Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AKZENT Hotel Turmwirt ***S This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Ettaler Strasse 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Germany

#9 of 17 hotels in Oberammergau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel at a very central location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was spotty, weak and unreliable. Connection would always drop several times during a session.. It would be nice if this small but important tech issues was addressed.

    Friendly staff. Comfort beds. Large spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Quaint hotel offers spacious rooms with modern conveniences & location great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great! And we are picky!

    Traveled with my husband and adult son. We liked the room size and amenities. Great shower. Location was superb with View of Alps out of one window and beautiful church out the other. Located on quaint cobblestone street that offered restaurants and shopping. Staff very efficient with check-in/check-out. Friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend Turmwirt for business or pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was my second visit to Turmwirt and my hosts exceeded all the expectations I developed during my first visit. Turmwirt is a family run hotel that sets the standard in Bavarian hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended for an economical stay in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at the property was limited and on one occasion we were blocked-in by another guest.

    The bed was very comfortable. Room was a decent size. Breakfast was fine. There was a warm room in the basement for waxing skis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly - it was a most pleasant way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were really friendly - it was a most pleasant way to wake every morning, enjoy a delicious breakfast, and make conversation with the family that runs the hotel. They were attentive and helpful, ensuring our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous location, enjoyed the property and many free amenities of Oberamergau Community
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have started a half hour earlier at 7:30 vs. 8:00 to get the jump on the lift lines

    Great staff, very attentive breakfast supervisor. Food was super and plentiful. The proprietor was always there greeting and making sure everything was in order. It's right in the heart of Oberammergau, right across from the historic church with the crucifix from the original passion play in the 1600's. You'll really enjoy your stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall a clean, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a standard German Hotel spread. Bread, meats, butter, eggs, and bacon. Plenty of Coffee. View from hotel room was overlooking the cemetery from the church. Easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants. Stay was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    No Gemutlichkeit lost. If you need a confortable room in a friendly atmposphere, go elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the lady at the reception greeted us as if we were a slight annoyance. She dutifully explained all the details, but there was no hint of friendliness or warmth. The room was relatively small, with twin beds equipped with the most uncomfortable pillows and mattresses we have experienced in a very long time. They made for a very bad sleeping experience. Breakfast was barely acceptable, with the restaurant staffed by people as distant as the lady at the reception.

    The outside of the property is its best selling point. Once you are inside, all charm dissipates.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    What a wonderful place to stay, so much hospitality!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize that in Germany the bedding is a little different than in America. I didn't dislike it, was just a little surprised at the difference

    First time having soft boiled eggs and they were delicious. The owner even remembered that I had eaten them the day before and brought out some special just for me. They were so kind and thoughtful about every detail-I loved my stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay in the hearty of where you want to be for touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding street parking could be a challenge...we got lucky. Apparently there is a parking lot a few blocks away .

    The location is excellent, and the breakfast was fantastic. They put us in a property apartment a block behind, which at first we were concerned about but was actually very close and quite nice and plenty roomy. It was up a couple flights of stairs (so be prepared,....it was not problem for us), but also a bit warm since as many properties in Europe there was no AC. As a family, we loved the apartment option (two teens traveling with us), and we would definitely stay here again. Enjoying a huge breakfast buffet with loads of options and the most amazing chocolate croissants out in front of the main hotel in the morning was an absolute treat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Room was very nice, clean and comfortable, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking, had to park on the road, but was OK as I was there on weekend. No coffee/tea making facility in the room.

    Room was very nice, clean and comfortable, location was great. Staff was efficient. Comfortable beds, room bar prices very acceptable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    We have 2 adults and 2 small children under 8 travelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have 2 adults and 2 small children under 8 travelling with us. Children had their own bedroom, wooden wall and peaceful atmosphere. Top floor loft has a corner for children to play. It could have a bit more lego or interesting stuff for instance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant bell ringing can be grating given the proximity to the church but wouldn't stop me booking again.

    Excellent location and very beautiful town. Rooms with balcony are great for people watching.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Rooms are nicely updated, and while the bathroom is small,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC. The room cooled at night with the windows open, but then street noises and church bells woke us up. In the future, we would reconsider this hotel choice. In the past, this hotel had a very good restaurant where we could have dinner. For several very valid reasons, this service was stopped, making this hotel less of an option than in the past.

    Rooms are nicely updated, and while the bathroom is small, all the amenities are there. The hotel provides good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and allergy friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They happily catered for and provided a gluten free breakfast :-) And we really liked the wooden floor in the room, the floor is totally warm enough to be barefoot and it makes the room feel much more fresh than a carpeted floor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We arrived late and they gave us a map and directions to the whole area along with top recommendations of what to do. (We came during the off season.)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel but church bell is a disgrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible noise from ringing church bells every 15 minutes all night long (!) coming to a climax at the 6.00 AM wake up concert. I can set an alarm clock when I want to wake up early and don't need any help from the church, god or whoever!

    Breakfast, cleanliness of room and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Great location, good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started too late - 0800. That meant early coffee bought at a nearby bakery and a late start for the day if you wanted breakfast. Servers were a bit "bossy" when it came to table selection for breakfast.

    Location was great. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff at desk was cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Loved the sitting room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little spotty, but could be used in main area.

    The beds were comfy, the room spacious. There was a sitting room with wood paneling that was so appealing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Lovely clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awoken by bells at 6am.

    Lovely clean room. Good breakfast. Good location within easy walking distance of centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Leuk week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bell loud and clear in the room

    Groet kamer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Nice environment around the hotel. Very cozy setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle in the room.

    Helpful staff. Hotel provided a sense of home. Nice breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Nearby park along with river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby park along with river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Family run hence they paid attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar could have been open longer in the evening

    Family run hence they paid attention to detail

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    location and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to leave

    location and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Lovely weekend stay at Hotel Turmwirt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable. The church bells were not bothersome. We enjoyed our weekend at Hotel Turmwirt and would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice location comfortable room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surprised at extra charge for use of wellness suite

    room was large and had a bath, breakfast OK.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Centrally located to town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking

    Centrally located to town center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sauna was 8 Euros per person to use, which wasn't clear in the booking.

    Great Location, nice spacious room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on quiet street. Clean room and bathroom. Lovely balcony. Wonderful breakfast buffet, also eggs to order. Would certainly come back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel near to village centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Church bells ringing early in the morning!

    Pleasant room with balcony

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is not far away from the "Festspielhaus"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not far away from the "Festspielhaus"

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast and staff were winderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wasn't as close to neuschweinstein as I thought. Next to church that rang bell frequently

    Breakfast and staff were winderful. Town very quaint. Near linderhof castle

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    4.6
    Good location near center of the village
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Desk staff were unfriendly, room was ice cold when I arrived, breakfast was disappointing, and when I had to check out a day early, there was no flexibility and rather a bad attitude about it.

    Good location near center of the village

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, good location, breakfast in the morning, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only issue was the WIFI would cut out intermittently all the time. In this day and age there is no reason to not have good WIFI.

    Nice hotel, good location, breakfast in the morning, and parking available. Centrally located so you can get out and walk or find a restaurant to eat at.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Great, central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Depending on where your room is, you might be bothered by the church bells. Shower leaked a bit if not used in handheld mode.

    Great, central location. Free wifi. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.3
    Well located, Maxbrau is just 5 min walk, hotel itself is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I stayed at the hotel with my 5 yo daughter. The hotel charged extra 20EUR instead of it had been mention on the booking.com, that the kid under 11, sharing a bed with parents is free of charge. So, if I had been traveled with husband - kid would not be charged. Quite confusing. I would choose another hotel, if only I knew about such a policy.

    Well located, Maxbrau is just 5 min walk, hotel itself is clean and cosy

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Church bells (across the street) rang all night, every 15min. That was the only problem- not their fault. Bring ear plugs.

    The breakfast was very good. Lovely place with a very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Very Clean, nice location, close to restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As a vegetarian, I found the warm breakfast a bit frugal

    Very Clean, nice location, close to restaurants Abundant street parking. The church bells going off every hour add a sense of charm. Great for a short stay

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is little different

    Family run hotel. Everyone is so pleasant & helpful all the time. Rooms are spacious & clean. Breakfast is like being served at your own castle. Love this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Group

    The weather!

    Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Group

    ---

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Convenient for walking in Oberammergau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convenient for walking in Oberammergau. Clean. Very nice breakfast. Lovely restaurants nearby. Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    everything
    • Group

    a little expensive.

    everything

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Much light in the morning hours because of the curtains who are very light coloured and thin.

    Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    The whole staff was kind and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole staff was kind and accommodating. The location is excellent, the breakfast superb, and the room was comfortable and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.1
    Personel friendship
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant

    Personel friendship

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: