Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tobererhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kandelstrasse 34, 79286 Glottertal, Germany

#8 of 11 hotels in Glottertal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to kill three cockroaches in various places: table, main room, toilet. The wine glasses were not clean, they still had lipstick traces on them. The ceiling/upper room floor was horribly creaking right above the bed, we did think at some point that we will end up with the neighbors upstairs in our bed.

    The breakfast was plentiful and quite tasty. The immediate surroundings are fair, not breathtaking but it's worth a hike. Friendly staff. Quite close by car from plenty of things to see like: Freiburg, Kandel mountain, Schluchsee etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting with restaurants nearby and onsite breakfast. Very comfy beds and rooms. Loved both our views- the hillside and the horses! Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, we could only stay for 3 nights due to other family arrangements near Hamburg.

    We love the Black Forrest and luckily the weather was absolutely gorgeous during our stay, sunny and +30°C. . The facilities are very good. Another very nice and handy fact is that with the "Kurtaxe", a mandatory add-on to the hotel charge, public transport and other local discounts are included for the whole family, and we all know public transport in Germany actually works. Breakfast is German and very delicious. We definitely coming back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is NO restaurant at the hotel...it says there is but there isn't!!! We were there on a Saturday and nothing was open in town for a late lunch so we ended up going hungry...very disappointing considering the hotel says they have a restaurant in their writeup...we were not happy!!!

    The view from the room was pretty and the room was large.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some flies in the room, but that's somewhat to be expected as there seems to be a horse farm attached and it's the height of summer.

    Great breakfast. Gorgeous views of the countryside. Just fare enough for a lovely walk into the village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite different from the website (I believe the picture is from the top floors). Our room was large, but quite old and worn out. Not a deal breaker but we were disappointed.

    The breakfast was excellent - a variety of cheeses, fresh fruit, juices and so on. The view is very nice, in a quiet rural location. I had to have a late checkin - called the hotel and they left the key in a nearby hotel. Staff was welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not as warm and hospitable as other places we have been to - maybe it was related to not speaking German. E.g. In other places, they smiled more, asked us about our day, gave us tips on the area, and went out of their way to help if we had a question. Whereas in this hotel the hosts were transactional. Unfortunately the place also didn't offer modern eating options like soy or lactose free milk and unlike other places they didn't offer to make this available. Coffee was over-brewed (too bitter and strong). No fans in the room for warm nights. Our allergies were peaking but the hotel was on a farm and had carpet in the bedrooms. I think with some small improvement this could be a wonderful place to stay.

    The location and views. We were able to walk to a number of great beer gardens, as well as local restaurants with fantastic food. There is a nice view from the room as well and the room had a good layout and sense of space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You'll need a car to get there and 2 km to nearest restaurant.

    Beautiful rural view from a hillside in a quiet environment outside a nice little town. No traffic noise. Spacious room with balcon. Very nice and helpful staff. Well assorted breakfast buffet - (only the coffee was tasteless :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only disappointment was the restaurant we ate at, but we only ended up there because everything was booked since it was Karneval.

    The room was even bigger than we expected and the staff went above and beyond to make sure there was space for our baby's travel crib and in the morning had a high chair at a table all ready for us for breakfast! It was such a gorgeous location and a wonderful place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean, airy spacious room. Excellent breakfast with best fruit salad. Farm countryside location. View over valley and hills opposite. Wonderfully helpful hostess. Above and beyond customer care.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish that our rooms would have been closer together or at least in the same building, especially since I traveled with my kids and they were in a different room. While I understand the hotel was full and everything else was great, that was a little frustrating. I am glad that they are teens and could stay together.

    The breakfast was a great spread of German food. The staff was very friendly. The view from the hotel was beautiful. The area of quiet, except the celebrations on Jan 31 that lasted until after 2 in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very bad wifi old and dirty floor in the room Mildew in the shower We expected a better standard for a 3 stars hotel !!

    good breakfast, very good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was a little bit slow. Not all the rooms have the old timber atmosphere.

    The room was big and clean with a little terrace overlooking the meadows. There is a beautiful garden where you can take breakfast and the woman in charge was extremely friendly and easy-going.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was very low

    big room, clean, good breakfast, very quiet, beautiful area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My stay was excellent and the staff were amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They provided us with train tickets to see Freiburg!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large comfortable room. Rural location overlooking vineyards, 15 minute walk to village with a choice of restaurants. Copious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bacon and grilled tomato with breakfast

    Breakfast choice very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Room was very big, spacious and very clean. Impeccable view at the back! Staff were very friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    picture on booking

    Not really an hotel, but a good B&B with excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was wonderful, the staff were very kind and helpful. Very nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking may be difficult.

    Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Camera in dependance,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the carpets which were slightly old, but very clean so cant complain.

    Everything is comfortable and people welcomed with a smile. Very reasonable price too.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved being close to wild life (the horses and cows). Beautiful walking paths and the view is amazing. Very peaceful. The breakfast is your average German guesthouse breakfast with fresh baked goods from a local bakery (not factory made). We have stayed here twice - once with our 2 German Shepherds and once with 2 children under 2.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Superb hotel, very good location and friendly staff. Good breakfast and excellent views.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: