Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schöneberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 135, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, 10827 Berlin, Germany

#194 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fruit salad at breakfast was tinned but there was whole fresh fruit as an alternative. The rooms on the reception level were a little noisy when the staff arrived early to make breakfast.one member of reception staff appeared a little hostile but think it was unintentional and carried out our request efficiently.

    The room was spacious and everything had been thought about.. The bathroom had all you could ever need including a pack of Panty liners and shower cap. There was plenty of room for wash bags and the shower was hot and easy to adjust. There was a trouser press in the room well used by my husband lightproof curtains and effective double glazing. The light switches were well placed near the bed. We asked for more pillows and sheets as we find duvets too hot. These were supplied without having to ask twice. The staff were more than helpful especially the office staff. The selection of breakfast foods was good .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was terrible. The pillows were not comfortable. Staff tried their best to improve this for us though.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Located a little out of Berlin which made it quiet and gave us access to the less touristy restaurants and shops. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Very close to buses and trains making it very easy to get around to the different parts of Berlin. Very near to grocery shops, cafes, restaurants and a laundromat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I have to arrive to my room after passing through the five doors, locked by the magnetic key. Also, the reception staff was a little bit rigide and I suggest that they should be more kind with the guests, when they have to give an explanation about the opening door system in the hotel, even if you have to open five doors, in order to arrive to your room. Moreover, the reception staff must help the guest in accepting to call a taxi, when requested, not finding the excuse that you have to be in the reception first for that.

    I liked the design inside of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely period building in a vibrant part of Berlin. Good public transport on hand and a very friendly staff. We speak German but the staff were all proficient English speakers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Thin walls allowed sounds to travel between rooms. I reported broken hairdryer but it wasn't fixed.

    Large deluxe rooms with sitting area, large windows, well appointed bathrooms. Good temperature control. Near residential neighborhood with great restaurants and shops. Near bus and train stops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Great value for your money. If you don´t like dated design, you might not like it - but I loved it as it brought back memories traveling with my grandparents... ;D

    This hotel is very unique in that regard, that is spread over 2 floors in a beautiful old house. Compared to all the modern hotels, this hotel has a lot of character! And if you like 70´s/80´s retro style - this is the place to stay!! It really made me smile as I am normally staying in fancy new hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not comfortable at all.

    Location was great. 5 minute walk to the train to get to downtown Berlin. Plenty of food options close by. Staff were all amazing and welcoming. A small Rewe and a Lidl super close in case you forgot any essentials.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi on the third floor just did not work. I had to keep going down to the reception area to do internet business ( my flight was cancelled). There needs to be a stronger router on each floor.

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very comfortable and clean. It does not look very impressive from the outside and the entrance hall is unusual, but once in the Hotel everything is very nice. The hotel is very high quality given the price and we make a point to stay there when we go to Berlin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The system to open the room door does not always work. Wifi code only for one device. If you are two and have a mobile and laptop have to to ask for 4 codes... A bit of noise from the street. Breakfast a bit expensive. There is a nice Croissanteria next door.

    Confortable room. Close to S-Bahn station with a line to city centre. Also a bus stop in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise insulation not that good as I could hear the person in the room next door walking around in the morning.

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Room was very spacious and everything was sparky clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Even though there was quite a bit of variety for breakfast, almost the same thing was offered every day. It would have been fun to have some new things to try.

    The location was great, within walking distance to our daughter's apartment. It was nice to get a shower in the extra large shower every morning and then have breakfast already prepared down in the dining area. The room was spacious and comfortable. The cleaning staff was especially helpful and got in and out quickly when they saw us leave. The building was elegantly old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a lounge area other than the breakfast room and bar.

    The old fashioned elegance of the rooms etc. The hotel facade and entrance bely the quality of the interior.Great breakfast buffet. Nothing too much for staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wi-fi is a one device code so costs extra for eg phone + laptop. The whole hotel very old fashioned and badly maintained, and street side rooms only have secondary glazing so very noisy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi solution is to old fashioned, to slow and with relatively poor reception.

    Nice double room, for 5 euro extra pr night a room towards the courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms lacked sound-proofing and had creaky floors. One could even hear the discussions from neighboring rooms. The room did not have AC but fortunately the room had a portable fan.

    The room was large with a high ceiling. The staff were friendly. The Schöneberg neighborhood was pleasant and filled with cafes and restaurants. A bus stop was nearby, a train and subway stations within a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not find anything that we were unhappy about.

    The variety for hot or cold was very good. The selection of drinks/fruit/bread& preserves was also very good. The staff were very helpful & the location was ideal. We really enjoyed our visit and we will come again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy, room right in front of reception, reception seemed closed over night. Overall poor value for money.

    Good location for that part of town. Breakfast was OK, good tea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floors are quite squeaky, but it wasn't an issue for us. Might bother light sleepers though.

    The beds (although twin) were very comfortable. The staff was very very friendly and helpful. The hotel is nice, our room was well heated, had a TV, hair dryer and even a trouser press.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit cold. Not possible to have the room cleaned after 1pm. Isolation isn't optimal so a bit noisy from time to time but not a big deal. Shower could have been a big bigger but not a big deal either.

    Very bright and spacious room. Flexibility to check out. Found the bed super comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room hasn't air conditions, only fan. And during hot September 2016 days it was necessary to open the windows. And because next to the hotel is a big road it was noisy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pavement outside, patched with wood and in need of urgent repair, had an unfair impact on the perception of the Hotel.

    I liked the feel of the building, the style of an older time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet room and had a spacuious light room facing the rear of the building. Coffee maker, fridge, trouser press and hair dryer. The hotel is not newly refurbished, but well maintained.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not look like much from the outside, but the rooms were spacious and clean, the beds comfortable, and the personnel very friendly. The location is also great, with the Akazien Strasse just one block away. Did not try the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was a bit creaky due to the building's age so I could hear other guests moving about sometimes - if you're a light sleeper be warned that this might be an issue. Personally this didn't bother me in the slightest, I was tiring myself out with so much to do in the day, and as I had the window open all the time to cool down and enjoy the city sounds anyway it just added to the homely atmosphere for me!

    Lovely old fashioned hotel - much more interesting than staying somewhere modern and characterless, this felt like experiencing a bit of real Berlin, especially coming and going up the wonderful staircase, felt like being in an apartment building rather than a hotel. The staff were great and very helpful, I had to leave rather early in the morning so they allowed me to check out at 10pm the night before and told me how to drop off my key on the way out (they even allowed me to split my payment across two methods to use up the last of my holiday currency!). Wonderful location, Schöneberg is an interesting neighbourhood with plenty to do - bars, shops, transport (U/S Bahns and buses), even an Aldi for cheap snacks and supplies. You can easily walk to the touristy centre of Berlin from here if you desire. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable, and the balcony with a view over the bustling Haupstrasse was a nice surprise (so lovely to sit out there and enjoy the warm July weather with a cold drink). The bar is another comfortable way to pass the time. Wifi throughout the hotel is very useful and worked just fine for me.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No airconditioning & 32 degrees outside...

    The place is clean and staff kind and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building with typical Berliner "charm".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was awful! Impossible to work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: the ham was not very fresh, i missed vegetables - only tomatoes were available.

    Nice Staff, quick service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key is tricky and took me a few minutes before I could open the door

    Great location, very clean, spacious room, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible location, near the main road,the noise will make your sleep a nightmare. Construction site near the hotel.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed, great location from the pool that we swam that weekend. Clean and good size room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a cupboard and the bed not comfy caused me backache.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure how warm in winter, the windows are not thermo-isolated.

    Nice old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had Internet problems daily..

    Breakfast and staff superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a night time shift

    Kind and smily staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV to small

    Big room, clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complicated WiFi system.

    Enjoyed the classical old architecture and the feeling of an old and historical hotel. Which also functioned very well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean and big room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited outside the door for 10 min. The bell downstairs did not work. No apologies no smile at the reception.

    Central hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WI-FI only one connection for free

    Friendly and flexible

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Hotdeal non-refundable
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean , comfortable bed & a hot powerful shower .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in the room only an ineffective desk fan

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1 euro lost every time you opened the safe. Sheets not changed until fifth night.

    Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street side rooms a little noisy if the windows are open.

    Nice location near bus and subway. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevator

    location, charm, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Super nice staff, great room, very well situated, very good breakfast...all was great i recommend 100% !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Good base for the Euref campus I was working at. Pleasant room. Nice helpful staff. Very clean. Good experience. Will recommend to friends and colleagues. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a bit far from Berlin Sudkreuz station. One can walk there during the day but at night taxi is the only way to reach it. The room I stayed at, #32, faced the noisy main road, and wasn't warm enough even with the heating system on. It is a narrow and long room, and the two beds are not side by side but one bed after another, from the door of the bathroom and on. Walking in the corridor is heard in the room as the doors are of simple wood and the floor is very old and shaky.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Group

    Fantastic, unique, cozy and original hotel with extremely helpful, smiling staff who made sure we had the best stay possible. Breakfast buffet was amazing. We loved this gem on Hauptstrasse!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has bad sound isolation, so you can hear what your neighbors do and their conversations... Upon our arrival, the receptionist refused giving us two codes for the internet so that both of us could use it at the same time. He told us that only one person should be using the Internet in the room, otherwise the connection becomes too slow

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very strange key system to gain access to your room. Needed to go back and get instructions again on how it worked. Room safe was not free. Toilet paper on the rough side. Old radio system built into bed headboard with missing knob that didn't work anyway. Easy to scratch your face on it during the night. Turned around and slept with my feet to the headboard.

    Big room but rather small bathroom. Breakfast is worth the extra cost. Very pleasant staff. Elevators. Old style hotel with charm.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room not very comfortable Poor noise-insulation: ancient windows, walls and doors Entrance far from inviting, door narrow and hard to use To get to the lift has to use stairs Electronic doorlocks difficult to use Noisy parties in neighbourhood on weekend Some of the staff not very helpful

    Bike-rental possibility Swimminghall nearby Many restaurants nearby Part of the staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just one thing about the hotel: it was very hot in the room when I was there (July) ...so a fan could have been provided. Leaving the window open meant some noise from the outside.

    The hotel has some character and is situated at a convenient place to access the S-bahn. There are supermarkets and nice restaurants close by. Staff was helpful throughout and the place seemed to be run very professionally. Rooms were clean, had wi-fi, and comfortable beds, although no AC or fan. The breakfast buffet was very nice indeed, with a great selection of cheeses and breads. In all, it was good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We have traveled for business and we were in two, so we both needed Internet connection at the same time, which was difficult to happen. Sometimes, after 11 p.m. the connection doesn't work well, or at all. Also pay attention to the arrival time. The Reception Desk is not opened 24 h.

    Everything is excellent, the position, the room, the cleanliness, the staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi quality terrible. Breakfast had been sitting out too long without being refreshed, but coffee was great

    beautiful architecture with quiet room and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot water issues on one day and not informed. Ironing cloth facility is strange. Room space - one person 2 beds no walking space when luggage is kept

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Everything. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All went well

    Manual at front desk

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    THE cleanliness and size. Bathroom was excellent. Although a 3-star, I would rate this hotel a 4 star.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and surrounding amenities

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As always a great stay at the lovely hotel. Staff is excellent, breakfast tasty and the rooms are nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a man yelling at a poor and screaming German girl for hours on end.

    The room was very large

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Couple

    All fine!

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, nice sleep, lots of restaurants in the surroundings

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hotel Schöneberg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: