Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Michaelis Hof

Herrengraben 4, Hamburg Neustadt, 20459 Hamburg, Germany

#45 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 756 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The self check-in was a bit of a surprise as was the fact that the hotel is located within a Catholic venue. It's fine - just wasn't expecting it.

    Croissants in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm. It was unseasonably warm during our stay but as our room overlooked a busy road we didn’t want to have the window open at night. Air conditioning looked like it was installed but there was no way to control it.

    The location was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was promised a room with a view of the courtyard of the church - perhaps it is a little bit of an oversell because you see very little of it.

    It was a great experience from check-in to leaving. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was good for a three star facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The automaded check in system was out of order so we had to wait for 20 mins for a taxi to bring us the keys. Breakfast was poor too.

    Location was good, clean and quiet room for a nice sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested a thick/full pillow, but the pillows are empty and do not give any support.

    I always love the possibility to have a coffe aan croissant in the morning. Very nice extra service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit confusing as the hotel is only on 1 floor of the building. At first when you enter you can get confused where is the reception.

    It is amazing place. Very clean, good value for money, defo more than 2 star hotel. It has everything a hotel should. Definitely will stay there again if going to Hamburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two beds and not one double bed. Reception service available just few hours in the morning. The lift was out of service one day and the hotel is on 4th floor of a building

    Nice, clean and comfortable room, very good location and kind staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is very good and extremely easy reachable from Hamburg airport via Schnellbahn (S1). It took me only 30 min and SBahn station is right at the front of the hotel. You are really in the middle of the city and can walk anywhere by feet. Bed is comfy and provided shower gel and shampoo are of great quality. Outside automated check is easy and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the fourth floor of a catholic academy, which is centrally located in Hamburg. It was very well priced, clean and comfortable, and I really appreciated the complementary coffee and croissants in the morning :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower area (within the toilet) could have been bigger slippers for room use should have been provided

    breakfast is restricted to only croissants, tea / coffee ; one more item (like bread / butter) would make it more amenable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The minibar was nicely equipped but everything was warm - the cooling was not functioning.

    Nice and peaceful. Great location. Good coffee in the morning just a few steps out of the room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed in the family room was very comfortable. The free croissants and coffee/tea were a nice start to the day. The room was generally very clean. The location was easy to reach by car, as it's on a side street with very light traffic. To use the onsite parking, you need to get your room keycard first (using the automated kiosk to the left of the main entrance); the keycard must be inserted into the slot at the left of the parking gate to raise the gate arm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no check in staff on site. You get your keys through an ATM-style device. It was broken when I was there and we had to call a number. They sent someone over in a taxi from across town with a key that didn't work. After finding that out, they sent a mechanic that fixed the lock. This took 1.5 hours and we missed our scheduled event for the day as a result. Please know this 'hotel' consists of spare dorm style rooms at a college. If any problems at all, you will be in trouble as we were after a very long day of traveling.

    There is no check in staff on site. You get your keys through an ATM-style device. It was broken when I was there and we had to call a number. They sent someone over in a taxi from across town with a key that didn't work. After finding that out, they sent a mechanic that fixed the lock. This took 1.5 hours and we missed our scheduled event for the day as a result. Please know this 'hotel' consists of spare dorm style rooms at a college. If any problems at all, you will be in trouble as we were after a very long day of traveling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    +Wasn't offered a croissant or coffee in the morning. +No wifi given. +Had to walk through a dark building to get there at about 10pm at night. +The switches inside the room were really weird- difficult to work out what did what. +Room layout within the hotel/ corridor is really strange- rooms not in numerical order.

    They had an automated system outside which meant that I had no problems getting in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the main street so it was a little difficult to fall asleep.

    The staff is great, very welcoming and friendly (Frau Weber is super nice and so is Sven). The room was comfy and well-furnished with TV, AC and minibar. Very silent place with good-mannered guests. Every morning a little breakfast is offered for free (croissants, coffee and tea). Amazing position close to main hotspots and U+S Bahn. Very Safe area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small, especially the shower. There is no reception and as there was a problem with my booking, it would have been difficult to sort things out after 20:00 - until then the reception of the Catholic Mission is manned and they were very helpful indeed.

    Nice clean room, nice bed, fantastic location - 50m from the S-Bahn station. Despite its closeness to the heart of Hamburg, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only 1 problem was that I was looking for a hotel with the title on it, however it is actually in the academy block, which isn't as easy to come across. Perhaps putting this in the confirmation email next to our check in code would enlighten people before they arrive. A small problem that's easily fixed. :)

    It was clean, modern, fresh and very central. Staff were lovely and extra bonus was coffee and croissants to help start your day! :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. The outside isn't very attractive but I didn't care about that. It would have been really nice to have a map of the immediate area - I found myself wandering aimlessly, looking for food. There's a really vibrant area nearby if you know where to look!

    I loved the quietness and simplicity of this hotel - you check in outside via a cashpoint-style machine. It was clean, comfortable and close to the centre. There are almost no facilities - if you want anything other than a quiet bed for the night, then this hotel isn't for you. Breakfast is free and simple: coffee/tea and croissants. I liked this idea as I didn't need any more than that. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, so hope your naighbours will be better than mine.

    Extremely easy to get around, direct transportation from/to the airport. Very clean room, friendly staff. Perfect location. Nice touch with the offered breakfast. Check-in machine very helpful. Whenever in Hamburg, I will be staying there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very clean but just small. Some people might have trouble getting into the shower because there is only about 12+or- inches between the shower door and the edge of the sink.

    The location was very good but coming and going the cab drivers had trouble finding the hotel. It is in a large orange building and only uses the 4th floor for hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is hotel is actually just the 4th floor of a catholic building. But don't let this fool you, as the rooms are nice, tidy and clean. The reception is only open for a few hours every day, but you can always contact the personnel via phone if you have any questions. The breakfast consists of coffee, tea and freshly baked croissants. So nothing fancy but nice there is something when you wake up. The location is really great (very close to the inner city and within walking distance to Reeperbahn if you need a night out). Price are low too compared to what you get for this accommodation. Highly recommendable, will for sure stay here next time we decide to spend a weekend in Hamburg

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location,easy to check in using the terminal outside. The hotel is on 4th floor which I wasn't sure at first but the room was easy to get to,the shower nice & warm with lovely smelling shower gel, plus wifi was fast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound from street, but to get fresh air you need to open window. There were no soap in shower - onlty shower gel.

    Everything related to staff was really nice/

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, but otherwise very simple hotel. A small breakfast is provided, and the rooms are comfortably furnished even though the furniture is quite old.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in automatic machine didn't provide any receipt. Luckily I wrote my room number in a paper, otherwise I wouldn't be able find my room.

    The location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Room was facing the main Street lots of noise still after closing the Window

    I liked to choice of Drinks which were in the fridge . the central position to reach transport and very quick I was able to walk to my destination

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was everything ok. Just as info, not complaining, the style( furniture) is not the most updated.

    The location could not be better, 10 minutes from the port,10-15 frm the Reeperbahn and the center. The hotel room was big and comfortable, the croissants and the coffee the best way to wake up. We were very happy with this hotel choice. Definitely we will book it next time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware the hotel does not have a reception (only in the morning). You are getting your key via an automated machine. You are entering a building (catholic church building), take the elevator to the 4th floor. So there is no 'hotel' entree. But it is cheap and centrally located.

    Good value for money. Good location. Saturday afternoon and sunday free parking at the street (no need for parking at venue). Parking at venue € 10 a day (cheap)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception is only 7am-12pm and no luggage storage service during the rest of the day. Central location but its business office area and no close shops or restaurants.

    Central location, close to S bahn station. Morning coffee and fresh croissants Very comfortable bed Quiet, clean, safe

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No noises

    Close to city centre and to the harbour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit inconvenient only a short time per day there is staff at the counter.

    Great location, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers were poor as were pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy self check in! Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to the city centre and the habour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast (coffee and croissant) in a very small room.

    Clean and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    easy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not working (tested on 2 devices)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice small hotel, very friendly staff, amazing location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was very bad.

    The position, the price, the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to s-bahn (underground/subaway) - central position - 10 min by walking far away from rathaus (city hall)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit small

    The view was very nice and the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, great view, like to talk with the girl at the reception who is really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic view of the Elbphilarmonie from the windows, and a terrace just outside the door, pretty much like having a room with balcony!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just a help yourself coffee and croissant to take back to the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secret place in center of Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location and practical self-check-in. Very friendly staff at the morning reception, offering coffee and croissant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a hole in the bad sheet

    brioche in the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A light breakfast

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with view of the churchyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    De locatie was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect, except it would be nice to have a water kettle in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were flat and uncomfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and simple accommodation. Bed is very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay at the hotel

    Good parking facilitys

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too small bathroom.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very well located, good value for money, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    comfort location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, cozy place. Nothing much to expect from facilities. OK Value for money...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay would definitely recommend thank you

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms next to the road are loud

    Central and good value

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key card easily demagnetizes. This could be a problem if it happens at night. Suggestion: always get two keys.

    Free croissant and tea/coffee.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Seamless check in trough terminal at building entrance, clean, modern, comfortable, in essence everything you would need for one night stay...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited office hours but code system for obtaining room access cards worked well.

    Very clean hotel and room with private bathroom. Complimentary coffee/tea and freshly baked croissants in the morning. Sbahn station very near.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception desk works from 07 till 11 only. Can result a bit inconvenient.

    Very pleasant location, friendly staff. Smart and comfortable rooms, enough furniture, good cleaning. Best price\quality ratio.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cannot get access to the hotel from outside the building without card

    lots of beverages and snacks in the fridge, nice scenery overviewing church yard, calm and serene atmosphere, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Simple but very convenient place to stay if you most of your time in the office or in the city. Great location for direct transportation by train from and to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Make sure your phone is charged so you can call in case the acecss card you get from the machine does not work, otherwise you might spend the night out. This will also cost you an international call if you are not a local in Germany. Breakfast was only croissont.The place for having the breakfast was a bit awkward, small and sitting beside people but still not talking to them kind of.

    The room and location is perfect. The personnel when called on the phone were quite friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our experience was great at Michaelis Hof, but travelers should be aware the rooms are somewhat small and spartan

    We liked everything about our stay here. Manuela, our hostess, greeted us, gave us nice information and recommendations. Our housekeepers left the room spotless and fully supplied, the location was outstanding, and our comfort was assured.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception opens from 7 to 12 h. The breakfast only includes coffee/tea and croissant.

    Room was clean, comfortable bed, near downtown. We could store our luggage in the reception even the reception was closed.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was asked to pay for a bottle of mineral water that I had not used as I always carry a bottle for my tablets.I Noticed a bottle of mineral water had been tampered with in the fridge when I arrived.The previous occupants had used up half a bottle and then tried to reseal it.It was obvious that the fridge had not been checked before I moved in.The room cleaners should have reported it.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need new pillows! Bring your own.

    I loved the area and proximity to trains (right out the door!), restaurants, shopping. One stop to Landungsbrucken and one stop to Alster. Incredible!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our cleaning lady had picked up and folded our dirty boxers and socks, from the floor, and placed them on the pillows!! Disgusting...

    Great location, close to Reeperbahn party area, cafées, restaurants, etc. - yet still with enough distance to hold a tranquilent environment.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Michaelis Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: