Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne 3 stars

Kleinsteinbacher Strasse 2, 76228 Stupferich, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Stupferich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wrote those in the extended review.

    Wifi is spotty. Need to reconnect every hour. Speed is about 2-5Mbits. Breakfast seems rich at first but it's has a poor selection. On the plus side, the house-made stuff tastes really good. An unknown person entered my room at 8:20, while in the shower. Not sure if house cleaning stuff or the keys are mismatched. Hotel reception after 8pm is non-existent or just plain rude. I just needed to find my way to the room while the clerk kept saying "please carefully read the sign". The sign was badly drawn, so you could say it's my fault. Not my first late check-in though... Nothing ever happens after 6pm, so it's fine if you want quietness; not so fine if you want to find a place to eat after coming from a job. Everything is closed with not one person in sight. There is a nice Indian restaurant nearby, hopefully it will still be there. I think the outline and decorations were a hit in the 70s, not so much nowadays... The hotel is pretty close to Durlach, just a 10 min drive, so something positive to keep in mind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly greeting even though we arrived 2 hours late, room was small but comfortable so fine for a short visit , as others have mentioned the range at breakfast was incredible and exceeded expectations. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking reservation had not gone through to them but luckily they had a room at that rate. The room was a handicap room, different but not bad. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very old fashioned basic hotel in need of a face lift. Carpets smelt in the corridors. Bathroom was very small and there was no tea/coffee in the room. There was however a small bottle of water on which someone had optimistically scrawled 1.5Euros! We had two rooms and one of the rooms was very small indeed. Breakfast was disappointing from the point of view of an English man ( no fresh milk) but may well have been as expected to other nationalities.

    The location was good being just off the motorway. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good parking if you arrive early otherwise you could be on the road (Quiet road) hotel aimed at reps and service engineers so excellent food and value, easy access from motorway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a European thing but really miss tea & coffee facilities in your room.

    Excellent distance from the motorway. Restaurant to the hotel fantastic as they also own the butchers so meat really good. Breakfast choice huge

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and when we opened the windows lots of flies flew in. We would like facilities to make a hot drink in the bedroom

    Convnient journey from the motorway. Nice garden for eating evening meal Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the rooms are located across the road in a separate building. The buildings are secure but I personally prefer my room to be within the hotel especially after a long days travel and especially in wet weather.

    The hotel is in a good location very close to the motorway for travellers. It is a good clean friendly hotel with good facilities and fairly spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are in separate units, you will get wet if it is raining! Some staff are unhelpful and do not speak English, but other staff can be encouraged to smile occasionally.

    The location is good for access to and from the autoroute. There was sufficient free, off road parking during our stay at a quiet time of year. Good for overnight stopover.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy, especially from others using their bathrooms

    Near highway, well maintained accomodation, late check in was no problem. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right on a main street, and it is too loud to leave the window open at night.

    The breakfast buffet was really great: high quality, and a great selection. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the bed was very comfortable. Parking was easy, and the village is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No person at the premises to greet you.The description of the property was false.There was a promise of a restaurant,not so.Had to search for one in the area which was not easy.

    Location,close to motorway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning left the rooms stuffy

    Staff were very helpful and it was very good value for money. Plenty of parking and it was a nice quiet village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not my first time in this hotel so i see how they are improving and expanding. Rooms were clean and comfortable, brekafast was tasty, very nice "beer garden" with big TV screen. Gym is also nice, new machines.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large, clean and staff friendly. Great choice of breakfast food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed for the Corpus Christi day, we did not get a warning for this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable & the location is less than 5 minutes from the autobahn

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was super!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wi-fi is on an unprotected network

    Excellent breakfast, large room (though strangely small en-suite), comfy beds. Easy access from the autobahn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Absolutely fit for purpose.

    Food, comfort, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Its hard to find something we did like.

    We wished we hadn't booked here, very disappointing. Keep driving and find somewhere better!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money

    Convenient in terms of accessibility from the Autobahn

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ver comfy and nice hotel close to the A8 motorway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes the smells was not too good. Working shoes. :-)

    The surroundings was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at the property when we arrived,first member of staff we saw was at breakfast.

    Location is Perfect for Access to motorway.Breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast, quiet and calm, gym. In the evening you can eat something in restaurant and drink good beer in nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked room was for smokers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast Very good evening meal

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning,rooms a distance from reception, no one spoke english, but was advertised as having english spoken

    breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was A-Amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good restaurant. Basic rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a disabled room which was ideal for a wheelchair user. It was very large with excellent access to the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes weak WiFi connection

    Nice staff, good choice for breakfast,excellent dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    À bit warm in summer, no airco

    Free parking

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - The price on the bill was higher than on the reservation at Booking (found out with our accounting dept; something was included which we didn't order; what is Business Paket at 20 EUR?) - Twin beds are in fact one bed (!) - No company invoice available - Personnel doesn't speak English

    - Breakfast was high quality - Cozy place

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no nonsense accomodation right off the highway. For being so cheap I was impressed with the quality; good bed, fantastic shower; wasn't even expecting an ensuite bathroom for this price! And the breakfast was fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were travelling with our families, and we asked for two childrens beds and a cot in the rooms. There were none in the rooms when we got there and then the price for them was added on and we had to pay extra. The booking stipulated that we had children and I was given the price for that, so I was not pleased to be given a second bill when we arrived. I also was surprised that we were all in different buildings.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air condition or fan meant the rooms were very warm. Close proximity to church mention 15 minute time updates!! Clock chimed on the hour every hour and every 15 mins between ...

    Clean rooms, nice breakfast. Very well placed for motorway access.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got an attic room, had to walk a lot of stairs. The hotel is located on a busy street with lots of noise. The so called garden is a kind of terrace where it smells terribly of meat. (Hotel is an annex to the butcher's)

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very poor service (it appeared that only one person was doing everything) The restaurant was closed on our arrival day (friday). Waited 20 mins to get a drink, whilst guests were being signed in by the one staff member

    nice village

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The breakfast was really good. Room 14 was quiet but the bathroom was on the small side, this was compensated by plenty of water pressure in the shower. Bus stop nearby for busses to Karlsruhe

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately my german is poor, and the staff spoke little or no english which left me in a difficult position a couple of times.

    The hotel was clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stopped here for about 4 years, a single night twice a year en route to Italy and on to Greece where we spend the whole summer. This year I left my Kindle in the bedroom and didn't discover it missing until 24 hours later at our next stop. I sent an e-mail to Hotel Sonne asking them to send it on to me with an invoice for the cost but 5 days later I am still awaiting a reply. I realise there may be language difficulties but.......... Can booking.com help?

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception greeting (find the key acbinet and let yourself in / find your own room). Resturant closed on Fridays. Unhelpful breakfast staff.

    Clean room. Quiet location. Plenty of off street parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wish I could have stayed longer

    Excellent family run hotel. Lovely breakfast and the restaurant food is superb. I have stayed here 5 times already and each time its been throughly enjoyable,

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A good restaurant on site

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room no 14 had a bad smell of mildew.

    Excellent dinner and breakfast. Butcher in the house. Good Wi-Fi.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is a little bit too tight and was full.

    Nice rooms and kind people. The restaurant is very good.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convenient location for travel from NL to the Alps. Good food in restaurant. Excellent breakfast buffet. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant Wifi isn't good From restaurant to room, you have to go outdoors

    Close to the highway Tidy, Clean rooms Rates

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Travelling and found it near motorway without being too close!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly Service Great Food at the Restaurant - Typical great German food - Taste of Germany

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    strong smell of mouldiness in bedroom

    not much

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms given were both upstairs. Both wives are disabled & we booked downstairs rooms.

    Rooms were of good quality

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we have seen any staff expect during check out

    It is perfectly located to stay over for one night if you arrive late. Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant Bed

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Sonne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: