost benefit and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating was always on even after turning off all heaters. The internet was very slow on room 310.

    The staff is very friendly, location is wonderful. Very silent room with a nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Distinctly average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not too comfortable; a single flaccid pillow; curtains too small; breakfast limited in terms a varity and quantity

    Location is good; value for money is ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Walking distance from a good buzzing centre , clean comfy rooms but very poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought overall the staff we met where quite rude . Not at all helpful in anyway . On one occassion i asked reception would i be able to get ice he simply just said no and walked away from me . Also one night me and my partner where hungry and had asked reception was there any takeout places we could order from he told us no when we back to our rooms we went on and looked and where able to find tons of food places all available to us ..it seemed to be that they just didnt want to help or be disturbed from playing games on there laptop . The building itself inside the premises looks as if it is about to be demolished there are cracks and holes everywhere . The elevator is enough to scare the crap out of anyone it seems as if its only a matter of time before something bad happens as it starts and stops and jumps the whole time you are in it . Also the cleaners just barge into your room unless your are screaming for them to leave no knocks on the door . They just use key card to come in while you are sleeping or showering its very uncomfortable.

    The room was clean and comfortable apart from that i have no other positive on the "hotel"

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Average hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The organization of the furniture inside the room was sometimes little uncomfortable, because the table and the edge of the bed were too close and many times I hit my shinbone when I wanted to go to the toilet at night.

    Overall was an average hotel. I would say that it is more similar to a hostel rather than a hotel. Anyway, was near the U-bahn so it ables you to reach fast city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Upper Class Youth Hostel, not a Hotel. Hotel is less than basic. I would not stay in it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Pillows more of cushions - Wifi is weak - Staff non responsive - Door is not isolating the noise from other guests - Mostly young party tourist, so expect to be woken up in the middle of night by some drunks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    comfortable only for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in this hotel is paper thin, the room that we staying needs some cosmetic repair, furniture also needs to be renewed. The staff of hotel didn't really care about their visitors, we were given a little of basic information and left on our on, there was lack of communication and other information, for example: where is the kitchen, what is the time when hotel closes for night etc. Also our room was in first floor so the view was straight to trash cans that stands in inner yard.

    Close to city center and main public transport stations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrible. I travel a lot; this was the 1st time in years I had to leave from a hotel early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My god :( I spend 3-5 months per year traveling, and this was the 1st time in 3 years I left from a hotel before time because it was too abysmal to stay in: After the first night my girlfriend and I just packed our bags and left to a spontaneously booked place nearby. When we informed the staff why, they hardly raised they eyebrows. I realize that if you choose a rather inexpensive accommodation you will need to compromise. However, any place needs to be rated in the context of how they market themselves, i.e. of what they pretend to be at the time of booking. With heavily photo-shopped photos and a stretched description they pretend to be a mid-range hotel. In reality, it is a very sketchy hostel style place with private rooms. Details: - Very dirty everywhere. Room was cleaned OK, but paint marks and scratches all around create an impression it's not. - Staircases dirty. - Reception staff indifferent. - All interior cheap, broken and sketchy. Very different from photos at Booking. - Booked double bed, got two single mattresses next to each other. - View onto... is that a mini dump-yard? (see photo) - The drop in the ocean that caused us to leave: In the morning, the cleaning lady knocked we asked her to skip the cleaning. She clearly heard and moved on. 3 mins later, she came back and simply unlocked and entered the room with the words that she was almost off her shift. She dumped clean towels on the dirty floor before leaving, as we shouted at her she should leave (we slept in and were still in bed). Summary: If you are OK with a sketchy hostel, you can get the same experience much cheaper. If you want a solid mid-class experience, do not come to this place.

    The location is fairly central, close to the underground.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location is average, but if you prefer nightlife then its not the place for you. if you want a quite place to relax or go to great restaurants then this location is for you.

    Was very clean and quite place. good to relax. Staff was friendly and it is as advertised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.0
    Hotel feels like a mix of hotel that is a bit old, but has...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel feels like a mix of hotel that is a bit old, but has new aspects in it. Bathroom was quite new and modern, windows, bed, heating, chair rather old. But everything functional, spacious, clean and comfy bed. Great value for money, good location, good WIFI. So all you need is there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Some of the staff were friendly which is not an obvious...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This isn't a hotel in fact. I would say it's an adapted "working class motel". For a MUCH lower price you an get Motel One near by. Motel One is in fact a very decent hotel! To compare: If Motel One gets 9, Metropolitan gets 3

    Some of the staff were friendly which is not an obvious thing while in Berlin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    In general, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building looks like it is in need of a good renovation. The room had barely any decoration and the paint on the walls was chipped in a lot of areas. The building was nice, though, so I hope that they get to do some maintenance soon. Our only complaint is that they gave us a room with twin beds, edge though we booked a double.

    The hotel was clean and in a very good location, near at least two subway stations. It was a pleasant stay, quiet and comfortable. The beds were nice and comfortable and we could not hear any noise from the outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    We love this part of Berlin, so that location of this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We considered breakfast to be quite expensive (9€ per person per day), so that we went without breakfast this time.

    We love this part of Berlin, so that location of this hotel was great for us. Also the staff was very friendly and room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Coffee making facilities in room.

    Close to two metro lines, 10 min walk to KaDeWe. Toiletry in the rolm was molton brown. Overall comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Would recommend it. :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor was a little creaky, and you could hear any movement on the hallway.

    The hotel overall is great for it`s price. The staff was really friendly. The beds were comfortable and the room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us in a smoking room in the smoking side of the hote which is very smellyl and didn’t move us to a non smoking one when we requested

    Nice room , values for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Good place, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the night I arrived, the receptionist did not speak English, only German. It's a bit difficult to navigate around until you find your room. The lights on the corridors are always off, you have to fish for the switch.

    Rooms are clean and spacious enough. Close to the U-Bahn. The bathroom was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location and old style room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The radiator was to small to heat the room up quickly. You cannot reserve a parking space which also is a kill joy because you will be paying 10 Euro per day for example from 10:00-19:00. The wardrobe felt like it was going to fall over.

    The size of the bed was very good and the fact that it was also next to the radiator was also a plus. The shower in the bathroom was also very good, clean and they also had very nice shower gel in there from London! I also liked that they had a hairdryer and a safe to use in the wardrobe for free! The building is very nice if you like architecture. The location is perfect! Underground metro close by 5 min walk. Local shop also 2 min walk and to add to that the Berlin zoo is probably about 15-20 min walk. Perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Good room, quite well located in the west part of Berlin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast may be improved.

    Good room, quite well located in the west part of Berlin (which has the major part of hotels). It is near to the subway (5 min walking) and well connected with the heart of Berlin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic, would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable, so not much

    The staff were amazing!!! I left my glasses somehow and they found it and sent it back to me carefully wrapped so they were undamaged by the time they arrived in London. In terms of facilities, the shower was great and the body wash supplied too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Close to U-Bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a pair of slippers, and an option for late check-out. Lights were always off inside the corridors, makes it complicated to get around. The elevator was wobbling up and down, that scared me a little :)

    Close to U-Bahn. Grocery store around. Bike rental service. Secure locker. The staff is fast and helpful. Also, the place was squeaky clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice bathroom, good size bed, had a desk for my work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi- keeps going off, floor boards made too much noise, bed wasn't comfortable- sagged under my weight.

    Nice bathroom, good size bed, had a desk for my work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    A good base for anyone wishing to explore Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access to bed in a small L-shaped room (unlucky!) Expected reception staff to be more welcoming and friendly.

    Breakfast, instant hot water for shower, location next to U-Bahn. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The hotel has a good selection for breakfast as well as it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has only one entrance in a big building and my room was quite far from it, so had to walk quite a while every time.

    The hotel has a good selection for breakfast as well as it is served until 11 which means you can have a good sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Fairly good
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no access to wifi, while there was no relative information on the booking page. As soon as we arrived we were informed about the problem but it was not fixed by the day we check-out

    Friendly staff, easy access to the hotel, 24hour service. Furthermore, the room was very warm so we didn't have any problem with Berlin's cold winter temperatures,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Perfect for couples or even groups, me and my partner loved it and the staff were really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and welcoming, Simon in particular was very helpful and we were able to have a laugh with him as he understood and could speak English. The hotel itself was comfortable and close to the surrounding shops and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    Decent location but doesn't justify the price even this low
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi didn't work and the staff didn't do anything to compensate for it. The breakfast was quite poor, the coffee was undrinkable. The room needs renovating: the washbasin was cracked, dirty marks on the walls, horrid shower curtain, and the room was dark and poky.

    The location was ok, it was quiet. They store your luggage for free. Not much to add.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Staff where very nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible, tiny, incredibly hot room with furniture that is awkwardly placed and way too big so you can't move properly round the room or open doors/windows without moving bits of it around. There's a massive green light shining directly onto the bed from outside. They obviously know it's a problem because they've bought a blackout curtain but it's too small & only covers half the window so you still have the light on you. Car park outside the room with no double glazing so you're woken whenever there's a car. Shabby decor, nonexistent soundproofing. Really bad!

    Staff where very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice Location, But...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is remarkably uncomfortable. It is a wooden frame with a sunken mattress. You always bump your legs on the frame when getting in or out of bed. The rooms are poorly lit, the wifi rarely works, and the elevator only stops on landings between floors. The hallways have obstacles like short flights of stairs, and "speed bumps" which make them scary in the dark because you have to turn on hall lights as you walk along.

    Good location close to metros and Ku'damnn. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice Location, But...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed. The mattresses are sunken into a wooden frame, and it is impossible to get in, or out, of bed without banging onto the framework. The rooms are poorly lit, and the wifi only works occasionally. The elevators DO NOT stop on any floor, but only between floors on landings. Hauling luggage around is difficult due to many obstructions in the hallways.

    The hotel is two minutes from the Augsberger Strasse, and only 5 minutes from the Ku'damm. The staff is helpful, and the breakfast, basic, but filling and has variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work during our whole visit. Room was too hot and but we had no possibility to set it. The shower cabin was not the best.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi wasn't working but the receptionist offered to make me use the front desk computer.

    The hotel location was excellent for me, it's just 3 minutes walk to the U-Bahn and the bed was comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The Hotel was very nice and clean, the room was a bit small but more than I need, very quiet neighborhood and a walking distance for at least three metro stations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location in center of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building. It means attached external elevator is very slow and a bit scary. Also from your room you can hear every single person in the corridor and neighbor rooms, like they are walking in your room.

    Good location in center of Berlin. Very close to multiple metro stations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    On the whole a very pleasant stay but there's room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and would of benefited from tea and coffee making facilities and a dressing table. Although the bedding and towels were very clean, the shower curtain was disgusting with black mould on the bottom

    The Metropolitan on the whole was very good. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarette smoke (? coming from person on balcony or room below) Shower door did not close properly. Room not configured well so really difficult to get past the bed to the window or to the second bed.

    Location. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Avoid it if you can... Stay if it's the only place affordable with breakfast and en-suite bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel needs urgently to update its rooms facilities and service. The bedroom was very poorly maintained (lot of wires everywhere, the closet doors do not open completely, as they bump into the door, the carpet seems dirty, the walls are dirty. The bathroom was very clean, but anytime you shower, the water spills everywhere and it's a mess). The bed is ok and the size of the bedroom is not the worst. Common facilities are also poorly maintained, except for the breakfast area and reception. The stairs are very dirty and old and may not connect you directly to your room and the elevator sounds like a safety hazard. It was stifling all the time in the common areas. Reception staff (unfortunately I dealt only with the same unkind subject) was rude. They do not look at you, explain you anything and two incidents happened. At check-in he inserted my card in the wrong way and, as it didn't work, looked at me suggesting that I didn't have enough money to pay!! As I insisted and told it was not possible and the card was a debit and not credit card, he smirked and was reluctant to try again. Off course it worked after I insisted! At check-out he wanted me to pay for two extra persons at breakfast. Apparently they registered wrong and he insisted that I should pay! I refused and he went to call the breakfast staff, which off course confirmed my version of the story. Not once he apologized!! Internet does not work at all! If you can find any other place to stay, with breakfast and an en-suite at the same distance as this hotel, do it!!

    The breakfast is very good and surprised me considering the rest... Staff is friendly there and you have everything you need (eggs, fresh bread, yogurt, jam, good coffee, milk, fruit salad, ham, cheese, warms dishes, etc...). It saved my stay at this hotel! The room has a safe, an en-suite bathroom (rare for this price in Berlin) and the location is not bad, as it is very close to the metro and wittenbergplatz (walking distance) where you can find restaurants, shops, etc... A supermarket is nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metropolitan Hotel Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: