Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Walfisch This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Pleidenturm 5, 97070 Würzburg, Germany

#15 of 37 hotels in Würzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 751 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent view and position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was not working very well and was noisy. Bathroom was small.

    Hotel close to shops and historical places. Just in front of the river. Very nice view. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel that served its purpose as a stop along the Romantic Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay for parking, which is never fun.

    We were centrally located to be able to walk to the Residenz and hop back on the highway when we were through. The owner was a doll and let us keep our bags there after check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Location at a reasonable price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Walfisch is located next to the Main River, and an easy walk to either of the two main brucke's (bridges). Market square is a 10 minute walk, and the Fortress across the Main is about a 40-50 minute walk to the top (well worth the walk, if able). Small, but nicely laid out and tasty breakfast. The hotel is a little dated, but has enough modern amenities to make the stay comfortable. Anyway, you shouldn't be there to sit in a hotel................it's about exploring beautiful Wurzburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Staff were excellent as was breakfast and their restaurant was superb. They even drove us to the station when no taxis were available due to a marathon and street closure. Our room was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful weekend with my whole family . The hotel was perfect for all ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the feeling that this hotel has been here for many years and is still as it always was. Family run and not in any way corporate . Excellent breakfasts and hot coffee served in silver coffee pots. Smiling staff. Perfect location with the best views. A lovely dining room with very good cooking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful..felt respected, safe & at home. Tom & Carrie Griffin, Monterey, CA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe 10% discount for repeat customers? Have a listing of eateries in town with prices/menus/directions/open times in rooms.

    Liked all....we've stayed there 4 x now - stay there when in Wuerzburg. Great hotel..great staff..thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking Somewhat outdated

    Very good location. Accomodation adequate, rather small rooms but clean, basic and functional. Parking is additional euro 10 which I did not see in the description of the accomodation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Less than one kilometre of the most important interesting places of this nice small city. A very nice view from the hotel to the river and the castle. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay, but could argue this hotel is overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If breakfast and car parking would be included in the hotel price and not paid extra, I would say you get the value for money. This way I believe the hotel is a bit overpriced. Rooms are old, could use refurbishing

    Booth room and toilet were spacious, clean and warm (you can adjust the heat as you wish) Hotel offers a very good restaurant, which is recommended by locals Excellent location, few minutes walking from main attractions Hotel staff was kind

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    The bed was very soft.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a bit tricky, you really need a skilled driver to park in the underground parkgarage

    The bed was very soft. The breakfast was good. The staff was very quick

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Loved the restaurant and location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny bathroom.

    Loved the restaurant and location was excellent. The view from our room was amazing and so accessible to the river and the city. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although we stayed 2 nights we arrived latish the first night and were out even later the second, so basically used simply to sleep but the room was good and the view excellent, parking was just round the corner. we did not have breakfast or eat in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location and breakfast but hotel a bit dated..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit dated and room was OK apart from banging your head on the overhanging ceiling as we were in the roof.

    Location was excellent. Very nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely location on the river, rooms need a bit of updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a bit dated, with small windows, corridors have lots of extraneous closed doors, making maneuvering with luggage difficult.

    This hotel was convenient in a number of ways. There was an area to pull up in front to check in, a rarity on our trip, as well as a nearby parking lot. It was air-conditioned, another rarity, and featured a pleasant, helpful staff. While the rooms are a bit dated, they are certainly not lacking views. We were right across the river from the Marienburg Fortress, which is lit beautifully at night, making for a nice view. I only wish we had had a bigger window! While the property is not right near many of the main sites, it is not a long walk to the city center and cathedral. The location on the river was lovely, and its slight remove makes for a quieter stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just too small for us and the parking was alittle challenging.

    The location was great! Easy walking to most attractions. The staff was extremely helpful and very nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good!

    Location in the city was excellent - great access to the city, shopping, attractions, and food. Located closed to the train station and close to city train and buses. Easy to get around the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location, comfortable room with lovely view of the fortress. The outdoor seating for the restaurant was much appreciated in the warm evenings and for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Fine for our three night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really quite small, as was the bathroom, although nicely decorated. I didn't find the bathroom spotless however and although the air conditioning unit worked okay, it was quite noisy. I would have appreciated a balcony as well.

    I liked the friendliness of the personnel, The bed was comfortable and the location very close to the city centre, à few minutes on foot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable, and central
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I cannot think of anything.

    The hotel responded sympathetically to my needs when I emailed them a week before arrival to say I had dislocated my shoulder. The staff were invariably courteous and helpful; they were quite comfortable using English. Breakfasts were good German-style, and plentiful. The Wifi worked too well -- I couldn't get away from my emails!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Reception was not very happy about late night booking,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was not very happy about late night booking, although the booking was possible to make as late night booking. But finally everything turned out fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great view of the Marienberg Festung and the Kaepelle! That's Wuerzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather was so hot (even for an Aussie), but that can't be controlled! Everything was excellent.

    Great location so close to everything, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Menu in the restaurant was extensive and excellent - congratulations to the chef! The breakfast buffet was also much more extensive than I usually expect. The lift was very much appreciated by my husband with some mobility issues.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location on the river overlooked by castles and vineyards and very close to centre of town. Secure garage parking. Lovely room, comfortable bed. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    A gem in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Right from the start, you felt like you were with old friends. Nothing seemed to be any bother and sound advice was readily offered. Great rooms and excellent safe parking. I would stay here again anytime!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really think of anything, the hotel was great for our stay!

    Bed was very confortable and room although small, felt very cozy and homie! The staff was very accommodating and polite!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent location to explore old town by foot. Right at the river, with amazing views of the castle. Great staff, comfortable room, and tasty breakfast with good selection. We would come again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    A class act!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best quality breakfast that we have had in a month of traveling. Staff all have personality, are accommodating and helpful. The room was super comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous location opposite castle and very close to centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel car park was difficult to navigate. Hotel charged extra €10 each for breakfast.

    Fabulous location opposite castle and very close to centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    good breakfast, good bed,wonderful views (but street a bit...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't atmospheric or even attractive- and seemed rather expensive for such an unglamorous hotel.

    good breakfast, good bed,wonderful views (but street a bit noisy); it served us well as a base from which to enjoy the 2 great monuments of Wurzburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    The Walfisch was a very comfortable and convenient place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Walfisch was a very comfortable and convenient place to stay in Wurzburg. The staff was very helpful, and the room comfortable. The air conditioning saved us, as it was super hot. The location is directly across the river from the Marienburg fortress, making for great views. The Walfisch is close enough to walk to all the major sites in Wurzburg, but far enough away from the city center that parking is easy (I even found free parking on Sunday!). The breakfast was very good, and the coffee excellent! This hotel is a great value for the money, and I definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel especially for the money. Very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful views right on the water and close to the little bridge with restaurants and bars. Yes it's a bit older but that's what gives it its charm. Parking was very easy and close by. Would stay again if we ever make it back to the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel with spectacular view over the Main river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service with friendly, efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, standard of cleanliness, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast not worth 12.50 euros

    The location. Easy walk to town. The view for more expensive rooms. 170 euros per night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    The staff was incredibly friendly and pleasant
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly friendly and pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean and nice environment, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, clean and nice environment, friendly staff. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    For business in this city is this hotel a good basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quick and easy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    - relative small spaces
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    + helpful staff + central location + clean towels

    - relative small spaces - very simple rooms furnished old-fashion - expensive restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    24 hrs open, so checking in at 02:00 wasn’t a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 hrs open, so checking in at 02:00 wasn’t a problem. Good shower, somewhat small but enough hot water. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    5 minute walk to center city, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 minute walk to center city, excellent location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    It was simply perfect 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awesome Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really like this family owned hotel. Good breakfast. Good location. Well Greeting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean, nice, good food, great location abd best service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff, good location, good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but gooe. I would like to have some TV channels in English

    Very nice staff, good location, good room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    All staff were helpful and attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All staff were helpful and attentive. The steak in the restaurant was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    A good comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast slightly overpriced.

    Excellent location. Comfortable Room, clean with good facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel definitively needs renovation (at least on the first floor)

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is very near to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furnitures & design. The bed is not comfortable. Smell is not good in the rooms.

    The hotel is very near to old town. Wifi is strong.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Classic city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic city hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.0
    A good place d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small

    Thema cheese selection at Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Location, staff, price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs updating, slow internet, stuffy interior public rooms.

    Location, staff, price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillows

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice view, clean rooms, good breakfast, ready-to-help...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view, clean rooms, good breakfast, ready-to-help personal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great location great service lovely place to stay with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location great service lovely place to stay with magnificent views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a bit tight in their garage up the road... Had to reverse out a fair distance since too tight to turnaround

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful Wurzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was a little slow.

    Absolutely loved the view from the window. Easy walk to the centre and all the sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting. Clogged drainage of the shower and the smell in the bathroom. Restaurant closed on Sundays!

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.8
    Not so good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive for old decoration, tiny bathroom, unstable wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Superb location and hotel - very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact we only had one night stay - we will return

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    The location, the cleanliness, the breakfast and that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, the cleanliness, the breakfast and that the hotel has kept its qualities for a long time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.4
    no english speaking wait staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no english speaking wait staff. real german food uck!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice location,high prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are high

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.5
    Place staff look comfort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusing about booking - they don't see that ordered room is double not single

    Place staff look comfort

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    All value with seemless effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception in total was professional and they all make sure you feel at home and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Great location and staff. Nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glas bathroom door. It was see-through. No good.

    Comfortable bed and view. Walking distance to Würzburgs tourists attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    We found all the staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints at all

    We found all the staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    The hotel and the rooms are decorated in old stile , .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and the rooms are decorated in old stile , . in the hart of the city. You feel like a lord.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    Despite two single beds pushed together, the beds were soft,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite two single beds pushed together, the beds were soft, which is desirable but often hard to find. Ask for a room with the a view of the river. It's amazing! Good breakfast, too.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    Love the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would like breakfast included in the price. We arrived and our friend was told he did not have a reservation even though we had the confirmation. They told him they had room that night but not for the next night. Eventually he was able to stay all four nights but it was unsettling since we were traveling together. Wish we could have had a river view, but apparently have to pay more if booking through booking.com!!

    Love the location! Excellent desk clerk on evenings- I think his name was Eric! He was very friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Being picky occasionally the wifi slipped

    The staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant was lovely. Amazing views of the river Main and the castle across the river all from the terrace outside the front door.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    6.3
    This hotel is located about 5 minutes’ walk from the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is located about 5 minutes’ walk from the center of town, and from the front, offers a lovely view of the Marienberg and the river. Unfortunately, our room view, #425, was from the back of the hotel. The hotel has a worn and stuffy look to it (with the exception of the cheery exterior and lovely restaurant area). The dated wallpaper and carpeting are very dark and the air in the hallways has a stuffy feel to it. Our room was quite small and crowded with furniture. However, the room was clean, as was the adequate ensuite bathroom. Breakfast is NOT included in the rate (10 euro per person) and includes the usual variety of cheese, meat, bread options that constitute the German breakfast: Adequate, but nothing special. Parking is available in a private, secure garage (12 euro per day), a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Getting my car out of the garage post-checkout was a nightmare because of how closely the cars are crammed in: even with my wife guiding me from outside the vehicle it took 25 minutes to exit the garage. Wi-fi was free and worked without a problem throughout our stay. Bottom line, the hotel’s location is its biggest attribute.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be challenging without prior reservation for spot in the one of the spaces the hotel holds.

    Everything. Probably my favorite hotel in the world. Great staff, location, view, and kitchen. The Hotel Walfisch is so good, it makes the lack of such ammenities as an indoor heated pool seem totally irrelevant.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is very comfortable, and located in a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is very comfortable, and located in a wonderful spot on the quay side of the Main River. The historical stone bridge is very closeby as is the imposing presence of the Marienberg Fortress. There were restaurants and cafes nearby.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: