Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berghotel Eisenach This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

An der Göpelskuppe 1, 99817 Eisenach, Germany

#2 of 22 hotels in Eisenach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C not working very well and I would install screens in windows but we had window open whole night and no mosquitoes.

    Awesome location and staff. I have to say this was one of the best hotels I stayed in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant facility.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff badly in need of training, particularly young lady on duty at time of our arrival. She not only not welcoming but bordered on being surly which cast a cloud over the balance of our stay. On our next trip to Eisenach we will likely revert to staying at the Haus Hainstein.

    Pleasant facility. Breakfast buffet good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Smashing view and very nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have anything to complain about

    Location was amazing and the view from our room outstanding as we looked out to the castle, I would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and decor was plain. Mirror in bathroom above the sink was very high, and was unable to use it. We did find a parking spot on the street leading up to the hotel, but it would be nice if there was more parking. The hotel was a little difficult to find.

    The hotel was in a beautiful location. We walked the area around the property one evening and then sat on the terrace. Quite enchanting. The hotel restaurant breakfast was more than delicious. We had dinner there as well, and enjoyed the ambience and food. The room itself was small and plain, but adequate and clean. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful views, food, room and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is not an inexpensive hotel, but good value cosidering the beautiful location with a wonderful view of the Wartburg fortress and castle. Great breakfast and very good food for dinner in the onsite restaurant. Service was first rate and management gave us a change of rooms on request.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay if you are visiting Eisenach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roadworks make route-finding tricky at the moment as the main access road is closed.

    Lovely peaceful location out of town and up the hill so you do need a car. Great views across to the castle. Excellent food at dinner and breakfast with great service. Comfortable spacious room with separate sitting area, free mini bar and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    We were very surprised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very surprised. When we wanted to take dinner at hotels restaurant, we were refused by reason of - we have not reservation for dinner! We must go to the city centre. It was very unpleasant surprise for us !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    One unprofessional incident marred our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first two nights we dined at the hotel and had very nice meals without making reservations. We discussed having the third night meal in the dining room with our waitress, but when we turned up we were bluntly told there was no room.Very little effort was made to try to accommodate us.We had no option but to drive to the near east town (3km) to eat. We would not return as a result nor recommend.

    The room was very nice and comfortable.Overall we enjoyed our stay but for one lnstance which we were not happy with.See below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great hill top hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a bit of a vertical distance away if you are unlucky.

    Wonderful view from the terrace of Wartburg castle. Stylish hotel with excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Hotel in a Delightful City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a bit small.

    The hotel's building, the view, and the restaurant are fabulous. My dinner was one of the best I have ever been served. The city and the sites are wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    High above Eisenach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work.

    The view to the castle was photo worthy. . The bath huge and the bed comfy. It is a long way up the hill, so out in the country, which I liked, but means a drive to a restaurant, unless you eat dinner at the hotel. I did and the food was good and the service was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Great mountaintop view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit cramped.

    Fantastic view. A comfortable, classy hotel with an excellent restaurant and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was amazing and the wedding event and venue we attended was fabulous!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Large terrace with wonderful views over to the Wartberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car drive from town centre

    Large terrace with wonderful views over to the Wartberg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Wish to go there again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    Everything....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds were very comfortable and the room had a great view of wartburg castle. Nice breakfast too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For non German speakers they might struggle to communicate

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room and from the terrace on the Wartburg, and the sauna

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great location, facilities, food, view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one of the two of us were able to log into the wifi on our phones

    Great location, facilities, food, view... we enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant. Great view on Wartburg castel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking shower, wifi problems. Not too much parking space.

    Good breakfast. Very nice view. Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    5 Star standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and en suite were exceptional standard. The conservatory dining area was splendid

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel, wonderful dinner, view was special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really loved our room and the dinner. The reataurant overlooks the Wartburg castle. We would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    The location is really good with a great view of Wartburg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI didn't work at all in the room - couldn't connect with iPad or phone. Good speed in the communal areas though

    The location is really good with a great view of Wartburg castle (just a pity it was so foggy). Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Very good restaurant with wonderful views out over the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only slight grumble was that our bedroom was very small and as we were travelling in Germany for four weeks, it was annoying not having anywhere to put our bags (large) out of the way other than under the desk (the 'seating' area).

    Very good restaurant with wonderful views out over the town across to the Wartberg. The walk into town, although strenuous on its return leg, was only fifteen minutes and, being out of town, the hotel was really quiet, with lots of walking paths to explore the woods around.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    This was an unexpected delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This place was lovely!

    This was an unexpected delight! The view of Wartburg Castle can be seen from the room and the restaurant. The sheets were super soft. Even the toilet paper was luxurious. There was a packet of foot lotions and washes that was spa quality in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    The magnificent view from the terrace on Wartburg Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is very popular with locale and is often fully booked. The management gives priority-seating to guests that book directly on the company's website. So be sure to mention you want a dinner in the restaurant If you book through booking.com (fill in option field)

    The magnificent view from the terrace on Wartburg Castle. Terrace is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful view on Wartburg from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was rather small with no place to put a suitcase

    Beautiful view on Wartburg from our room Large bathroom Breakfast in the glasshouse with again view on Wartburg Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.8
    Ligging is top.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ligging is top. De klassevolle uitstraling is fantastisch.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Lovely small hotel with beautiful panoramic views, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely small hotel with beautiful panoramic views, very friendly and smiley stuff . The food was amazing. For me 5* hotel ;))

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location on a hilltop with a beautiful view on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location on a hilltop with a beautiful view on the Wartburg.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.9
    Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice view. Attractive at night and we could see the Wartburg Castle on the opposite mountain.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    Great food in the restaurant, lovely big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food in the restaurant, lovely big room. Nice sauna

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: