Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gymnasiumstr. 9, 85049 Ingolstadt, Germany

#13 of 37 hotels in Ingolstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1176 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    I will book this hotel the next time I have a short stay in Ingolstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rushed out of the room on morning of departure by the cleaner persistently trying to enter the room. said she would return in 15 minutes but returned much sooner.

    very friendly front desk staff. good amenities. great location. fair price. I am a returning customer having stayed there before earlier this year. Allowed early check-in. Multi-lingual staff. Happy to help - e.g. called a taxi for me, pointed out the breakfast area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed felt like it had seen good service (it seemed to sag a bit), but really there was very little to dislike

    Clean, comfortable, good location. I didn't pay to park the car as I found street parking easily. The inclusive breakfast was good too. Staff were courteous and spoke good English. Location is good too, easy to walk to the central points of interest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good, comfortable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking arrangements are adequate (8 euros per night), but have to be booked in advance. The available spaces get booked quickly and access to the park and manoeuvering therein is tight....

    We stayed at this hotel whilst we visited the Audi Museum in the town. We were expecting a little difficulty in finding the hotel so close to the old town centre that it is, but we had no problems at all. The facilities are very good, the rooms large, accommodating and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Proximity to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room does not look like photos and there is no welcoming reception or lobby. Parking is hard to come by and you have to be careful except weekend since many off street parking is not for overnight.

    Proximity to old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall nice hotel. Will use it next time transiting at Munich.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This summer is really hot. Hope there is air-conditioner. No free drinking water.

    Hotel is in new condition. Near the bus station. Good for access to Munich Airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    7 STAR SERVICE ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    I GUESS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS SO GOOD IN GERMANY ITS HARD TO COMPLIMENT STAFF BUT 3 WOMAN I MET ON RECEPTION WENT THE EXTRA MILE TO HELP ME WITH MY ONWARD TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS & TOURIST QUESTIONS GOOD LOCATION NO ISSUES

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect place for a short stop over on a road trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    The hotel is located right in the city centre, has a car park that is easily accessible with even large cars, like a Mercedes Vito, and the rooms are functional and cosy. Great place for a short stopover or some sightseeing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    We regularly stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We regularly stay at this hotel. It is in a very convenient location in the old town, it has good facilities, it's clean and quiet, the breakfast is good and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel for a night or two. Appeared to be more suitable for business travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wellness area which is advertised on their website was not available to use, only the sauna in a separate building across the road. In the evening and early morning there was noise from staff dealing with the bins outside and the cigarette smoke from the bar downstairs came into our room.

    Very good breakfast.Excellent location in town centre with safe parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    It was close to where my friends lived so I was able to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    It was close to where my friends lived so I was able to get to them easily! It was also close enough for me to walk to a train station. It also was close to many good bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    In the room and on the second floor there was no wi-fi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room and on the second floor there was no wi-fi reception staff was no helpful.Rooms is very old.Isn't real photo in booking and webside.I do not recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Room very nice, good breakfast, staff very helpful,cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hand rail as you enter hotel

    Room very nice, good breakfast, staff very helpful,cold drinks a little expensive, but nice and cold not much I will stay there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Parking has to be booked before you arrive, and at extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking has to be booked before you arrive, and at extra cost (was not made aware of this) and only space for 12 cars. Luckily there was a cancellation so we got a space. Otherwise you have to park on the street. Hotel does not have air con in bedrooms so it was boiling! 30 degrees in the daytime meant our room was far too hot even with windows open all night. Breakfast was very limited.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    My vacation in Ingolstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    This was my 4th stay at the Altstadt Hotel. It is always a pleasure to stay there. The rooms are great and the breakfast is outstanding. Great location. The people arvthehotel are very friendly and provide excellent service. Inwilmaleays stay at the Altstadt Hotel when visiting INGOLSTADT.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Good nice small hotel in the center of town but with bad WiFi (probably only in some rooms).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was only working at the lobby and I had to work outside (at the terrace - which would be nice on warmer days) and not in my room.

    Basically everything was in order, except WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.3
    Thoughtless cleaning staff - your free alarm call. Plus mystery facilities - no info in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise - the cleaners were hoovering by 8am, they had a shouting conversation between rooms. but the school bell directly behind hotel had us awake earlier. Lighting - the lack of lighting. A poor, dim single light in the first room (we asked to be moved), a little better in the second.

    Good location, nice and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    4.2
    It was clean and the breakfast was good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very frustrating not to have a Parking spot when they advertise it and nowhere when making the reservation did I see you had to make a reservation before. And Spa has very short opening timetable so we couldn't actually profit of that cause it was closed when we arrived and does not open in the morning. For me it was not worth the money I spent.

    It was clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities in a very nice a quite location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great facilities in a very nice a quite location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No info in room on how to use Wifi. No Air Conditioning. Very uncomfortable beds and pillows.

    Nice rooms. Very comfortable shower and clean toilet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room made sleeping somewhat uncomfortable

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location within walking distance of sights and good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are cycling the Danube so the hotel was ideal for us. Very central location and our room was clean and exactly like photos. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Our room was well equipped and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was well equipped and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location in the old town, on a narrow, quiet street, very clean hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Nice room with good amount of space Very clean Very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    The location to old town was very convenient and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to old town was very convenient and the breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable room, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, very good coffee, friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice business hotel in downtown Ingolstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor free-WiFi quality

    Great location (downtown Ingolstadt) Payable parking possibilities Friendly staff Great breakfast Cosy hotel bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    It was spotless and the breakfast selection was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was spotless and the breakfast selection was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel for shirt to medium stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immediate location and outlook

    Everything was good quality and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Quiet and good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi too slow...

    Quiet environment, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noisy neighbours should have partied inside their home

    good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Good & safe parking. Conveniently close to city center. Good price / value ratio overall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    comfortable hotel in the heart of Ingolstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    full carpet is always annoying

    cosy modern hotel in the middle of INgolstadt. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Quick weekend jaunt for work
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi? I was not made aware that it was available. Very little interaction with the staff.

    Close to downtown, and all the main attractions in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Breakfast was amazing, very comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing, very comfortable bed. Very nice bathroom. And big up for safe in room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    one night stay during longer road trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of king size bed

    breakfast very good with good quality of products good location, easy access from highway

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Old town meets 21st century
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location, staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very good in general

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.1
    location close to old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast quality

    location close to old town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location for passing through or exploring Ingolstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and brilliant staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    No more than 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi so slow - you can forget about it! Heating system is as quiet as a tractor.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Vallue for money
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation of the rooms is poor, you can listen your neigbours:-((

    Very pleasant staff, breakfast very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed at this hotel a number of times, we highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at this hotel a number of times, we highly recommend it. It's just a great little hotel in an ideal location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.9
    Very good hotel and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a slight drain smell

    The bathroom was lovely and spacious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything works well, good situation, comfortable....

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Good room and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from town centrali

    Good room and service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Good access to public transport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    close access to public transport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close access to public transport

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Extra large quiet room in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, comfortable, quiet room. Nice variety at breakfast. Safe, secure parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Well, a wee bit of another review just caught my eye,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hmmmm. There are always things that could be better, I suppose. But I'm having a hard time thinking of anything for this hotel. It was fine, really.

    Well, a wee bit of another review just caught my eye, "breakfast was okay." But the breakfast at Altstadt in Ingolstadt is more than just okay. It's really quite good. Good selection. Good tasting dishes. No. I think the breakfast at Altstadt Hotel is clearly better than okay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    The breakfast was first class and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That I didn't stay longer

    The breakfast was first class and excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is very central. Excellent location. It has a sauna but I didn't pack my bathers so didn't use it. Excellent room

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.8
    Location just a few minutes from the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were allocated was a tad on the small side otherwise very well equipped

    Location just a few minutes from the town centre. Excellent secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Super super breakfast, more like in 5* hotel, with lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Super super breakfast, more like in 5* hotel, with lot of quality food. Room is very clean, also new bath equipment is a +. Also they have secured parking for an only 7 euro.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a good spot, middle in the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel in a good spot, middle in the City. Privateigentum parking is available for 7 Euro per day. The room is clean and good breakfast is included.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    I found staff (especially at the reception) very friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I guess the variety of food at breakfast could be better, but, anyway, it was good.

    I found staff (especially at the reception) very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compaired to other hotels in Germany this is at least 33% too expensive Wifi too slow Room is small

    Nice staff Good location in quiet area in Altstadt

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    The central position, the design of structure and room, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was a little bit narrow for 3 people, especially the 3rd bed didn't allow to open the window.

    The central position, the design of structure and room, the cleanliness, the car park, the staff courtesy. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.8
    breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room is old, different from the room picture in booking.com the TV has a poor picture quality the remote control is out of order

    breakfast is good

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of air-con in the bedroom was a problem, admittedly during a heatwave (35+C). And the breakfast room was very slow at peak times, the single coffee machine causing long queues.

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Just a few minutes walk from the city centre and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    Very close to the city center, clean and quiet hotel rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist on our first day was very unfriendly - he didn't say a word when we cheked in (other staff was OK). You cannot rely on Wi-Fi - two of three days there was no internet connection and we were said that it often happens because of the internet provider.

    Very close to the city center, clean and quiet hotel rooms; good breakfast; safe parking

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    We strongly recommend this hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We strongly recommend this hotel ! Good room & bed, nice breakfast, strong wifi, well situated near the center, closed parking for the car. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Close to bus stn & festival ground, quite street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea or coffee facilities

    Close to bus stn & festival ground, quite street

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Good clean room, nice big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small breakfast choice. Wifi didn't work so well either.

    Good clean room, nice big bathroom. Great location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful personnel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow Wi-Fi connection

    Friendly and helpful personnel Central location Private parking

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    ample parking, clean room, it smelled clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    decor could do with a little modernising

    ample parking, clean room, it smelled clean. Tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Great location, great comfortable rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are hot in warm days.

    Great location, great comfortable rooms!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Super place for that rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Super place for that rate

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Very good assortment of breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very good assortment of breakfast! Very tidy hotel! Very happy employees, trying to help all the times. Highly reccomend!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    No smoking faccillity
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No smoking faccillity

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.5
    We have stayed here four times now and we always enjoy it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here four times now and we always enjoy it. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was very clean and modern, and the location was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was very clean and modern, and the location was great.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    10
    no baby chair at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no baby chair at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: