Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstrasse 8, 27570 Bremerhaven, Germany

#17 of 46 hotels in Bremerhaven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1060 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Thanks for making me enjoy my stay at City Hotel Bremenhaven
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The manager and staff did everything in their power to make me feel welcome and enjoy my stay at City Hotel - for that I'm really grateful. They manage to turn my experience from being disgruntled to being really happy and after my four night stay and I will highly recommend this hotel to others. Keep up the good customer approach! If you are booking a single bed room - be prepared of a quite unusual design with "open plan"-living (bathroom and bedroom in one). I believe it fits certain customers but for me its a little too modern (I prefer a more traditional layout aka long live bathroom doors). The hotel rooms cleaning are absolutely spotless and the beds are really nice! The rooms are also equip with tablets, mini fridge and free wifi. The most surprising thing with my stay are the hotels restaurant - it doesn't look much for the world - but the food are absolutely amazing (best of the the food I eat in Germany). The breakfast is not huge - but the have manage to select just the right things. Bread, cold cuts, fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, sausage and the most delicious meatballs I have ever tasted. The breakfast is calm, quiet and really pleasant. In summary, this is a small but nice hotell close to the center of bremenhaven. The staff (and cook) are just at the right place. Hope to visit you agin sometime!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    For the price I would give it a c And I recommend that you ask that your room not be near the lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was in a poor location and extremely slow. It was entered from the street and and did not give one a sense of security especially at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The bathroom was larger than the bedroom and exceptionally...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve had by a mile the smallest “bedroom” I’ve ever stayed in - and I was in Tokyo before - so I know a thing about shoeboxes. The room didn’t even had a real window - there was an “opening-kinda thing in the wall” - but it led straight to a wall (literally 30 cm away) and it was more like an emergency staircase (a ladder was right in front of my “window” - the staircase...) overall I felt it was a lot of money for such a small room with not even a mini-bar. (You have to pre-order this).

    The bathroom was larger than the bedroom and exceptionally clean. The staff tries it’s best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small and cramped. But I realize that's usually hard to avoid when you retrofit en-suite bathrooms into old buildings.

    Very good breakfast buffet and restaurant. Room very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice big breakfast buffé and a small but well equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator on the outside took a while to figure out and it was a bit noisy during the evening. Due to other hotel guests i suspect.

    Very nice big breakfast buffé and a small but well equipped room single room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable and the room was ok and clean.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we checked in, it was woman in reception, who wasn’t friendly, she didn’t say even hello or welcome to our hotel. We were somehow suprise of her behaviour to client.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was ok and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it had regular soap instead of an “all over body shampoo”. Washcloths would be nice too.

    Bed was super comfy...slept like a baby. We thought it may be loud being right on the street, but it was very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Great stay, will be there again in future in need be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being a single client, and booked into the single room, the room itself was acceptable. Unfortunately the bathroom is extremely small, and I found having to get out of the bathroom into the bedroom to dry myself, the only solution! Also the rack above the handbasin, presented a problem when trying to wash my face, presenting itself directly in line with banging my forehead.

    Breakfast was great, and ample food available to offer a variety. Dinner was great as well, and I was truly surprised at the quality of the pork Cordon Blieu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for an economic short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a bit cramped with little natural light but had an excellent bathroom. The main 'bad' thing as such, was there was a lot of noise from the kitchen early mornings (around 5am) due to position of my particular room.

    Great central location, good value for money and nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    City Hotel - a good place to stay for a short trip to Bremerhaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lounge. Not enough parking. The car had to be parked in a side street after finding a free parking space.

    City Hotel is located centrally to the main attractions in Bremerhaven. Comfortable room with a big bed with good mattresses and great shower. Free Wifi. Good breakfast with a large selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good and the staff was so friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection was not stable.

    Breakfast was very good and the staff was so friendly. Good location and even you have to park the car on the street this will is not a problem because of many free parking spaces around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    The pillows were terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible. Bulky and soft, they gave no support at all. Hotel must know this because you could get a "de luxe" pillow for an extra €5 per day!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Compact but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small, but everything there.

    Designated parking for bicycles and secure access elevator to all floors. Delicious dinner and generous breakfast in downstairs restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Good food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stepping over new carpet rolls in the hallway

    They are in the middle of renovatingredients the entire hotel, so some disruption there, but was quiet in the evening

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.5
    Simple, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the shower was not consistent. I had to adjust it the whole time i was showering. My phone also couldn't connect to the wifi for some reason.

    I liked that although the room was small i had everything i needed. The location of the hotel is really close to everything by foot. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    I will not come to stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin has neither door nor curtain. One has to go out of the room, if the room mate is taking a shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Good place to be!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unavailable parking space for free, just few. Expensive parking service delivered from hotel.

    Good place to be!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the room

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Doppelzimmer mit Französischem Bett
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected.

    Booking.com

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    A very nice place to stay and breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close the zentrum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice little hotel, very clean rooms and excellent buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    newly updated room - very modern

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Zu langes Check-out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zu langes Check-out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet in the room without barrier but was clean, check out was very early at 10:30 but lately they let me on hour later to get out

    good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient walk from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient walk from train station. Excellent breakfast. And good dinner in hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value for the room price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room size, bathroom, good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fantistic

    Friendly staff, clean and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.3
    Double bed is 1.30m!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room is pretty small and the double bed is only 1.30m, so less then standard.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted some teas or coffee and a kettle in the room.

    Breakfast was so good. Staff were very welcome and kind. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    very nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small parking

    very nice breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel near Bremerhaven Hauptbahnhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location convenient for Hauptbahnhof, but surrounding streets are dreary. Hotel room very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Room had nice view of fire escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to short and I am only 6 feet tall.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Marginal internet in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marginal internet in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    We arrived late and the staff went out of their way to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and the staff went out of their way to be helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast selection was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little privacy with the walls being very thin, we could here any one walking through the hall and people in other rooms.

    The breakfast selection was good. The beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location quite a walk from the city centre

    Very comfortable hotel. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant. Jose, our waiter was extremely friendly and efficient. The breakfast spread was also very good

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed, and the room temperature was just...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At the beginning, there were some difficulties in finding out which allergens does the breakfast include.

    Very comfortable bed, and the room temperature was just perfectly warm for sleeping.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    4.6
    BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    MOSQUITO & NO COFFEE OR TEA/// BECAUSE I LOVE TO DRINK TEA ,,,SPECIALLY LATE EVENING.. I CAN HEAR THE TALKING OF PEOPLE ON THE STREET...

    BREAKFAST

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Near central station, on bus route, very clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Near central station, on bus route, very clean and well maintained. The restaurant food and service is enjoyed by travelers and locals alike. No surprises.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    7.1
    Very good City Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The double bed was just two single beds put together. The WiFi is absolutely terrible, oscillating a lot and with extreme poor connectivity. The Hotel should solve this urgently.

    Very good City Hotel. The breakfast is great and is, certainly, the best point of the Hotel as well as the location just few minutes from the Central Train Station.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    7.5
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't really work, only time I was able to connect was 6am in the morning. The room (although claimed sound-proofed if I remember correctly) was nothing but: I could here every noise from the corridor. Luckily there was not much noise so it didn't really bother me.

    Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Great location from the train terminal.
    • Solo traveller

    Great location from the train terminal. I also loved the little park nearby.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cumbersome Internet service Poor parking options

    Good breakfast Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly staff,clean room and good choice for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff,clean room and good choice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Love how we came late but still manged to to get our rooms that night. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.5
    Size of room and bathroom and a good breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were awful

    Size of room and bathroom and a good breakfast included

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    The value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Car Parking can be difficult

    The value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet/shower room was rather cramped

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent and great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was excellent and great value

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    The staff was friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, although we couldn't access the wifi very efficiently.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    well located, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms w/o air conditioning, all cable TV channels in german

    well located, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    Staff very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no problems

    Staff very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.5
    The room I had was on the 3rd floor in the attic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lift outside the premises.

    The room I had was on the 3rd floor in the attic. It was great. Restaurant excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    All very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All very nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.5
    No tea or coffee in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee in room

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    Very nice staffs, comfortable room and bed, good Wi Fi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staffs, comfortable room and bed, good Wi Fi connection, perfect location, very good buffet breakfast - the best I've got in Germany

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    Room and breakfast very nice bread is very freash
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room and breakfast very nice bread is very freash

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    Very good bed, food, personal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not good parking, wi-fi connection.

    Very good bed, food, personal.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: